Source: ecopy from Author

Divider

May 01
{Review+Giveaway} The Peabrain’s Idea by Martha Carr

{Review+Giveaway} The Peabrain’s Idea by Martha Carr

The Peabrain’s Idea is the first book in the Peabrain Adventures series, which is a fantasy series, by Martha Carr. First of all, I should say that I am not a huge fan of the title. In this series, a peabrain is a word used to describe humans (more on this later), but the zany, and kind of rude, name fits with the zany nature of this story. The Peabrain’s idea was certainly a different, in a mostly interesting way fantasy novel than I am used to reading. I enjoyed it, but it didn’t blow me away. In the Peabrain’s Idea, we meet our main character Maggie, who is a detective. I love that she is such a logical practical person, because seeing her get swept up in something so zany and not practical was kind of funny. The Peabrain’s Idea starts off on a great note. We dive right into the action and we learn very early on that Maggie is an elemental, right after a weird encounter with… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

Triplicity is a young adult mystery by J. Mercer, that takes place on a cruise ship. I was completely intrigued by this idea. I love the idea of a story taking place on a cruise ship, and I hardly ever read young adult mysteries. Most mysteries I read are adult, so I knew this was going to be a cool book. And it was! Triplicity is something than I am used to reading, but it was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed this novel. The blurb of Triplicity says this book is perfect for readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han, and I think that is a good description. Triplicity certainly had that adorable light hearted feel, but maybe not quite as lighthearted as Kasie and Jenny because of the added mystery element. Triplicity is told in multiple points of view, with the chapters switching off between the various main characters. I loved that all of the main characters met for the first time on their cruise vacation, no… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Silver Hollow  by Jennifer Silverwood

{Review+Giveaway} Silver Hollow by Jennifer Silverwood

Silver Hollow is the first book in the Borderlands saga by Jennifer Silverwood. The borderlands saga is a young adult fantasy romance that blended arthurian legend with fae legend. I have never seen this type blending before but I have to say I was loving it! I cannot wait for the next book in the saga because this was unlike anything I have read before. I am a huge fan of fae stories, and I have always been a fan of the legend of king Arthur. I’m not going to tell you exactly how the two things intertwine in the story (because…spoilers!) but I will say it is pretty cool. In Silver Hollow, we meet Amie. One of my not so favorite tropes was used to kick start this book (parents tragically dying) but it did serve it’s purpose in propelling Amie on a surprise adventure. She is whisked off and finds herself in a town that feels like another world. Amie gets to know a long lost relative of… Read more »

Divider

Dec 18
{Review} Headlights, Dipsticks, & My Ex’s Brother by Heather Novak

{Review} Headlights, Dipsticks, & My Ex’s Brother by Heather Novak

Headlights, Dipsticks, & My Ex’s Brother is the first book in Edie’s Automotive Guide series by Heather Novak. Headlights, Dipsticks, & My Ex’s Brother, which I will be calling Headlights for the rest of this review, is a really fun read. There was one aspect of the story icked me out so much, but I just pretended it wasn’t a thing for most of the book, and out of sight out of mind worked well for me. (more on this in a bit.) Once I ignored that aspect, I loved Headlights. I found the characters delightful and it was a story that was a very nice, quick feel good read. I do have to say, I don’t love the cover. It is giving me major sweet valley high vibes. But the story more than made up for the slightly dated feeling cover. First let’s talk about the part of the story that icks me out. I loved Edie. But to have her ex boyfriend marry her mother was a gross that I… Read more »

Divider

Dec 07
{Review+Giveaway} Wolf Tamer by Yumoyori Wilson

{Review+Giveaway} Wolf Tamer by Yumoyori Wilson

  Wolf Tamer is a paranormal romance by Yumoyori Wilson. Wolf Tamer is the first book in the Claiming my pack series and it is also the first book I have had the pleasure to read by author Yumoyori Wilson. Wolf shifters is something that my readings tastes go in phases with. Sometimes I love books featuring shifters and sometimes I burn out on the trope. At the moment, I am really into shifter paranormal romances. So when I saw a new paranormal romance that was a start to a series that intrigued me, I jumped all over it. And I have to say, I really enjoyed Wolf Tamer. I love that our main character, Harper can interact with different breeds of wolf. I actually really loved that the author took the time to distinguish and differentiate between different breeds. It gave me the chance to see different personality types come out with the different characters. It was a cool touch to the story that I think added a lot of… Read more »

Divider

Dec 03
{Mini Review+News+Giveaway} Duty Bound by Christina Bauer @CB_Bauer

{Mini Review+News+Giveaway} Duty Bound by Christina Bauer @CB_Bauer

Today we are celebrating the paperback release of four novels (& novellas) from author Chirstina Bauer! She is releasing books from a few of her different series in Paperback this month, so it is the perfect time to check them out! If you are new to Christina Bauer, here is some more information on the books she is releasing. Check out more info on the books below, and then I have a mini review and excerpt from Duty Bound as well as a great giveaway!

Divider

Nov 28
{Review+Giveaway} Twelve Months of Awkward Moments by Lisa Acerbo

{Review+Giveaway} Twelve Months of Awkward Moments by Lisa Acerbo

Twelve Months of Awkward Moments is a new adult romantic suspense by Lisa Acerbo. This book sent me on an emotional roller coaster ride. First, it wasn’t at all what I expected it to be. I knew there was a stalker involved, but I didn’t know too much more than that other than it was set at a college. I was expecting this to be a light romantic suspense story, heavy on the romance. And I have to tell you, this is a not what I would call a light read. It was much more intense than I was expecting. It took me a while to get my bearings with this novel, but I ended up enjoying the story. The best part of Twelve Months of Awkward Moments were the characters. I absolutely loved Dani. I am going to be 100% honest with you. If I didn’t love Dani so much, and if I didn’t find her so relate able, this book would have taken me a lot longer to get… Read more »

Divider

Jul 03
{Review+Giveaway} The Archivist by Christy Sloat

{Review+Giveaway} The Archivist by Christy Sloat

The Archivist is an upper YA time traveling romance by Christy Sloat. It is the second book in the librarian chronicles, but you do not have to read the books in order. They are companion novels. I have recently read the first book, The Librarian and I really enjoyed it. Christy Sloat has a very flow-y romantic vibe to her writing and it works well in this series. In the Archivist, our main character Savannah has the ability to time travel through books. How freakin’ cool would that be? I know, right? I really enjoyed the medieval Scottish setting in this novel, and Christy’s romantic writing lent itself well to a Scotland backdrop. It was very Outlander-esque. I really loved the journey that Christy took me, Savannah and Eoin on. Their story is really beautiful and was heartwarming to read about. You can’t help but be swept up in the magic of the story, which is always lovely. Savannah is a great bookish character that I think a lot of… Read more »

Divider

May 11
{Review+Giveaway} Succubus Lips by Lina Jubilee

{Review+Giveaway} Succubus Lips by Lina Jubilee

  Succubus Lips is the first book in the Succubus Sirens by Lina Jubilee. Succubus Lips is an adult urban fantasy romance, and I have to say right off the bat, this is adult so it won’t be for everyone, but anyone that does enjoy adult fantasy romances, this book was a totally fun read. Succubus Lips is the story of Aurora, who is a Natch. A Natch is a creature that has the ability to boost other creatures magical ability. This boost of power comes from Aurora’s lips. “Her lips have the power to boost. Her love can grant power unparalleled.” I really liked Aurora. She is super feisty, and lot’s of fun. There are multiple love interests in this book, which really shouldn’t be a surprise with Aurora’s magical boosting lips. It is safe to say, there is a lot of kissing in Succubus Lips. But the world that Lina Jubilee created is also totally unique and very interesting. Though this was a short read, there is a big… Read more »

Divider

Jan 23
{Review+Giveaway} Rise by Sierra Cross

{Review+Giveaway} Rise by Sierra Cross

Rise is the first book in the new adult Coven of Fire series by author Sierra Cross. It has been some time since I have read an urban fantasy and even longer since I have read an urban fantasy featuring witches, so I was really pumped to read Rise. I love new adult books that are in the fantasy and paranormal genres because there don’t seem to be too many of them. Rise did not disappoint. I enjoyed this read from start to finish. There were a few slow sections of the book, but overall, I flew through this novel and I am anxiously awaiting the second book, which is already out. In fact, the first four books were all released in 2017, which is crazy! You go Sierra Cross! Book 5 is due to come out this year. Rise follows our main characters, Alix, Callie, Matt, with some great secondary characters as well. I really enjoyed how many people were showcased in such a short book. I think that… Read more »

Divider