Source: ecopy from Author

Divider

Sep 11
{Review+Giveaway} Lycan’s Blood Queen by Catherine Edward

{Review+Giveaway} Lycan’s Blood Queen by Catherine Edward

Lycan’s Blood Queen is the first in the adult paranormal romance duology called the Randolph Duology, by Catherine Edward. I was very intrigued by the summary of this book, and I love books that feature more than one kind of creature because I really enjoy reading about different authors takes on paranormal creatures. The Randolph Duology features Lycans, Vampires and Witches. A classic mix, but we get to see a twist on one of the creatures which I really enjoyed. Lycan’s Blood Queen had a bit of a rocky start. I was confused when I first started reading. I didn’t know what was going on and I wasn’t getting to know any of the characters very well. Honestly, I almost put the book down and went to try something else. But I decided to keep reading to see if the pieces came together for me, and I am very glad that I did. I ended up really enjoying Lycan’s Blood Queen, and I am certainly very interested in reading the… Read more »

Divider

Sep 11
{Review+Giveaway} No More Bad Dates by Kate O’Keeffe

{Review+Giveaway} No More Bad Dates by Kate O’Keeffe

No More Bad Dates is an adult contemporary romantic comedy by Kate O’Keeffe. It is the first book in the high tea series, which is taglined as a cozy cottage cafe story. I am unsure at the moment if all of the books in the series will be standalones or if you will need to read them in order. If I had to guess, I would think they are will be set in the same world, but will all act as standalone cozy romances. I have to say I don’t love the cover because it reminds me too much of Barbie, but I do love the story setup. In No More Bad Dates we meet our main character Sophie, who gets dumped at a wedding by a royal jerk. Because, seriously…who does that??! Oh don’t worry, he had a great reason. Because Sophie has been burned one too many times, she decides to have her friends help her pick out guys to date before she dates them. This is an… Read more »

Divider

Jun 13
{Review+Giveaway} The Thirteenth Guardian by K.M. Lewis

{Review+Giveaway} The Thirteenth Guardian by K.M. Lewis

The Thirteenth Guardian is the first book in the young adult trilogy by the same name by author K.M. Lewis. The Thirteenth Guardian is like the DaVinci Code mashed with a re occurrence of the plagues of Egypt. It is a whirlwind adventure from start to finish. I really got swept up in this book, and though there was a bit much going on at times, it was a really well done novel, and it has left me excited to continue on in the trilogy. I really need to see what is going to happen next! Be warned though, this series is about the apocalypse. There are a series of natural disasters that threaten to destroy earth, so be forewarned about that going into the series. In The Thirteenth Guardian, we meet a group of six strangers that find themselves inexplicably bound together. The first of the strangers that we meet is Avery, but the book is told from all of their perspectives, switching off between chapters with each of… Read more »

Divider

Jun 07
{Review+Giveaway} Skies of Olympus by Eliza Raine

{Review+Giveaway} Skies of Olympus by Eliza Raine

Skies of Olympus is the first book in the Immortality trials series by author Eliza Raine. The Immortality trials is a unique series set up that I am really digging. This is a line from the summary “Join Lyssa as she takes on the deadly Trials alongside giants, centaurs, satyrs and gods in the first three of twelve episodes of this Greek mythology fantasy retelling.” Umm, yes please! Sign me up right away! It is a young adult mythology fantasy split up into twelve trials. Each of the books in the series will feature 3 of the 12 trials. Skies of Olympus features the trials of Hera, Athena and Artemis. I love a bind up of shorter stories that are interconnected because once you get going, you just fly through the pages. I will admit that this story had a bit of a slow and a tad confusing start for me. Here we meet Lyssa, our main character, and the daughter of a cruel Hercules. Lyssa is the captain of her… Read more »

Divider

May 21
{Review+Giveaway} Art of Death by Becca Vincenza

{Review+Giveaway} Art of Death by Becca Vincenza

Art of Death is a new adult urban fantasy by author Becca Vincenza, and is the first book in the curse breakers series. Art of Death was a quick, but action packed read that really got me interested in this new series. I cannot wait to get my hands on the second book in the curse breakers series, Secrets of the Dead, which is out now as well. Fans of fast paced, action filled stories will devour Art of Death. There is a smidge of romance in this one as well, but it is not an overly heavy part of the story. I wish there was a bit more romance, but the romance that was there was good, and I am hoping to see even more in the second book. In Art of Death we meet twins, Rowan and Abel. I so loved the two of them, both together and as individuals. We see so many dysfunctional and unhealthy sibling/family/friend relationships in young adult books, that it was pleasantly refreshing… Read more »

Divider

May 01
{Review+Giveaway} The Peabrain’s Idea by Martha Carr

{Review+Giveaway} The Peabrain’s Idea by Martha Carr

The Peabrain’s Idea is the first book in the Peabrain Adventures series, which is a fantasy series, by Martha Carr. First of all, I should say that I am not a huge fan of the title. In this series, a peabrain is a word used to describe humans (more on this later), but the zany, and kind of rude, name fits with the zany nature of this story. The Peabrain’s idea was certainly a different, in a mostly interesting way fantasy novel than I am used to reading. I enjoyed it, but it didn’t blow me away. In the Peabrain’s Idea, we meet our main character Maggie, who is a detective. I love that she is such a logical practical person, because seeing her get swept up in something so zany and not practical was kind of funny. The Peabrain’s Idea starts off on a great note. We dive right into the action and we learn very early on that Maggie is an elemental, right after a weird encounter with… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

Triplicity is a young adult mystery by J. Mercer, that takes place on a cruise ship. I was completely intrigued by this idea. I love the idea of a story taking place on a cruise ship, and I hardly ever read young adult mysteries. Most mysteries I read are adult, so I knew this was going to be a cool book. And it was! Triplicity is something than I am used to reading, but it was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed this novel. The blurb of Triplicity says this book is perfect for readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han, and I think that is a good description. Triplicity certainly had that adorable light hearted feel, but maybe not quite as lighthearted as Kasie and Jenny because of the added mystery element. Triplicity is told in multiple points of view, with the chapters switching off between the various main characters. I loved that all of the main characters met for the first time on their cruise vacation, no… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Silver Hollow  by Jennifer Silverwood

{Review+Giveaway} Silver Hollow by Jennifer Silverwood

Silver Hollow is the first book in the Borderlands saga by Jennifer Silverwood. The borderlands saga is a young adult fantasy romance that blended arthurian legend with fae legend. I have never seen this type blending before but I have to say I was loving it! I cannot wait for the next book in the saga because this was unlike anything I have read before. I am a huge fan of fae stories, and I have always been a fan of the legend of king Arthur. I’m not going to tell you exactly how the two things intertwine in the story (because…spoilers!) but I will say it is pretty cool. In Silver Hollow, we meet Amie. One of my not so favorite tropes was used to kick start this book (parents tragically dying) but it did serve it’s purpose in propelling Amie on a surprise adventure. She is whisked off and finds herself in a town that feels like another world. Amie gets to know a long lost relative of… Read more »

Divider

Dec 18
{Review} Headlights, Dipsticks, & My Ex’s Brother by Heather Novak

{Review} Headlights, Dipsticks, & My Ex’s Brother by Heather Novak

Headlights, Dipsticks, & My Ex’s Brother is the first book in Edie’s Automotive Guide series by Heather Novak. Headlights, Dipsticks, & My Ex’s Brother, which I will be calling Headlights for the rest of this review, is a really fun read. There was one aspect of the story icked me out so much, but I just pretended it wasn’t a thing for most of the book, and out of sight out of mind worked well for me. (more on this in a bit.) Once I ignored that aspect, I loved Headlights. I found the characters delightful and it was a story that was a very nice, quick feel good read. I do have to say, I don’t love the cover. It is giving me major sweet valley high vibes. But the story more than made up for the slightly dated feeling cover. First let’s talk about the part of the story that icks me out. I loved Edie. But to have her ex boyfriend marry her mother was a gross that I… Read more »

Divider

Dec 07
{Review+Giveaway} Wolf Tamer by Yumoyori Wilson

{Review+Giveaway} Wolf Tamer by Yumoyori Wilson

  Wolf Tamer is a paranormal romance by Yumoyori Wilson. Wolf Tamer is the first book in the Claiming my pack series and it is also the first book I have had the pleasure to read by author Yumoyori Wilson. Wolf shifters is something that my readings tastes go in phases with. Sometimes I love books featuring shifters and sometimes I burn out on the trope. At the moment, I am really into shifter paranormal romances. So when I saw a new paranormal romance that was a start to a series that intrigued me, I jumped all over it. And I have to say, I really enjoyed Wolf Tamer. I love that our main character, Harper can interact with different breeds of wolf. I actually really loved that the author took the time to distinguish and differentiate between different breeds. It gave me the chance to see different personality types come out with the different characters. It was a cool touch to the story that I think added a lot of… Read more »

Divider