Month: April 2018

Apr 25
{Free Book Alert!} Unlikely Venture By Kristen Luciani

{Free Book Alert!} Unlikely Venture By Kristen Luciani

Title: Unlikely Venture Author: Kristen Luciani Genre: Romantic Suspense Hosted by: Lady Amber’s PR Blurb: Plans. They always have such a funny way of not working out. Jessica Latham thought she was sailing down the aisle toward happily ever after until a devastating diagnosis sent her fiancé fleeing like a fugitive. Bad judgement and too much wine hurled her into the arms of a sexy stranger as a distraction from her crushing reality. No strings, no last names, just pure unbridled passion. It was only one night, nothing that could ever come back to haunt her. Or so she thought. But when a vindictive frenemy reveals Jessica’s secret, her past mistake puts everything at risk, including her heart. Kristen Luciani is a USA Today bestselling author and momtrepreneur with a penchant for stilettos, Silicon Valley, plunging necklines and grapefruit martinis. As a deep-rooted romantic who prefers juicy drama to fill the lives of anyone other than her, she tried her hand at creating a world of enchantment, sensuality, and intrigue,… Read more »

Divider

Apr 23
{ARC Review+Wedding Style Board} Royals by Rachel Hawkins

{ARC Review+Wedding Style Board} Royals by Rachel Hawkins

Royals is the first book in a young adult series by the same name from author Rachel Hawkins. I loved this super fun read for many reasons. First, I am all about all things wedding at the moment with the Royal wedding happening this summer and me planning my own wedding. This was right up my alley and second, because of the characters. I cannot tell you how much I love that the main character of this story is the sister of character engaged to the prince. This was a great idea on Rachel Hawkins part. It sets Royals apart from all of the other, I fell in love with a prince books. Daisy’s sister, Ellie is engaged to Prince Alex. But the real star of the story is Daisy. I loved Daisy. She is a bit of a hot mess at times, but she is always feisty and spunky and has no problem speaking first and dealing with the consequences later. I was hoping that Royals would have a… Read more »

Divider

Apr 19
{Bookish News} Margaret Peterson Haddix Twitter Takeover

{Bookish News} Margaret Peterson Haddix Twitter Takeover

Margaret Peterson Haddix Twitter Takeover Who: Fans of YA and Margaret Peterson Haddix! What: Twitter Takeover. Bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix will be discussing some of her “firsts” and answering reader questions about her books! When: April 23rd, 7 – 9pm ET Where: @YoungEntmag How: Head over to @YoungEntmag on April 23rd, follow along, and tweet your questions to Margaret!   Why: The Summer of Broken Things, Margaret’s triumphant return to YA, hit shelves 4/10/2018! Alternating between Avery’s and Kayla’s distinct voices, The Summer of Broken Things gives readers a realistic look at a wide range of human experiences: from a loving, working class family to a wealthy, dysfunctional one – yet, all may not be what it appears. Haddix’s raw and honest approach to themes of love, betrayal, reconciliation, and personal growth will resonate with young readers, as well as anyone who has ever been hurt by the people they trust the most. This story is about family in its many forms – and how it may be found in the most unexpected places.   About the… Read more »

Divider

Apr 18
{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Summer of Broken Things by Margaret Peterson Haddix

{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Summer of Broken Things by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Welcome to Day #3 of The Summer of Broken Things Blog Tour! To celebrate the release of The Summer of Broken Things on April 10th, blogs across the web are featuring exclusive content from Margaret Peterson Haddix and 10 chances to win a copy of the book! Travel My husband jokes that in my family, if anyone says, “Do you want to go to…,” we all say, “Sure!” before we even know the destination. My parents definitely succeeded in passing on a love of travel to my siblings and me, and we’ve all handed down that travel lust to our own children as well. For me, a huge part of it came from the books I read. I’m pretty sure that the earliest places books made me want to visit were ones that didn’t actually exist: Narnia, for example. (I also really, really wanted to be able to tesser.) But a lot of the books I read as a kid also implanted a deep desire to see certain real places for myself…. Read more »

Divider

Apr 17
{Review+Giveaway} Tracing Shadows by @AlexLidell ‏

{Review+Giveaway} Tracing Shadows by @AlexLidell ‏

Tracing Shadows is the first book in the Scout series by author Alex Lidell. I loved the first book in her Tides series (see my Ash and Air Review), which is an epic high fantasy adventure that takes place on the high seas! It was a five star read for me last year, and I have been kicking myself ever since for needing to continue on with the series. (I even bought the books!) But as soon as I saw that Alex Lidell was coming out with a new series, I knew I couldn’t miss it. And honestly, the summary of Tracing Shadows appealed to me even more than the summary for Ash and Air did!  I absolutely loved this adventure. I loved everything about it! I loved the characters and I really really loved the world building that Alex Lidell created. Trust me, Tracing Shadows (and all of Alex’s Books) is a book you do not want to miss. Alex Lidell has thoroughly impressed me with each of her… Read more »

Divider

Apr 16
{Excerpt+Giveaway} Enchantress by Kristy Centeno @KrissyGirl122

{Excerpt+Giveaway} Enchantress by Kristy Centeno @KrissyGirl122

  Book Title: Enchantress by Kristy Centeno Release Date: April 15, 2018 Publisher: Inkspell Publisher Cover Artist: Najla Qamber Genre: Paranormal, YA, NA Fate brought them together. Will evil break them apart? Leah Parker’s visit to her hometown is supposed to bring her closer to the truth behind her identity. What she doesn’t anticipate is the handsome stranger with almond eyes claiming to be her Pair. Her world once again upturned with the arrival of the man chosen to be her life partner, Leah is pulled between the feelings she’s always had for the friend she left behind, and those for the compelling stranger determined to save her from certain death—at whatever the cost. With an ancient evil out to finish what it started twenty-one years before, will Leah find peace within her troubled mind and heart to fight back and win? Or will her disconnection with her newfound powers hinder her only chance at survival? His sacrifice…is her salvation.   ——————————————-   #1 “Are you scared of me? Is… Read more »

Divider

Apr 12
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian @sebastian_lk @DelacortePress

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian @sebastian_lk @DelacortePress

Ash Princess is the first book a young adult fantasy series by the same name by author Laura Sebastian. Ash Princess is Laura Sebastian’s debut novel, which impressed me even more. I really liked this novel. I know it might seem like a storyline that you have heard before, and while I am not going to say it so shockingly different, it was different enough to stand out against other young adult fantasies. I especially loved the  foreword, where she describes her heroine as someone who does not battle with a sword, but rather, with her own wits and cunning. It is really refrshing to see such a heroine portrayed, because it made her so much more relate able to me. Theo is the princess of her country that was invaded and taken over when she was a little girl. Her parents, and most of her people, were killed and Theo, or Thora, was kept as a palace prisoner. The invading ruler, called the Kaiser, believes that he completely broke… Read more »

Divider

Apr 09
{ARC Review} Bound to You by @_AlyssaBrandon_ @SwoonReads

{ARC Review} Bound to You by @_AlyssaBrandon_ @SwoonReads

Bound to You is a young adult paranormal romance by Alyssa Brandon. Bound to You is the first book in a new series about Werewolves (at least I hope so!). Now, let’s just get this out of the way up front. I have been pretty burnt out on wolves for a while now. I have always enjoyed a good werewolf story, but after seeing countless dozen iterations of the same thing, I got a little bored. So I haven’t really read too many young adult novels featuring werewolves in the past couple of years. Sure, there have been some of my favorite series in the past have been about werewolves, but I have not found any novels in the past 2 or 3 years that have grabbed my attention. In fact, almost all I have read were either DNF or under 3 stars. Until Bound to You. Holy cow, I loved this book. I really loved this book. I read it in one sitting and I stayed up until about… Read more »

Divider