Month: May 2019

May 30
{Review+Giveaway} Gather the Fortunes by @BryanCamp

{Review+Giveaway} Gather the Fortunes by @BryanCamp

Gather the Fortunes is the second book in the young adult fantasy Crescent City series by author Bryan Camp. Though you do not need to read the first book, in order to understand and enjoy the second novel, I would advise it. I went into the second book without having read the first book, and I think that detracted from my overall enjoyment of the story. I found myself wanting to know more about the world. Though, to my knowledge the second book follows a different character than the first book- The City of Lost Fortunes does, so I think in that regard you should be fine. Gather the Fortunes was a great read. There are so many aspects of the story that I really love. First, I love the New Orleans setting, and Bryan Camp’s New Orleans is even cooler because we get to experience both the normal New Orleans as well as the underworld New Orleans filled with Gods and Magic. Which leads me to the next thing… Read more »

Divider

May 29
{Review} The Kingdom by @JessRothenberg #TheKingdomAwaits @FierceReads

{Review} The Kingdom by @JessRothenberg #TheKingdomAwaits @FierceReads

The Kingdom is a young adult sci-fi thriller by author Jess Rothenberg. This book took me completely by surprise. First off, I am totally in love with the cover. And then I read the synopsis, and I was immediately intrigued. Robot theme park princesses with advanced AI technology. Umm, yes please! Not only the princesses, the whole idea of the park sounds cool. Like jurrasic park, mixed with AI disney, with a Westworld vibe. I was totally down for this story. And then I started reading, and I was hooked from the very first page. I love the format that the story is told in. Mixed in with he crime/murder mystery- The Kingdom is easily one of my favorite young adult books of 2019. Behind the gates of The Kingdom theme park, you wildest fantasies come to life. Do you love dinosaurs and animals? Awesome- you can visit AI versions of extinct animals. Are disney princesses your thing? Perfect, the Fantasists princesses are there to make all of your princess… Read more »

Divider

May 28
{Excerpt+Giveaway} THE MISSING SEASON by Gillian French

{Excerpt+Giveaway} THE MISSING SEASON by Gillian French

I am so excited that THE MISSING SEASON by Gillian French is available now and that I get to share the news! If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful book by Author Gillian French, be sure to check out all the details below. This blitz also includes a giveaway for FOUR signed copies of the book, Us Only, courtesy of Gillian and Rockstar Book Tours. So if you’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post. About the Book: Title: THE MISSING SEASON Author: Gillian French Pub. Date: May 21, 2019 Publisher: HarperTeen Formats: Hardcover, eBook Pages: 304 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Kindle, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD From the author of Edgar Award finalist Grit and The Lies They Tell comes a tense, atmospheric novel for fans of E. Lockhart and Marieke Nijkamp, about friendship, truth, and the creeping fears that can’t be outrun.  Whenever another kid goes missing in October, the kids in the old factory town of Pender know what is really behind it: a monster out in the marshes that they call… Read more »

Divider

May 22
{Interview+Giveaway} The Divorce Planner by Angela Lam

{Interview+Giveaway} The Divorce Planner by Angela Lam

The Divorce Planner Angela Lam Published by: The Wild Rose Press Publication date: May 20th 2019 Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance When her daughter suggests Darcy Madison attend her ex-husband’s wedding, Darcy enlists the help of her colleague, divorce attorney Victor Costello, to pose as her dashing young date. But when Victor proposes to Darcy at the reception, Darcy forgets they are pretending and says, “Yes!” Between her false engagement to Victor and her daughter’s suggestion to have a double wedding, Darcy falls even further in the fantasy of being a blushing midlife bride. The longer the masquerade continues, the more Darcy starts to wonder what is love and can it last forever in a world where divorce is the only language she knows? Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo —     What inspired you to write The Divorce Planner? Shortly after my year-long divorce was finalized, I wistfully wondered if the process would have gone more smoothly if I had hired someone to navigate… Read more »

Divider

May 21
{Review+Giveaway} Art of Death by Becca Vincenza

{Review+Giveaway} Art of Death by Becca Vincenza

Art of Death is a new adult urban fantasy by author Becca Vincenza, and is the first book in the curse breakers series. Art of Death was a quick, but action packed read that really got me interested in this new series. I cannot wait to get my hands on the second book in the curse breakers series, Secrets of the Dead, which is out now as well. Fans of fast paced, action filled stories will devour Art of Death. There is a smidge of romance in this one as well, but it is not an overly heavy part of the story. I wish there was a bit more romance, but the romance that was there was good, and I am hoping to see even more in the second book. In Art of Death we meet twins, Rowan and Abel. I so loved the two of them, both together and as individuals. We see so many dysfunctional and unhealthy sibling/family/friend relationships in young adult books, that it was pleasantly refreshing… Read more »

Divider

May 21
{Release Day Giveaway+Excerpt} Neliem by Clare DiLiscia

{Release Day Giveaway+Excerpt} Neliem by Clare DiLiscia

  Happy release day to Clare DiLiscia!!!! Neliem Clare DiLiscia Published by: Month9Books Publication date: May 21st 2019 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult Half the population of the island of Madera are dead, killed by an unforgiving and indiscriminate plague. Oriana dreams of escaping her life of ruthless cruelty from the people who now rule over those who remain. No telling whom the plague will strike next, Oriana means to find freedom for herself and her people. Drawing strength from ancient tales of her enemy, young Oriana transforms herself from victim to warrior with the help of a mysterious and powerful dagger given to her by a kind and dying boy. Years later, during her enemy’s betrothal ritual, Ezra, a boy she has never before seen, selects her as his mate. With servitude her only option, Oriana accepts the offer. Whisked away to a seemingly perfect world, Oriana discovers sinister secrets at every turn, including the identity of Tristan, a boy with whom she shares an undeniable but impossible connection. Why… Read more »

Divider

May 19
{Excerpt+Giveaway} Taken by the Phantom by Isabella King

{Excerpt+Giveaway} Taken by the Phantom by Isabella King

Taken by the Phantom Isabella King (The Phantom of the Academy, #1) Publication date: May 16th 2019 Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Romance I’ve never felt at home at Juilliard. My stagefright always makes me choke when I’m under the spotlight, to my classmates’ delight. But when I’m dragged into a new world, to a new school—where singing is more than a talent, it’s magic—I can’t hide my voice anymore. This new power is tempting, but terrifying forces swirl around the kingdom of Cantus. Missing girls, rivals at my new academy, Rebels, demons slaying people in the street—and it all leads back to him. The mysterious, powerful Phantom, who lurks beneath the opera school and demands he be my teacher—a demand which soon grows into something deeper, darker. But if I want to survive this place, or have any hope of going home, I may have no choice but to give in to him… and all he desires. Goodreads / Amazon — I appraise the Phantom of the Opera in shadow and… Read more »

Divider

May 16
{Excerpt+Giveaway} The Rule of Many by Ashley & Leslie Saunders

{Excerpt+Giveaway} The Rule of Many by Ashley & Leslie Saunders

The Rule of Many Ashley Saunders (The Rule of One #2) Published by: Skyscape Publication date: May 7th 2019 Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult Born to a death sentence in a near-future America, rebellious sisters herald a revolution—if they can survive. Twins Ava and Mira Goodwin defy the Rule of One simply by existing. The single-child law, ruthlessly enforced by Texas’s Governor Roth, has made the sisters famous fugitives and inspirations for the resurgent rebellion known as the Common. But the relentless governor and his implacable Texas State Guard threaten that fragile hope, as Roth consolidates his power in a bid for ultimate authority. As Ava and Mira relinquish the relative safety of their Canadian haven to stand against Roth, new allies arise: Owen, a gifted young programmer, impulsively abandons his comfortable life in a moment of compassion, while Zee, an abused labor camp escapee, finds new purpose in resistance. The four will converge on Dallas for a reckoning with Roth, with nothing less than their destinies—and the promise of a… Read more »

Divider

May 14
{Release Day Review} We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal

{Release Day Review} We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal

We Hunt the Flame is a young adult fantasy by Hafsah Faizal. I should point out that I have known Hafsah for several years now, ever since she was a book blogger and then a graphic designer in the book community. I have been a big fan of hers since day one, so when I heard she is writing a book, I knew I had to get a copy ASAP! And when I heard it was going to be an epic fantasy, I was even more excited. We Hunt the Flame is the first book in the Sands of Arawiya series, and I have to say…it did not disappoint. This book is a long one. It clocks in at almost 500 pages, and it sets up what is going to be a crazy awesome fantasy series. I am already salivating for the second book. In We Hunt the Flame we meet Zafira, who hides as a male hunter at the start of the novel. I will admit that it took… Read more »

Divider

May 09
{Excerpt+Giveaway} The Forgotten Ones by Andrea Bills

{Excerpt+Giveaway} The Forgotten Ones by Andrea Bills

The Forgotten Ones Andrea Bills Publication date: May 6th 2019 Genres: Adult, Mystery, Romance, Thriller From the iBooks Bestselling Author of Hardwired comes One small town. One lost love. One killer. Agent Caitlin Cade is called back to her hometown by a serial killer. She’s avoided the town for six years, trying to create a new life away from the painful memories of the sudden passing of her father and a love lost. Dean Campbell was given a mission that forced him to walk away from the only woman he had ever loved. Just as his mission is over and he can return to her news reaches him that a serial killer has Caitlin caught in a deadly game. Can Dean handle not being the one in control in order to show Caitlin he’s back for good? Can Caitlin not only face her past but also a killer who always seems two steps ahead of her? As a game of chess plays out using human bodies, secrets and lies come… Read more »

Divider