{Review+Giveaway} Remembrance by @MegCabot @WmMorrowBks
{Giveaway} Romance is in the Air #Giveaway Hop
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto @ellemodesto @BalzerandBray
{Discussion+Giveaway} Book Lover Wish: Favorite Reading Environment
{ARC Review+Giveaway} It’s All Your Fault by Paul Rudnick
{ARC Review+Guest Post+Giveaway} Sanctuary Bay by Laura J. Burns & Melinda Metz @TwoHeadedWriter
Feb 10
{Review+Giveaway} Dancing in the Athenian Rain by Katie Hamstead

{Review+Giveaway} Dancing in the Athenian Rain by Katie Hamstead

Dancing in the Athenian Rain is a new adult time travel romance by Katie Hamstead. Even though the book is marked as new adult, I feel like it read more like a young adult novel. The main character is 18 years old, so she is borderline between the two genres but the maturity level of the characters pushed it, in my opinion anyway, towards the younger young adult side of the spectrum. Speaking of immature characters, I almost put this book down (DNF) three times within the first 30%. One time at only 6%, which would make it the quickest I had ever put a book down and didn’t pick it up again. But I decided to give it another chance, and then I decided to give it another chance. And the third time I stuck with it. And while Dancing in the Athenian Rain was no where close to my favorite book ever, it did make an impressive recovery in my opinion. Dancing in the Athenian Rain is a… Read more »

Divider

Feb 09
{Review+Giveaway} Remembrance by @MegCabot @WmMorrowBks

{Review+Giveaway} Remembrance by @MegCabot @WmMorrowBks

Do you guys even know how exciting this is for me? Meg Cabot has been my favorite author for my whole reading life. Her books are the very first books that I remember completely devouring and re-reading in the young adult genre. And the Mediator series is my very favorite of my favorites. I have, no joke, read the mediator series at least 15 times. Remembrance  is book 7 in the Mediator series by Meg Cabot, and it takes place 15 years after book 6 left off. What I love the most about Remembrance is that the characters have grown up just like I have. So now this is an adult book. Suze is getting ready to marry off Jesse (who by the way, was my very first book boyfriend. And still one of my top book boyfriends of all time.) Reading Remembrance was like getting to reminisce with some of my older best friends. It was so great. Like being wrapped up in a big hug by someone you… Read more »

Divider

Feb 08
{Review} The Morrigna by Rachel Rawlings

{Review} The Morrigna by Rachel Rawlings

  The Morrigna is the first book in the Maurin Kincaide series  by Rachel Rawlings. the Maurin Kincaide series is an adult urban fantasy series that reminded me of Desires of Demons by Debra Dunbar, in the fact that there were lots of paranormals coming together. I had some issues with the world building in this one, but once I got into the swing of the book it was a nice read. Nothing earth shattering, and it wasn’t my favorite book that I have ever read, but it was good. And hardcore fans of urban fantasy and paranormals should check out this series, because there are already 4 or 5 books out, so you can get your instant gratification fix. The redeeming thing abut The Morrigna was the main character, Maurin Kincaide. I really enjoyed her, and if I do continue on with this series, it will be because of her. I also really enjoyed the romance aspect of this story. It wasn’t who I initially pegged that it would… Read more »

Divider

Feb 08
{Bookish News: Cover Reveal} The Rise of Genesis by @MRMerrick

{Bookish News: Cover Reveal} The Rise of Genesis by @MRMerrick

  Announcing a new book by M.R. Merrick!     In a world where being Supernatural means you’re in danger, Ash Lawson is front and center. After years of helping others escape ATOM—a government entity known for abusing Supernaturals—he’s captured, and saving himself will prove to be the most difficult task he’s undertaken. Tryst Rivera is a Succubus and veteran at the Academy, a facility tasked with converting underage Supernaturals into cooperative ATOM soldiers. She’s endured her time mostly unscathed, but when Ash arrives and their lives are tethered to one another, she’s placed in immediate danger. With escape at the forefront of his mind, Ash struggles with the idea of life under ATOM’s thumb. He’ll die before he converts, but his life isn’t the only one he’s responsible for, and he already has more blood on his hands than he can bear. When a chance for freedom arises, Ash needs to decide how much—and who—he’s willing to risk for a second chance.     Add to Goodreads Coming March… Read more »

Divider

Feb 05
{ARC Review} The Asset by Anna Del Mar

{ARC Review} The Asset by Anna Del Mar

The Asset is the first book in the adult thriller romance series, called the Wounded Warrior series by Anna del Mar. This is one of those books that is not my normal read. But there was something about the summary that was mysterious enough for me to really want to give it a try. The whole Lia hiding aspect intrigued me enough that made me want to see what was going to happen. And I am very pleased that I did. This book had so much more action in it than I was expecting. Yes it is a very nice love story as well, but this book would make a kick ass, high budget, let’s blow things up action thriller. Lia is living in a cabin in the middle of no where. Ash shows up to this cabin looking to be her roommate with a dog, and oh yea he is very very hurt and very very defensive about it. It was a very bizarre start to the story. I… Read more »

Divider

Feb 04
{Review+Giveaway} Happily Ever Ninja by Penny Reid @indiesagepromo @reidromance

{Review+Giveaway} Happily Ever Ninja by Penny Reid @indiesagepromo @reidromance

Happily Ever Ninja is the fifth book in the Knitting in the City series by Penny Reid, but it can be read as a standalone. I myself have not read any of the other books in the Knitting in the City series, but my love for Penny Reid runs so deep that I couldn’t pass up any of her books. I also wanted to read Happily Ever Ninja for another reason- it is a book about a married couple. I hardly ever read a book where the couple starts out married. And I knew that if I was going to start with one, it was going to be by Penny Reid. She just has a way with romance and with humor. I have loved every single one of the books I have read by her, and this one is no different. While I just told you that this book works as a standalone from the other books in the Knitting in the City series, I would recommend that you read the… Read more »

Divider

Feb 03
{Giveaway} Romance is in the Air #Giveaway Hop

{Giveaway} Romance is in the Air #Giveaway Hop

Welcome to my stop on the Romance is in The Air giveaway hop! First, I wanted to share an AWESOME giveaway from XOXO after dark. (my giveaway is below in the post, so read on for that, but I wanted to let you guys all know about this too!) Click on the picture of HERE to enter the giveaway ——————————- And now for my Romance is in the Air Giveaway! one winner will get  2 books from  from my giveaway pile below.(US only) To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win two books from my giveaway picture above. Physical books are US only Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law. a Rafflecopter giveaway <!– end LinkyTools script –>

Divider

Feb 02
{Release Day Review} Burning Midnight by @WillMcIntoshSF #randomhousereads

{Release Day Review} Burning Midnight by @WillMcIntoshSF #randomhousereads

Burning Midnight is a standalone young adult science fiction fantasy by Will McIntosh. And guess what? It features a male protagonist. Do you even know how excited I was to see a character like Sully? I loved him. And I loved Burning Midnight. Everything about this book made me excited to read it, and once I started, even more excited to keep reading. I loved that the world is much the same as the world as we know it. Burning Midnight takes place in present day New York City, and all the regular things like facebook, ebay, and flea markets exist. The one big difference is that little colored marbles (called orbs) are scattered throughout the world. They just showed up one day and no one knows where they came from. People soon discovered that if you found a pair of the same color orbs and you “burned” them, meaning you held them up to your temples, that you would absorb some sort of talent from the orbs. Each color,… Read more »

Divider

Feb 01
{Review+Kindle Fire Giveaway} The Prophecy of Shadows by Michelle Madow

{Review+Kindle Fire Giveaway} The Prophecy of Shadows by Michelle Madow

The Prophecy of Shadows is the first book in the young adult fantasy/mythology series, called the Elementals by Michelle Madow. This series says it is aimed for fans of Percy Jackson and The Secret Circle, and I think they are right on point with The Secret Circle. What I liked most about The Prophecy of Shadows is the blend of witches and elemental magic with mythology. I thought that was a cool take on a mythology story that I have not seen done before. I have read contemporaries, fantasies, and romances from author Michelle Madow and she really has a talent for being an author that can write diverse genres of books well. I always know that I will enjoy her story telling. And I did with The Prophecy of Shadows. The Prophecy of Shadows follows new girl Nicole. When she shows up to her new school, she is placed in a mysterious honors class, which happens to be a code word for the classes for students with magic powers…. Read more »

Divider

Jan 29

{Discussion} Do Predictable Books Bother You?

Today I want to have a chat with you about something that I curious about. I feel like I might be in the minority with this one. So I am just going to come right out and say it. Get your tomatoes and stones ready for throwing. Predictable books generally do not bother me.  There is a huge caveat to that statement. It should say, Predictable books generally do not bother me…if they are done well. Yesterday, I put up a review of Anatomy of a Player by Cindi Madsen (review here) and I really enjoyed the book. I thought it was cute, the romance was fun and the characters had great chemistry. But the story was predictable. And while I was writing my review, I found myself warning people of that. And then I thought, but you know what? That didn’t bother me at all when I was reading. So why was I warning people that the story was predictable? Because I have noticed in the review community that seems… Read more »

Divider