• {Series Love Giveaway} Bulletproof by @MelissaPearlG & The Hazards of Mistletoe by @AlyssaRoseIvy

  • {Guest Post+Giveaway} THE HALCYON BIRD by Kat Beyer @KatBeyerwrites

  • {Review+Giveaway} Karma by @DonnAugustine

  • {ARC Review+Giveaway} The Last Changeling by @Chelsea_Pitcher @fluxbooks

  • {ARC #Review +Giveaway} Henge by Realm Lovejoy @Realmlovejoy

  • {Discussion+Giveaway} National Young Readers Day: Fav bedtime story & The Waterfire Saga by Jennifer Donnelly

Nov 21
{Discussion Post} Why I like so many books & 2014 DNF

{Discussion Post} Why I like so many books & 2014 DNF

  Today I wanted to talk to you about something that I have thought about posting about a lot. Why do I like so many of the books that I read and review? Most of the reviews on my site are 3.5 stars and up, with a very healthy amount of 4 star books. Why is that? And I should say right off the bat, that this isn’t a question I get a asked a ton. I think that after almost 4 and 1/2 years of blogging and after a lifetime of reading, people trust that I am writing honest reviews. If I didn’t like something in a book, I am going to say it. I am not going to inflate my star ratings just because an author sent me a book to review. But I also think I have written fair reviews. Authors have even  thanked me after I posted 1 and 2 star reviews of books for being professional about it, and saying that they would be happy… Read more »

Divider

Nov 20
{Series Love Giveaway} Bulletproof by @MelissaPearlG & The Hazards of Mistletoe by @AlyssaRoseIvy

{Series Love Giveaway} Bulletproof by @MelissaPearlG & The Hazards of Mistletoe by @AlyssaRoseIvy

Today I have some fun giveaways to spread the holiday cheer for series that I have been loving. It is the release day for two great looking books. Bulletproof  is the second book in the Songbird Series. I loved the First book, Fever. You can Check out my review of Fever HERE And the hazards series is one that I have been loving for a long time. (I will link to my reviews of that series below) If you have not read either of these series yet, you need to! I have read all the books in both of these series, and I have reviews of each of the books featured today coming up on my blog later this year (which is almost over- how crazy is that??) Because both of these awesome books release on the same day, I decided to share some release day giveaways of each of them with you guys! Bulletproof by Melissa Pearl Release Day Blitz November 20, 2014 Morgan Pritchett doesn’t need anyone. Strong-willed… Read more »

Divider

Nov 19
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Kissing Frogs by Alisha Sevigny @alisha7e @swoonromance

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Kissing Frogs by Alisha Sevigny @alisha7e @swoonromance

Kissing Frogs by Alisha Sevigny Pages: 231 Published on: November 18, 2014 by Swoon Romance Genres: contemporary, Love & Romance, Young Adult Source: eARC from Publisher Popular party girl and high school senior Jessica Scott has a secret: she used to be a nerd — a big one; a goody two-shoes, grade-skipping, all-state spelling bee champ. But she lost the braces, put on some contacts, and applied all her academic genius to studying and imitating the social elite. Now she rules the school from the upper echelon of the high school realm. With her cool new friends and hottest-guy-in-school boyfriend, life’s a beach — and that’s where she’s headed for Spring Break. That is, until her teacher breaks the bad news that she’s failing Biology — and her only chance to make up the grade is to throw away the culminating trip of her hard-earned popularity and join the Conservation Club in Panama to save the Golden Frog. Unable to let go of her faded college dreams, Jess finds herself… Read more »

Divider

Nov 18
{Teasers+Giveaway} True Blue by @jules_barnard

{Teasers+Giveaway} True Blue by @jules_barnard

  True Blue by Jules Barnard The Blue Series, #3 Publication Date: November 17, 2014 Genres: New Adult, Romance Synopsis Mira Frasier has worked hard to pull herself out of the darkness of her Tahoe reservation childhood, but rough beginnings shape a person in all the wrong ways. Mira gets mixed up with shady people while trying to bail out her destitute mother—and now Mira’s life is in danger. Tyler Morgan grew up a star athlete and scholar, but a tragedy he hasn’t dealt with has him regrouping in his home town of South Lake Tahoe. The last person he expects to see is Mira, the girl he lost his virginity to in high school, and the only woman who ever took a piece of his heart. He’d rather live in a tent than do what his sister asks and stay with Mira while they figure out how to keep her safe from the men who attacked her. To ensure Mira remains in his past where she belongs, Tyler agrees… Read more »

Divider

Nov 17
{ #Review } Handpicked by Dani Oden @MsDaniOden

{ #Review } Handpicked by Dani Oden @MsDaniOden

Handpicked by Dani Oden Pages: 216 Published on: August 5, 2014 by Createspace Independent Pub Genres: contemporary, Love & Romance, New Adult Series: Pledged Series #1 Source: ecopy from Author College freshman Jill Holloway takes one look at the stuck-up girls going through sorority rush and nearly returns her borrowed dress and heels. Against her best judgment, she ends up falling for the prestige and parties, and snagging a bid from a top house. After moving in, she quickly grows skeptical of her too-perfect sorority sisters. She tries to ask questions, though no one will take time from their busy social calendar to give her any real answers. Jill wastes no time digging for everything she’s not supposed to find, and soon comes face-to-face with a big and bloody secret hidden in her sorority’s basement. She knows she’s in over her head, but taking off so soon would raise the perfectly-plucked eyebrows of her suspicious new sisters. She’s stuck until she can make a smooth exit. But the closer she… Read more »

Divider

Nov 15
{Guest Post+Giveaway} THE HALCYON BIRD by Kat Beyer @KatBeyerwrites

{Guest Post+Giveaway} THE HALCYON BIRD by Kat Beyer @KatBeyerwrites

The Halcyon Bird by Kat Beyer Pages: 352 Published on: 2014-11-11 by Egmont USA Genres: Family, Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Multigenerational, Young Adult For fans of Lauren Kate and Cassandra Clare, a romance with a paranormal streak.   Mia has settled into her life with the Della Torres — Milan’s premier demon-catching family, accompanying them to exorcisms and even learning some way to be useful in the family trade. Then Bernardo comes into her life, handsome, well-mannered, someone who makes her forget her impossible crush on Emilio, her cousin. But always lurking in the background is the demon who possessed Mia once before, and who has not given up on possessing her again–this time for good.     10 things you didn’t know about Demon Catching   The methods that the Della Torre use should not be tried at home. The methods that the Della Torre use are not sanctioned by the Catholic Church. You should never put out a demon catching candle with your breath. Ever. Bad… Read more »

Divider

Nov 14
{Review+Giveaway} The Extraordinary Life of Lara Craft (Not Croft) by @LolaSalt @sarahalderson @Bex_Wicks

{Review+Giveaway} The Extraordinary Life of Lara Craft (Not Croft) by @LolaSalt @sarahalderson @Bex_Wicks

The Extraordinary Life of Lara Craft (Not Croft) by Lola Salt Pages: 320 Published on: October 7, 2014 by Createspace Independent Pub Genres: contemporary, Humor, Love & Romance, New Adult Series: Lara Craft Saga #1 Source: ecopy from Author From bestselling authors Becky Wicks (Before He Was Famous, Before He Was Gone) and Sarah Alderson (Hunting Lila, Fated, Come Back to Me) comes a new romance with a difference… After losing her job and her boyfriend on the same day, Lara’s beginning to wonder if her life can possibly get any worse. Then along comes Jamie, a childhood friend, offering her a job delivering mysterious packages to random destinations around the world and suddenly things are looking up. Lara packs her bags and sets off on an epic adventure, meeting billionaire Arabic Princes, rugged cowboys, a sparkling wannabe vampire, a love guru with sex on the brain and Angelina Jolie’s bodyguards along the way. But though trouble always seems to find Lara, it seems love is rather more elusive. Pack… Read more »

Divider

Nov 14
{Review+Giveaway} Karma by @DonnAugustine

{Review+Giveaway} Karma by @DonnAugustine

Karma by Donna Augustine Pages: 344 Published on: July 9, 2014 by Strong Hold Publishing Genres: adult, Urban Fantasy Series: Karma #1 Source: ecopy from Author People say karma’s a…well, you know. Personally, I don’t think I’m that bad. It’s not like I wanted this job. I wasn’t even in my right mind when I accepted the position. Now, I’m surrounded by crazy coworkers like Lady Luck, who’s a bit of a tramp, and Murphy’s Law, who’s a bumbling oaf. But the worst is Fate. He’s got a problem with transfers like myself and I have to see him constantly. It’s unavoidable, since we’re hunting the same man, my murderer. Note: This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.   Yes! I have been hitting Urban Fantasy Jackpot gold lately. I loved Karma! I thought that the world Donna Augustine created was intriguing and addictive. I loved how mysterious and creative her working… Read more »

Divider

Nov 13
{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Last Changeling by @Chelsea_Pitcher @fluxbooks

{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Last Changeling by @Chelsea_Pitcher @fluxbooks

The Last Changeling by Chelsea Pitcher Pages: 360 Published on: November 8, 2014 by flux, Llewellyn Worldwide Genres: Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology, Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Young Adult Series: Faerie Revolutions #1 Source: eARC from Publisher A Kingdom at War . . .   Elora, the young princess of the Dark Faeries, plans to overthrow her tyrannical mother, the Dark Queen, and bring equality to faeriekind. All she has to do is convince her mother’s loathed enemy, the Bright Queen, to join her cause. But the Bright Queen demands an offering first: a human boy who is a “young leader of men.”   A Dark Princess In Disguise . . .   To steal a mortal, Elora must become a mortal—at least, by all appearances. And infiltrating a high school is surprisingly easy. When Elora meets Taylor, the seventeen-year-old who’s plotting to overthrow a ruthless bully, she thinks she’s found her offering . . . until she starts to fall in love. The Last Changeling… Read more »

Divider

Nov 12
{ARC #Review +Giveaway} Henge by Realm Lovejoy @Realmlovejoy

{ARC #Review +Giveaway} Henge by Realm Lovejoy @Realmlovejoy

Henge by Realm Lovejoy Pages: 330 Published on: November 11, 2014 by Createspace Independent Pub Genres: Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult Series: Le Fay #1 Source: eARC from Author Modern-day Camelot. Where knights no longer carry swords. Magic is dangerous. And those who seek control are not to be trusted. Sixteen-year-old Morgan le Fay is a fire user. An ordinary girl with an extraordinary skill, she has the ability to create and command fire at will. Her dream is to become the Maven—the right hand of the future King Arthur. In the chance of a lifetime, Morgan is selected to join Arthur’s Round, an elite group of young magic users from which the new Maven will be chosen. Along with the other fire, water, and wind users in Arthur’s Round, Morgan is rigorously trained and tested. The handsome Merlin, a brilliant water user, takes a particular interest in her. Is his friendship to be trusted, or is Merlin simply trying to win the position of Maven for himself? Among… Read more »

Divider