Month: September 2011

Sep 30

Weekend Read-A-Thon!

This week has been super stressful and busy for me! You might have noticed the lack of posts this week, and that is the reason why. I have had a ton of reading for classes and a research project due, so it left very little time for anything else. So as a de-stresser and way to catch up on reviews I planned on doing a solo read-a-thon this weekend. Then, as I am going through my email posts, I saw that another impromtu read-a-thon was taking place this weekend! How cool is that?? April at Good Books & Good Wine is hosting the read-a-thon. This read-a-thon is from 9/28 until 10/3. I would really like to read 5 books this weekend. Fingers crossed! 🙂 These are the books that I would like to read this weekend: The Juliet Spell by Douglas Rees The Faerie Ring by Kiki Hamilton Bridger by Megan Curd Remembrance by Michelle Madow Fourteen by C.M. Smith A Beautiful Dark by Jocelyn Davies Also on Twitter, “I think” the hashtag… Read more »

Divider

Sep 25
In My Mailbox (12)

In My Mailbox (12)

In My Mailbox was inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie and created by Kristi at The Story Siren. FOR REVIEW: The Faerie Ring by Kiki Hamilton (Publisher- Thank you Tor/Forge publishing!)Frail by Joan Frances Turner (Publisher- Thank you Penguin!)Betrayed by Morrigan Michele and Misty Carmony (blog tour) Bloodstone Heart by T. Lynne Tolles (blog tour)Deadman’s Blood by T. Lynne Tolles (blog tour) Bloodlines by Lindsay Ann Kendal (blog tour)Torment (bloodlines #2) by Lindsay Ann Kendal (blog tour) WON: Royal Blood by Rhys Bowen (from Bea @ Bea’s Book Nook)Everblue by Brenda Pandos (from Word Spelunking‘s 100 follower contest!)Leave links to your IMM in the comments and I will be sure to stop by! 🙂Click here to enter my banned books giveaway- $10 to Book Depository Click Here to Enter my 500 Follower Giveaway!

Divider

Sep 24
Banned Books Week Giveaway Hop!

Banned Books Week Giveaway Hop!

This hop is hosted by I read banned books and I am a reader, not a writer.  This hop will run from today September 25th – October 1 in honor of banned books week. A few years ago, in college, I took an honors seminar on banned books. It was so interesting. We learned about all the different grounds that people try to censor books on, did a lot of work with the first amendment and read a ton of “banned books”. Some of the books that we had a chance to read, were slaughterer five,  reservation blues, and 1984. I will be giving away a book of the winners choose, up to $10 from the Book Depository. The book should be a banned book in some way. This means that it could have previously been banned or have some sort of controversial material in it, that could lead to people wanting to ban it. (it is very wide open, actually) Giveaway Rules: The rules for entering my contest are really simple. You Must be a… Read more »

Divider

Sep 23
Follow Friday (10)

Follow Friday (10)

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee’s View and Alison can Read.   If you are new to the #FF fun, Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. First you leave your name on Parajunkee’s site, then you create a post on your own blog that links back to Parajunkee, and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them hi in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you! ok now for the question! Q. Do you have a favorite series that you read over and over again? Tell us a bit about it and why you keep revisiting it. Well, I’m sure this is going to be a very popular answer but I can’t seem to get around picking it this time around. You all know what I’m going to say for my first choice- Harry Potter. I have… Read more »

Divider

Sep 22
Review- Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey

Review- Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey

Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey Hardcover, 336 pages Published September 20th 2011 by HarperTeen Age Group: YA Source: NetGalley Buy this Book: Cold Kiss Summary (from Goodreads) When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story… Read more »

Divider

Sep 22
Giveaway Updates

Giveaway Updates

There is only one more day left to enter two of my current giveaways. I have three giveaways going on right now and the small blogs, big giveaways, and love at absolute zero( both international) are ending tomorrow night (friday 9/23). Be sure to go and enter them if you have not done so already! Here are the links to all my Giveaways. 🙂Small Blogs, Big Giveaways http://bookbriefs.blogspot.com/2011/09/small-blogs-big-giveaways.htmlLove at Absolute Zerohttp://bookbriefs.blogspot.com/2011/09/guest-post-and-giveaway-author.html500 Follower Giveaway Click Here to Enter my 500 Follower Giveaway! And I have been loving your blog suggestions. Stop by here and leave me some more! I have been visiting, commenting and following all of them 🙂http://bookbriefs.blogspot.com/2011/09/ya-blog-love-what-are-your-favorites.html

Divider

Sep 22

Blogger Interview at GReads!

Hey guys, today I am being interviewed by Ginger over at GReads. I would love it if you guys could head over there and check it out and let me know what you think. 🙂 (pretty please with a book on top?)Here is the link to the interviewhttp://www.greadsbooks.com/2011/09/blogger-behind-book-30.html Click Here to Enter my 500 Follower Giveaway!

Divider

Sep 20

YA Blog Love- What are your Favorites?

Earlier this week I tweeted about wanting to find some new YA blogs to follow and read. I got a few responses and found out about some really awesome blogs that I had not known about before.But it was not enough! I want more! So i’m putting the call out to you- show me the blogs! Old. New. 10 followers. 1,000 followers. I don’t care, I want to see them all! Leave me links to your favorite YA blogs and/or some YA blogs that you think don’t get enough shout out love. You can even pimp out your own blog to me. Leave me a link, I would love to come and say hi and check out your blog. I’ll even click that pretty little GFC button and subscribe via email. 🙂 Bring on the blogs!!  Click Here to Enter my 500 Follower Giveaway!

Divider

Sep 20
Guest Post- Avery Flynn (Blog Tour)

Guest Post- Avery Flynn (Blog Tour)

Today, we are joined by the author of Up a Dry Creek, Avery Flynn. She is sharing her views on spitfire heroines. (my favorite kind!) Thank you so much Avery for taking the time to write this guest post. 🙂 Spitfires Are Us By Avery Flynn There are some book heroines who I love and admire. They’re strong and smart and more than a little intimidating. I’m talking about you Anita Blake, who is completely kick ass and I love but who would scare the crap out of me if we met in real life. Then, there are those heroines who I want to sit down with at the bar because I know I’m going to laugh, commiserate and snark the night away. This is where Bridget Jones and Sookie Stackhouse come into play. So when I was crafting Claire Layton, my heroine in Up a Dry Creek, I knew I wanted the second kind of heroine. Claire reminds me a lot of a friend I had in college who… Read more »

Divider

Sep 20
Review- Up a Dry Creek by Avery Flynn (Blog Tour)

Review- Up a Dry Creek by Avery Flynn (Blog Tour)

Up a Dry creek by Avery Flynn ebook Published June 15th 2011 by Evernight Publishing Age Group: Adult (18+) Source: Blog Tour Summary (from Goodreads) Dry Creek has been home to the Layton family for generations, a heritage Claire Layton and her brothers Hank, Chris and Sam all appreciate. Claire is a successful, though somewhat debt-ridden, restaurateur who minds her own business—literally. She has enough on her plate between an irascible chef, an abandoned sous-chef, and the pressure of running her highly praised eatery, Harvest Bistro. But when she discovers one of her customers dead in her dumpster, her world begins to unravel. Even as her County Sheriff brother Hank and his team are still swarming the property looking for evidence, Claire receives a threatening call. It seems there’s a slight problem involving the dead young woman in the dumpster. She doesn’t have her phone and her flash drive with her. The killer makes it clear that Claire better find them by noon the next day or he’ll go after her… Read more »

Divider