Category: Young Adult

May 17
{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Girl with More Than One Heart by Laura Geringer Bass

{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Girl with More Than One Heart by Laura Geringer Bass

Welcome to Day #4 of The Girl with More Than One Heart Blog Tour! To celebrate the release of The Girl with More Than One Heart by Laura Geringer Bass on April 17th, blogs across the web are featuring exclusive content from Laura, as well as 5 chances to win a copy of The Girl with More Than One Heart! What resources do you recommend for a child/teen struggling with the loss of a loved one? by Laura Geringer Bass I recommend: Books!  Reading is something you can do alone without the help of friends or adults. Here are some treasured books I read in middle school and high school and some I’ve read recently that deal with themes of grief and loss from the point of view of a child or teen.  First, here are three of Briana’s favorite books, cited in chapter 5, (“Blue”) of “The Girl With More Than One Heart.” Each of the heroines in these books: (Francie, Frankie, and Scout in that order) share the experience of… Read more »

Divider

May 15
{Review+Giveaway} Genesis by @BrendanReichs #ProjectNemesis #GenesisBlogTour @PenguinTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Genesis by @BrendanReichs #ProjectNemesis #GenesisBlogTour @PenguinTeen

Please Note: Genesis is the second book in a series that needs to be read in order. If you are new to the Project Nemesis series, you can check out my review of the first book HERE Genesis is the second book in the young adult science fiction series, called Project Nemesis by author Brendan Reichs. I am so in love with this series! I loved the first book Nemesis, and I think I loved Genesis even more!It is a great series for fans of science fiction, dystopians and mysteries. This is a series that needs to be read in order, so if you have not read Nemesis yet, you will want to grab a copy of that and dive in immediately. But if you read Nemesis when it first released and you are worried that you won’t remember everything that happened, don’t worry! Brendan Reichs does a fantastic job of providing enough information to bring the reader up to speed without just regurgitating the information from Nemesis. It felt… Read more »

Divider

May 14
{Review} The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell

{Review} The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell

Holy Cow, the Last Magician was utterly fantastic! The Last Magician is a young adult fantasy novel by author Lisa Maxwell. It is the story of Esta, who is a Mageus with the ability to time travel. Esta uses this time traveling ability to steal magical artifacts. This aspect of the story reminded me of the show warehouse 13, which many of you know I really love! There is a small dose of romance, but the real star of this book was the plot. It took me a good 3 chapters or so to get into it, but after that I was hooked. I loved all the detail and background information we get early on. It does take some time for all of the information to build, but once it does we are off on a fast paced, intense adventure with plenty of twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat. The last Magician was a real winner for me! One of my favorite things about… Read more »

Divider

Divider

May 14
{Giveaway} Tell Me No Lies by @AV_Geiger

{Giveaway} Tell Me No Lies by @AV_Geiger

EXCLUSIVE E-BOOK SALE FANTASTIC NEWS BOOK NERDS!! We have an awesome E-Book Sale for A.V. Geiger’s FOLLOW ME BACK running from MAY 7th until 11:59 pm (PST) on May 18, 2018 JUST FOR $1.99! KINDLE | NOOK | iBOOKS | Praise for FOLLOW ME BACK “Debut author Geiger’s social-media-saturated thriller (which fittingly got its start on Wattpad) should transfix teens for whom online relationships (romantic and otherwise) are integral parts of daily life, and catfishing and hacking are genuine fears. Tweets, direct messages, and police interrogation transcripts are incorporated throughout, throwing the reliability of both narrators into question and hinting at the sinister thread underlying this boy-meets-girl story. ” ―Publishers Weekly “Pieces are revealed one at a time until they all come together at the end-right before everything falls apart before a final, dark twist. A page-turner for young adults invested in social media, fandoms, and mysteries.” ―School Library Journal “Told though alternating points of view, tweets, and police reports, this novel is perfect for fans of Sara Shepard, April Henry, or Kimberly Derting. In her debut novel, Geiger creates… Read more »

Divider

May 08
{Review+Giveaway} The Queen’s Rising by @_RebeccaRoss

{Review+Giveaway} The Queen’s Rising by @_RebeccaRoss

The Queen’s Rising is the first book in a new, Young Adult Fantasy series by the same name, from author Rebecca Ross. I was immediately drawn in to this book. The cover is stunning, and the summary really grabbed me. I love the idea of young adults studying one of five passions and getting a patron to help them learn their craft. It all felt very Renaissance to me, which is a time period I have always been fascinated by. Plus, I knew there was also going to be magic and politics and all of that fun stuff that I crave in fantasy worlds. And I have to say, The Queen’s Rising was excellent! The Queen’s Rising focuses on our young main character, Brienna. She doesn’t have an immediately apparent aptitude for one of the passions and she doesn’t end up getting a patron until later in the game than most young adults her age. This, coupled with some other surprising things that happen to her, set her off on a… Read more »

Divider

May 03
{Review+Giveaway} Fangs & Fins by Amy McNulty @McNultyAmy

{Review+Giveaway} Fangs & Fins by Amy McNulty @McNultyAmy

FANGS & FINS is a young adult paranormal romance by Amy McNulty. It is also the first book in the Blood, Bloom, & Water series. This is the first book I have read from author Amy McNulty, but I will be on the lookout for more from her now, because Fangs & Fins was a strong start to what looks to be an interesting series. Fangs & Fins is the perfect book to feature on my blog today because today is national paranormal day! So it is only fitting that I feature a paranormal book. I loved how much was going on in Fangs & Fins. There are some classic young adult elements thrown in, like step siblings and family secrets, plus lots of great characters and a fast paced always moving plot to keep your interest. Fangs & Fins was a great start to a series that I am interested in continuing on. We start out our journey meeting Ember, who has always wanted a sister. Her wish is… Read more »

Divider

Apr 23
{ARC Review+Wedding Style Board} Royals by Rachel Hawkins

{ARC Review+Wedding Style Board} Royals by Rachel Hawkins

Royals is the first book in a young adult series by the same name from author Rachel Hawkins. I loved this super fun read for many reasons. First, I am all about all things wedding at the moment with the Royal wedding happening this summer and me planning my own wedding. This was right up my alley and second, because of the characters. I cannot tell you how much I love that the main character of this story is the sister of character engaged to the prince. This was a great idea on Rachel Hawkins part. It sets Royals apart from all of the other, I fell in love with a prince books. Daisy’s sister, Ellie is engaged to Prince Alex. But the real star of the story is Daisy. I loved Daisy. She is a bit of a hot mess at times, but she is always feisty and spunky and has no problem speaking first and dealing with the consequences later. I was hoping that Royals would have a… Read more »

Divider

Apr 18
{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Summer of Broken Things by Margaret Peterson Haddix

{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Summer of Broken Things by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Welcome to Day #3 of The Summer of Broken Things Blog Tour! To celebrate the release of The Summer of Broken Things on April 10th, blogs across the web are featuring exclusive content from Margaret Peterson Haddix and 10 chances to win a copy of the book! Travel My husband jokes that in my family, if anyone says, “Do you want to go to…,” we all say, “Sure!” before we even know the destination. My parents definitely succeeded in passing on a love of travel to my siblings and me, and we’ve all handed down that travel lust to our own children as well. For me, a huge part of it came from the books I read. I’m pretty sure that the earliest places books made me want to visit were ones that didn’t actually exist: Narnia, for example. (I also really, really wanted to be able to tesser.) But a lot of the books I read as a kid also implanted a deep desire to see certain real places for myself…. Read more »

Divider