{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

February 7, 2019 Blog Tours, Giveaways, Reviews, Young Adult 18 ★★★½

{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. MercerTriplicity by J. Mercer
Pages: 300
Published by Bare Ink on January 6, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, mystery, Romance
Source: eARC from Author
three-half-stars

One week on an Alaskan cruise, three teens, and an endless trail of lies.

Enter a series of thefts on board and they all fall under scrutiny. Though Navy acts a proper preacher’s daughter, she did end up with someone else’s purse in her hands, and Jesse knows way more than he should about what’s gone missing. Isaiah, however, is the one with motive—enough money and he could get back to his ranch. Each holds a piece of the truth, but exposing the thief could damn them all. They must navigate through the lies they’ve told, choose between standing together or saving themselves, and decide if innocence is worth facing their ugliest secrets.

*For readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han.*

graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider
YA Review My Thoughts

Triplicity is a young adult mystery by J. Mercer, that takes place on a cruise ship. I was completely intrigued by this idea. I love the idea of a story taking place on a cruise ship, and I hardly ever read young adult mysteries. Most mysteries I read are adult, so I knew this was going to be a cool book. And it was! Triplicity is something than I am used to reading, but it was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed this novel. The blurb of Triplicity says this book is perfect for readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han, and I think that is a good description. Triplicity certainly had that adorable light hearted feel, but maybe not quite as lighthearted as Kasie and Jenny because of the added mystery element.

Triplicity is told in multiple points of view, with the chapters switching off between the various main characters. I loved that all of the main characters met for the first time on their cruise vacation, no one came in with a best friend. I will say at the beginning, it was a bit confusing bouncing back and forth between the different chapters because I would forget who was speaking. So it took a little longer than usual for me to get to know the characters, but once I did get to know them, I was able to distinguish between their perspectives easily.

I loved how quickly our three main characters, Navy, Jesse, and Isaiah, bonded. They quickly became friends as they set out to solve the mystery of the cruise thief. I loved the mystery element, and shockingly, I liked the mystery even more than the romance. I liked Navy, but she was so flip floppy that it was starting to irritate me. As much as I enjoyed Navy, Jesse, and Isaiah, I also really liked their travel companions. Learning more about Navy’s mom, Isaiah’s grandma and Jesse’s dad really helped to flesh out the main characters and given them extra depth.

Overall, I think Triplicity was a really fun read. I loved the mystery. I think J. Mercer does a great job of keeping the plot interesting and keeping the readers guessing. This was not a mystery that I solved right away (though I am far from an expert). If you are a fan of young adult mysteries or of books that take place on a cruise, I think Triplicity is a book you will be interested in reading.

blue3.5
Giveaway

To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win a $25 amazon gift card

Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Michelle @ Book Briefs

18 Responses to “{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer”

  1. Rosie

    Sure sounds like fun read, and I always wanted to go on an Alaskan cruise, this would be so interesting!

  2. James Robert

    Thank you for sharing your book with us. I always look forward to finding out about another great read.

  3. Danielle Hammelef

    Mysteries are my favorite to read. The setting of this one is extra exciting–I’ve visited Alaska a few times and took a ferry along the inner passage.

  4. Debra Branigan

    Love the cover and this sounds like such a great mystery read. Good luck with this book.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.