Genre: Romance

Divider

Apr 12
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian @sebastian_lk @DelacortePress

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian @sebastian_lk @DelacortePress

Ash Princess is the first book a young adult fantasy series by the same name by author Laura Sebastian. Ash Princess is Laura Sebastian’s debut novel, which impressed me even more. I really liked this novel. I know it might seem like a storyline that you have heard before, and while I am not going to say it so shockingly different, it was different enough to stand out against other young adult fantasies. I especially loved the  foreword, where she describes her heroine as someone who does not battle with a sword, but rather, with her own wits and cunning. It is really refrshing to see such a heroine portrayed, because it made her so much more relate able to me. Theo is the princess of her country that was invaded and taken over when she was a little girl. Her parents, and most of her people, were killed and Theo, or Thora, was kept as a palace prisoner. The invading ruler, called the Kaiser, believes that he completely broke… Read more »

Divider

Apr 09
{ARC Review} Bound to You by @_AlyssaBrandon_ @SwoonReads

{ARC Review} Bound to You by @_AlyssaBrandon_ @SwoonReads

Bound to You is a young adult paranormal romance by Alyssa Brandon. Bound to You is the first book in a new series about Werewolves (at least I hope so!). Now, let’s just get this out of the way up front. I have been pretty burnt out on wolves for a while now. I have always enjoyed a good werewolf story, but after seeing countless dozen iterations of the same thing, I got a little bored. So I haven’t really read too many young adult novels featuring werewolves in the past couple of years. Sure, there have been some of my favorite series in the past have been about werewolves, but I have not found any novels in the past 2 or 3 years that have grabbed my attention. In fact, almost all I have read were either DNF or under 3 stars. Until Bound to You. Holy cow, I loved this book. I really loved this book. I read it in one sitting and I stayed up until about… Read more »

Divider

Mar 28
{Review+Giveaway} Obsidio by @AmieKaufman & Jay Kristoff @misterkristoff

{Review+Giveaway} Obsidio by @AmieKaufman & Jay Kristoff @misterkristoff

Obsidio is the final book in the young adult series, The Illuminae Files by author duo Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff. Let’s start out by saying I LOVED OBDISIO! It was a crazy, crazy ride and I cannot stop thinking about this book, about the characters and about this series. If you have read obsidio, you know what I mean. If you have not, what are you waiting for?? Because I know so many people dearly love this series, I am going to do something a little different. This review is not for the many, many fans of the series. No, this review is for the people who are reluctant to read the series because Science Fiction is not their thing, or because of the hype or because of any number of other reasons. I used to be one of you. But now that I have read the first two books twice and binge read the entire series for the Obsidio release, I have to convert you to become as… Read more »

Divider

Mar 16
{Review+Giveaway} Pacifica by Kristen Simmons @kris10writes @TorTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Pacifica by Kristen Simmons @kris10writes @TorTeen

Pacifica is a future dystopian novel by Kristen Simmons. I am kind of picky when it comes to dystopian novels, because like a lot of people, I read a TON of them several years back, and they all started to feel similar and I got burnt out on the storyline. But Pacifica sounded too good to pass up, and I am so glad that I didn’t pass it up because I loved this book! I loved it! it made me want to go binge read all of Kristen’s other books. (I already own them all, but I haven’t read them! #bookbloggerproblems) Pacifica is set in our world in the future, when pollution and climate change has taken a very noticeable toll on the inhabitability of the earth. The waters are filled with waste and completely polluted, and people are trying to flee to this elusive uptopian island, that is supposedly untouched by the pollution of the main lands. It was scary how easy it was for me to envision this world. But… Read more »

Divider

Mar 14
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Lost Crow Conspiracy by @RosalynEves @KnopfBFYR ‏@TheNovl

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Lost Crow Conspiracy by @RosalynEves @KnopfBFYR ‏@TheNovl

Note: this is the second book in a series that must be read in order. Though I will keep spoilers to a minimum there may be spoilers for the first book in the series.  If you are new to the series, you can check out my review of book one- Blood Rose Rebellion, HERE Lost Crow Conspiracy is the second book in the young adult fantasy series, called Blood Rose Rebellion. It is also author Rosalyn Eves debut series which really impressed me. The first book, Blood Rose Rebellion was an excellent read for me, and I can’t wait to journey back into this crazy world. The first book ended on a great note, with Anna breaking the binding with her breaking magic and releasing magic to the masses. Initially it seems like a fantastic idea, but this is only the start of the second book, where we get to delve deeply into the class struggles and political drama that have really heightened in the world that Rosalyn Eves has… Read more »

Divider

Mar 06
{Release Day Review} Tap That by @jen_blackwood and @RC_Boldt

{Release Day Review} Tap That by @jen_blackwood and @RC_Boldt

Tap That is a standalone romantic comedy from authors Jen Blackwood and RC Boldt. This is the first book I have read by this author combo, though I have read individual books from both authors and I have really enjoyed them. Tap That is a book that takes place in a brewery and it is a good ole fashioned co-workers romance that was a whole lot of fun! I really enjoyed this book and I hope to see more from this author combo in the future. Reid and Callie are both after a promotion at work. I really liked reading about their competition and eventually about their chemistry and romance. The work place setting and the characters sold this story for me. I loved the laid back brewery setting. But then you take that and pit it against the competition Reid and Callie face going after the same position. It all worked really well for me. Throw in some steamy times and some well placed humor and this book was… Read more »

Divider

Feb 13
{Review+Giveaway} Romanov by Samaire Provost

{Review+Giveaway} Romanov by Samaire Provost

Romanov is a new adult paranormal by Samaire Provost. It has been a while since I have read a paranormal featuring vampires, but I was in the mood for one, so I decided to check out Romanov. I have seen a few people indicate that they were unsure that vampires were being featuring in this story, so you have been warned. This novel is about vampires. It is a feuding families type story with lots of moving parts and lots of vampires. I liked this story. It felt mysterious and it was an atmospheric read, but overall it didn’t blow me away. Don’t get me wrong, it was good. But it was lacking something to push it up over the top in my book. But let me tell you what I did like and you can see if it would be a read you would enjoy. If you are a fan of paranormals featuring vampires, then you will really like Samaire’s take on these creatures of the night. I found them to… Read more »

Divider

Feb 12
{Review} Love Between Enemies by @MollyELee @EntangledTeen

{Review} Love Between Enemies by @MollyELee @EntangledTeen

Love Between Enemies is the second book in the Grad Night series by Molly E. Lee. The Grad night series is a set of interconnected standalones that follow a group of friends on the night of their high school graduation. I really love the idea behind this series because all three of the books basically happen over the same weekend, so we get to see lots of character overlap and scene overlap from different perspectives in the different books. But each of the books does read as a standalone, so you don’t have to read the series in order. Each one will follow a different couple. The Grad Night series falls squarely in the young adult age group, and I think it is great for readers of all young adult and adult ages. I loved Love Between Enemies. It was super cute and a ton of fun. Love Between Enemies follows our two main characters, Zoey and Gordon. Zoey and Gordon are number one and two in their senior class… Read more »

Divider

Feb 09
{Review+Giveaway} The Dating Debate by Chris Cannon @entangledteen @ccannonauthor

{Review+Giveaway} The Dating Debate by Chris Cannon @entangledteen @ccannonauthor

The Dating Debate is the first book in the Dating Dilemmas series by Chris Cannon. The Dating Debate is a young adult contemporary romance. I have read Chris Cannon’s other young adult series, the Going Down in Flames series, which is a young adult paranormal romance. I really love that series, so I was excited to read something completely different from this author. The Dating Debate was a super quick read that was light, fluffy and a lot of fun. The Dating Debate is perfect for when you are looking for a quick fun book that you can easily finish in one afternoon. The Dating Debate follows our spunky main character, Nina. Nina is an unapologetic bookworm, which I totally loved about her. She cracked me up when she found out that her next door neighbor, West was “fluent in Harry Potter”, which was so obviously a major plus in all bookworms books. Nina cracks me up. She is spunky and adorable and she really loved debating, over everything. Which,… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

Nocturne is the first book in the fourth talisman series by Kat Ross. I really love Kat Ross’ books. There should be a big ole disclaimer on this review though. Although Nocturne is the first book in a series, it is really a follow up series to Kat Ross’ Fourth Element trilogy. Though you might be able to read this series without having read The Fourth Element trilogy, I am not sure that I would recommend it. There are some spoilers for events that happen in the previous series. I think these books are best read in order. Plus, The fourth Element series is a really awesome fantasy series that is perfect for fans of The City of Brass. And even better, the whole trilogy happens to be on sale right now for only 99 cents!  Nocturne follows Nazafareen after the events of Queen of Chaos leaves off. I can’t really get into much about those events without spoiling the previous trilogy, so let’s keep it vague. Nazafareen is now in the foreign… Read more »

Divider