Genre: Young Adult

Divider

Feb 15
{Review+Giveaway} Courting Darkness by Robin LaFevers

{Review+Giveaway} Courting Darkness by Robin LaFevers

Courting Darkness is the first book in the young adult fantasy Courting Darkness Duology by author Robin LaFevers. The Courting Darkness duology is a spin off the young adult His Fair Assassin Trilogy. That trilogy has shamefully been on my to be read pile for years! I have all of the books just sitting on my shelves mocking me for not reading them. Luckily, this is a spin off series and doesn’t need to be read after the original trilogy, but I am totally kicking myself for never reading the trilogy because Courting Darkness was so good! I loved it so much, and now I am bumping up the His Fair Assassin trilogy to the very top of my TBR. In Courting Darkness, our main character is Sybella, who is also one of the main characters from the His Fair Assassin trilogy. I loved the way Robin LaFevers tells a story. She doesn’t just tell, she weaves a tale. Her writing is atmospheric and dark and totally delicious. The other… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

Triplicity is a young adult mystery by J. Mercer, that takes place on a cruise ship. I was completely intrigued by this idea. I love the idea of a story taking place on a cruise ship, and I hardly ever read young adult mysteries. Most mysteries I read are adult, so I knew this was going to be a cool book. And it was! Triplicity is something than I am used to reading, but it was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed this novel. The blurb of Triplicity says this book is perfect for readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han, and I think that is a good description. Triplicity certainly had that adorable light hearted feel, but maybe not quite as lighthearted as Kasie and Jenny because of the added mystery element. Triplicity is told in multiple points of view, with the chapters switching off between the various main characters. I loved that all of the main characters met for the first time on their cruise vacation, no… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Silver Hollow  by Jennifer Silverwood

{Review+Giveaway} Silver Hollow by Jennifer Silverwood

Silver Hollow is the first book in the Borderlands saga by Jennifer Silverwood. The borderlands saga is a young adult fantasy romance that blended arthurian legend with fae legend. I have never seen this type blending before but I have to say I was loving it! I cannot wait for the next book in the saga because this was unlike anything I have read before. I am a huge fan of fae stories, and I have always been a fan of the legend of king Arthur. I’m not going to tell you exactly how the two things intertwine in the story (because…spoilers!) but I will say it is pretty cool. In Silver Hollow, we meet Amie. One of my not so favorite tropes was used to kick start this book (parents tragically dying) but it did serve it’s purpose in propelling Amie on a surprise adventure. She is whisked off and finds herself in a town that feels like another world. Amie gets to know a long lost relative of… Read more »

Divider

Jan 25
{Review+Giveaway} The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me by Olivia Hinebaugh

{Review+Giveaway} The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me by Olivia Hinebaugh

The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me is a young adult contemporary novel by Olivia Hinebaugh. There were a few things I didn’t love about this novel, but overall I thought it was still a good read. The good certainly outweighed my few gripes. So let’s start with the good. The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me is a novel that is both very educational and was a cute coming of age story. I really enjoyed our main character, Lacey( most of the time). And I loved her friendship with Theo and Evita. Her friend group was my favorite part of the story. Lacey was happy enjoying her senior year in high school, playing and listening to as much music as possible with her best friends, but when her school decides to take an abstinence only approach to sex education, Lacey decides to counter this sex health education. She falls into the position as a virgin sex health expert, and the book takes o And now for the few things… Read more »

Divider

Jan 14
{Review+Guest Post Giveaway} Analiese Rising by @BrendaDrake @EntangledTeen

{Review+Guest Post Giveaway} Analiese Rising by @BrendaDrake @EntangledTeen

Brenda Drake has stopped by today to share with us her top 10 favorite gods and goddesses! Then be sure to check out my review of Analiese Rising as well as enter the awesome giveaway down below! ———– There are several gods in Analiese Rising. Listing my top ten favorite gods and goddesses from the mythologies from around the world was difficult. There are so many that would make number one for me. So I decided to list them in the order of my favorites in the book, and here they are. Sidapa comes from Philipine mythology. He’s the god of death. In the novel, he doesn’t have his power anymore. He’s in love with the Bulan and sees him only during the full moon when the other god can come down to earth.   Oyá is from African She’s an Orisha of winds, lightning, and violent storms, death, and rebirth. She’s a kick butt goddess, and she makes a grand entrance into the story.   Lugh comes from the… Read more »

Divider

Jan 10
{Review+Giveaway} Match Me if you Can by @Tiana_Smith

{Review+Giveaway} Match Me if you Can by @Tiana_Smith

Match Me if you Can  is a standalone young adult contemporary romance by Tiana Smith. In fact, Match me if you Can is Tiana’s debut novel, which blew me away. I loved this book. It was super cute, and even though it was pretty predictable and the characters could be a bit immature, it was a great time from start to finish for me. Match Me if you Can is a new twist on the matchmakers trope that I always seem to enjoy. Match Me if you Can is also a retelling of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Here, our main character is not the matchmaker, but rather her best friend is a well respected match maker at her high school. Our main character, Mia hijaccks her friend Robyn’s match making email to set herself up with her crush. I loved all of the characters in this book. I thought they were age appropriate and all well developed. Mia, Robyn, Logan and Vince all really captured my heart.  But Logan most… Read more »

Divider

Jan 04
{Excerpt+Giveaway} Shrouded Kingdom by Rachel Medhurst

{Excerpt+Giveaway} Shrouded Kingdom by Rachel Medhurst

99¢ for a limited time only! To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win $25 Amazon gift card + signed copy of Shrouded Kingdom(US & CAN) ends jan 10th Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Dec 03
{Mini Review+News+Giveaway} Duty Bound by Christina Bauer @CB_Bauer

{Mini Review+News+Giveaway} Duty Bound by Christina Bauer @CB_Bauer

Today we are celebrating the paperback release of four novels (& novellas) from author Chirstina Bauer! She is releasing books from a few of her different series in Paperback this month, so it is the perfect time to check them out! If you are new to Christina Bauer, here is some more information on the books she is releasing. Check out more info on the books below, and then I have a mini review and excerpt from Duty Bound as well as a great giveaway!

Divider

Nov 13
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Amber & Dusk by @LyraSelene

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Amber & Dusk by @LyraSelene

Amber & Dusk is a young adult fantasy romance by author Lyra Selene. Amber & Dusk is a novel that features awesome secrets and intrigue, a really cool world setup, and characters that pull you in. Honestly, I loved pretty much everything about this novel. I really hope there is going to be a sequel. I wasn’t sure by the ending of Amber & Dusk if there would be one or not. I think there is certainly room for one. We had a few things that can be expanded on, and that were not completely wrapped up, so I am holding out for for another book. I need more! Lyra Selene did such a fantastic job with her characters and world building. This was a book that I just kept getting more and more excited about, the more I read it. It is a fantasy that I will be recommending to everyone as soon as it is released at the end of this month! You need to read Amber &… Read more »

Divider

Nov 06
{Review+Excerpt} The Dragon Tamer by Ava Richardson

{Review+Excerpt} The Dragon Tamer by Ava Richardson

The Dragon Tamer  is the first book in the Alveria Dragon Academy series by Ava Richardson. The Dragon Tamer is a young adult fantasy, and was a great start to what seems to be a very promising series. I have really been into dragons lately, so I was really excited to find a new young adult series centered around them. The Dragon Tamer is set in the world of Alveria, where in the past Humans and Dragons coexisted, but in present day Alveria, the dragon population has dwindled significantly. Because of this, tensions between the remaining dragons and humans are very frayed, and the climate between the two species is pretty hostile. This is the world that our main character has be brought up in. I always find it fascinating when we get to learn the history of a new world because it really helps to set the stage for what kind of series this is going to be. In the Dragon Tamer, we meet Kaelan, who becomes an outsider because of… Read more »

Divider