Genre: Young Adult

Divider

Apr 12
{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Isle of Gold by Seven Jane

{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Isle of Gold by Seven Jane

Today we have the author of Isle of Gold, Seven Jane here to tell us a little but about the characters! Meet the Characters (Tell us about your main characters! Looks, personality, some background story, and/or maybe a few quotes from the story?) Evangeline Evangeline Dahl is the cunning and successful proprietress of the tavern Goodnight Mermaid on Isla Perla, and the rumored lover of Captain Erik Winters of the pirate ship Riptide. She is described as having both unsurpassed beauty as well as possessing of the unpredictable personality of the ocean itself. When Evangeline vanishes from Isla Perla, Winters bleeds the waters red in his unrelenting search to find her. He believes she has been taken hostage by the gods of the sea as retribution for becoming so powerful in her ability to manipulate and control the trade of merchants and pirates sailing the Caribbean. It is on this quest that Merrin joins the Riptide​’s crew and we begin our tale. The true identity of Evangeline, or of how she arrived in Isla Perla,… Read more »

Divider

Apr 10
{Review+Giveaway} Smoke and Key by @KelseyJSutton @EntangledTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Smoke and Key by @KelseyJSutton @EntangledTeen

Smoke and Key is a young adult paranormal by author Kelsey Sutton. First off, I have to just point out how crazy beautiful the cover is. I was immediately drawn in because of it, but then the mysterious summary really hooked me. I had to know what Smoke and Key was all about. And talk about starting the book off with a bang. The first chapter was completely creepy and spooky and set the stage for a haunting and mysterious story that I simply could not put down. Smoke and Key was fascinating and something wholly different than I was expecting. If you are a fan of gothic style mysteries, I think you will absolutely love this novel. In Smoke and Key we start out with Key finding her way into the Under. The Under is a world where some  individuals find themselves after death. It is named the under because it is literally the ground underneath their graves, and the only way to enter it is to fall into… Read more »

Divider

Apr 08
{Release Day Review+Giveaway} The Boyfriend Bid by @JodieAndrefski @EntangledTeen

{Release Day Review+Giveaway} The Boyfriend Bid by @JodieAndrefski @EntangledTeen

The Boyfriend Bid is a young adult contemporary romance by author Jodie Andrefski. The Boyfriend Bid was a really cute romance story from Engalanged Teen’s Crush line. I am always happy to pick up a new book by their crush imprint because I always know what I can trust to get out of the story. I always know it is going to be a super cute romance, with great characters and a healthy dose of heart, mostly done in a high school setting. And The Boyfriend Bid delivered on all of those elements. There was one aspect of the story that bothered me but it didn’t detract from my overall enjoyment of the story. In the Boyfriend Bid we meet our two main characters, Sarah and Chance. Chance is the school’s new guy and Sarah starts off pretty closed off to him. At first Sarah was a bit offputting to me because she was so, soo guarded, but watching Chance knock down her walls one brick at a time was… Read more »

Divider

Apr 04
{Guest Post+Giveaway} Lanterns In The Sky by P.S. Malcolm @PaganMalcolm

{Guest Post+Giveaway} Lanterns In The Sky by P.S. Malcolm @PaganMalcolm

If You Love These Books, You’ll Love Lanterns In The Sky I am a huge fan of royal revolutions, magical fantasy and powerful, badass characters—which is why I read these books as well as write them! In this post, I want to help you figure out if Lanterns In The Sky is your next go-to read by sharing a couple of similar books with relating themes, settings or style. You might even discover another book you haven’t heard of yet (did someone day two for one?) So buckle up, and let’s take a look shall we?   Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard I’m sure most people who read YA fantasy have heard of this book by now. Red Queen kind of blew up—and I definitely see why. Some of the best parts of this book were the magic structure in this world, the worldbuilding, the stakes and the plot twists! (If you’ve read this one you know exactly what I’m referring to). Enter Lanterns In The Sky—a story set in… Read more »

Divider

Mar 29
{ARC Review} Wicked Saints by Emily Duncan

{ARC Review} Wicked Saints by Emily Duncan

Wicked Saints is the first book in the dark fantasy series, called the Something Dark and Holy series by author Emily A. Duncan. I am all about dark fantasy, so I was super excited to dive into a new world. And even better if it is the first book to a new series. Wicked Saints has a lot of things that I really enjoy in a book. I really liked that the magic system was intertwined with politics and religion. I loved the russian inspired setting. That is a setting that I don’t read about too much in the young adult fantasy realm, but it is a fascinating landscape. I had a few pacing issues with the story, but I am still interested to see where this series will go from here. Wicked Saints is the story of a holy war between Kalyazin and Tranavia that has been going on for centuries. At the root of this holy war is magic. More specifically, the ability to talk to the gods… Read more »

Divider

Feb 25
{ARC Review} Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte

{ARC Review} Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte

Four Dead queens is a young adult fantasy novel by debut author Astrid scholte. Four Dead Queens is a stand-alone novel that I really enjoyed. It is told in such an interesting way. The Novel switches between several different perspectives, which include each of the four queens of Quadara, our main character Keralie, and a few other characters scattered throughout.  Quadara is an interesting world, made up of four very different quadrants, Toria, Ludia, Archia, and Eonia, each ruled by a queen. But don’t think of the quadrants as different kingdoms, because all of the four Queens rule from a single central castle, and they seem to make decisions as a single counsel. I thought this was an especially interesting political setup. But we don’t dwell on the political set up too much, because most of the story centers around Keralie, who sees a memory of murder, and sets out on a quest to solve the murder of the four queens.  I loved Keralie. She is from the Toria, which… Read more »

Divider

Feb 15
{Review+Giveaway} Courting Darkness by Robin LaFevers

{Review+Giveaway} Courting Darkness by Robin LaFevers

Courting Darkness is the first book in the young adult fantasy Courting Darkness Duology by author Robin LaFevers. The Courting Darkness duology is a spin off the young adult His Fair Assassin Trilogy. That trilogy has shamefully been on my to be read pile for years! I have all of the books just sitting on my shelves mocking me for not reading them. Luckily, this is a spin off series and doesn’t need to be read after the original trilogy, but I am totally kicking myself for never reading the trilogy because Courting Darkness was so good! I loved it so much, and now I am bumping up the His Fair Assassin trilogy to the very top of my TBR. In Courting Darkness, our main character is Sybella, who is also one of the main characters from the His Fair Assassin trilogy. I loved the way Robin LaFevers tells a story. She doesn’t just tell, she weaves a tale. Her writing is atmospheric and dark and totally delicious. The other… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

Triplicity is a young adult mystery by J. Mercer, that takes place on a cruise ship. I was completely intrigued by this idea. I love the idea of a story taking place on a cruise ship, and I hardly ever read young adult mysteries. Most mysteries I read are adult, so I knew this was going to be a cool book. And it was! Triplicity is something than I am used to reading, but it was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed this novel. The blurb of Triplicity says this book is perfect for readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han, and I think that is a good description. Triplicity certainly had that adorable light hearted feel, but maybe not quite as lighthearted as Kasie and Jenny because of the added mystery element. Triplicity is told in multiple points of view, with the chapters switching off between the various main characters. I loved that all of the main characters met for the first time on their cruise vacation, no… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Silver Hollow  by Jennifer Silverwood

{Review+Giveaway} Silver Hollow by Jennifer Silverwood

Silver Hollow is the first book in the Borderlands saga by Jennifer Silverwood. The borderlands saga is a young adult fantasy romance that blended arthurian legend with fae legend. I have never seen this type blending before but I have to say I was loving it! I cannot wait for the next book in the saga because this was unlike anything I have read before. I am a huge fan of fae stories, and I have always been a fan of the legend of king Arthur. I’m not going to tell you exactly how the two things intertwine in the story (because…spoilers!) but I will say it is pretty cool. In Silver Hollow, we meet Amie. One of my not so favorite tropes was used to kick start this book (parents tragically dying) but it did serve it’s purpose in propelling Amie on a surprise adventure. She is whisked off and finds herself in a town that feels like another world. Amie gets to know a long lost relative of… Read more »

Divider

Jan 25
{Review+Giveaway} The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me by Olivia Hinebaugh

{Review+Giveaway} The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me by Olivia Hinebaugh

The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me is a young adult contemporary novel by Olivia Hinebaugh. There were a few things I didn’t love about this novel, but overall I thought it was still a good read. The good certainly outweighed my few gripes. So let’s start with the good. The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me is a novel that is both very educational and was a cute coming of age story. I really enjoyed our main character, Lacey( most of the time). And I loved her friendship with Theo and Evita. Her friend group was my favorite part of the story. Lacey was happy enjoying her senior year in high school, playing and listening to as much music as possible with her best friends, but when her school decides to take an abstinence only approach to sex education, Lacey decides to counter this sex health education. She falls into the position as a virgin sex health expert, and the book takes o And now for the few things… Read more »

Divider