Genre: mystery

Divider

Aug 31
{Review+Giveaway} THE BOOK OF M by @PengShepherd

{Review+Giveaway} THE BOOK OF M by @PengShepherd

  The Book of M is a dystopian whirlwind adventure by author Pen g Shepherd. The Book of M was a really unique story. I hate using the word “unique” but I truly feel that is the best way to describe this book. It was also completely engaging, and it kept my interest from the first page until the last. Set in a world where people start losing their shadows for some unknown reason. Once their shadow disappears their memories begin to leave them as well, which is completely terrifying.  (that aspect of the story kind of reminded me of the end of Avengers infinity war when If you like thriller mysteries, then you have to grab The Book of M, because this book will keep you guessing until the end. I think The Book of M would make a fantastic movie plot. I don’t want to get into too many of the plot specifics because this is a story that really builds on itself, and revealing any particular detail can… Read more »

Divider

Jul 30
{Giveaway} Emma in the Night by @Wendy_Walker

{Giveaway} Emma in the Night by @Wendy_Walker

Praise for EMMA IN THE  NIGHT “Twisty…a thriller that keeps readers guessing.” —The New York Times “In this searing psychological thriller…Walker’s portrayal of the ways in which a narcissistic, self-involved mother can affect her children deepens the plot as it builds to a shocking finale.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred Review “A tense thriller explores the bond between sisters and family dynamics that give new meaning to the term ‘dysfunctional’…This thriller aims right for the heart and never lets go.” —Kirkus, Starred Review “Both twisted and twisty, this smart psychological thriller sets a new standard for unreliable narrators.” —Booklist, Starred Review To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win 1 of 2 Winners will receive a Signed Copy of EMMA IN THE NIGHT by Wendy Walker. Open INT Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

May 24
{Playlist+Giveaway} STOLEN OBSESSION by Marlene M. Bell

{Playlist+Giveaway} STOLEN OBSESSION by Marlene M. Bell

MUSIC PLAYLIST STOLEN OBSESSION by Marlene M. Bell “The Way I Am” Charlie Puth “Ocean Eyes” Billie Eilish “Play it By Heart” Ryan Griffin “The Kind of Woman” Courtship “Shattered” Blanca “Eye of the Storm” Gabe Real/Ryan Stevenson “Right Where You Want Me” Sarah Reeves “Stop the Clock’ Needles” Tasos Kontoyianis “In a Little While” Amy Grant “Iris” Mediterranean Nights “Heart Wide Open” Mack Brock Stolen Obsessions is currently FREE with Kindle Unlimited!    Marlene M Bell is an acclaimed artist and photographer as well as a writer. Her sheep landscapes grace the covers of publications such as, Sheep!, The Shepherd, Ranch & Rural Living and Sheep Industry News. Ewephoric, her mail order venture, began in 1985 out of a desire for realistic sheep stationery. A color catalog of non-fiction books and sheep-related gifts may be requested at www.marlenembell.com or www.texassheep.com. Marlene and her husband, Gregg reside on a wooded ranch in East Texas with their 50 head of Horned Dorset sheep, a lovable Maremma guard dog named, Tia, and… Read more »

Divider

Feb 05
{Review+Giveaway} S.T.A.G.S. by @MABennettAuthor @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

{Review+Giveaway} S.T.A.G.S. by @MABennettAuthor @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

S.T.A.G.S. is a young adult mystery thriller by author M.A. Bennett. In case you didn’t know, S.T.A.G.S. stands for St. Aidan the Great School, is a book that is touted to be awesome for fans of The Secret History and Pretty Little Liars. I am a big fan of both of those books, so that coupled with the boarding school setting, I was pretty pumped for S.T.A.G.S. And S.T.A.G.S. delivered on what it promised, a twisty thriller. And though S.T.A.G.S. is set at a boarding school, a bulk of the novel took place at a country manor where this “hunting” weekend is set to take place. I loved the premise of S.T.A.G.S. I think that was my favorite aspect of the story.  And the writing and storyline were both excellent. They kept my attention the entire time and I loved the eerie feeling of the story. But the characters didn’t always live up to the plot in my opinion. I liked Greer well enough, but I didn’t completely love her. And I not entirely sure why…. Read more »

Divider

Nov 09
{Book Recs+Giveaway} Expelled by James Patterson and Emily Raymond @JIMMY_books

{Book Recs+Giveaway} Expelled by James Patterson and Emily Raymond @JIMMY_books

  HI book lovers! How are you doing today? In celebration of Expelled by James Patterson, I thought it would be fun to take a trip back to high school. So, today I have partnered with Jimmy Patterson Books to showcase some of my favorite contemporary young adult reads, set in high school! I also have an awesome giveaway of Expelled thanks to Jimmy Patterson book, so don’t forget to check that out below! High school Round up! Here are some of my favorite YA books set in High School Princess Diary Series by Meg Cabot 2. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky 3. Pretty Little Liars Series by Sara Shepard 4. Creative HeARTS series by Various Authors 5. The Hundred Oaks Series by Miranda Kenneally 6. The Superlatives Series by Jennifer Echols I have so many other favorites as well. But I want to hear from you… What are your favorite high school books? And now check out Expelled Visit JamesPatterson.com Follow JIMMY Patterson on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram Follow James Patterson on Twitter, Facebook,… Read more »

Divider

Aug 03
{Review+Giveaway} The Thirteenth Gate by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Review+Giveaway} The Thirteenth Gate by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

The Thirteenth Gate is the first book in the Dominion Mystery series by Kat Ross. I have previously read The Daemoniac by her, which I thought was going to be the first book in the series, but really ended up being more of a prequel. I have also real the first book in her Fourth Element series, and I while I enjoyed that one was well, the Dominion series is really shaping up to be my favorite! But, what is cool about The Thirteenth Gate  is that there is character overlap between the two series. It was very creative and well done on her part. I enjoyed getting to see Alex and Vivienne, though I have not read all the books in the Fourth Element series. The Thirteenth Gate did not disappoint. I loved this atmospheric read. It was exactly what I wanted, and I can’t wait for more. The Dominion series is a young adult detective mystery story with a flair of the paranormal. It felt like the anime Ghost Hunt (which I am… Read more »

Divider

Dec 13
{Review} Dead Girls Society by @MichelleKrys @RandomHouseKids

{Review} Dead Girls Society by @MichelleKrys @RandomHouseKids

Dead Girls Society is a young adult mystery/thriller from Michelle Krys. I cannot say enough good things about this book. It gave me all the feels, suspicions, and creeps. It is not often that a ookey spooky story with a secret society can also surprise me with its’ twists, turns and big surprises. I love it when I can’t figure out a whodunnit in a book! It doesn’t happen too often, but I am always super excited when it does happen. And it happened in Dead Girls Society, which in and of itself is enough to make me love it. Dead Girl Society follows a group of girls at a high school. Each of the girls gets a letter inviting them to play a game of dares. The prize promises to be something each of the girls desperately needs. Right away, I loved this take on a secret society. It wasn’t the traditional boarding school setting and it wasn’t the tradition hazing process. It was a single elimination challenge. every… Read more »

Divider

Nov 17
{Review} My Junior Year of Loathing by Jennifer DiGiovanni @jendwrites @SwoonRomance

{Review} My Junior Year of Loathing by Jennifer DiGiovanni @jendwrites @SwoonRomance

My Junior Year of Loathing is the second book in the young adult School Dayz series by Jennifer DiGiovanni. Each of the books can be read as standalones. They each focus on a different couple, and as you can tell from the titles, this book focuses on a younger couple than the one in My Senior Year of Awesome. I feel confident that you can pick up this book and not be missing anything if you had not yet read the first book. However; the first book in the series was pretty cute, so I would still recommend you check that one out as well. I really liked both the couple and the concept of My Junior Year of Loathing. Melinda and Conner are a n interesting couple. Melinda is your typical straight laced type A personality student. She needs her resume to be s padded as possible and all of the stress of school makes her a bit tightly wound. Conner couldn’t be more different, but not in the… Read more »

Divider

Nov 07
{Review+Giveaway} Breaking Cage by AJ Pryor @ajpryor1

{Review+Giveaway} Breaking Cage by AJ Pryor @ajpryor1

Breaking Cage is a lot of things rolled into one book. First and foremost it is a standalone contemporary sports romance by author A.J. Pryor. But it is also a mystery and suspense story. I think this will have crossover appeal to lots of people. I think both fans of new adult as well as adult romances will enjoy Breaking Cage. I also think that fans of both mysteries and sports romances will enjoy this story, even if you only consider yourself a fan of one or the other. This is my first book by A.J. Pryor and I think she does an excellent job blending the genres together to make a really great story. Breaking Cage is Hannah and Derek’s story. I have really been into reporter stories this year. I think this is a new thing in 2016 because I have been reading tons of new adult newbie reporter stories, where hte main character is trying to land a job or trying to get their first big break… Read more »

Divider

Oct 11
{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Daemoniac by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Daemoniac by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

The Daemoniac is the first book in the Dominion Mystery series by Kat Ross. Earlier this year I read The Midnight Sea by Kat and I really enjoyed it. It was more of a high fantasy action adventure. This book felt completely different and I really liked this one too. Kat Ross is a very talented author. I am very happy that both of the books I have read by her have been so diverse and so excellent in their own regard. The Daemoniac is a young adult detective mystery story with a flair of the paranormal. It felt like the anime Ghost Hunt (which I am super upset is no longer on Netflix! Why does Netflix keep taking all the good shows off? But I digress, that is a rant for another day.) mixed with the Jackaby series by William Ritter, and a touch of Penny Dreadful. I loved the atmospheric setting paired with all of the paranormal elements. I can’t wait to read more in the Dominion Mystery series…. Read more »

Divider