{ARC Review} Undeniable by @LizBankesAuthor @bloomsburykids

November 19, 2015 Reviews, Young Adult 3 ★★★½

{ARC Review} Undeniable by @LizBankesAuthor @bloomsburykidsUndeniable by Liz Bankes
Pages: 256
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on November 24, 2015
Genres: Young Adult, contemporary, Romance
Source: Paperback ARC from Publisher
three-half-stars

Fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jenny Han will love this contemporary romance that's equal parts sweet, soapy, and sultry.

After Gabi's relationship with her long-time boyfriend Max falls apart, she just needs to get away—and she finds the perfect escape in a summer internship for her favorite TV show in London. All the gorgeous actors in the cast will more than distract her from the Break-Up.

Then she meets Spencer Black: student, show extra, expert flirt. Spending time with him is fun, intoxicating, and uncertain. Their relationship is heating up when he lands a featured role on the show. Will his newly found fame break them apart, or is Spencer the one?

In this steamy love story, the drama is just as real off-screen as it is on.

Note: This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider
YA Review My Thoughts

Undeniable is a young adult contemporary romance by Liz Bankes. First off, I should say that I saw this book as more of a crossover between young adult and new adult. I think it will appeal to both upper YA readers as well as NA readers. Undeniable is a quirky and fun contemporary romance story that plays out a fantasy of almost all teens. Gabi lands an internship on the set of her favorite tv show and starts a whirlwind romance with an up and coming actor. I mean, come on, who hasn’t thought about the possibility of running into, and hitting it off with your favorite actor? (I know you are lying if you say you haven’t) Also, I wanted to say how much I liked the cover of Undeniable. I love that it is mostly greys with some pops of color. Gabi, however didn’t match the description and image I had in my head, but that is a minor point.

Gabi is a kooky young lady. Some might even say crazy. Ok, I say she is totally crazy. She is a lot to get used to at first. The book is told in first person so she is your narrative. And she is scatterbrained and loose lipped. The result is a ton of short sentences that don’t always logically flow. It was almost stream of conscious in that aspect, but after a while you get used to the rapid fire thought and learn to just hang on for the ride. You are at Gabi’s whim. She grew on me as the story went on. I really liked that we got to see both her present with Spencer as well as slowly had her past with her ex boyfriend Max revealed.

The romance in Undeniable is really cute. The summary does a great job of pointing out that it is equal parts sweet and sultry. I really liked Spencer, even though he is way too much of a flirt for my tastes. He has a big enough personality to roll with Gabi and unpredictable nature. That was what I liked most about him. He wasn’t deterred by the crazy. If you like European settings in book and you like the world of Hollywood (or London) acting, then Undeniable is a really cute read for you to try out.

blue3.5 @BookBriefs Reviews Undeniable by @LizBankesAuthor @bloomsburykids Because who doesn't want a romance with an actor?? Click To Tweet

About Liz Bankes

Liz Bankes grew up in Sevenoaks (or One-oak as it should be called since six of the oaks fell down).

As a child she was passionate about books, the Beano and Ryan Giggs.

She has been writing since she was little, drawing plenty of cartoons and comic strips, giving them to her family to read and then waiting patiently (staring at them intensely) until they laughed. In year 6 she co-wrote, with a friend, The Sealyham Story (like the Iliad, but in Wales), which was scandalously ignored by all the major literary prizes. Then at secondary school she wrote a story about a woman who killed people and turned them into pies. Instead of a referral to a psychologist the school gave her a creative writing prize and sent her on her way.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

3 Responses to “{ARC Review} Undeniable by @LizBankesAuthor @bloomsburykids”

  1. Katiria Rodriguez

    Awesome review this one really looks and sounds soo cute and very sweet. I have to check it out and see if I like it or not. Thank you for your post.

Leave a Reply