Genre: contemporary

Divider

Sep 07
{Cover Redo+ Excerpt} ON DUBLIN STREET by Samantha Young!

{Cover Redo+ Excerpt} ON DUBLIN STREET by Samantha Young!

  Coming Soon from this Author! A series of chance encounters leads to a sizzling new romance from the New York Times bestselling author of the On Dublin Street series.  The universe is conspiring against Ava Breevort. As if flying back to Phoenix to bury a childhood friend wasn’t hell enough, a cloud of volcanic ash traveling from overseas delayed her flight back home to Boston. Her last ditch attempt to salvage the trip was thwarted by an arrogant Scotsman, Caleb Scott, who steals a first class seat out from under her. Then over the course of their journey home, their antagonism somehow lands them in bed for the steamiest layover Ava’s ever had. And that’s all it was–until Caleb shows up on her doorstep. When pure chance pulls Ava back into Caleb’s orbit, he proposes they enjoy their physical connection while he’s stranded in Boston. Ava agrees, knowing her heart’s in no danger since a) she barely likes Caleb and b) his existence in her life is temporary. Not… Read more »

Divider

Aug 30
{Excerpt+Giveaway} Boy in a Band by Lisa Loomis

{Excerpt+Giveaway} Boy in a Band by Lisa Loomis

“I’m glad you came,” he said. “I wanted to hear you play.” He glanced at me quickly. Stupid response. I looked toward the house and could see people in the living room and poolroom. I wanted to race towards it, get inside and get warm again. “You can go back now,” I said. “You don’t have to walk all the way.” I felt him grasp my hand and spin me towards him, making me falter. My free hand shot out landing on his chest in order to balance myself. His skin felt soft and warm. “What was that?” I gasped, looking up at him. His eyes searched mine. My hand was still on his chest, and I let it fall, looking down to avoid his eyes. My mind raced, and I remembered our fireside conversation. What is he doing? He had a thing for some girl named Debbie. I didn’t move. It seemed like a long time we stood that way when finally he took my face in his hands… Read more »

Divider

Aug 20
{Mini Review+Excerpt+Giveaway} Fling Club by Tara Brown

{Mini Review+Excerpt+Giveaway} Fling Club by Tara Brown

Fling Club is the first book in the Serendipity Series by Tara Brown. This book was so much fun! As you will see below, it was influenced by Cruel Intentions and Gossip Girl, and being that I am huge fans of both of those movies/series, I knew this was going to be the perfect fun summer read. And it totally was. I am already itching for the next book in the Serendipity Series! I will say, that while it shouldn’t come as a surprise, a book that is inspired by Gossip Girl does have a flair for the dramatic. So if that is not your thing in romances, then this might not be the book for you. But if you don’t mind overly dramatic characters, and can read the book for what it is- a guilty pleasure fun read, then I think you will enjoy it.  We meet a lot of characters in Fling Club, but the one that sticks out the most is Cheery. I do love a good revenge plot,… Read more »

Divider

Aug 08
{Mini Review+Giveaway} Someone I used to Know by Patty Blount

{Mini Review+Giveaway} Someone I used to Know by Patty Blount

Someone I used to Know by Patty Blount is a young adult contemporary novel that deals with a serious issue. Someone I used to Know looks at the aftermath of dealing with your life after a sexual assault. One of the things I admire most about author Patty Blount is that she is not afraid to deal with tough issues. Someone I used to Know is not a fun read by any stretch of the imagination, nor is it a light, breezy story. It is a heavy narrative, but it’s an important one. Someone I used to Know is a novel that will stick with me. It is a novel that I will remember, but be warned that it does deal with rape, so if that is something that is upsetting for you to read about, this is going to be a difficult novel for you. Our main character is Ashley. And honestly this novel was hard for me to get through, but I loved Ashley so much that I wanted to hear… Read more »

Divider

Aug 06
{Review} Playing her Secret Crush by Casey Griffin @CGriffinAuthor

{Review} Playing her Secret Crush by Casey Griffin @CGriffinAuthor

Playing her Secret Crush is a young adult contemporary romance by Casey Griffin. I have read an adult contemporary romance from Casey Griffin, called Must Love Wieners (a rescue dog romance) and it was so cute and funny. I really enjoyed it, but this was my first young adult novel I have read by her. And I am happy to report that this book was just a cute, though in a different way. Playing Her Secret Crush is a young adult best friends romance featuring best friends that love to play a role playing type of computer game together. It hit so many of the things I love to see in my young adult contemporaries- gaming, best friends romance, and the matchmaking tropes. Playing her Secret Crush is a fun read, perfect for summer time. Playing her Secret Crush is the story of best friends Katie and Alex. Katie and Alex have been best friends for years, they bonded over the illness and death of Alex’s older brother and the… Read more »

Divider

Aug 05
{Review+Giveaway} Forget You, Ethan by Whitney G.

{Review+Giveaway} Forget You, Ethan by Whitney G.

Forget you, Ethan is a new adult contemporary romance by author Whitney G. (as an aside, I guess this title has had some goodreads controversy surrounding its’ release date.  I don’t know anything about that and I just heard about this book a month or so ago, so I am coming in way after all of the release date changes have happened. But since I didn’t know about any of that while I was reading the book, those events did not affect or impact my opinions on this novel.) I really enjoyed Forget You, Ethan. Whitney G is an author I have read a few times, and her writing style is always pretty funny. Forget you, Ethan is described as a “friends (to enemies) to lovers romance”, which as you probably know by now is usually a hit for me. I love a good bantering story with lots of URST, and Forget You, Ethan hit the mark for me. While it didn’t knock my socks off, it was a solidly… Read more »

Divider

Jul 06
{Review+Giveaway} My Lullaby of You by Alia Rose

{Review+Giveaway} My Lullaby of You by Alia Rose

My Lullaby of You is a young adult contemporary romance by Alia Rose. The blurb for this book said it was perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han. After reading My Lullaby of You, I’m not sure I see much Jenny Han in the writing but I definitely see Sarah Dessen. My Lullaby of You is great for a quick beachy read. The characters’ story flowed in a very pleasant way, and while this book didn’t send me into a spiraling book hangover, it was a nice feel good read. My Lullaby of You is the summer story of Amy and Seth. I enjoyed watching the interaction between these two. Each of them has their own story to tell, which was my favorite aspect of this novel. We get to know Amy and we get to know Seth and we get to see everything that they are each going through and how those things shape their interactions with each other. Of course, we also get to see a really cute… Read more »

Divider

Jun 27
{Review+Giveaway} The Varlet and the Voyeur by Penny Reid & @LHCosway @ReidRomance

{Review+Giveaway} The Varlet and the Voyeur by Penny Reid & @LHCosway @ReidRomance

You can see my review of books 1, 2 & 3 here: The Hooker and the Hermit (5 stars) The Player and the Pixie (5 stars) The Cad and the Co-Ed (5 stars) The Varlet and the Voyeur is the fourth book in the Rugby series by Penny Reid and LH Cosway. I am just going to say it…The rugby series is my favorite sports romance series of all time! Which should come as no surprise to any of you because I think by now you know I have a not so mild obsession with everything Penny Reid (and now LH Cosway) writes. Each of the books in the rugby series can be read as standalones and they each follow a a different character, but trust me when I tell you this, you are going to want to read all of the books in this series. So you might as well read them in order. They are all so stupendously wonderful, and they each follow a different member of the… Read more »

Divider

Jun 25
{Review+Giveaway} Chemistry Lessons by Meredith Goldstein @MeredithGoldste

{Review+Giveaway} Chemistry Lessons by Meredith Goldstein @MeredithGoldste

Chemistry Lessons is a young adult contemporary romance by Meredith Goldstein. Chemistry Lessons is one of those books that I knew right off the bat I was destined to like. The summary just kept checking off all my boxes. Scientist main character that wants to find a formula for love. Check! Lots of experiments with pheromones and guys. Check check! a cute romance. triple check! Chemistry Lessons was an adorable read that was a lot of fun. This is the first book I have read from author Meredith Goldstein, but I would love to see more young adult or new adult from her. Chemistry Lessons is the story of our main character, Maya. At the start we see Maya get dumped, but she is determined not to let her summer go to waste, and she immediately tried to continue her mom’s old research on pheromones and human attraction. (did I mention this storyline is a hit for me?!) Maya initially starts out with the purpose of getting her ex boyfriend… Read more »

Divider

Jun 13
{Review+Giveaway} Up to You by @Daisy_Prescott

{Review+Giveaway} Up to You by @Daisy_Prescott

Up to You  is the fourth book in the new adult contemporary romance, Love with Altitude series by Daisy Prescott. Each of the books in the series can be read as standalone contemporary romances. I read, and really enjoyed the third book in the Love with Altitude series, Wild For You. I also really enjoyed Daisy’s Wingman series, so I knew that I was going to enjoy Up to You. Daisy is a feel good contemporary author that never fails to put me in a better mood. and Up to You did not disappoint. I will be the first to admit that I am a sucker for anything involving a wedding at the moment. I mean, I always have loved a good fake relationship/need a date to a wedding book, but now that I am actually planning my wedding, I am extra excited about wedding storylines. (go figure!) Up to You is the story of Mae, Landon and Aiden. Yes, there is a love triangle going on in this novel,… Read more »

Divider