Genre: contemporary

Divider

Aug 07
{Review+Giveaway} Announcing Trouble by @AmyDominy @EntangledTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Announcing Trouble by @AmyDominy @EntangledTeen

Announcing Trouble is a young adult sports romance by author Amy Dominy. Announcing Trouble is such a cute read, and it is perfect for these hot summer months. It will put a smile on your face and it will make you laugh and even swoon. I thoroughly enjoyed this story, and it made me excited to read more from Amy Dominy. In Announcing Trouble we meet Garrett and Josie, our two main characters. Josie is a used to be fan of baseball, but she blames baseball for many bad things in her past, so now she is bitter towards the game. Garrett is bitter as well, because he was on his way to becoming the next big player, or at least a high school star, when an injury took him off the field. They enter each other’s lives in the sports broadcasting booth. Garrett because he wants to stay as close as possible to the sport that he loves, and Josie because she just can’t help herself. Josie cracked me… Read more »

Divider

Jul 22
{Review} There’s Something About Sweetie by Sandhya Menon

{Review} There’s Something About Sweetie by Sandhya Menon

There’s Something About Sweetie is the second book in the young adult own voices series titled, Dimple and Rishi, by author Sandhya Menon. The Dimple and Rishi series is a young adult contemporary romance series, where each book is a standalone. As such, you do not need to read the books in order because each story will focus on a different set of characters and their story. However; they are all set in the same world, and so far, there is some character overlap. For example, There’s Something About Sweetie is about Sweetie and Rishi’s brother, Ashish. I can’t even tell you how much I adored Sweetie and Ashish. I loved each of them so much, and their romance is one full of heart and smiles. There’s Something About Sweetie is told in dual narrative between Sweetie and Ashish, which is the perfect narration for this story. It helped me get to know both of the characters very quickly, and let me root for them almost immediately. Ashish is very… Read more »

Divider

Jun 17
{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Shortest Distance Between Love & Hate by Sandy Hall

{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Shortest Distance Between Love & Hate by Sandy Hall

The Shortest Distance Between Love & Hate was an ok read. It is a young adult contemporary romance standalone by Sandy Hall. I wanted to love this book so much. It has so many elements that are big winners to me. I love a hate to love dynamic. In fact, it is one of my favorite. And I did really enjoy some aspects of this story, but there were also some character issues that detracted from my enjoyment. Do let me break down what I liked and what I didn’t like as much. Let’s start with what I liked: First, I love a enemies to love trope. I find the banter, the pranks, the revenge all a lot of fun to read about. And there were plenty of pranks, and revenge present in this story. It was a fun read, and the overall romance progression was nice. It was so clear that Paisley and Carter are well suited. They both so clearly like each other, that Paisley had to actively… Read more »

Divider

Jun 11
{Review+Giveaway} Rules We’re Meant to Break by Natalie Williamson

{Review+Giveaway} Rules We’re Meant to Break by Natalie Williamson

Rules We’re Meant to Break is young adult contemporary romance by Natalie Williamson. This might sound kind of weird, but I was immediately drawn into this book because of it’s cover. It is not a traditionally beautiful young adult cover, but it made me think that I would relate to the main character, Amber. I loved how neat and orderly everything was. That plus the reference to rules, and I knew this was going to be a really cute read that would make me smile. And it totally was. Rules We’re Meant to Break is an adorable romance full of heart. You might think Amber, who is our main character, has these rules set out for herself, but no. Initially, these rules were put in place for Amber to survive her mother’s long string of boyfriends. I loved Amber’s love of dogs, and animals in general. I really, really loved Buffy her dog, and Amber’s obsession with the show Buffy the Vampire Slayer, but sadly, I didn’t connect with Amber… Read more »

Divider

Apr 08
{Release Day Review+Giveaway} The Boyfriend Bid by @JodieAndrefski @EntangledTeen

{Release Day Review+Giveaway} The Boyfriend Bid by @JodieAndrefski @EntangledTeen

The Boyfriend Bid is a young adult contemporary romance by author Jodie Andrefski. The Boyfriend Bid was a really cute romance story from Engalanged Teen’s Crush line. I am always happy to pick up a new book by their crush imprint because I always know what I can trust to get out of the story. I always know it is going to be a super cute romance, with great characters and a healthy dose of heart, mostly done in a high school setting. And The Boyfriend Bid delivered on all of those elements. There was one aspect of the story that bothered me but it didn’t detract from my overall enjoyment of the story. In the Boyfriend Bid we meet our two main characters, Sarah and Chance. Chance is the school’s new guy and Sarah starts off pretty closed off to him. At first Sarah was a bit offputting to me because she was so, soo guarded, but watching Chance knock down her walls one brick at a time was… Read more »

Divider

Apr 01
{Review} Space by Penny Reid

{Review} Space by Penny Reid

Space is the second book in the Laws of Physics series by Author Penny Reid. But to make things a bit confusing, the Laws of Physics series is the second trilogy series in the Hypothesis series. Each of the trilogy follows a new set of characters, but at least one of the main characters is tied to science. And I love a nerdy romance. Especially if Penny Reid is the author. I think you all know by now that she is one of my very favorite authors of all time. I loved the first book, Motion soo much ( you can check out my review HERE) Space picks up a few years after the events from Motion left off, with Mona running off on Abram, and replacing herself with her twin sister Lisa. (if any of this sounds confusing to you, then you need to go back and read motion because this is a series that does need to be read in order.) I loved Motion so much, but I… Read more »

Divider

Feb 15
{Review+Giveaway} MOTION by Penny Reid

{Review+Giveaway} MOTION by Penny Reid

Motion is the first book in the Laws of Physics series by Author Penny Reid. But to make things a bit confusing, the Laws of Phsyics series is the second trilogy series in the Hypothesis series. Each of the trilogy follows a new set of characters, but at least one of the main characters is tied to science. And I love a nerdy romance. Especially if Penny Reid is the author. I think you all know by now that she is one of my very favorite authors of all time. And Motion is pretty high up there on the list of favorites as well. I loved this book so much, and I am DYING to get my hands on the second book in the series, which is slated to be released sometime next month. In Motion we meet Mona, who is a twin. Her sister is Lisa, and they are both daughters of celebrities of some kind. But Mona is a celebrity of her own kind (in the science world… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

Triplicity is a young adult mystery by J. Mercer, that takes place on a cruise ship. I was completely intrigued by this idea. I love the idea of a story taking place on a cruise ship, and I hardly ever read young adult mysteries. Most mysteries I read are adult, so I knew this was going to be a cool book. And it was! Triplicity is something than I am used to reading, but it was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed this novel. The blurb of Triplicity says this book is perfect for readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han, and I think that is a good description. Triplicity certainly had that adorable light hearted feel, but maybe not quite as lighthearted as Kasie and Jenny because of the added mystery element. Triplicity is told in multiple points of view, with the chapters switching off between the various main characters. I loved that all of the main characters met for the first time on their cruise vacation, no… Read more »

Divider

Jan 25
{Review+Giveaway} The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me by Olivia Hinebaugh

{Review+Giveaway} The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me by Olivia Hinebaugh

The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me is a young adult contemporary novel by Olivia Hinebaugh. There were a few things I didn’t love about this novel, but overall I thought it was still a good read. The good certainly outweighed my few gripes. So let’s start with the good. The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me is a novel that is both very educational and was a cute coming of age story. I really enjoyed our main character, Lacey( most of the time). And I loved her friendship with Theo and Evita. Her friend group was my favorite part of the story. Lacey was happy enjoying her senior year in high school, playing and listening to as much music as possible with her best friends, but when her school decides to take an abstinence only approach to sex education, Lacey decides to counter this sex health education. She falls into the position as a virgin sex health expert, and the book takes o And now for the few things… Read more »

Divider

Jan 13
{Review+Giveaway} The Fallback by Mariah Dietz

{Review+Giveaway} The Fallback by Mariah Dietz

The Fallback is a new adult contemporary romance by Mariah Dietz. I know it is early in 2019, but I can already tell this book is going to be a favorite of the year. It just had everything I was looking for in a book. I read it one day because I just could. not. put. it. down. And this book clocks in on 465 pages, so it isn’t what I would call short. It just came out this week, and you all need to run, not walk to grab a copy. If you like romantic comedy types reads that are a pinch of The Devil Wears Prada and dash of The Wedding Planner, I absolutely loved The Fallback. I fell in love with the characters, and their romance was super sweet. This novel was a lot of fun. Brooke is an event planner at a very well respected Chicago firm. The book starts off on a very personal level with Brooke. I felt like we really got to know… Read more »

Divider