Genre: contemporary

Divider

Aug 08
{Mini Review+Giveaway} Someone I used to Know by Patty Blount

{Mini Review+Giveaway} Someone I used to Know by Patty Blount

Someone I used to Know by Patty Blount is a young adult contemporary novel that deals with a serious issue. Someone I used to Know looks at the aftermath of dealing with your life after a sexual assault. One of the things I admire most about author Patty Blount is that she is not afraid to deal with tough issues. Someone I used to Know is not a fun read by any stretch of the imagination, nor is it a light, breezy story. It is a heavy narrative, but it’s an important one. Someone I used to Know is a novel that will stick with me. It is a novel that I will remember, but be warned that it does deal with rape, so if that is something that is upsetting for you to read about, this is going to be a difficult novel for you. Our main character is Ashley. And honestly this novel was hard for me to get through, but I loved Ashley so much that I wanted to hear… Read more »

Divider

Aug 06
{Review} Playing her Secret Crush by Casey Griffin @CGriffinAuthor

{Review} Playing her Secret Crush by Casey Griffin @CGriffinAuthor

Playing her Secret Crush is a young adult contemporary romance by Casey Griffin. I have read an adult contemporary romance from Casey Griffin, called Must Love Wieners (a rescue dog romance) and it was so cute and funny. I really enjoyed it, but this was my first young adult novel I have read by her. And I am happy to report that this book was just a cute, though in a different way. Playing Her Secret Crush is a young adult best friends romance featuring best friends that love to play a role playing type of computer game together. It hit so many of the things I love to see in my young adult contemporaries- gaming, best friends romance, and the matchmaking tropes. Playing her Secret Crush is a fun read, perfect for summer time. Playing her Secret Crush is the story of best friends Katie and Alex. Katie and Alex have been best friends for years, they bonded over the illness and death of Alex’s older brother and the… Read more »

Divider

Aug 05
{Review+Giveaway} Forget You, Ethan by Whitney G.

{Review+Giveaway} Forget You, Ethan by Whitney G.

Forget you, Ethan is a new adult contemporary romance by author Whitney G. (as an aside, I guess this title has had some goodreads controversy surrounding its’ release date.  I don’t know anything about that and I just heard about this book a month or so ago, so I am coming in way after all of the release date changes have happened. But since I didn’t know about any of that while I was reading the book, those events did not affect or impact my opinions on this novel.) I really enjoyed Forget You, Ethan. Whitney G is an author I have read a few times, and her writing style is always pretty funny. Forget you, Ethan is described as a “friends (to enemies) to lovers romance”, which as you probably know by now is usually a hit for me. I love a good bantering story with lots of URST, and Forget You, Ethan hit the mark for me. While it didn’t knock my socks off, it was a solidly… Read more »

Divider

Jul 06
{Review+Giveaway} My Lullaby of You by Alia Rose

{Review+Giveaway} My Lullaby of You by Alia Rose

My Lullaby of You is a young adult contemporary romance by Alia Rose. The blurb for this book said it was perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han. After reading My Lullaby of You, I’m not sure I see much Jenny Han in the writing but I definitely see Sarah Dessen. My Lullaby of You is great for a quick beachy read. The characters’ story flowed in a very pleasant way, and while this book didn’t send me into a spiraling book hangover, it was a nice feel good read. My Lullaby of You is the summer story of Amy and Seth. I enjoyed watching the interaction between these two. Each of them has their own story to tell, which was my favorite aspect of this novel. We get to know Amy and we get to know Seth and we get to see everything that they are each going through and how those things shape their interactions with each other. Of course, we also get to see a really cute… Read more »

Divider

Jun 27
{Review+Giveaway} The Varlet and the Voyeur by Penny Reid & @LHCosway @ReidRomance

{Review+Giveaway} The Varlet and the Voyeur by Penny Reid & @LHCosway @ReidRomance

You can see my review of books 1, 2 & 3 here: The Hooker and the Hermit (5 stars) The Player and the Pixie (5 stars) The Cad and the Co-Ed (5 stars) The Varlet and the Voyeur is the fourth book in the Rugby series by Penny Reid and LH Cosway. I am just going to say it…The rugby series is my favorite sports romance series of all time! Which should come as no surprise to any of you because I think by now you know I have a not so mild obsession with everything Penny Reid (and now LH Cosway) writes. Each of the books in the rugby series can be read as standalones and they each follow a a different character, but trust me when I tell you this, you are going to want to read all of the books in this series. So you might as well read them in order. They are all so stupendously wonderful, and they each follow a different member of the… Read more »

Divider

Jun 25
{Review+Giveaway} Chemistry Lessons by Meredith Goldstein @MeredithGoldste

{Review+Giveaway} Chemistry Lessons by Meredith Goldstein @MeredithGoldste

Chemistry Lessons is a young adult contemporary romance by Meredith Goldstein. Chemistry Lessons is one of those books that I knew right off the bat I was destined to like. The summary just kept checking off all my boxes. Scientist main character that wants to find a formula for love. Check! Lots of experiments with pheromones and guys. Check check! a cute romance. triple check! Chemistry Lessons was an adorable read that was a lot of fun. This is the first book I have read from author Meredith Goldstein, but I would love to see more young adult or new adult from her. Chemistry Lessons is the story of our main character, Maya. At the start we see Maya get dumped, but she is determined not to let her summer go to waste, and she immediately tried to continue her mom’s old research on pheromones and human attraction. (did I mention this storyline is a hit for me?!) Maya initially starts out with the purpose of getting her ex boyfriend… Read more »

Divider

Jun 13
{Review+Giveaway} Up to You by @Daisy_Prescott

{Review+Giveaway} Up to You by @Daisy_Prescott

Up to You  is the fourth book in the new adult contemporary romance, Love with Altitude series by Daisy Prescott. Each of the books in the series can be read as standalone contemporary romances. I read, and really enjoyed the third book in the Love with Altitude series, Wild For You. I also really enjoyed Daisy’s Wingman series, so I knew that I was going to enjoy Up to You. Daisy is a feel good contemporary author that never fails to put me in a better mood. and Up to You did not disappoint. I will be the first to admit that I am a sucker for anything involving a wedding at the moment. I mean, I always have loved a good fake relationship/need a date to a wedding book, but now that I am actually planning my wedding, I am extra excited about wedding storylines. (go figure!) Up to You is the story of Mae, Landon and Aiden. Yes, there is a love triangle going on in this novel,… Read more »

Divider

Jun 08
{Interview+Giveaway} Going Places by Kathryn Berla

{Interview+Giveaway} Going Places by Kathryn Berla

I am super excited to have Kathryn Berla here today to share her new novel, Going Places. She has stopped by for an interview and there is also a fun giveaway at the bottom of the post, so be sure to enter that! Thank you so much for being here today Kathryn! Describe Going Places in a Tweet (140 characters or less) Hudson chooses homeschooling as a way to coast through his senior year of high school in this coming-of-age, but fate has other plans. What is something we would be surprised to learn about Hudson? You might be surprised to learn that as a child, Hudson had a bottlecap collection and raised orchids. And after college, he became an excellent cook. What was the hardest part about writing Going Places? What was the best part? I’m very protective of Hudson who’s patterned after someone close to me, so the hardest part was allowing him to be hurt. But you can only be hurt if you open yourself to life… Read more »

Divider

Jun 04
{Review+Giveaway} Just One of the Royals by Leah and Kate Rooper

{Review+Giveaway} Just One of the Royals by Leah and Kate Rooper

Just one of the Royals is the second book in the Chicago Falcons series by Leah and Kate Rooper. I loved the first book in the series, Just one of the Boys, so much that I actually re-read it before picking up this book. So I had a pretty good feeling I was going to enjoy Just one of the Royals. Leah and Kate Rooper make a great writing duo. I can’t wait to see what the next book is going to bring for us. The Chicago Falcons series is a young adult sports romance series, where each book follows a different hockey player and tells his story. In just one of the Royals we follow Daniel and Madison. Daniel and Madison are best friends, but one of them is hiding a pretty big secret- that he is actually a prince! I know the set up is a bit different, but this book gave me all kinds of great Princess Diaries vibes. I loved it. I also really liked the… Read more »

Divider

May 29
{Mini Review+Giveaway} Dirty Player by Mira Lyn Kelly

{Mini Review+Giveaway} Dirty Player by Mira Lyn Kelly

  Happy Release Day to Dirty Player by Mira Lyn Kelly! Fans of sports romance will enjoy this fun hockey romance. So read on for an excerpt, my thoughts on the novel and a cool giveaway! 🙂     Happy Release Day to Dirty Player by Mira Lyn Kelly! Fans of sports romance will enjoy this fun hockey romance. Dirty Player is the second book in the Back to You, sports romance series by author Mira Lyn Kelly. Each of the books in the Back to You series are standalones, but they are interconnected, so you will see some character overlap. Dirty Player is Greg’s story. (Full disclosure, I didn’t read the first book in the series, but I had no problem picking up this novel.) I love watching hockey (& Football) in real life, so when it comes to sports romances I really enjoy hockey (& football) stories. I have noticed that I tend to read sports romance books, mainly for the actual sports that I follow. Does anyone… Read more »

Divider