Tag: romance

Aug 16
{Excerpt+Giveaway} NOBODY SAID IT’D BE EASY by Patty Blount

{Excerpt+Giveaway} NOBODY SAID IT’D BE EASY by Patty Blount

Praise for NOBODY SAID IT’D BE EASY  “Patty Blount creates a community you’ll want to visit in this heartfelt, realistic romance with a hero everyone will adore!” ―Jamie Beck, national bestselling author of Before I Knew and Unexpectedly Hers  – “Patty Blount’s Nobody Said It’d Be Easy is a sweet, heartwarming story with genuine emotion and a Single Dad To-Die-For!” ― New York Times bestselling author Virginia Kantra To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win. 2 Winners will receive a $10.00 Amazon Gift Card.   Giveaway is open to International. | Must be 13+ to Enter Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Aug 06
{Review} Playing her Secret Crush by Casey Griffin @CGriffinAuthor

{Review} Playing her Secret Crush by Casey Griffin @CGriffinAuthor

Playing her Secret Crush is a young adult contemporary romance by Casey Griffin. I have read an adult contemporary romance from Casey Griffin, called Must Love Wieners (a rescue dog romance) and it was so cute and funny. I really enjoyed it, but this was my first young adult novel I have read by her. And I am happy to report that this book was just a cute, though in a different way. Playing Her Secret Crush is a young adult best friends romance featuring best friends that love to play a role playing type of computer game together. It hit so many of the things I love to see in my young adult contemporaries- gaming, best friends romance, and the matchmaking tropes. Playing her Secret Crush is a fun read, perfect for summer time. Playing her Secret Crush is the story of best friends Katie and Alex. Katie and Alex have been best friends for years, they bonded over the illness and death of Alex’s older brother and the… Read more »

Divider

Aug 05
{Review+Giveaway} Forget You, Ethan by Whitney G.

{Review+Giveaway} Forget You, Ethan by Whitney G.

Forget you, Ethan is a new adult contemporary romance by author Whitney G. (as an aside, I guess this title has had some goodreads controversy surrounding its’ release date.  I don’t know anything about that and I just heard about this book a month or so ago, so I am coming in way after all of the release date changes have happened. But since I didn’t know about any of that while I was reading the book, those events did not affect or impact my opinions on this novel.) I really enjoyed Forget You, Ethan. Whitney G is an author I have read a few times, and her writing style is always pretty funny. Forget you, Ethan is described as a “friends (to enemies) to lovers romance”, which as you probably know by now is usually a hit for me. I love a good bantering story with lots of URST, and Forget You, Ethan hit the mark for me. While it didn’t knock my socks off, it was a solidly… Read more »

Divider

Jul 11
{Review+Giveaway} The Supervillain and Me by Danielle Banas

{Review+Giveaway} The Supervillain and Me by Danielle Banas

The Supervillain and Me is the first book in the young adult superhero fantasy by Danielle Banas, called the Morriston Superheroes series. I missed yesterday’s top ten tuesday post, which was top ten books of 2018…so far. But if I had gotten my post up, this book would have for sure made this list! I loved The Supervillain and Me so, so much! I am going to come right out and say that I am a pretty big fan for superheroes and super powers. I love all things X-men, Avengers and pretty much any marvel or DC comic hero/villain. So it shouldn’t come as a surprise that as soon as I saw the cover and summary for The Supervillain and Me, I was fangirling for it right from the get-go. That being said, I still had no idea just how much I would fall in love with this story and these characters. Danielle Banas knocked it out of the park with The Supervillain and Me! The Supervillain and Me is set in a world… Read more »

Divider

Jul 06
{Review+Giveaway} My Lullaby of You by Alia Rose

{Review+Giveaway} My Lullaby of You by Alia Rose

My Lullaby of You is a young adult contemporary romance by Alia Rose. The blurb for this book said it was perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han. After reading My Lullaby of You, I’m not sure I see much Jenny Han in the writing but I definitely see Sarah Dessen. My Lullaby of You is great for a quick beachy read. The characters’ story flowed in a very pleasant way, and while this book didn’t send me into a spiraling book hangover, it was a nice feel good read. My Lullaby of You is the summer story of Amy and Seth. I enjoyed watching the interaction between these two. Each of them has their own story to tell, which was my favorite aspect of this novel. We get to know Amy and we get to know Seth and we get to see everything that they are each going through and how those things shape their interactions with each other. Of course, we also get to see a really cute… Read more »

Divider

Jul 03
{Review+Giveaway} The Archivist by Christy Sloat

{Review+Giveaway} The Archivist by Christy Sloat

The Archivist is an upper YA time traveling romance by Christy Sloat. It is the second book in the librarian chronicles, but you do not have to read the books in order. They are companion novels. I have recently read the first book, The Librarian and I really enjoyed it. Christy Sloat has a very flow-y romantic vibe to her writing and it works well in this series. In the Archivist, our main character Savannah has the ability to time travel through books. How freakin’ cool would that be? I know, right? I really enjoyed the medieval Scottish setting in this novel, and Christy’s romantic writing lent itself well to a Scotland backdrop. It was very Outlander-esque. I really loved the journey that Christy took me, Savannah and Eoin on. Their story is really beautiful and was heartwarming to read about. You can’t help but be swept up in the magic of the story, which is always lovely. Savannah is a great bookish character that I think a lot of… Read more »

Divider

Jul 02
{Review+Giveaway} Mistake of Magic by @AlexLidell

{Review+Giveaway} Mistake of Magic by @AlexLidell

Please Note: This is the second book in the Power of Five series and this series needs to be read in order.  If you are new to the series, check out my review of Power of Five for more information Mistake of Magic is the second book in the new adult fantasy romance Power of Five series by Alex Lidell. You all know how much I LOVED POwer of Five. It sent me into a spiraling book hangover. So much so, after reading 3 other books that I thought would help me move past my obsession of Power of Five, I had to go back and re-read Power of Five a mere 3 days after I binge read it the first time. I am so in love with all of the characters. So when Mistake of Magic was being edited, I was a big ole pile of impatient-ness. And when I did get my hands on it, I was so excited that I went back and re-read book one…again. Yes,… Read more »

Divider

Jun 27
{Review+Giveaway} The Varlet and the Voyeur by Penny Reid & @LHCosway @ReidRomance

{Review+Giveaway} The Varlet and the Voyeur by Penny Reid & @LHCosway @ReidRomance

You can see my review of books 1, 2 & 3 here: The Hooker and the Hermit (5 stars) The Player and the Pixie (5 stars) The Cad and the Co-Ed (5 stars) The Varlet and the Voyeur is the fourth book in the Rugby series by Penny Reid and LH Cosway. I am just going to say it…The rugby series is my favorite sports romance series of all time! Which should come as no surprise to any of you because I think by now you know I have a not so mild obsession with everything Penny Reid (and now LH Cosway) writes. Each of the books in the rugby series can be read as standalones and they each follow a a different character, but trust me when I tell you this, you are going to want to read all of the books in this series. So you might as well read them in order. They are all so stupendously wonderful, and they each follow a different member of the… Read more »

Divider

Jun 25
{Review+Giveaway} Chemistry Lessons by Meredith Goldstein @MeredithGoldste

{Review+Giveaway} Chemistry Lessons by Meredith Goldstein @MeredithGoldste

Chemistry Lessons is a young adult contemporary romance by Meredith Goldstein. Chemistry Lessons is one of those books that I knew right off the bat I was destined to like. The summary just kept checking off all my boxes. Scientist main character that wants to find a formula for love. Check! Lots of experiments with pheromones and guys. Check check! a cute romance. triple check! Chemistry Lessons was an adorable read that was a lot of fun. This is the first book I have read from author Meredith Goldstein, but I would love to see more young adult or new adult from her. Chemistry Lessons is the story of our main character, Maya. At the start we see Maya get dumped, but she is determined not to let her summer go to waste, and she immediately tried to continue her mom’s old research on pheromones and human attraction. (did I mention this storyline is a hit for me?!) Maya initially starts out with the purpose of getting her ex boyfriend… Read more »

Divider

Jun 13
{Review+Giveaway} Up to You by @Daisy_Prescott

{Review+Giveaway} Up to You by @Daisy_Prescott

Up to You  is the fourth book in the new adult contemporary romance, Love with Altitude series by Daisy Prescott. Each of the books in the series can be read as standalone contemporary romances. I read, and really enjoyed the third book in the Love with Altitude series, Wild For You. I also really enjoyed Daisy’s Wingman series, so I knew that I was going to enjoy Up to You. Daisy is a feel good contemporary author that never fails to put me in a better mood. and Up to You did not disappoint. I will be the first to admit that I am a sucker for anything involving a wedding at the moment. I mean, I always have loved a good fake relationship/need a date to a wedding book, but now that I am actually planning my wedding, I am extra excited about wedding storylines. (go figure!) Up to You is the story of Mae, Landon and Aiden. Yes, there is a love triangle going on in this novel,… Read more »

Divider