Tag: 3.5/5 gavels

Jun 20
{Review} Nothing But Sky by Amy Trueblood

{Review} Nothing But Sky by Amy Trueblood

Nothing but Sky is a young adult novel by Amy Trueblood, set in the 1920s. I love the era of 20s, and this book embidoed that time period beautifully. Set in post world war 1, flying is still relatively new and very much for the guys. Along comes Grace who longs to be anywhere, as long as it is high up in the air, and I knew this was going to be a book that I couldn’t put down. I loved Grace. She is plucky and ambitious, and demands that you listen to her. I loved that about her. Grace is a total daredevil. She is part of “The Soaring Eagles” barnstorming team, which is a team of stunt flyers. One thing you soon learn about Grace…she has no problem setting her sights high. Both figuratively and literally. Her dream is to win the 1922 World Aviation Exposition in Chicago. I loved Grace’s journey to get to the Expo and to compete. Nothing But Sky is a read that is… Read more »

Divider

Jun 04
{Review+Giveaway} Just One of the Royals by Leah and Kate Rooper

{Review+Giveaway} Just One of the Royals by Leah and Kate Rooper

Just one of the Royals is the second book in the Chicago Falcons series by Leah and Kate Rooper. I loved the first book in the series, Just one of the Boys, so much that I actually re-read it before picking up this book. So I had a pretty good feeling I was going to enjoy Just one of the Royals. Leah and Kate Rooper make a great writing duo. I can’t wait to see what the next book is going to bring for us. The Chicago Falcons series is a young adult sports romance series, where each book follows a different hockey player and tells his story. In just one of the Royals we follow Daniel and Madison. Daniel and Madison are best friends, but one of them is hiding a pretty big secret- that he is actually a prince! I know the set up is a bit different, but this book gave me all kinds of great Princess Diaries vibes. I loved it. I also really liked the… Read more »

Divider

May 29
{Mini Review+Giveaway} Dirty Player by Mira Lyn Kelly

{Mini Review+Giveaway} Dirty Player by Mira Lyn Kelly

  Happy Release Day to Dirty Player by Mira Lyn Kelly! Fans of sports romance will enjoy this fun hockey romance. So read on for an excerpt, my thoughts on the novel and a cool giveaway! 🙂     Happy Release Day to Dirty Player by Mira Lyn Kelly! Fans of sports romance will enjoy this fun hockey romance. Dirty Player is the second book in the Back to You, sports romance series by author Mira Lyn Kelly. Each of the books in the Back to You series are standalones, but they are interconnected, so you will see some character overlap. Dirty Player is Greg’s story. (Full disclosure, I didn’t read the first book in the series, but I had no problem picking up this novel.) I love watching hockey (& Football) in real life, so when it comes to sports romances I really enjoy hockey (& football) stories. I have noticed that I tend to read sports romance books, mainly for the actual sports that I follow. Does anyone… Read more »

Divider

May 11
{Review+Giveaway} Succubus Lips by Lina Jubilee

{Review+Giveaway} Succubus Lips by Lina Jubilee

  Succubus Lips is the first book in the Succubus Sirens by Lina Jubilee. Succubus Lips is an adult urban fantasy romance, and I have to say right off the bat, this is adult so it won’t be for everyone, but anyone that does enjoy adult fantasy romances, this book was a totally fun read. Succubus Lips is the story of Aurora, who is a Natch. A Natch is a creature that has the ability to boost other creatures magical ability. This boost of power comes from Aurora’s lips. “Her lips have the power to boost. Her love can grant power unparalleled.” I really liked Aurora. She is super feisty, and lot’s of fun. There are multiple love interests in this book, which really shouldn’t be a surprise with Aurora’s magical boosting lips. It is safe to say, there is a lot of kissing in Succubus Lips. But the world that Lina Jubilee created is also totally unique and very interesting. Though this was a short read, there is a big… Read more »

Divider

May 03
{Review+Giveaway} Fangs & Fins by Amy McNulty @McNultyAmy

{Review+Giveaway} Fangs & Fins by Amy McNulty @McNultyAmy

FANGS & FINS is a young adult paranormal romance by Amy McNulty. It is also the first book in the Blood, Bloom, & Water series. This is the first book I have read from author Amy McNulty, but I will be on the lookout for more from her now, because Fangs & Fins was a strong start to what looks to be an interesting series. Fangs & Fins is the perfect book to feature on my blog today because today is national paranormal day! So it is only fitting that I feature a paranormal book. I loved how much was going on in Fangs & Fins. There are some classic young adult elements thrown in, like step siblings and family secrets, plus lots of great characters and a fast paced always moving plot to keep your interest. Fangs & Fins was a great start to a series that I am interested in continuing on. We start out our journey meeting Ember, who has always wanted a sister. Her wish is… Read more »

Divider

Apr 23
{ARC Review+Wedding Style Board} Royals by Rachel Hawkins

{ARC Review+Wedding Style Board} Royals by Rachel Hawkins

Royals is the first book in a young adult series by the same name from author Rachel Hawkins. I loved this super fun read for many reasons. First, I am all about all things wedding at the moment with the Royal wedding happening this summer and me planning my own wedding. This was right up my alley and second, because of the characters. I cannot tell you how much I love that the main character of this story is the sister of character engaged to the prince. This was a great idea on Rachel Hawkins part. It sets Royals apart from all of the other, I fell in love with a prince books. Daisy’s sister, Ellie is engaged to Prince Alex. But the real star of the story is Daisy. I loved Daisy. She is a bit of a hot mess at times, but she is always feisty and spunky and has no problem speaking first and dealing with the consequences later. I was hoping that Royals would have a… Read more »

Divider

Apr 06
{Review+Giveaway} The Queens of Innis Lear by Tessa Gratton @TorBooks

{Review+Giveaway} The Queens of Innis Lear by Tessa Gratton @TorBooks

  The Queens of Innis Lear is an adult fantasy by Tessa Gratton. I really, really enjoyed this novel. It had a slow and kind of confusing start, but in the end that makes a lot of sense, because this is an epic story that requires a lot of world and character building. This is Tessa Gratton’s first foray into adult fantasy, and I think the Queen of Innis Lear was a rich and detailed world. Overall, the story was well executed and a great read. The Queens of Innis Lear does work well as a standalone, but I am kind of hoping that we see more from this world. In The Queens of Innis Lear we are introduced to the island of Innis Lear, and we meet the three princesses of Lear. Each of the princesses have such a unique personality and they each have their own story, which was great. I really enjoyed getting to know each of the sisters. But it was also an initial frustration for… Read more »

Divider

Mar 22
{Mini Review+Favorite Bitmojis+Giveaway} Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi

{Mini Review+Favorite Bitmojis+Giveaway} Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi

To celebrate the upcoming release of Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi, I have partnered with Simon Teen to bring you all kinds of cool extras. I’ve got a mini review to share my thoughts on the book, some bitmoji fun to honor the text messaging in the story, a video interview with the author, an awesome giveaway thanks to Simon Teen, and even an annotated excerpt from the author! ———————————- In Emergency Contact, our main characters Penny and Sam converse via Text Message. Texting has become a main way of communication for a lot of people. Personally, I love to textm especially when I don’t have time for a full out phone conversation. One of the things that I love to incorporate into my text messages are Bitmoji’s. If you are not familiar with a bitmoji, it is a custom designed avatar that you can have look like you(Or like anything you want.) I love including my little bitmoji as a text response, so today I thought it would… Read more »

Divider

Feb 08
{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Beauty That Remains by Ashley Woodfolk @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Beauty That Remains by Ashley Woodfolk @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

The Beauty That Remains is the debut young adult novel by Ashley Woodfolk. The Beauty That Remains is powerful book featuring wonderfully diverse characters. It is a realistic fiction piece about how people deal with loss differently, and also about how this new era of social media can shape the grieving process. I really enjoyed this novel. I found it to be so multi faceted, and so interestingly put together. I think this is a great book to recommend to reads of realistic contemporary fiction. Ashley Woodfolk is a wonderful new voice in young adult literature. The Beauty That Remains is told in three different point of views, following our three main characters- Autumn, Shay, and Logan. Each of our main characters has lost someone close to them. Autumn lost her best friend, Shay lost her twin sister and Logan lost his ex-boyfriend. There were a few things that I really loved about this novel. First, I loved the diversity in the cast of characters, and I loved how each of their journeys… Read more »

Divider

Feb 05
{Review+Giveaway} S.T.A.G.S. by @MABennettAuthor @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

{Review+Giveaway} S.T.A.G.S. by @MABennettAuthor @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

S.T.A.G.S. is a young adult mystery thriller by author M.A. Bennett. In case you didn’t know, S.T.A.G.S. stands for St. Aidan the Great School, is a book that is touted to be awesome for fans of The Secret History and Pretty Little Liars. I am a big fan of both of those books, so that coupled with the boarding school setting, I was pretty pumped for S.T.A.G.S. And S.T.A.G.S. delivered on what it promised, a twisty thriller. And though S.T.A.G.S. is set at a boarding school, a bulk of the novel took place at a country manor where this “hunting” weekend is set to take place. I loved the premise of S.T.A.G.S. I think that was my favorite aspect of the story.  And the writing and storyline were both excellent. They kept my attention the entire time and I loved the eerie feeling of the story. But the characters didn’t always live up to the plot in my opinion. I liked Greer well enough, but I didn’t completely love her. And I not entirely sure why…. Read more »

Divider