Tag: 3.5/5 gavels

Oct 18
{Review} #1 MUSE by T. Gephart

{Review} #1 MUSE by T. Gephart

#1 MUSE is the fifth book in the #1 series by T. Gephart. Each of the books in the series are romantic comedies, but they do not need to be read in order. This is the first book in the series I have checked out so far and, while it was more than a little far fetched, it was a lot of fun. In Muse, we meet Claire, who is an out of work screen writing in LA, who is looking for a show or movie to be a writer on. On the side, she also pens some fanfiction featuring one of her favorite actors, Nick. When her fanfiction accidentally ends up in Nick’s possession, Claire will do anything to get it back. What results is a whirlwind romance that was a lot of fun to read about.  I love both Claire and Nick. In fact, I loved the whole cast of characters, because Claire’s friends were also pretty awesome. Claire is a very capable woman, and I appreciate how… Read more »

Divider

Oct 02
{Release Day Review} THE SPELLBOOK OF KATRINA VAN TASSEL by Alyssa Palombo @AlyssinWnderlnd @StMartinsPress

{Release Day Review} THE SPELLBOOK OF KATRINA VAN TASSEL by Alyssa Palombo @AlyssinWnderlnd @StMartinsPress

THE SPELLBOOK OF KATRINA VAN TASSEL: A Story of Sleepy Hollow by Alyssa Palombo. The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel is a retelling of the tale of Sleepy Hollow, but this time it is being told from the point of view of Ichabod Crane’s love interest, Katrina. I loved this switch in point of view because it offered a lot of great new insight and perspective into a story that I was already familiar with. Katrina breathed new life into the tale of the headless horseman. The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel is a perfect read for Halloween. I loved the gothic atmosphere vibe, paired with all of the supernatural elements of the story. It was a great combination for a mysterious and spooky read, but don’t worry, it also has plenty of romance woven in, which I also loved. Katrina Van Tassel and Ichabod Crane meet when Mr. Cranes comes into town as a new teacher. Watching him and Katrina meet and eventually fall in love was my favorite part… Read more »

Divider

Sep 08
{Review+Giveaway} A Court of Blood and Void by Meg Xuemei X

{Review+Giveaway} A Court of Blood and Void by Meg Xuemei X

A Court of Blood and Void is the first book in the War of the Gods seres by author Meg Xuemei X. It is also my first book that I have read of Meg’s, and I have to say I really enjoyed it. Some parts I completely, completely loved but there were a few things that irked me. We will get to those things later on, but let’s start with what I loved. I loved the set up of the series. I really loved that. The plot of this book is excellent. We start out by meeting Cassandra, whose own mother has kept her locked up in a cage for her entire life. This has obviously shaped a lot of Cass’ personality. But she is being told that she is locked up because she is going to become some sort of big bad monster which will bring the end of the world. But soon she is rescued and thrust straight into running for her life. The world in the War… Read more »

Divider

Aug 17
{Release Day Review+Giveaway} Unleashed by Bella Jacobs

{Release Day Review+Giveaway} Unleashed by Bella Jacobs

Unleashed is the first book in the urban fantasy series by Bella Jacobs. It is the first book in the Dark Moon Shifters series, and I have to say the overall plot line for the series sounds excellent. Unleashed was a solid first book, but it did a lot of groundwork laying before any of the real fun started. As a result, I felt like most of the time I was reading, waiting to get to the next parts. But I don’t think that will be the case in the second book and any of the other books, because now we really know who all of the players in the story are and we know what they are trying to accomplish. And it is a big plot line. They are trying to basically save the world. In Unleashed we meat our heroine, Wren, who is pretty happy living in a cult. It seemed bizarre to me, but she was. Then she is taken from her house and is on the… Read more »

Divider

Aug 09
{Review+Giveaway} The Forest Queen by Betsy Cornwell

{Review+Giveaway} The Forest Queen by Betsy Cornwell

The Forest Queen is a young adult fantasy retelling by Betsy Cornwell. It is labeled as being book 0.5 in the Mechanica series. While I have not read Mechanica, I believe this is a standalone story that is set in the same world. Mechanica is a retelling of Cinderella but The Forest Queen is a female retelling of Robin Hood. I loved that Robin Hood was in fact our main character, Sylvie. In fact, the Forest Queen has a very strong female empowerment vibe throughout. I enjoyed The Forest Queen. I am a fan of the tale of Robin Hood and I thought the Forest Queen provided a new spin on that story. That being said, while I liked this book, it didn’t completely blow me away. It was a good novel, but something stopped me from completely falling in love with it. In the Forest Queen we meet Sylvie and her brother John. I got the impression that Sylvie and her brother John used to be pretty close, but… Read more »

Divider

Aug 08
{Mini Review+Giveaway} Someone I used to Know by Patty Blount

{Mini Review+Giveaway} Someone I used to Know by Patty Blount

Someone I used to Know by Patty Blount is a young adult contemporary novel that deals with a serious issue. Someone I used to Know looks at the aftermath of dealing with your life after a sexual assault. One of the things I admire most about author Patty Blount is that she is not afraid to deal with tough issues. Someone I used to Know is not a fun read by any stretch of the imagination, nor is it a light, breezy story. It is a heavy narrative, but it’s an important one. Someone I used to Know is a novel that will stick with me. It is a novel that I will remember, but be warned that it does deal with rape, so if that is something that is upsetting for you to read about, this is going to be a difficult novel for you. Our main character is Ashley. And honestly this novel was hard for me to get through, but I loved Ashley so much that I wanted to hear… Read more »

Divider

Aug 03
{Review+Giveaway} Step into Magic by Day Leitao

{Review+Giveaway} Step into Magic by Day Leitao

  Step into Magic is the first book in the middle grade fantasy series, Portals to Whyland by author Day Leitao. I thought Step into Magic was a solid first book in the series. In some ways, it was solidly in the middle grade category,, but in other ways I did think it was a little busy for a middle grade book, but I will get more into that in a bit. Step into Magic was a fun story about our main character Karina who find a pair of magic shoes, which leads her to a magic land. I really enjoyed the story and I can’t wait to pick up the second book in the Portals to Whyland series. Karina is fourteen, and what fourteen year old girl would not love to get swept away to a magical world to go on an adventure? What I loved about Step into Magic was that I was instantly hooked with the story. There was no slow start, we got to dive right… Read more »

Divider

Jul 23
{Mini Review+Giveaway} DIVE SMACK by Demetra Brodsky

{Mini Review+Giveaway} DIVE SMACK by Demetra Brodsky

Holy Cow! That’s what I have to say about Dive Smack. Dive Smack is a young adult physiological thriller by author Demetra Brodsky, and this book totally blew my mind. It has been awhile since I have read a thriller. I have been in a big fantasy kick lately, but it was really nice to switch things up and dive into this twisty thriller that really grab s a hold of you. I don’t love to read a ton of physiological thrillers, but I am always on the lookout for a good one. One that keeps you thinking long after you turned the last page. And that is what Dive Smack was. Demetra Brodsky did a fantastic job with this debut novel! My favorite part of Dive Smack were the characters. Theo is fantastic. Watching the toll this plot takes on him and watching the plot unravel and progress was fascinating. Dive smack started out a little slow, but boy oh boy is it a novel that really builds. It just… Read more »

Divider

Jul 06
{Review+Giveaway} My Lullaby of You by Alia Rose

{Review+Giveaway} My Lullaby of You by Alia Rose

My Lullaby of You is a young adult contemporary romance by Alia Rose. The blurb for this book said it was perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han. After reading My Lullaby of You, I’m not sure I see much Jenny Han in the writing but I definitely see Sarah Dessen. My Lullaby of You is great for a quick beachy read. The characters’ story flowed in a very pleasant way, and while this book didn’t send me into a spiraling book hangover, it was a nice feel good read. My Lullaby of You is the summer story of Amy and Seth. I enjoyed watching the interaction between these two. Each of them has their own story to tell, which was my favorite aspect of this novel. We get to know Amy and we get to know Seth and we get to see everything that they are each going through and how those things shape their interactions with each other. Of course, we also get to see a really cute… Read more »

Divider

Jun 25
{Review+Giveaway} Chemistry Lessons by Meredith Goldstein @MeredithGoldste

{Review+Giveaway} Chemistry Lessons by Meredith Goldstein @MeredithGoldste

Chemistry Lessons is a young adult contemporary romance by Meredith Goldstein. Chemistry Lessons is one of those books that I knew right off the bat I was destined to like. The summary just kept checking off all my boxes. Scientist main character that wants to find a formula for love. Check! Lots of experiments with pheromones and guys. Check check! a cute romance. triple check! Chemistry Lessons was an adorable read that was a lot of fun. This is the first book I have read from author Meredith Goldstein, but I would love to see more young adult or new adult from her. Chemistry Lessons is the story of our main character, Maya. At the start we see Maya get dumped, but she is determined not to let her summer go to waste, and she immediately tried to continue her mom’s old research on pheromones and human attraction. (did I mention this storyline is a hit for me?!) Maya initially starts out with the purpose of getting her ex boyfriend… Read more »

Divider