Tag: 3.5/5 gavels

Apr 23
{ARC Review+Wedding Style Board} Royals by Rachel Hawkins

{ARC Review+Wedding Style Board} Royals by Rachel Hawkins

Royals is the first book in a young adult series by the same name from author Rachel Hawkins. I loved this super fun read for many reasons. First, I am all about all things wedding at the moment with the Royal wedding happening this summer and me planning my own wedding. This was right up my alley and second, because of the characters. I cannot tell you how much I love that the main character of this story is the sister of character engaged to the prince. This was a great idea on Rachel Hawkins part. It sets Royals apart from all of the other, I fell in love with a prince books. Daisy’s sister, Ellie is engaged to Prince Alex. But the real star of the story is Daisy. I loved Daisy. She is a bit of a hot mess at times, but she is always feisty and spunky and has no problem speaking first and dealing with the consequences later. I was hoping that Royals would have a… Read more »

Divider

Apr 06
{Review+Giveaway} The Queens of Innis Lear by Tessa Gratton @TorBooks

{Review+Giveaway} The Queens of Innis Lear by Tessa Gratton @TorBooks

  The Queens of Innis Lear is an adult fantasy by Tessa Gratton. I really, really enjoyed this novel. It had a slow and kind of confusing start, but in the end that makes a lot of sense, because this is an epic story that requires a lot of world and character building. This is Tessa Gratton’s first foray into adult fantasy, and I think the Queen of Innis Lear was a rich and detailed world. Overall, the story was well executed and a great read. The Queens of Innis Lear does work well as a standalone, but I am kind of hoping that we see more from this world. In The Queens of Innis Lear we are introduced to the island of Innis Lear, and we meet the three princesses of Lear. Each of the princesses have such a unique personality and they each have their own story, which was great. I really enjoyed getting to know each of the sisters. But it was also an initial frustration for… Read more »

Divider

Mar 22
{Mini Review+Favorite Bitmojis+Giveaway} Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi

{Mini Review+Favorite Bitmojis+Giveaway} Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi

To celebrate the upcoming release of Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi, I have partnered with Simon Teen to bring you all kinds of cool extras. I’ve got a mini review to share my thoughts on the book, some bitmoji fun to honor the text messaging in the story, a video interview with the author, an awesome giveaway thanks to Simon Teen, and even an annotated excerpt from the author! ———————————- In Emergency Contact, our main characters Penny and Sam converse via Text Message. Texting has become a main way of communication for a lot of people. Personally, I love to textm especially when I don’t have time for a full out phone conversation. One of the things that I love to incorporate into my text messages are Bitmoji’s. If you are not familiar with a bitmoji, it is a custom designed avatar that you can have look like you(Or like anything you want.) I love including my little bitmoji as a text response, so today I thought it would… Read more »

Divider

Feb 08
{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Beauty That Remains by Ashley Woodfolk @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Beauty That Remains by Ashley Woodfolk @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

The Beauty That Remains is the debut young adult novel by Ashley Woodfolk. The Beauty That Remains is powerful book featuring wonderfully diverse characters. It is a realistic fiction piece about how people deal with loss differently, and also about how this new era of social media can shape the grieving process. I really enjoyed this novel. I found it to be so multi faceted, and so interestingly put together. I think this is a great book to recommend to reads of realistic contemporary fiction. Ashley Woodfolk is a wonderful new voice in young adult literature. The Beauty That Remains is told in three different point of views, following our three main characters- Autumn, Shay, and Logan. Each of our main characters has lost someone close to them. Autumn lost her best friend, Shay lost her twin sister and Logan lost his ex-boyfriend. There were a few things that I really loved about this novel. First, I loved the diversity in the cast of characters, and I loved how each of their journeys… Read more »

Divider

Feb 05
{Review+Giveaway} S.T.A.G.S. by @MABennettAuthor @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

{Review+Giveaway} S.T.A.G.S. by @MABennettAuthor @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

S.T.A.G.S. is a young adult mystery thriller by author M.A. Bennett. In case you didn’t know, S.T.A.G.S. stands for St. Aidan the Great School, is a book that is touted to be awesome for fans of The Secret History and Pretty Little Liars. I am a big fan of both of those books, so that coupled with the boarding school setting, I was pretty pumped for S.T.A.G.S. And S.T.A.G.S. delivered on what it promised, a twisty thriller. And though S.T.A.G.S. is set at a boarding school, a bulk of the novel took place at a country manor where this “hunting” weekend is set to take place. I loved the premise of S.T.A.G.S. I think that was my favorite aspect of the story.  And the writing and storyline were both excellent. They kept my attention the entire time and I loved the eerie feeling of the story. But the characters didn’t always live up to the plot in my opinion. I liked Greer well enough, but I didn’t completely love her. And I not entirely sure why…. Read more »

Divider

Feb 05
{Review} The Upside to Being Single by Emma Hart @EmmaHartAuthor

{Review} The Upside to Being Single by Emma Hart @EmmaHartAuthor

The Upside to Being Single is a romantic comedy by author Emma Hart. This book was a ton of fun, from the New Orleans setting to the awesome banter between the main character and her boss. The Upside to Being Single is currently listed as a standalone, but the main character, Mellie has two best friends who are pretty much additional main characters Peyton and Chloe. Peyton is getting her own book, which is the start of the upcoming Experiment series, and Chloe’s story is slated to be the second book in that duet, so in my mind this is really the first book in the set of interconnected standalone trilogy for Mellie and her friends. I really enjoyed The Upside to Being Single. It is full of humor and lots of unresolved sexual tension. IN fact, there may have been just a tad too much of it. I felt like by the time something actually happened between Mellie and Jake, the book was almost over. That bummed me out a little… Read more »

Divider

Jan 10
{Review+Giveaway} Death Island by @kelseyketch

{Review+Giveaway} Death Island by @kelseyketch

Death Island is a new adult fantasy by author Kelsey Ketch. Death Island is a pirate adventure that is filled with intrigue and mythology. I enjoyed this novel overall. It was a lot of fun. I love a quest style adventure. I love pirates and I love mythology, so those elements of the story were right up my alley. I believe Death Island is slated to be a standalone, but the ending did leave open the possibility for some more exploration in this world that Kelsey Ketch has created. There were a lot of things I really enjoyed about Death Island and a few things that held me back from totally falling in love with the story, but let’s start with all the elements that I really enjoyed. First, I loved the main character, Meriden. She is spunky and fiery and a great adventure heroine. She was always up for whatever was thrown her way, which was evidenced by the fact that right in her first chapter she went from waking… Read more »

Divider

Jan 06
{Mini Review+Interview} We are Party People by @LeslieMargolis ‏

{Mini Review+Interview} We are Party People by @LeslieMargolis ‏

I am so excited to have Leslie Margolis here to chat parties and party people. Thank you for being here today Leslie! 1. Describe We Are Party People in a tweet (140 characters or less) One shy, quiet kid + mandatory mermaid costume = Catastrophe or triumph?  Read on. 2. Can you describe your perfect party for me? (What are we celebrating? How many people are there? Where is it?) My perfect party is small and casual, with no occasion necessary.  It is filled with artists and philosophers and activists. Everyone has outrageous stories to tell.  There’s scintillating conversation, scrumptious food and drink and beautiful music. 3. What was the most fun part of writing We Are Party People? The best part of writing any novel is coming up with the initial idea and characters. Then, thinking about what could go wrong—and making it happen.  I like my characters to suffer!  Big-time nightmare scenarios are so much fun to read about.  Don’t you think? 4. Tell us something we didn’t… Read more »

Divider

Dec 19
{ARC Review+Giveaway} By a Charm and a Curse by @JaimeQuestell @EntangledTeen

{ARC Review+Giveaway} By a Charm and a Curse by @JaimeQuestell @EntangledTeen

By A Charm and a Curse is a standalone young adult fantasy by debut author Jaime Questell. I love a book in a carnival setting, and one featuring magic even more, so I knew By a Charm and a Curse would be right up my alley. And it was. I really enjoyed this book. The name of the book says it all. There is a charm and there is a curse and they are tied closely together. I really loved the plot of this book. I might have even enjoyed the story more than the characters, but I did also enjoy the whole cast of carnies. By A Charm and a Curse follows our main character Em, or Emmaline as she visits a traveling carnival with her friend. By A Charm and a Curse is told from multiple perspectives, and as we shift through some of the characters point of view we get to know a couple of the carnival performers and we learn about the charm. I’m going to tell you… Read more »

Divider

Nov 20
{Review+Giveaway} The Chosen Knights by Mary Ting

{Review+Giveaway} The Chosen Knights by Mary Ting

The Chosen Knights is the first book in the Angel Knights series by author Mary Ting. However, It was recommended to me to try the prequel novella, The Angel Knights, first. Each of the books can be read on their own, but I decided to read this series in order, starting with The Angel Knights. On one hand, I was glad that I did. It helped me get to know Lucia and Zachary a little better, and since I didn’t read the originating crossroads series, this book helped me put all the pieces together for the crossover characters. But on the other hand, I didn’t love the Angel Knights. I found it to be a little simplistic and a lot rushed. I didn’t have the chance to connect with any of the characters. But still, I love the idea of The Chosen Knights, which is the first full length book in the series, and I wanted to see what Mary Ting could do with the characters in a full length… Read more »

Divider