{Review} Gild by Raven Kennedy

January 11, 2021 Adult, Reviews 0 ★★★★★

{Review} Gild by Raven KennedyGild by Raven Kennedy
Pages: 375
Published by Amazon Digital Services on October 16, 2020
Series: The Plated Prisoner #1
Genres: adult, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, dark, Dark Fantasy
Source: Kindle Unlimited

By bestselling author Raven Kennedy, comes the first book in a stunning new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Jennifer L Armentrout.

The fae abandoned this world to us. And the ones with power rule.


Gold floors, gold walls, gold furniture, gold clothes. In Highbell, in the castle built into the frozen mountains, everything is made of gold.

Even me.

King Midas rescued me. Dug me out of the slums and placed me on a pedestal. I’m called his precious. His favored. I’m the woman he Gold-Touched to show everyone that I belong to him. To show how powerful he is. He gave me protection, and I gave him my heart. And even though I don’t leave the confines of the palace, I’m safe.
Until war comes to the kingdom and a deal is struck.

Suddenly, my trust is broken. My love is challenged. And I realize that everything I thought I knew about Midas might be wrong.

Because these bars I’m kept in, no matter how gilded, are still just a cage. But the monsters on the other side might make me wish I’d never left.

The myth of King Midas reimagined. This compelling adult fantasy series is as addictive as it is unexpected. With romance, intrigue, and danger, the gilded world of Orea will grip you from the very first page.

Please Note: This book contains explicit content and darker elements, including mature language, violence, and non-consensual sex. It is not intended for anyone under 18 years of age. This is book one in a series.

Also in this series: Glint


My Thoughts

Gild is the first book in the adult fantasy romance series, called The Plated Prisoner Series, by the amazing Raven Kennedy. Raven Kennedy is quickly becoming one of my all time favorite authors. She writes the most addictive books with the best characters! Gild is a bit different and quite a bit darker than the other books I have read from Raven Kennedy. It is a dark reimaging of the story of King Midas and I was completely obsessed with it. Book two, Glint releases today and I stayed up way too late binge reading both books this weekend. If you are a fan of dark adult fantasies, then the Plated Prisoner series is a must read for you to check out!

In Gild we meet our main character Auren, who is the favored gold touched pet of King Midas. Midas keeps Auren in a fancy gold plated cage for everyone to see as a symbol of his power. I found Auren’s cage and relationship with Midas to be fascinating. Her cage spans the entire top floor the castle, with cages built into every room and barred walkways connecting all the room so she can roam kind of freely around the castle. It’s interesting because at the start of the book Auren very much wants to be in her cage to keep her safe. From what, we don’t know. But we do know that she has had a very rough life as an orphan living on the streets until Midas rescued her. She has known him since before he was king, which explains a lot of their connection. She feels very indebted to Midas for saving her life. She accompanied him to the castle as he married the Queen and became the king with the golden touch.

I loved Auren. She is fascinating. I figured out one of her secrets early on, but Raven Kennedy still managed to surprise me several times throughout the book. Book one does a great job setting up the world. In the Plated Prisoner series, the land is split up onto six kingdoms, and when Midas takes over a neighboring kingdom he sends for his favored and his other royal “saddles” (think fancy concubine) to join him in the neighboring land. Along the way, the caravan gets stolen away and the story gets even more interesting. I don’t want to reveal too much, but I loved every bit of this story. Even though this is going to be a fantasy romance, there is almost no real romance in book one, but don’t let that be off putting to you. After reading book 2, I am even more in love with this series and I already know I am going to love the romance. If you are a fan of dark fantasies featuring interesting magic with magnetic characters and fantastic writing, the Plated Prisoners is a must read series. Raven Kennedy has announced that it will be at least 4 books long, and I am already in DESPERATE need of book 3!


About Raven Kennedy

Raven Kennedy likes writing and reading and chocolate-bar-eating. Dark chocolate. Get out of here with that other stuff. She also likes to take long walks on the beach. Not really. She lives in the desert. The only water there is the wavy stuff that comes with a mirage. But I’m sure if there was a beach nearby, she’d walk then. Probably. Maybe. Her first book is Signs of Cupidity, the first of a series. She hopes you enjoy it! More books will be released soon!

Michelle @ Book Briefs

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.