{Release Day Review} Glint by Raven Kennedy

January 11, 2021 Adult, Reviews 0 ★★★★★

{Release Day Review} Glint by Raven KennedyGlint by Raven Kennedy
Pages: 339
Published by Amazon Digital Services on January 11, 2021
Series: The Plated Prisoner #2
Genres: adult, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, dark, Dark Fantasy
Source: eARC from Author

“You want to make your life easier? Then be the caged bird that you are and sing.”

For ten years, I’ve lived in a gilded cage inside King Midas’s golden castle. But one night changed everything.

Now I’m here, a prisoner of Fourth Kingdom’s army, and I’m not sure if I’m going to make it out of this in one piece. They’re marching to battle, and I’m the bargaining chip that will either douse the fire or spark a war.

At the heart of my fear, my worry, there’s him—Commander Rip.

Known for his brutality on the battlefield, his viciousness is unsurpassed. But I know the truth about what he is.


The betrayers. The murderers. The ones who nearly destroyed Orea, wiping out Seventh Kingdom in the process. Rip has power sizzling beneath this skin and glinting spikes down his spine. But his eyes—his eyes are the most compelling of all.

When he turns those black eyes on me, I feel captive for an entirely different reason.

I may be out of my cage, but I’m not free, not even close. In the game of kings and armies, I’m the gilded pawn. The question is, can I out maneuver them?

This is the captivating second book of The Plated Prisoner series. It’s an adult epic fantasy story blending romance, intrigue, and beautiful imagery. Return to the seductive story of magic inspired by the myth of King Midas, and get caught up in the world of Orea.

Please note: There is explicit language and romance in this book, not suitable for those under the age of 18.

Also in this series: Gild


My Thoughts

*Please Note: Glint is the second book in a series that should be read in order. If you are new to the Plated Prisoner Series, you can check out my review of book one- Gild HERE*

Glint is the second book in the adult fantasy romance series, called The Plated Prisoner Series, by Raven Kennedy. The Plated Prisoner series is a dark reimaging of the story of King Midas and I was completely obsessed with it. Glint releases today, and both books are available on Kindle Unlimited, so you definitely need to check it out if you are a fan of dark adult fantasies. I liked Glint even more than the first book, and now that we have seen a hint of romance for our main character, I am even more excited to read the next book. I need it in my life right now!

Glint takes place immediately after the events of Gild, with Auren and the other royal Saddles captured by the fourth kingdom’s soldiers. We know that King Midas will stop at nothing to get his favored back, and in Glint we finally learn why! I loved learning more about Auren. I didn’t mention her ribbons in my review of book one, but they are fascinating. In the world of Orea some people have magic and some do not. In order to rule a kingdom the king or queen must possess magic, which is how Midas became king of the sixth kingdom. The ruling family has one child- a daughter, but she did not possess any magic, so she needed to marry someone who did. We assume that Auren has some magic of her own because in the first book she describes her ribbons to us. The are 12 sets of ribbons that grew on either side of her spine down her back. She can control each of the 24 ribbons just like she can control her own hands or legs, but we don’t really see her use them too much in Gild. In Glint, I was very happy to see Auren became a little more confident with her ribbons, and more confident with herself in general. Watching her come into her own was a delight because she is abused in the first book. She felt more like her normal self in Glint, which is ironic because she spends almost all of the story as a prisoner of an enemy army.

And speaking of the enemy army, I really enjoyed getting to know some of the other saddles with Auren and some of the men and women in King Rot’s (fourth kingdom) army, especially Commander Rip. As soon as I met Commander Rip in the first book, I knew I was going to love him, and to say I love him is a bit of an understatement. I looooveee him! I cannot wait to see where the romance is going to go and where the story is going to go, but I know one thing for sure. I am obsessed with this series. I have loved every single book I have read of Raven Kennedy, and the Plated Prisoner series is not exception. This book is magical. If you are a fan of dark fantasies featuring interesting magic with magnetic characters and fantastic writing, the Plated Prisoners is a must read series. Raven Kennedy has announced that it will be at least 4 books long, and I am already in DESPERATE need of book 3! Be warned though, this book has one humdinger of an ending-one I did not see coming at all! blue5

P.S. if you need any other reason to pick up a Raven Kennedy book- she wrote my FAVORITE SERIES OF ALL TIME- The Hearts Hassel series, also available on Kindle Unlimited!

Books in the Plated Prisoner Series

About Raven Kennedy

Raven Kennedy likes writing and reading and chocolate-bar-eating. Dark chocolate. Get out of here with that other stuff. She also likes to take long walks on the beach. Not really. She lives in the desert. The only water there is the wavy stuff that comes with a mirage. But I’m sure if there was a beach nearby, she’d walk then. Probably. Maybe. Her first book is Signs of Cupidity, the first of a series. She hopes you enjoy it! More books will be released soon!

Michelle @ Book Briefs

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.