Genre: Coming of Age

Divider

Mar 18
{Review+Giveaway} Fake Boobs by @RyanRingbloom

{Review+Giveaway} Fake Boobs by @RyanRingbloom

Fake Boobs is a standalone new adult contemporary. And before we even get started, yes it is about fake boobs, but it is really about the larger picture of self esteem issues. I went back and forth with this book a little bit. There were a lot of things that I liked about the book, Fake Boobs, but there were a few things that rubbed me the wrong way. And not just about the main character, Tori. After I was done reading I sat back and tried to sort out my thoughts on the book and I kept coming back to the same thing, that the positive outweighed my annoyances. So let’s talk about the positive. I really liked Grant and Tori together. I liked the big picture of their relationship. I was very happy with the way everything left off, and I was happy that Grant wouldn’t put up with Tori’s nonsense, and at the same time he was more there for her than anyone else in her life… Read more »

Divider

Jan 15
{ARC Review+Giveaway} One Last Song by S.K. Falls @skfallssc @ForeverRomance

{ARC Review+Giveaway} One Last Song by S.K. Falls @skfallssc @ForeverRomance

Sometimes there are books that are hard to put into words why you liked them so much. The main character wasn’t necessarily likeable. Things didn’t turn out exactly how you wanted them to. People you did like in the book got hurt. But still, you were just moved by the book, in a very profound way. One Last Song is one of those books. It is such a powerful voice and story. It is dark and unexpected. The main character is certainly not anyone that I would have thought I would have liked. And I am still not even 100% sure that I do like her. But I certainly feel for her, and I can sympathize with her. And that is enough with this story. Trust me, One Last Song will make you feel all kinds of emotions. As a side note, One Last Song is a standalone read. The main character, Saylor is a girl that from the summary you will see swallows needles. In the book, you learn… Read more »

Divider

Dec 03
{Excerpt+Giveaway} The Shape of My Heart by @MsAnnAguirre @InkSlingerPR

{Excerpt+Giveaway} The Shape of My Heart by @MsAnnAguirre @InkSlingerPR

If you are new to this awesome series, then you need to start reading it! What are you waiting for? My review of Shape of My Heart is coming soon, but if you haven’t yet, you can check out my review of the first two books before reading this sweet excerpt from the third book below. My review of I want it That Way My review of As Long As You Love Me He didn’t speak until I was strapping on the helmet. “It’s weird how nervous I am. I was going for original but I hope I didn’t cross into cheesy.” “I love cheese,” I told him. “That makes me feel marginally better.” Max got on the bike and I climbed on behind him, wrapping my arms around his waist. The motorcycle zoomed off, warm wind rushing against my skin. At first I wasn’t sure where we were going, but then I started recognizing landmarks. Each turn brought us closer to the private place Max had shared with me… Read more »

Divider

Oct 30
{ #Review } The Sea of Tranquility by @KatjaMillay @AtriaBooks

{ #Review } The Sea of Tranquility by @KatjaMillay @AtriaBooks

HOLY SMOKES! What a moving, powerful book. How did this one elude my grasp for so long??  The Sea of Tranquility has been classified both as Young Adult and New Adult. I could see it going either way, but I think it is closer to upper Young Adult. Especially since both of the main characters are in high school. Even though they are each wise beyond their years. I really don’t know how to write a review that does this book justice. I have read a lot of really fantastic books, but the Sea of Tranquility will always stick out in my mind because of how much it moved me. This is a powerful book. It reminded me of the raw emotional power like in the books Lost and Found by Nadia Simonenko. And anyone that knows me, or has read my reviews of those new adult books, know just how high of praise that is. The Sea of Tranquility starts off feeling very mysterious. It took me a couple… Read more »

Divider

Sep 09
{Review+Giveaway} Right Kind of Wrong by @ChelseaFine @InkSlingerPR

{Review+Giveaway} Right Kind of Wrong by @ChelseaFine @InkSlingerPR

I’m not even going to kid you…this is going to be a gushing review. But I think it is warranted. Hear me out. I have now read all three of the books in the Finding Fate series, and they have all been AMAZING! This is what New Adult should be and I am not afraid to share my love for Chelsea Fine’s characters and writing. There is something so comforting in reading book after book by an author and loving each one. I can confidently say that I anticipate loving every single book by Ms. Fine. Her characters are always well developed individuals and she doesn’t use a cookie cutter for them all. They all have distinct personalities, but they are all equally relate able and lovable. Right Kind of Wrong is the story of Pixie’s (from book 1) college roommate and best friend, Jenna. And her ex co-worker Jack. They hooked up one night almost a year ago and things haven’t been the same with them since. Jack clearly… Read more »

Divider

Aug 04
{ARC Review} Virgin by Radhika Sanghani

{ARC Review} Virgin by Radhika Sanghani

This book is really tough for me to review. Some parts of this book I really loved. Like really loved. I thought they were little talked about subjects that almost every young woman has thought about or experienced in some way shape or form. Things that I think should be a must read for young women everywhere. But the main character bugged me for a lot of the first half of the book. She was whiny and self absorbed. I thought she was all the things her best friend accused her of being in the fight. And there is a problem if you are agreeing with the best friend that is being a jerk.  But I pushed that aside and powered on with the book, and overall I was really glad that I did. I loved the “vlog” that EM and EK came up with. It really was one of the highlights of the book. I thought it was witty and funny and needed. They talked about things that should… Read more »

Divider

Jul 31
{Interview+Giveaway} Aizai the Forgotten by Mary-Jean Harris

{Interview+Giveaway} Aizai the Forgotten by Mary-Jean Harris

Today I have Mary- Jean here for an interview about her book, Aizai the Forgotten and then a giveaway of an ecopy of her book! 1. Describe Aizai the Forgotten in a tweet. Aizai the Forgotten follows seventeen-year-old Wolfdon as he tries to find the lost world of Aizai in France and Spain of the seventeenth century. With a beautiful horse he borrows from an astrologer, Wolfdon meets many peculiar people and eventually discovers the portal to Aizai with the aid of a mysterious girl he believes to be a goddess. Once in Aizai, Wolfdon witnesses magic beyond his imagination, but also realizes that there is a deadly secret, something that may involve him more than he could have guessed, and takes him even further on a dangerous mission. 2. What is one thing that we would be surprised to learn about Wolfdon Pellegrin? He has a strange mix of loyalty and disloyalty to his character. You find this out in the book, but he’ll be perfectly alright with ‘borrowing’ books and… Read more »

Divider

Jul 09
{Review} The Oyster’s Autobiography by Kitty Kilby @KittyKilby

{Review} The Oyster’s Autobiography by Kitty Kilby @KittyKilby

The Oyster’s Autobiography is a super cute read about stepping outside of your comfort zone and about finding yourself. Mabs is a girl that is happy with her quiet simple life. She has school, and she has her best friend. But when her best friend leaves to do a study abroad exchange semester, Mabs is left all by herself. Her best friend knows Mabs well and she doesn’t want her to sit around by herself the whole semester, so she created a list of things she wants Mabs to accomplish before she gets back in 3 months. And what if Mabs doesn’t? Well, then Mabs super secret crush “Rob Eno” will be sent a very secret love letter and his identity will be revealed. Blackmailed into stepping outside of her comfort zone, Mabs big adventure begins. I loved that Olivia cared about her friend enough and knew her well enough to make sure that she wasn’t miserable while she was gone. Not all of the things that were on her… Read more »

Divider

May 28
{Review} A Risk Worth Taking by Heather Hildenbrand

{Review} A Risk Worth Taking by Heather Hildenbrand

A Risk Worth Taking is perfect for fans of Abbi Glines. It reminded me of While it Lasts from her Sea Breeze series, and if you remember my review from that book you will know that Gage is pretty much my favorite guy ever. I am a HUGE fan of Heather’s Paranormal Romance- the Dirty Blood series. They are my favorite werewolf/shifter books of all time, so I knew I had to read her New Adult contemporary, A Risk Worth Taking. And boy oh boy was I glad that I did. I heart-ed the heck out of this book!Summer and Ford have awesome chemistry. They each have issues of their own that are holding them back from fully committing to each other. Summer’s arise more at the start of the book and then somewhere along the line it shifts and Ford’s becomes the one waging an inner struggle. Their story is told in dual narrative shifting between their Point of views. A personal favorite of mine for romances.  I don’t… Read more »

Divider

May 03
{ARC Review} The Chapel Wars by Lindsey Leavitt

{ARC Review} The Chapel Wars by Lindsey Leavitt

I expected this book to be a fun cute read. And it was, but it was also more than that. This really was a coming of age story for Holly. She is a true numbers girl as Dax called her. She is outwardly emotionless- analytical, logical and a “fixer”. The Chapel Wars is about Holly finding out what she wants, who she is and about finding her emotions really. She is only 17 but she takes on so much responsibility that it is really easy to overlook her young age. I enjoyed Holly immensely. I adored her analogies and see how she explained things. Lindsey Leavitt did such a great job with the writing of this book. It felt very conversational and welcoming. Holly seemed like a friend of mine, and her story felt like we were catching up over coffee. Just like her grandfather said, you can’t help but like Holly. She is like a breath of fresh air, swooping into every room. She has so much energy, she is… Read more »

Divider