Genre: Coming of Age

Divider

Apr 22
{Review} Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

{Review} Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

Open Road Summer is a really heartwarming tale of two best friends. Dee is a country music rising star. She is a teen music idol, and she is going on a summer tour. But what is awesome about the story is that she is the famous secondary character. The main character of the story is her best friend, Reagan. We still got to see Reagan and Dee be goofballs together, but this was Reagan’s coming of age story. Hers and Matt. Matt was part of a family tween music group and now he is a solo performer. Teen heartthrob- all that. He is just a big ole sweetheart. Reagan is a tough nut to crack. She seriously does not give anyone a pass. You can easily tell how much she loves Dee and how she would do anything for her, but other than Dee everyone kind of got the tough girl act. She would not give Matt an inch when she first met him. I thought it was cute that… Read more »

Divider

Apr 07
{Review+Giveaway} Understudy by Cheyanne Young

{Review+Giveaway} Understudy by Cheyanne Young

  Understudy is a young adult high school play story. It ended up being super cute. I can’t get enough of stories that center around plays, but Understudy had all of the aspects that I love about this sub-genre theme, and yet it still felt kind of different. Wren’s aunt is the theater theater at the school and she wrote the script to the play. Wren tried out for the lead role, and her aunt had the audacity to tell her not fat AT ALL NIECE that she didn’t get the part because she was too fat for it. It should come as no surprise that I didn’t like Wren’s Aunt. And then after a couple of lackluster practices, the aunt over dramatically packs up and leaves her job! I mean talk about immature. She was worse than her students! The play is left without a director, so Wren is kind of forced into that role. This book because just as much the opportunity for Wren to step up to… Read more »

Divider

Mar 17
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Third Degree by Julie Cross

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Third Degree by Julie Cross

Welcome to my stop on the Third Degree blog tour Be sure to check out the rest of the tour THIRD DEGREE by Julie Cross Age Group: A New Adult Contemporary Romance Expected Release is March 25, 2014 Published by Flirt (Imprint of Random House) Source: ecopy from Author Summary: Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy. I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the… Read more »

Divider

Mar 09
{ARC Review} Best Kind of Broken by Chelsea Fine

{ARC Review} Best Kind of Broken by Chelsea Fine

You can check out my interview with Chelsea Fine HERE Best Kind of Broken by Chelsea Fine ebook, 336 pages Published March 4th 2014 by Forever Age Group: New Adult Contemporary Romance Source: eARC from NetGalley Summary: Pixie and Levi haven’t spoken in nearly a year when they find themselves working―and living―at the same inn in the middle of nowhere. Once upon a time, they were childhood friends. But that was before everything went to hell. And now things are… awkward. All they want to do is avoid each other, and their past, for as long as possible. But now that they’re forced to share a bathroom, and therefore a shower, keeping their distance from one another becomes less difficult than keeping their hands off each other. Welcome to the hallway of awkward tension and sexual frustration, folks. Get comfy. It’s going to be a long summer. March has been the month of epic contemporaries for me so far. Best Kind of Broken is emotional and sad and completely beautiful…. Read more »

Divider

Feb 20
{Review} Lingering Echoes by Erica Kiefer

{Review} Lingering Echoes by Erica Kiefer

Lingering Echoes by Erica Kiefer Genre:Young Adult Paperback, 388 pages Published November 16th 2013 by Clean Teen Publishing Series: Lingering Echoes #1 Source: ecopy from Publisher Via NetGalley She’s broken with guilt. He harbors a chilling past. It’s safer if they keep their distance… But, the echoes that linger connect them. Returning to Hidden Pines is the last thing Allie Collins wants to do during her final summer before college. For her, the family cabin she spent her youthful summers in, now holds a dark memory that has haunted her every day for the last year. While struggling to forget her past, Allie runs into Damien, a local rebel with secrets of his own. He’s dark, dangerous and he keeps showing up when Allie least expects him to. She has every reason not to trust him. So why does she find herself opening up to him in a way she hasn’t been able to with anyone? As pieces of Damien’s identity emerge, answers to a rumored mystery begin to unfold…. Read more »

Divider

Jan 21
{Review} Watch me Disappear by Diane Vanaskie Mulligan

{Review} Watch me Disappear by Diane Vanaskie Mulligan

Watch Me Disappear by Diane Vanaskie Mulligan ebook, 186 pages Published August 23rd 2013 Age Group: Young Adult Source: ecopy for review Summary: Lizzie Richards isn’t excited to be starting over at a new school for her senior year, but she’s trying to take her mother’s advice and make the most of it—the only way she can: By disobeying her strict parents’ rules. Lizzie’s father has moved the family around every few years to advance his career, so she has never had a chance to develop the kind of “BFF” relationships she thinks most kids have. She’s bracing herself for another lonely year at her third high school when her neighbor Maura gets sick of watching her little brother when she could be partying. Thanks to Maura’s plotting, Lizzie becomes everyone’s new favorite babysitter. Seeing her opportunity, Lizzie decides to break her mother’s rules by using Maura’s computer to create a secret Email address and Facebook account. She is quickly friended by Missy, a fellow transfer student as eager for… Read more »

Divider

Dec 09
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Sneaking Candy by Lisa Burstein

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Sneaking Candy by Lisa Burstein

Happy Release day to Sneaking Candy and Forged by Fate! Sneaking Candy by Lisa Burstein Publication date: December 9, 2013 Genres: Contemporary, New Adult Source: eARC from Publisher Summary: All I ever wanted was to make a name for myself as Candice Salinas, creative writing grad student at the University of Miami. Of course, secretly I already have made a name for myself: as Candy Sloane, self-published erotic romance writer. Though thrilled that my books are selling and I have actual fans, if anyone at UM found out, I could lose my scholarship…and the respect of my faculty advisor, grade-A-asshole Professor Dylan. Enter James Walker, super-hot local barista and—surprise!—my student. Even though I know a relationship is totally off-limits, I can’t stop myself from sneaking around with James, taking a few cues from my own erotic writing…if you catch my drift. Candy’s showing her stripes for the first time in my real life, and I’ve never had so much fun. But when the sugar high fades, can my secrets stay… Read more »

Divider

Dec 05
{Review} The Road to You by Marilyn Brant

{Review} The Road to You by Marilyn Brant

The Road to You by Marilyn Brant Paperback, 300 pages Published October 3rd 2013 by Twelfth Night Books Age Group: YA/NA  Source: ecopy from Publisher Summary: Sometimes the only road to the truth…is one you’ve never taken. Until I found Gideon’s journal in the tool shed — locked in the cedar box where I’d once hidden my old diary — I’d been led to believe my brother was dead. But the contents of his journal changed all that. The Road to Discovery… Two years ago, Aurora Gray’s world turned upside down when her big brother Gideon and his best friend Jeremy disappeared. Now, during the summer of her 18th birthday, she unexpectedly finds her brother’s journal and sees that it’s been written in again. Recently. By him. The Road to Danger… There are secret messages coded within the journal’s pages. Aurora, who’s unusually perceptive and a natural puzzle solver, is hell bent on following where they lead, no matter what the cost. She confides in the only person she feels… Read more »

Divider

Oct 22
{ARC Review} Definitely, Maybe in Love by Ophelia London

{ARC Review} Definitely, Maybe in Love by Ophelia London

Definitely, Maybe in Love by Ophelia London Expected publication: October 28th 2013 by Entangled Embrace Age Group: New Adult Source: eARC from Publisher Summary: Spring Honeycutt wants two things: to ace her sustainable living thesis and to save the environment. Both seem hopelessly unobtainable until her college professor suggests that with a new angle, her paper could be published. Spring swears she’ll do whatever it takes to ensure that happens. “Whatever it takes,” however, means forming a partnership with the very hot, very privileged, very conceited Henry Knightly. Henry is Spring’s only hope at publication, but he’s also the über-rich son of a land developer and cash-strapped Spring’s polar opposite. Too bad she can’t help being attracted to the way he pushes her buttons, both politically and physically. As they work on her thesis, Spring finds there’s more to Henry than his old money and argyle sweaters…but can she drop the loud-and-proud act long enough to let him in? Suddenly, choosing between what she wants and what she needs puts… Read more »

Divider

Mar 19
{Review+Giveaway} The Boys of Summer by CJ Duggan

{Review+Giveaway} The Boys of Summer by CJ Duggan

Welcome to my stop on The Boys of Summer blog tour hosted by YA Bound.   Click HEREto check out the full blog tour schedule! The Boys of Summer (Summer #1) by C.J. Duggan  Release Date: 12/17/12 294 pages Summary from Goodreads:  It seemed only natural to nickname them the ‘OnslowBoys’. Every time they swaggered in the front doorof the Onslow Hotel after a hard week’s work, their laughter was loud and genuine as they settled onto their bar stools. I peeked through the restaurant partition, a flimsy divider between my world and theirs. I couldn’t help but smile whenever I saw them, saw him … Toby Morrison. Quiet seventeen-year-old Tess doesn’t relish the thought of a summertime job. She wants nothing more than to forget the past haunts of high school and have fun with her best friends before the dreaded Year Twelve begins.To Tess, summer is when everything happens: riding bikes down to the lake, watching the fireworks at the Onslow Show and water bomb fights at the sweltering Sunday markets. How did she let her friends talk her into working? After… Read more »

Divider