{Bookish News} Margaret Peterson Haddix Twitter Takeover

April 19, 2018 Uncategorized 4

Margaret Peterson Haddix Twitter Takeover

Who: Fans of YA and Margaret Peterson Haddix!

What: Twitter Takeover. Bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix will be discussing some of her “firsts” and answering reader questions about her books!
When: April 23rd, 7 – 9pm ET

Where: @YoungEntmag
How: Head over to @YoungEntmag on April 23rd, follow along, and tweet your questions to Margaret!
 

Why: The Summer of Broken Things, Margaret’s triumphant return to YA, hit shelves 4/10/2018!


Alternating between Avery’s and Kayla’s distinct voices, The Summer of Broken Things gives readers a realistic look at a wide range of human experiences: from a loving, working class family to a wealthy, dysfunctional one – yet, all may not be what it appears. Haddix’s raw and honest approach to themes of love, betrayal, reconciliation, and personal growth will resonate with young readers, as well as anyone who has ever been hurt by the people they trust the most. This story is about family in its many forms – and how it may be found in the most unexpected places.  

About the Book: From New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix comes a haunting novel about friendship and what it really means to be a family in the face of lies and betrayal.


Fourteen-year-old Avery Armisted is athletic, rich, and pretty. Sixteen-year-old Kayla Butts is known as “butt-girl” at school. The two girls were friends as little kids, but that’s ancient history now. So it’s a huge surprise when Avery’s father offers to bring Kayla along on a summer trip to Spain. Avery is horrified that her father thinks he can choose her friends—and make her miss soccer camp. Kayla struggles just to imagine leaving the confines of her small town.


But in Spain, the two uncover a secret their families had hidden from both of them their entire lives. Maybe the girls can put aside their differences and work through it together. Or maybe the lies and betrayal will only push them—and their families—farther apart.


Margaret Peterson Haddix weaves together two completely separate lives in this engaging novel that explores what it really means to be a family—and what to do when it’s all falling apart.

About the Author: Margaret Peterson Haddix is the author of many critically and popularly acclaimed YA and middle grade novels, including the Children of Exile series, The Missing series, the Under Their Skin series, and the Shadow Children series. A graduate of Miami University (of Ohio), she worked for several years as a reporter for The Indianapolis News. She also taught at the Danville (Illinois) Area Community College. She lives with her family in Columbus, Ohio. Visit her at HaddixBooks.com.

Hope to see you there!

Michelle @ Book Briefs

4 Responses to “{Bookish News} Margaret Peterson Haddix Twitter Takeover”

  1. Sabina Edwards

    I’ve read her books, she’s a good author although this one might not be my cup of tea

  2. Stormi Johnson

    I am currently reading this book and it’s boring me. 🙁 I knew the kinds of books she has written and I guess I thought it was going to be something different.

Leave a Reply