Source: ARC from Publisher

Divider

Jan 22
{ARC Review} Ink, Iron, and Glass by Gwendolyn Clare @gwendoclare @FierceReads @ImprintReads

{ARC Review} Ink, Iron, and Glass by Gwendolyn Clare @gwendoclare @FierceReads @ImprintReads

Ink, Iron, and Glass is the first book in a new duology by the same name from debut novelist Gwendolyn Clare. Ink, Iron, and Glass is a steampunk fantasy duology about a world where a type of science called scriptology exists. Scriptology is a science magic hybrid where the “scientist” can actually create a new world by scripting or writing it into existence. This concept gripped me right from the start. How awesome and complex it would be. And I was immediately intrigued to see how Gwendolyn Clare would handle such a big idea. And I have to say, she handled it really well. I loved that she didn’t water the idea of writing a world into existence. She embraced how complicated and complex it would be. You have to make it livable world. If you create a world that does not support air, then everyone in that world would die. Same with gravity, warmth, food. Creating a world was not just about writing flowery descriptions of the rolling hills and… Read more »

Divider

Jun 20
{Review} Killer Within by @SEGreenAuthor @simonteen #pulseit

{Review} Killer Within by @SEGreenAuthor @simonteen #pulseit

Note: This is the second book in the Killer Instinct series. If you are new to the series, you can find out more about book 1 and the series HERE Killer Within is the second book in the young adult Killer Instinct series by S.E. Green. I really liked the first book, and the second book is even crazier. There is so much going on in this book and I am going to try my best to describe this book without spoilers, but it picks up right after the events of the first story, which is a huge spoiler in and of itself. So if you are new to the series, you might be better checking out my review of book 1- Killer Instinct here. Killer Instinct totally took me by surprise with that insane ending. I did not see it coming at all. So in Killer Within Lane is struggling with the fallout of that last scene, as well as still trying to find her place not only in… Read more »

Divider

Jul 24
{Review+Giveaway} The Best Laid Plans by Tamara Mataya @FeakySnucker

{Review+Giveaway} The Best Laid Plans by Tamara Mataya @FeakySnucker

The Best Laid Plans is one of those books where you start out liking it, and then you see something about one of the characters and you think “oh, I don’t know about that…” and it makes you nervous about how it will affect your view of the book, but then you keep reading and the book just keeps getting better and better and you are super excited that you finished it. The Best Laid Plans was so good overall. I ended up loving Malcolm and Jayne, and their story was satisfying and their character growth was so impressive. But at more than one point, I saw myself thinking that it was all going to blow up in their faces and I just didn’t know if I could watch it happen. Does that sound weird? Well, you are just going to have to read it to see what I mean. Jayne and Malcolm are so similar in so many ways. Their high school stories shaped so much of the people… Read more »

Divider

Jul 17
{Review+Guest Post+Giveaway} Cold Fury by T.M. Goeglein @TMGoeglein

{Review+Guest Post+Giveaway} Cold Fury by T.M. Goeglein @TMGoeglein

5 Tips for Becoming a Better Writer Ted Goeglein Let’s start with the most basic premise—a person can’t become a writer if she doesn’t write. Think about it, talk about it, fantasize about it, but unless she commits an idea to screen, forget it. Which leads us to tip number one—   1.) Sit your butt down and write something. Anything. Start with your name. This seems fairly elemental but for some people, it can be intimidating. They’re scared of rejection and that other people won’t like what they wrote. Okay, well— 2.) Some people will reject your work because they don’t like it. Tough. That’s part of the game—of any game, if you think about it. Writing in particular is designed for failure because it’s thousands of words of individualistic expression versus a chef creating a single recipe or an artist painting one portrait. Just remember—   3.) The people who don’t like your work are wrong. So keep writing, and whatever you do—   4.) Copy other writers…. Read more »

Divider

May 14
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Biggest Flirts by Jennifer Echols

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Biggest Flirts by Jennifer Echols

Biggest Flirts is my first book by Jennifer Echols. (I know, what the heck have I been waiting for??) It was a lot of fun, and I love the idea behind the series. Each book will focus on different characters from this high school and they will center around which superlative they may be awarded in the year book. Since this book was a cute and fun summer read. Light and breezy with a few “issues” sprinkled throughout, it has the potential to be a fantastic summer series. I can easily see myself gobbling up book after book outside by the pool. This was the story of Will and Tia, and they were voted….wait for it….Biggest Flirts! I bet you didn’t see that one coming, huh? When the book started, I immediately got this flirt vibe from Tia so it was no surprise to me that she would be nominated, but Will didn’t strike me that way at the start. My opinions on the two of them actually flipped as I… Read more »

Divider

May 01
{Review+This or That+Giveaway} How I Got Skinny, Famous, and Fell Madly in Love by Ken Baker

{Review+This or That+Giveaway} How I Got Skinny, Famous, and Fell Madly in Love by Ken Baker

How I got Skinny, Famous, and Fell Madly in Love is part social commentary, part coming of age, and completely hilarious. I loved all of the pop culture references and the main character, Emery is such a wise ass. I loved her. I lost count of how many times she made me laugh out loud. She does not hold back. At all. She is very self deprecating- it’s her coping mechanism. How she deals with her family and the world. Her mom seemed nice enough, but it was easy to see that both of her parents favored Emery’s sister, Angel. She was the “pretty” one. It was kind of sad really. But Emery is strong- I knew she would be fine no matter what. How I Got Skinny, Famous, and Fell Madly in Love centers around a family style reality show and a weight loss competition all rolled into one. If Emery can lose 50lbs in 50 days then her and her family win 1 million dollars. Emery is a… Read more »

Divider

Apr 22
{Review} Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

{Review} Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

Open Road Summer is a really heartwarming tale of two best friends. Dee is a country music rising star. She is a teen music idol, and she is going on a summer tour. But what is awesome about the story is that she is the famous secondary character. The main character of the story is her best friend, Reagan. We still got to see Reagan and Dee be goofballs together, but this was Reagan’s coming of age story. Hers and Matt. Matt was part of a family tween music group and now he is a solo performer. Teen heartthrob- all that. He is just a big ole sweetheart. Reagan is a tough nut to crack. She seriously does not give anyone a pass. You can easily tell how much she loves Dee and how she would do anything for her, but other than Dee everyone kind of got the tough girl act. She would not give Matt an inch when she first met him. I thought it was cute that… Read more »

Divider

Sep 27
{Review} Rock and a Hard Place by @Angie_Stanton

{Review} Rock and a Hard Place by @Angie_Stanton

Rock and a Hard Place by Angie Stanton Paperback, 224 pages Published September 24th 2013 by HarperTeen Age Group: Young Adult Series: The Jamieson Brothers #1 Source: ARC from publisher Summary: Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Susane Colasanti, Angie Stanton’s swoon-worthy romance–about an ordinary girl and a young rock star–will keep readers on the edge of their seats . . . and leave them wanting more. In an instant, Libby’s life went from picture-perfect to a nightmare. After surviving a terrible car accident, Libby is abandoned by her father and left with her controlling aunt. A new town, a new school, no friends–Libby is utterly alone. But then she meets Peter. The lead singer in a rock band with his brothers, Peter hates that his parents overly manage his life. Constantly surrounded by family, Peter just wants to get away. And when he meets Libby, he’s finally found the one person who just wants to be with him, not the rock star. But while Peter battles… Read more »

Divider