{Review+Giveaway} The Thirteenth Gate by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

August 3, 2017 Blog Tours, Giveaways, Reviews, Young Adult 12 ★★★★

{Review+Giveaway} The Thirteenth Gate by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Review+Giveaway} The Thirteenth Gate by Kat Ross @katrossauthorThe Thirteenth Gate by Kat Ross
Pages: 350
Published by Acorn on June 26, 2017
Series: Dominion Mysteries #1
Genres: Young Adult, mystery, Mystery & Detective, Fantasy & Magic
Source: eARC from Publisher
four-stars

Winter 1888. At a private asylum in the English countryside, a man suspected of being Jack the Ripper kills an orderly and flees into the rain-soaked night. His distraught keepers summon the Lady Vivienne Cumberland—who's interviewed their patient and isn't sure he's a man at all. An enigmatic woman who guards her own secrets closely, Lady Vivienne knows a creature from the underworld when she sees one. And he’s the most dangerous she's ever encountered.

As Jack rampages through London, this time targeting rare book collectors, Lady Vivienne begins to suspect what he's looking for. And if he finds it, the doors to purgatory will be thrown wide open…

Across the Atlantic, an archaeologist is brutally murdered after a Christmas Eve gala at the American Museum of Natural History. Certain peculiar aspects of the crime attract the interest of the Society for Psychical Research and its newest investigator, Harrison Fearing Pell. Is Dr. Julius Sabelline's death related to his recent dig in Alexandria? Or is the motive something darker?

As Harry uncovers troubling connections to a serial murder case she’d believed was definitively solved, two mysteries converge amid the grit and glamor of Gilded Age New York. Harry and Lady Vivienne must join forces to stop an ancient evil. The key is something called the Thirteenth Gate. But where is it? And more importantly, who will find it first?

Note: This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Reading Challenges: 2017 New Release Challenge
graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider
YA Review My Thoughts

The Thirteenth Gate is the first book in the Dominion Mystery series by Kat Ross. I have previously read The Daemoniac by her, which I thought was going to be the first book in the series, but really ended up being more of a prequel. I have also real the first book in her Fourth Element series, and I while I enjoyed that one was well, the Dominion series is really shaping up to be my favorite! But, what is cool about The Thirteenth Gate  is that there is character overlap between the two series. It was very creative and well done on her part. I enjoyed getting to see Alex and Vivienne, though I have not read all the books in the Fourth Element series. The Thirteenth Gate did not disappoint. I loved this atmospheric read. It was exactly what I wanted, and I can’t wait for more.

The Dominion series is a young adult detective mystery story with a flair of the paranormal. It felt like the anime Ghost Hunt (which I am super upset is no longer on Netflix! Why does Netflix keep taking all the good shows off? But I digress, that is a rant for another day.) mixed with the Jackaby series by William Ritter, and a touch of Penny Dreadful. I loved the atmospheric setting paired with all of the paranormal elements. I can’t wait to read more in the Dominion Mystery series. I think it might be my favorite series yet by Kat Ross. It takes place in the late 1800s and 19 year old Harry is Author Conan Doyle’s neice, and she paired with her friend John, are a detective duo I loved reading about. I am really on a sherlock type story kick and The Daemoniac really hit the spot.

I never know what is too little or too much to divulge in reviews of mystery books, so I will leave the plot out of it and stick to some general highlights of the story. I loved how the story unfolded. I thought Kat Ross did an excellent job laying clues out, but at the same time making this one feel like a dark adventure. But my favorite of all is the setting. It was very well done. I was instantly transported to that time. I loved watching the interaction between all of the characters. I am really hoping and pulling for more of a romance in the next book. It was just hinted at in The Thirteenth gate and I am itching to see more of it.

Bottom line: The Thirteenth Gate is a great read. Perfect for fans of the Jackaby series and of the Netflix tv show Penny Dreadful. I really enjoyed the ride this mystery took me on. Read it in the fall for a great atmospheric mystery. I think this might be my very favorite Kat Ross book yet!

blue4 The Thirteenth Gate by @katrossauthor is great for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Jackaby. @BookBriefs #Review #YA… Click To Tweet
Giveaway

To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win

  • A signed paperback copy of Book #1, The Daemoniac

Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Kat Ross

Kat Ross worked as a journalist at the United Nations for ten years before happily falling back into what she likes best: making stuff up. She lives in Westchester with her kid and a few sleepy cats. Kat is also the author of the dystopian thriller Some Fine Day (Skyscape, 2014), about a world where the sea levels have risen sixty meters. She loves magic, monsters and doomsday scenarios. Preferably with mutants.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

12 Responses to “{Review+Giveaway} The Thirteenth Gate by Kat Ross @katrossauthor”

  1. Giselle

    Great review, Michelle! The mystery aspect sounds very well done, and the setting sounds well crafted overall! Glad you liked it!

  2. Kayla

    I love this cover. Your review has me interested in the book as well. Adding it to my amazon wishlist!

  3. Tara

    Definitely adding this one to my TBR after your review! I love Penny Dreadful and this one sounds so interesting.

  4. Linda Townsend

    This sounds like a read that would be right up my alley! I absolutely love the cover too!

  5. Yunnuen Glez.

    I’ve wanted to read this book since I saw the cover. Also the story sounds great. Thanks for the chance.

  6. Kat Ross

    Thanks so much, Michelle, I’m so happy you liked it! I was a little nervous since this one brings in elements and characters from my other series, but the consensus seems to be that I pulled it off somehow 🙂

  7. Dianna

    It annoys me when Netflix takes shows off!
    I haven’t heard of this series or the author before. Thanks for sharing, I think it’s a story I’d like.

Leave a Reply