Source: eARC from Publisher

Divider

Jun 13
{Interview+Giveaway} CINDERELLA’S INFERNO by F.M. Boughan @FaithBoughan @Month9Books

{Interview+Giveaway} CINDERELLA’S INFERNO by F.M. Boughan @FaithBoughan @Month9Books

Today I have author F.M. Boughan here to chat about her newest book, Cinderella’s Inferno. Welcome Faith! Describe Cinderella’s Inferno in a tweet (140 characters or less) Ellison vows to save her mother’s soul from damnation in this loose retelling of Dante’s Inferno, a sequel to CINDERELLA, NECROMANCER. What is something we would be surprised to learn about Ellison? Besides what you’ll learn in the book? Hmm… oh! It occurs to me that I haven’t mentioned this anywhere: Contrary to the tradition of the animated-version of the character (you know what I’m talking about!), Ellison is not a great singer. She’s not even very good. In fact, she sounds kind of like a dying waterfowl. It’s not her fault, it’s genetic—her father is a terrible singer, too. What was different about writing this sequel, from writing Cinderella, Necromancer Like with writing any sequel, the writer enters the story with the world already formed (to a degree). So instead of shaping the world for my characters as I created the story, I… Read more »

Divider

Jun 04
{Review+Giveaway} Just One of the Royals by Leah and Kate Rooper

{Review+Giveaway} Just One of the Royals by Leah and Kate Rooper

Just one of the Royals is the second book in the Chicago Falcons series by Leah and Kate Rooper. I loved the first book in the series, Just one of the Boys, so much that I actually re-read it before picking up this book. So I had a pretty good feeling I was going to enjoy Just one of the Royals. Leah and Kate Rooper make a great writing duo. I can’t wait to see what the next book is going to bring for us. The Chicago Falcons series is a young adult sports romance series, where each book follows a different hockey player and tells his story. In just one of the Royals we follow Daniel and Madison. Daniel and Madison are best friends, but one of them is hiding a pretty big secret- that he is actually a prince! I know the set up is a bit different, but this book gave me all kinds of great Princess Diaries vibes. I loved it. I also really liked the… Read more »

Divider

Mar 30
{Review+Giveaway} Ignited by A.M. Deese @authoramdeese

{Review+Giveaway} Ignited by A.M. Deese @authoramdeese

Ignited is the first book in a new young adult fantasy, called the Dance of the Elements series by author A.M. Deese. I am so sick of books that start out slow and eventually build up to something interesting. It seems like that has been all I have been reading lately. But I am really happy to report that Ignited is not a book that starts out slow. It plops us right into the middle of interesting action. We start with out main character, Jura having to plow head first into a governing council meeting in her father’s place. She is the daughter of the first, the highest family in the council of the Thirteen, and she has to make lots of tough decisions as she tries to unravel the mystery of what is going on with her father. While keeping the whole thing a secret. In a country that thrives on secrets. I immediately fell in love with these characters, this world and this story. Ignited is one of… Read more »

Divider

Feb 12
{Review} Love Between Enemies by @MollyELee @EntangledTeen

{Review} Love Between Enemies by @MollyELee @EntangledTeen

Love Between Enemies is the second book in the Grad Night series by Molly E. Lee. The Grad night series is a set of interconnected standalones that follow a group of friends on the night of their high school graduation. I really love the idea behind this series because all three of the books basically happen over the same weekend, so we get to see lots of character overlap and scene overlap from different perspectives in the different books. But each of the books does read as a standalone, so you don’t have to read the series in order. Each one will follow a different couple. The Grad Night series falls squarely in the young adult age group, and I think it is great for readers of all young adult and adult ages. I loved Love Between Enemies. It was super cute and a ton of fun. Love Between Enemies follows our two main characters, Zoey and Gordon. Zoey and Gordon are number one and two in their senior class… Read more »

Divider

Feb 09
{Review+Giveaway} The Dating Debate by Chris Cannon @entangledteen @ccannonauthor

{Review+Giveaway} The Dating Debate by Chris Cannon @entangledteen @ccannonauthor

The Dating Debate is the first book in the Dating Dilemmas series by Chris Cannon. The Dating Debate is a young adult contemporary romance. I have read Chris Cannon’s other young adult series, the Going Down in Flames series, which is a young adult paranormal romance. I really love that series, so I was excited to read something completely different from this author. The Dating Debate was a super quick read that was light, fluffy and a lot of fun. The Dating Debate is perfect for when you are looking for a quick fun book that you can easily finish in one afternoon. The Dating Debate follows our spunky main character, Nina. Nina is an unapologetic bookworm, which I totally loved about her. She cracked me up when she found out that her next door neighbor, West was “fluent in Harry Potter”, which was so obviously a major plus in all bookworms books. Nina cracks me up. She is spunky and adorable and she really loved debating, over everything. Which,… Read more »

Divider

Feb 05
{Review+Giveaway} S.T.A.G.S. by @MABennettAuthor @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

{Review+Giveaway} S.T.A.G.S. by @MABennettAuthor @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

S.T.A.G.S. is a young adult mystery thriller by author M.A. Bennett. In case you didn’t know, S.T.A.G.S. stands for St. Aidan the Great School, is a book that is touted to be awesome for fans of The Secret History and Pretty Little Liars. I am a big fan of both of those books, so that coupled with the boarding school setting, I was pretty pumped for S.T.A.G.S. And S.T.A.G.S. delivered on what it promised, a twisty thriller. And though S.T.A.G.S. is set at a boarding school, a bulk of the novel took place at a country manor where this “hunting” weekend is set to take place. I loved the premise of S.T.A.G.S. I think that was my favorite aspect of the story.  And the writing and storyline were both excellent. They kept my attention the entire time and I loved the eerie feeling of the story. But the characters didn’t always live up to the plot in my opinion. I liked Greer well enough, but I didn’t completely love her. And I not entirely sure why…. Read more »

Divider

Jan 04
{Review+Giveaway} Mad Magic by Nicole Conway @ANConway @Month9Books

{Review+Giveaway} Mad Magic by Nicole Conway @ANConway @Month9Books

Mad Magic is the first book in the Mad Magic saga by author Nicole Conway. Nicole Conway is a new to me author, but after devouring Mad Magic in one night, I can’t wait for more from her. Mad Magic and I got off to a bit of a slow start, but once I fell into the world we became kind of obsessed with each other. I really loved this book, and I am so beyond excited that there will be more in this saga. Mad Magic is the story of Josie. Josie’s parents passed away earlier in her life and she was kind of taken in by a mysterious benefactor. I say kind of because she doesn’t seem to actually see very much of Ben, but he does pay her bills. She lives on her own. But Josie is plagued by invisible demons. I have to be honest. I was a little bored by the start of the story. It felt kind of formulaic; like a story I had… Read more »

Divider

Dec 06
{Review} The Fist Kiss Hypothesis by Christina Mandelski @fiction_chris @EntangledTeen

{Review} The Fist Kiss Hypothesis by Christina Mandelski @fiction_chris @EntangledTeen

The Fist Kiss Hypothesis by Christina Mandelski is a young adult standalone romance. I have started and stopped several young adult contemporary romances lately. I just haven’t been able to click with the characters or the plot…or something (I think because I have been on such a fantasy kick) but all of that changed the moment I picked up The Fist Kiss Hypothesis. I LOVED this novel. Like, really loved it. I loved the characters, I loved the romance, I loved the plot. All of it just worked for me. I could not stop smiling while reading The Fist Kiss Hypothesis, which is always a good sign. The Fist Kiss Hypothesis is the story of next door neighbors, and best friends, Nora and Eli. They have both had a crush on each other for a while, but Nora has totally written Eli off because he failed her The Fist Kiss Hypothesis. You see, Nora is a scientist and because her grandma said she knew right from the moment she met her grandpa… Read more »

Divider

Nov 08
{Review+Giveaway} Offsetting Penalties by Ally Mathews @EntangledTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Offsetting Penalties by Ally Mathews @EntangledTeen

Offsetting Penalties is a young adult sports romance by author Ally Mathews. Offsetting Penalties was a very quick, cute read. I enjoyed it a lot, but I do wish it was a little longer. It felt a bit rushed in terms of plot development because of the short length, but the storyline was adorable and the romance was smile worthy. Overall, it was a cute read. Offsetting Penalties is told in dual narrative between our two main characters, Izzy and Garret. Garret is the star football player that suffered an injury sometime before the book started. He had to have surgery and his coach is a little concerned with his range of movement in his foot, so he signs him up for ballet lessons to improve his flexibility. Izzy is a self imposed school outcast, which she has her own reasons for (and we learn more about them as the book goes on, which I loved) and ballet dancer. Izzy was a surprisingly big personality for me; one that I… Read more »

Divider

Nov 07
{Release Day Review++Excerpt+Giveaway} Trapped by Rhonda Pollero

{Release Day Review++Excerpt+Giveaway} Trapped by Rhonda Pollero

Trapped is a romantic suspense novel by Rhonda Pollero. It is the third book in the Finding Justice Series. The Finding Justice series follows a set of brothers, but each of the books can be read as standalones. This was the first book in the series I have read, and I didn’t have any problems following the story and the characters. Trapped really did read like a true standalone. I enjoyed both the romance and the suspense aspect of the story, though maybe I did enjoy the romance aspect a tad bit more. Trapped follows Declan and Chasyn. I was initially attracted to this book because of the legal aspect of the story. I am a sucker for anything having to do with law. And I did enjoy the trial part of the story, but Chasyn’s character fell a little short for me. She is a paralegal, which I thought was a great tie in. But sometimes I just couldn’t figure out why she was doing some of the things she was… Read more »

Divider