Author: Kat Ross

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

Nocturne is the first book in the fourth talisman series by Kat Ross. I really love Kat Ross’ books. There should be a big ole disclaimer on this review though. Although Nocturne is the first book in a series, it is really a follow up series to Kat Ross’ Fourth Element trilogy. Though you might be able to read this series without having read The Fourth Element trilogy, I am not sure that I would recommend it. There are some spoilers for events that happen in the previous series. I think these books are best read in order. Plus, The fourth Element series is a really awesome fantasy series that is perfect for fans of The City of Brass. And even better, the whole trilogy happens to be on sale right now for only 99 cents!  Nocturne follows Nazafareen after the events of Queen of Chaos leaves off. I can’t really get into much about those events without spoiling the previous trilogy, so let’s keep it vague. Nazafareen is now in the foreign… Read more »

Divider

Dec 04
{Re-Read Review+Kindle Fire Giveaway} The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Re-Read Review+Kindle Fire Giveaway} The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

To celebrate the release of the Fourth Element trilogy boxed set, Kat Ross has stopped by Book Briefs with an awesome giveaway and sale! Right now, you can get the entire trilogy for only 99 cents! I am celebrating with a re-read of the first book, so I can jump in and read books two and three shortly thereafter. Re-Read note: I liked this book even more the second time. I am glad that I took the time to read the first book again, because it helped get me familiar with the characters and the world. Even though, I knew what the surprises and plot twists would be, I still really enjoyed the story. Even more than the first time, which is a sign of excellent things to come in the series. Nazafareen feels like an old friend by now, and I can’t wait to jump into the second book. Here are my original thoughts on The Midnight Sea.  The Midnight Sea is the first in the young adult fantasy… Read more »

Divider

Aug 03
{Review+Giveaway} The Thirteenth Gate by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Review+Giveaway} The Thirteenth Gate by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

The Thirteenth Gate is the first book in the Dominion Mystery series by Kat Ross. I have previously read The Daemoniac by her, which I thought was going to be the first book in the series, but really ended up being more of a prequel. I have also real the first book in her Fourth Element series, and I while I enjoyed that one was well, the Dominion series is really shaping up to be my favorite! But, what is cool about The Thirteenth Gate  is that there is character overlap between the two series. It was very creative and well done on her part. I enjoyed getting to see Alex and Vivienne, though I have not read all the books in the Fourth Element series. The Thirteenth Gate did not disappoint. I loved this atmospheric read. It was exactly what I wanted, and I can’t wait for more. The Dominion series is a young adult detective mystery story with a flair of the paranormal. It felt like the anime Ghost Hunt (which I am… Read more »

Divider

Oct 11
{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Daemoniac by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Daemoniac by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

The Daemoniac is the first book in the Dominion Mystery series by Kat Ross. Earlier this year I read The Midnight Sea by Kat and I really enjoyed it. It was more of a high fantasy action adventure. This book felt completely different and I really liked this one too. Kat Ross is a very talented author. I am very happy that both of the books I have read by her have been so diverse and so excellent in their own regard. The Daemoniac is a young adult detective mystery story with a flair of the paranormal. It felt like the anime Ghost Hunt (which I am super upset is no longer on Netflix! Why does Netflix keep taking all the good shows off? But I digress, that is a rant for another day.) mixed with the Jackaby series by William Ritter, and a touch of Penny Dreadful. I loved the atmospheric setting paired with all of the paranormal elements. I can’t wait to read more in the Dominion Mystery series…. Read more »

Divider

May 17
{Review+Giveaway} The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Review+Giveaway} The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

The Midnight Sea is the first in the young adult fantasy series, called The Fourth Element, by Kat Ross. The Midnight Sea is what I would describe as high fantasy, and I loved it. It kind of reminded me of the Storm Siren trilogy by Mary Weber. Kat Ross creates a rich fantasy world, full of new and scary creatures, lots of magical powers, and an intricately woven plot that is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat until the very last page. (and then maybe even longer because there is a cliff hanger on this one.) The Midnight Sea is the story of Nazafareen, and her “good” daeva, or demon, Darius. In this world they use the good demons, or demons who have been trained in the way of the light to defeat the bad demons- the Druj. Humans with powers, or the capability of having powers (I was a little unclear as to this part) are linked with a daeva, which creates a bond between… Read more »

Divider