{ARC Review+Giveaway} Cage of Deceit by Jennifer Anne Davis @AuthorJennifer

August 24, 2015 Blog Tours, Giveaways, Reviews, Young Adult 7 ★★★★★

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Cage of Deceit by Jennifer Anne Davis @AuthorJennifer

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Cage of Deceit by Jennifer Anne Davis @AuthorJenniferCage of Deceit by Jennifer Anne Davis
Pages: 296
Published by Clean Teen Publishing on August 25, 2015
Series: Reign of Secrets #1
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy & Magic
Source: eARC from Publisher
five-stars

Jennifer Anne Davis's best-selling True Reign series captivated readers from the very first page. Now, get ready to become entangled in the follow-up series, Reign of Secrets. In this new series, follow Allyssa, the daughter of the beloved Emperor Darmik and Empress Rema— and find out what happens after happily ever after.
Seventeen-year-old Allyssa appears to be the ideal princess of Emperion—she’s beautiful, elegant, and refined. She spends her days locked in a suffocating cage, otherwise known as royal court. But at night, Allyssa uses her secret persona—that of a vigilante—to hunt down criminals and help her people firsthand.

Unfortunately, her nightly escapades will have to wait because the citizens of Emperion may need saving from something much bigger than common criminals. War is encroaching on their country and in order to protect her people, Allyssa may have to sacrifice her heart. Forced to entertain an alliance through marriage with a handsome prince from a neighboring kingdom, she finds herself feeling even more stifled than before. To make matters worse, the prince has stuck his nosy squire, Jarvik, to watch her every move.

Jarvik is infuriating, bossy and unfortunately, the only person she can turn to when she unveils a heinous plot. Together, the unlikely pair will have to work together to stop an enemy that everyone thought was long gone, one with the power to destroy her family and the people of Emperion. Now the cage Allyssa so longed to break free from might just be the one thing she has to fight to keep intact.

In order to save her kingdom, she will have to sacrifice her freedom, her heart, and maybe even her life.

Reading Challenges: ARC August 2015, Booking Through Summer, COYER Scavenger Hunt
graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider
YA Review My Thoughts

Cage of Deceit by Jennifer Anne Davis is the first in a young adult series called the Reign of Secrets series. It is a young adult fantasy series that totally rocked my world! It is one of my favorite books of 2015. It might even take the top spot on my best of the best 2015 list. It was seriously that good. This is my first book I’ve read by Jennifer and I have to say, I will be reading many more. Not to mention I even dreamt about Cage of Deceit last night. I have been itching to read the second book.

I loved the disclaimer that she put on page one, about the kind of book this is and the kind of book it is not. It is not a book that wraps up nice and neatly by itself. It is most definitely part of a series and there will be loose ends. You are warned. Allyssa is princess of Emperion, the biggest empire in the world. I really liked so much about Allyssa and her family and their reign. This was not a dysfunctional family story of a poor little mistreated princess. Allyssa has great parents and a great relationship with them and she loves her country. But war is on the horizon and Cage of Deceit sets the stage for this worldwide turmoil. I do wish I had paid a little more attention to the very lovely map provided at the start of the story because the geography of the countries and their borders is important. I would recommend taking a picture of the map so you can refer to it while reading.

Allyssa is kind and super stubborn. She wants to feel free and be able to do what she wants, but on the other hand she is always super sensitive to the fact that she has duties that are larger than herself. I thought she was a wonderfully complex and multi faceted character. Much like Jarvit, Odar, Maverk, and all of the characters in this rich and detailed fantasy. I would re-read this book over and over again. I kind of want to pick it up and do just that right now.

And the romance! Ah, I want to keep this book couple with me for all time! I love them so much! And it was all about the build up and the journey with them. This is the very definition of slow burn romance. There is only a single kiss in Cage of Deceit but I thought it was one of the most romantic books I have read in a long time. And that was pretty magical and impressive on Jennifer Anne Davis’ part. She gets major props in my book for that.

There is no magic in Cage of Deceit. But there is lots of good ole fashion fantasy elements, including kick ass world building, lots of castley- empires, lots of sword fighting and dagger throwing and characters are are engaging and fascinating. I cannot recommend this book enough. It is perfect for fans of Mary E. Pearson, Maria V. Snyder (yes, even though there is no magic) and Rae Carson. Everyone needs to read Cage of Deceit! Everyone.

blue5

Find out why Cage of Deceit by @AuthorJennifer is one of @BookBriefs #TopPicksof2015 #YA #Fantasy Click To Tweet


Giveaway

To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win an ecopy of Cage of Deceit

Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Jennifer Anne Davis

Jennifer graduated from the University of San Diego with a degree in English and a teaching credential. Afterwards, she finally married her high school sweetheart. She is currently a full-time writer and mother of three highly energetic children. Her days are spent living in imaginary worlds and fueling her own kids’ creativity.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

7 Responses to “{ARC Review+Giveaway} Cage of Deceit by Jennifer Anne Davis @AuthorJennifer”

  1. jazmen

    I heard really great things about this book on another blog. I am totally checking it out. Rich detailed characters, and swoon-y romance–count me in!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge