{Review+Giveaway} Cage of Darkness by Jennifer Anne Davis @AuthorJennifer

April 10, 2017 Blog Tours, Giveaways, Reviews, Young Adult 5 ★★★★★

{Review+Giveaway} Cage of Darkness by Jennifer Anne Davis @AuthorJennifer

{Review+Giveaway} Cage of Darkness by Jennifer Anne Davis @AuthorJenniferCage of Darkness by Jennifer Anne Davis
Pages: 219
Published by Clean Teen Publishing on April 4, 2017
Series: Reign of Secrets #2
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy & Magic
Source: eARC from Publisher
five-stars

While traveling to Fren, Allyssa and Odar are hijacked by a ruthless assassin who divulges a stunning secret that changes everything.

Trying to come to terms with this newfound revelation, Allyssa is taken to Russek and delivered into the hands of a malicious and twisted royal family. She finds herself an unwilling pawn in a risky political game that will either end with her death or the annihilation of her beloved kingdom. Unsure of where the lies end and the truth begins, she must survive the brutal family and escape the fortified castle, all the while coming to grips with her feelings for Odar.

In a kingdom filled with darkness, Allyssa enters a game where one wrong move means death, secrets hide around each corner, and it will take every ounce of cunning she has to survive.

Also in this series: Cage of Deceit
Reading Challenges: 2017 New Release Challenge, Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge 2017
graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider
YA Review My Thoughts

*Please note: This is a series that must be read in order. If you are new to this fantastic series, check out the first book, Cage of Deceit!*

Cage of Darkness by Jennifer Anne Davis is the second in a young adult series called the Reign of Secrets series. It is a young adult fantasy series that totally rocked my world! The first book, Cage of Deceit was my favorite books of 2015. And it continues to be one of my favorite fantasy series I have ever read. It is seriously that good.  As soon as I finished the first book, I was dying and I do mean dying to get my hands on the second book. So as soon as I got an advanced copy of Cage of Darkness, I immediately went on a binge read fest. I re-read book 1, and I loved it just as much as the first time reading it. And then I dove directly into book two.

I loved the disclaimer that she put on page one, about the kind of book this is and the kind of book it is not. It is not a book that wraps up nice and neatly by itself. It is most definitely part of a series and there will be loose ends. You are warned. I loved Cage of Darkness every bit as much as I loved Cage of Deceit, however this is also a book that does not neatly wrap up. Cage of Darkness picks up exactly where book one left off, with Alyssa, Jarvik and Odar in the hands of the Assassin. But trust me when I say that is only the beginning for this story. Cage of Darkness has so many twists and turns- it blew my mind. I love the world that Jennifer Anne Davis has created. It is seriously so politically interesting and richly detailed. I am more than a little obsessed. (Can you tell?)

And I have to say, Cage of Darkness went in a completely different direction than I was expecting. At the end of book one, I had some very strong opinions regarding the love interest, and I was so not expecting that to change at all. But Jennifer Anne Davis is a masterful storyteller and with the plot developing, and new characters and twists added into the mix, I would be lying if I said my opinions did not change. They did. A character that I was totally infatuated with started acting like a bit of a jerk and a new character totally caught my eye. I am just as desperate for the next book because now I have no idea what to do with myself on the love and alliance front. Jennifer Anne Davis you are killing me. And I love it so much!

Allyssa is still a wonderfully complex and multi faceted character. I love her. And Prince Odar is a very complicated character as well. As is all of the characters in the Kingdom of Russek. And I don’t want to say much more than that, but if anyone has read the book, I would absolutely love to discuss a certain extremely fascinating character with you. Prince Kerdan has completely captivated me, but maybe not for the reasons you are thinking. He is just so so interesting and different. Jennifer Anne Davis has flipped my world upside down with Cage of Darkness.

There are so many good ole fashion fantasy elements in this series, including kick ass world building, lots of castley- empires, lots of sword fighting and dagger throwing and characters are are engaging and fascinating.  To hold me over until the next book, I am going to read the prequel series, featuring Alyssa’s parents, the True Reign series. I could see where the series would overlap in this book and I am really excited to read about her parents’ story. I cannot recommend this book and this series enough. It is perfect for fans of Mary E. Pearson, Maria V. Snyder (yes, even though there is no magic) Sarah J. Maas,  and Rae Carson. Everyone needs to read Cage of Deceit! Everyone. It is one of my favorite fantasy series EVER. And I do not say that lightly. Cage of Darkness is pure magic.

blue5

Find out why Cage of Darkness by @AuthorJennifer is one of @BookBriefs #TopPicksof2017 #YA #Fantasy Click To Tweet


Giveaway

To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win

Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Jennifer Anne Davis

Jennifer graduated from the University of San Diego with a degree in English and a teaching credential. Afterwards, she finally married her high school sweetheart. She is currently a full-time writer and mother of three highly energetic children. Her days are spent living in imaginary worlds and fueling her own kids’ creativity.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

5 Responses to “{Review+Giveaway} Cage of Darkness by Jennifer Anne Davis @AuthorJennifer”

  1. Jennifer Anne Davis

    Thank you for taking the time to read and review. I’m honored this is one of your favorite series.

  2. Victoria

    Awesome review and great giveaway! I’ll definitely be checking this out 🙂

  3. Lily M.

    I really enjoyed reading the first book, I can’t wait to check this one out :):) thank you so much for this opportunity 🙂

Leave a Reply