{Review+Giveaway} Finding Paris by @JoyPreble @BalzerandBray

May 4, 2015 Blog Tours, Giveaways, Reviews, Young Adult 17 ★★★½

{Review+Giveaway} Finding Paris by @JoyPreble @BalzerandBray

{Review+Giveaway} Finding Paris by @JoyPreble @BalzerandBrayFinding Paris by Joy Preble
Pages: 272
Published by Balzer & Bray, Harper Collins on April 21, 2015
Genres: contemporary, Love & Romance, mystery, Siblings, Social Issues, Young Adult
Source: eARC from Publisher
three-half-stars

An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other—perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble's stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other's lives.

Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can't trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who's moved them all to Las Vegas. It's just the two of them: Paris, who's always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn't going anywhere right now, except driving around Vegas all night with her sister.

Until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared? When Leo reluctantly accepts Max's offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold inside.

Reading Challenges: May Clean Sweep ARC 2015
graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider
YA Review My Thoughts

Finding Paris is a young adult contemporary/mystery. The set up is instantly intriguing. It is a story about two sisters in Las Vegas. Paris, the older sister demands a post break-up pie trip in the middle of the night and ends of disappearing in the middle of it. She leaves her sister a clue and tells her to come find her and that she needs help. What starts out as a kind of unconventional scavenger hunt, becomes more and more mysterious as the book progresses. I really liked Finding Paris. It is part scavenger hunt, part mystery, part romance, and more secrets than you can count. Hold on to your seat and get ready to go on a twisty, turn-y adventure with this one.

I don’t know whether to be impressed with Paris or disturbed. Maybe a little bit of both, but I will say one thing for her. No matter what it seems like at any given time, she really loves her sister Leo. And the sibling relationship aspect of Finding Paris is kind of beautiful, even amidst all of the chaos that is happening. I loved hearing about their memories and the things that they did together.

On that pie run, Leo meets Max, and he kind of gets wrapped up in the whole adventure. I liked Max. I am a little unsure what kind of person would go on a middle of the night scavenger hunt with someone he just met, but I was happy that he was a part of the book. I loved reading and learning everyone’s secrets. And his was a doozy. Actually, everyone’s were.

I think Finding Paris will take a lot of people by surprise. I don’t think there is anyway for someone to predict just all the twists and turns and plot reveals that Joy Preble has waiting around corners for readers. This book was very masterfully done. A few of the reveals were very shocking, and while It wasn’t the ending I was hoping for or even guessing as a possibility, it was a very cool real. I liked that each page was a surprise for me. I just let go and enjoyed the ride.

blue3.5'Leo You have to find me. xParis' @BookBriefs #Reviews Finding Paris by @JoyPreble @BalzerandBray #YA Click To Tweet


Giveaway

To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below

Giveaway Banner (1)

Giveaway is open to International. | Must be 13+ to Enter
 
1. A signed set of DREAMING ANASTASIA trilogy. (domestic US only)
2. A $10 Starbucks gift card.
3. An exclusive FINDING PARIS necklace.
4. A signed set of THE SWEET DEAD LIFE series. (domestic US only)
4. Signed bookmarks and postcards.

Note: This giveaway is NOT sponsored by Book Briefs. All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Joy Preble

Joy Preble is a Texas girl who was born and raised in Chicago and a former high school teacher who now writes full time, which means she gets paid for making up stuff. She earned an English degree from Northwestern University and speaks and teaches widely on writing and literacy at libraries and schools, as well as SCBWI, NCTE, AWP, and other conferences.

Joy is the author of THE SWEET DEAD LIFE and its sequel, THE A WORD (May 2014), both from Soho Press. Kirkus hailed THE SWEET DEAD LIFE with “Hallelujah! A paranormal tale of angels…that breaks the mold.”

She is also the author of the DREAMING ANASTASIA series (Sourcebooks) that combines paranormal romance with Russian folklore. DREAMING ANASTASIA was nominated for a Cybil Award in the Teen Sci-Fi/Fantasy Category in 2009. It was named an ABC Best Book for Children, Teen Category in 2009, and was featured in Justine Magazine.

Joy also has a contemporary mystery/romance on the way: FINDING PARIS will be out April 21, 2015 from Balzer and Bray/Harper Collins. Another paranormal mystery/romance, IT WASN’T ALWAYS LIKE THIS, pitched as Tuck Everlasting meets Veronica Mars, arrives from Soho Press in Spring 2016.

In no particular order, Joy loves guacamole, pizza, banana bread, red wine, books, boots of all shapes and sizes, TV, movies, and crazy road trips so she can see the world. She is also fond her family and her dog, in case you were wondering.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • May Clean Sweep ARC 2015

17 Responses to “{Review+Giveaway} Finding Paris by @JoyPreble @BalzerandBray”

  1. Kaitlyn

    I’m so glad you liked this one! I have been looking forward to it for quite some time!

  2. Yani

    I can sense a Since You’ve Been Gone on Finding Paris. Only that their difference is on they’re not siblings. I have read mixed reviews of FP. Sometimes I want to have a copy, sometimes I don’t. Nice review btw!
    Yani recently posted…Review: Red Queen by Victoria AveyardMy Profile

    • Michelle @ Book Briefs

      I haven’t read since youve been gone yet, but from the title they do sound like they could be similar. It has been getting mixed reviews. but I enjoyed it, Thanks for stopping by Yani 🙂

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge