{Review+Giveaway} Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by Jacqueline Firkins

December 14, 2019 Blog Tours, Giveaways, Reviews, Young Adult 4 ★★★★

{Review+Giveaway} Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by Jacqueline Firkins

{Review+Giveaway} Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by Jacqueline FirkinsHearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by Jacqueline Firkins
Pages: 384
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on December 17, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, retelling, contemporary, Romance
Source: eARC from Publisher
four-stars

In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I've Loved Before.

Mansfield, Massachusetts is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburbanites and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. Edie has her own plans, and they don’t include a prince charming.

But as Edie dives into schoolwork and applying for college scholarships, she finds herself drawn to two Mansfield boys who start vying for her attention. First there's Sebastian, Edie’s childhood friend and first love. He’s sweet and smart and . . . already has a girlfriend. Then there's Henry, the local bad boy and all-around player. He’s totally off limits, even if his kisses are chemically addictive.

Both boys are trouble. Edie can’t help but get caught between them. Someone's heart is going to break. Now she just has to make sure it isn't hers.

graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider
YA Review My Thoughts

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things is a young adult contemporary romance by Jacqueline Firkins. This book was so stinking cute. I absolutely loved it! it is a retelling of Mansfield Park by Jane Austen. I have read almost all of Austen’s books, but Mansfield Park is one that has escaped my attention. Regardless of the fact that I have yet to read it, I was very much able to enjoy Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things, and in fact it made me want to pick up Mansfield Park to see if I enjoyed it as much as this retelling.

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things is perfect when you are looking for a fun, cheesy and sometimes angst-y young adult romantic comedy. (hint- I am almost always looking for something like this. It is a classic combo for me) In Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things, we meet our main character Edie, who goes to live with her aunt following the death of her mother. Edie is an interesting character. Though I almost immediately felt for her because of her situation, she didn’t immediately win me over. However; as the story progressed I grew to understand her better and like her more. Edie is focused when she gets to her aunt’s and will not allow the distraction of boys. Of course, this is where we enter all the adorable boys of Mansfield, planted just to try and make Edie lose sight of her scholarship aspirations. But also to provide a bit of much needed fun.

There is a bit of a love triangle in this book, so be aware of that going in, but I loved that there was a lot of emotional depth explored in Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things. Henry and Sebastian (our main love interests) are both great, and though I had a clear winner on who I was rooting for, I can easily see a case for both guys. I think readers may be split on who they ship with Edie. Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things was funny, sweet, and vastly entertaining. I really enjoyed this book. I think it would be perfect to read this holiday season when you are looking for an adorable romance.

blue4

This made me giggle. I kind of want to put this in my office. I like the title of Superhero who negotiates estate planning! haha


Giveaway

The giveaway for this tour is taking place over at instagram! I am putting a link to my post here, be sure to head over to enter to win 1 of 3 hardcover copies of the book and one of 3 awesome dresses!

 

View this post on Instagram

 

🎉📚GIVEAWAY📚🎉 I am excited to be a part of the blog tour for #HeartsStringsAndOtherBreakableThings by Jacqueline Firkins. This book is super cute. I have a full review of it on my blog if you want to check it out! .I am partnering with Jacqueline (@jfkillsdarlings) and @theffbc tours to give you not only the chance to win a hardcopy of #HSAOBT but also a book-inspired dress! 3 designs available. 3 prizes! Swipe left to see pics (⬅️). . . ENTRIES FOR THE GIVEAWAY: ▪︎Follow @theffbc & @whatmakespatri, & @jfkillsdarlings ▪︎Follow me @BookBriefs ▪︎Follow the publishing house @hmhteen ▪︎Comment (to let us know you are participating!): Which dress do you like the most (& why)? . EXTRA ENTRIES FOR THE GIVEAWAY: ▪︎Tag a friend (each friend will be an extra entry). ▪︎Share on your stories about the giveaway (remember to tag me @whatmakespatri and @theffbc) ▪︎Follow @michellesulk & @artsyreadergirl . ▪︎Follow any other FFBC team member participating in the tour (let us know on the comment section who did you follow). Check everyone’s Instagram handles below: @wishfulendings @l.m.durand @BookBriefs @stars.brite @booknerdanonymous @shelflifechronicles @agingerlyreview @lauren.bodiford . . . ** See comments for terms and conditions** #bookshimmy #giveaway #bookstagram #bookblogger #bookstagramming #bookgram #yabookstagram #ireadya #booksatgrammer #bibliophile #bookphotography #booknerd #booklover #amreading #booksbooksbooks #booknookstagram #bookstagrammer

A post shared by BookBriefs (@bookbriefs) on

Michelle @ Book Briefs

4 Responses to “{Review+Giveaway} Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by Jacqueline Firkins”

  1. Sam@wlabb

    I loved this book so much! The triangle made me a bit sad, since I wanted her to choose the other guy, but I understood Firkins desire to stay true to the source material

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.