{Review+Giveaway} ASP of Ascension by @BR_Myers

June 9, 2016 Blog Tours, Giveaways, Reviews, Young Adult 17 ★★★★

{Review+Giveaway} ASP of Ascension by @BR_Myers

{Review+Giveaway} ASP of Ascension by @BR_MyersASP of Ascension by B.R. Myers
Pages: 338
Published by Fierce Ink Press Co-op Ltd on July 21, 2015
Series: Nefertari Hughes Mystery #1
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, mythology, Mystery & Detective
Source: ecopy from Author
four-stars

Nefertari “Terry” Hughes has three rules for surviving high school:
#1 Don’t attract attention.
#2 Don’t get involved.
#3 Don’t make trouble.

A year after the accident that left her crippled and took her mother’s life, sixteen-year-old Terry just wants to keep her head down and survive her new high school. When she catches the eye of cute basketball star Zach—who happens to be the boyfriend of mean girl Allison—all hopes of flying under the radar are gone.

She is thrust even further in the spotlight when Fraser, the editor of the school newspaper, learns Mr. Hughes is the renowned archaeologist overseeing the new Egyptian display at the museum, which is rumoured to include Cleopatra’s sarcophagus. Fraser’s research leads to the fifty-year-old mystery of a girl who vanished while on a school trip to to the museum along with an artefact that may be Cleopatra’s asp.

When Mr. Hughes falls into a coma and his co-worker claims it’s the curse of Cleopatra, the stakes become too high for Terry to ignore. Terry must work with Fraser and her new candy loving friend Maude to find out what happened fifty years ago in hopes of saving her father before time runs out.

Rated T - Teen 13 and up: May contain violence, crude humour, suggestive themes and/or strong language.

graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider

YA ReviewMy ThoughtsASP of Ascension is the first in the young adult Nefertari Hughes Mystery series by B.R. Myers. I really enjoyed ASP of Ascension and I am really digging the cover of the book. It reminds me so much of an Egyptian version of the old school Nancy Drew book covers. Which I completely love. I also love all things Egypt so I found this book particularly interesting. It centers around a very important and secret exhibit coming to a small town, and a curse surrounding it- Cleopatra sarcophagus!

Terry, short for Nefertari, starts at a new school because her dad, who is a famous archeologist, is bringing a secret exhibit to town. I really liked Terry. I found her trips with her parents to be fascinating, and as painful as it was for her, I really enjoyed the glimpses into her past that we got. Espically that fateful trip into the fourth chamber where she was injured, and she lost her mom. Not to mention all of the curse business. I loved that I think the most.

The only thing that I found a bit hard to believe was how famous her dad seemed to be. The kids at the school all seemed to be very up on him and his discoveries, which I found a bit odd. I certainly didn’t know about different archeologists and their discoveries when I was in high school, but then again it was a small town, so who knows. Other than how star struck people seemed to be by Terry’s dad ASP of Ascension. It is a really fun story. Perfect for fans of Nancy Drew, The Mummy and Egyptian mythology. I can’t wait to read the next Nefertari Hughes Mystery!

blue4 'Perfect for fans of Nancy Drew and Egyptian mythology.' @BookBriefs reviews ASP of Ascension by @BR_Myers Click To Tweet


Book Trailer:
Top Five Things You Should Know About Terry Hughes:
An Author Interview:


Giveaway

To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win

Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Psst! Do you want to win a copy of The Cresswell Plot from Disney Hyperion??

Go to my twitter and RT the pinned tweet for your chance to win!

About B.R. Myers

I write YA, appreciate a design in my cappuccino, love shopping for vintage jewelry and dream in color. Coming from Nimbus Publishing, my contemporary coming of age novels, BUTTERFLIES DON’T LIE (SEPTEMBER 15,2014) and GIRL ON THE RUNJUST JESSE (Fall 2015). from Fierce Ink Press, ASP OF ASCENSION (July 2015).

Michelle @ Book Briefs

17 Responses to “{Review+Giveaway} ASP of Ascension by @BR_Myers”

  1. Victoria

    Really awesome review! I loved Nancy Drew books and I love Egypt so this sounds like a perfect blend of the two, I’m definitely going to be checking this one out. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Cathy French

    I like the premise mixing teen angst along with a long mystery involving a missing girl and even including the egyptian museum. Want to read.

  3. Sharon Extine

    Always looking for new reads. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

  4. Dan Denman

    I like the book cover and the summary. Terry sounds like a good character and, I am looking forward to reading this.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge