{ARC Review+Giveaway} Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

June 2, 2014 Blog Tours, Giveaways, Reviews, Young Adult 10 ★★★★

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn DolamoreDark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore
Pages: 304
Published by Disney-Hyperion on June 17, 2014
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Source: eARC from Publisher
four-stars

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.

Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.

graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider
YA Review My Thoughts

In a sea of similar books, Dark Metropolis felt different. In a great way. Part dystopian, part thriller, part magic, part zombie/vampire(?), Dark Metropolis really had it all. The world did have a glitzy 1930’s esque feel like the summary said, but it also had a dark futuristic feel to it. I am not sure that I ever caught a date while reading, so I can’t be quite sure when this book actually takes place. Told in multiple point of views, the story shifts between characters frequently.

I felt like Thea, Nan and Freddie were all main characters. Even though there were multiple main characters, the plot and story were very easy to follow. I didn’t get confused and it never felt jarring shifting from person to person. Jaclyn Dolamore did an excellent job with her characters. I feel like I got to know Freddy and Nan very well. I want to see more on Thea and Sigi in the next book. At first, I thought Thea was going to be the main character, but somewhere along the line, her chapters became less frequent as Nan’s part of the story took center stage.

I look forward to seeing more about Thea and Freddy in the next book. There is a hint at a possible romance between them, but then the “situation: in the city took over, and there wasn’t much time for anything else except action. Lots and lots of action. I was surprised how fast paced Dark Metropolis was. So much happened in the story. So much in fact that when the book ended, I wasn’t sure if it was a standalone or a series. It wrapped up nicely for the first book. There are still unanswered questions about Nan, about the revolutionaries, and we have no idea what is going to happen with the fallout. I can’t wait to see. Jaclyn Dolamore has a real gem with Dark Metropolis. It’s dark, imaginative and oh so unique.

blue4

 


 

Giveaway

To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below

Note: this giveaway is NOT sponsored by Book Briefs. All of the terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Jaclyn Dolamore

Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

10 Responses to “{ARC Review+Giveaway} Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore”

  1. Kim { Book Swoon }

    I really enjoyed the unique setting and horror elements in Dark Metropolis too, Michelle. The glitzy world of the Telephone Club contrasted so well the Factory!

  2. kindlemom1

    It sounds like this was a great start to a promising series. I love that it had a 30’s vibe to it. I think I would really enjoy that and the mixed genre.

  3. Nina

    There are zombies in this book? Need to read it. I like zombie books! 🙂
    I love action-packed stories, they are always a page-turner. Great review.
    Def. going to check this one out on Goodreads.

  4. Ginny @ Gin's Book Notes

    The blurb had me wondering what the heck a Telephone Club is and already feeling sorry for Thea. I like that you found that the mix of genres and multiple points of view were done well. It sounds like a really interesting and different story. I’m going to add it to my mountain. Thanks for sharing and for the giveaway!

  5. Katiria Rodriguez

    This book looks and sounds fantastic thanks for the awesome giveaway!

  6. Lekeisha

    I’ve been seeing this book on a lot of friends pages on Goodreads. Can’t wait to read it.

  7. Jaime Lynn

    This book! This pretty, pretty book! I want to read it and love it, and I hope to get the chance to do just that soon! I love that it has such a great mixture of topics in it. It just sounds so good! Thank you for the wonderful review!

Leave a Reply