{ARC Review} Dating Makes Perfect by Pintip Dunn

July 27, 2020 Reviews, Young Adult 1 ★★★★

{ARC Review} Dating Makes Perfect by Pintip DunnDating Makes Perfect by Pintip Dunn
Pages: 400
on August 18, 2020
Genres: Young Adult, contemporary, Romance, Romantic Comedy
Source: Paperback ARC from Publisher
four-stars

The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because they’re not asked. Not because they’re not interested. Not even because no one can pronounce their long, Thai last name—hence the shortened, awkward moniker. But simply because they’re not allowed.

Until now.

In a move that other Asian American girls know all too well, six months after the older Tech twins got to college, their parents asked, “Why aren’t you engaged yet?” The sisters retaliated by vowing that they won’t marry for ten (maybe even twenty!) years, not until they’ve had lots of the dating practice that they didn’t get in high school.

In a shocking war on the status quo, her parents now insist that their youngest daughter, Orrawin (aka “Winnie”), must practice fake dating in high school. Under their watchful eyes, of course—and organized based on their favorite rom-coms. ’Cause that won’t end in disaster.

The first candidate? The son of their longtime friends, Mat Songsomboon—arrogant, infuriating, and way too good-looking. Winnie’s known him since they were toddlers throwing sticky rice balls at each other. And her parents love him.

If only he weren’t her sworn enemy.

graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider
YA Review My Thoughts

Dating Makes Perfect is a young adult standalone romantic comedy by Pintip Dunn. I loved this book so much. It is happiness personified. I dare you to read this book and not have a good time. I triple dog dare you. I loved this story and these characters so much! This is my favorite book so far by Pintip Dunn, and I have really enjoyed all of her books. I read this book in one sitting, and I breezed through all 400 pages of it. I simply could not put it down. If you are a fan of the fake dating trope and the enemies to more trope, then this is a romantic comedy that you need in your life!

In Dating Makes Perfect, we meet our main character Winnie, who is the youngest of three daughters. Her older sisters were never allowed to date in high school, but when they go away to college their mom suddenly expects them to come home engaged after their first semester of freshman year. And when they drop the bombshell that they are going to do lots and lots of dating for the foreseeable future and not get engaged for a very long time, Winnie’s parents think their no dating plan has backfired. So they decide that Winnie will get all of her practice dating out of the way now, in high school so that when she goes off to college in a year, she will be ready to find a husband. The set up alone makes me laugh, but I am totally see it happening with the kind of parents Winnie has. And to make it better (or worse?) they get to decide who Winnie will practice date. And their first candidate is none other than her close family friend/arch nemesis Mat.

Winnie’s mom sets up all the dates like famous scenes from various rom coms, which leads to even more hilarious moments, but the real gem of Dating Makes Perfect is Winnie and Mat. I absolutely loved their dynamic right from the start. I loved them as “enemies”, I loved them as friends and I really loved them as something more. It is so easy to get swept up in this book because the characters are all so likable and relatable. Dating makes Perfect needs to be made into a movie ASAP. I think it will be perfect for fans of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and fans of romantic comedies in general. This is a fantastic novel. I loved, loved loved Dating Makes Perfect!

blue4

About Pintip Dunn

Pintip Dunn is a New York Times bestselling author of young adult fiction. She graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B., and received her J.D. at Yale Law School.

Her novel FORGET TOMORROW won the 2016 RWA RITA® for Best First Book, and SEIZE TODAY won the 2018 RITA for Best Young Adult Romance. Her books have been translated into four languages, and they have been nominated for the following awards: the Grand Prix del’Imaginaire; the Japanese Sakura Medal; the MASL Truman Award; the TomeSociety It list; and the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award.

Her other titles include REMEMBER YESTERDAY, THE DARKEST LIE, GIRL ON THE VERGE, STAR-CROSSED, and MALICE.

She lives with her husband and children in Maryland.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2020 New Release Challenge
  • Contemporary Romance Reading Challenge 2020

One Response to “{ARC Review} Dating Makes Perfect by Pintip Dunn”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.