{ARC Review+Giveaway} Amity by Micol Ostow @micolz @EgmontUSA

August 17, 2014 Blog Tours, Giveaways, Reviews, Young Adult 10 ★★★★

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Amity by Micol Ostow @micolz @EgmontUSA

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Amity by Micol Ostow @micolz @EgmontUSAAmity by Micol Ostow
Pages: 368
Published by Egmontusa on August 26, 2014
Genres: Depression & Mental Illness, Horror & Ghost Stories, Law & Crime, Young Adult
Source: eARC from Publisher
four-stars

For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror.

Connor's family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen's family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she's recovered from a psychotic break.

But something is not right about this secluded house. Connor's nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of demons and destruction. Dreams he kind of likes. Gwen has lurid visions of corpses that aren't there and bleeding blisters that disappear in the blink of an eye. She knows Amity is evil and she must get her family out, but who would ever believe her?

Amity isn't just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she's done before. As she'll do again.

Alternating between parallel narratives, Amity is a tense and terrifying tale suggested by true-crime events that will satisfy even the most demanding horror fan.

Note: This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Reading Challenges: ARC August, COYER, Summer Surge Read A Thon
graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider

YA Review My Thoughts I have a secret. As much as I love fluffy and sexy romances, I have a secret darker love- horror. And I have a second secret, even though I love horror so much, I have a tendency to actually get really scared when horror is done well. I know that is the point of horror, but I mean I can’t read a good horror book alone at night in my room or I will have nightmares all night. But I still can’t get enough, and Amity was creepy to the extreme! Fans of horror will love the fantastically creepy writing in Amity.

Amity is about the Amityville horror house. I have seen a couple of movies about the house and I know a little bit about house, so when I saw the book I knew what I was signing up for. Amity does not offer happy times for the families that live there become hers. Amity is told from the point of view of two different families that live there. First there is Conner and his family, and then 10 years down the road there is Gwen and her family. Conner and Gwen are not going to be your typical “I could see this person as my best friend.” At least I hope not (with Conner Especially.) Amity is dark and dangerous and she grabs hold of the people that live in her and she twists and turns them into a much darker and aggressive version of themselves.

It was interesting seeing how each character had a different connection with Amity. Conner seemed more and more twisted on each page and by each day. Gwen was a little different. She has a connection to the spiritual and seeing her in Amity was more heartbreaking in a way. Even though I knew this was not going to be a nice happily ever after for everyone in the story, I was still super nervous especially with the sibling dynamics and with the dog.  I also wanted a little more backstory on Gwen and Conner from before they came to live at Amity. We are given bits and pieces but by and large we are just left to fill in the gaps. The point of the story was their time at Amity so it wasn’t essential that we know more, but I think it would have added to the story.

The most impressive part about the story, was the life that Micol Ostow was able to breathe into the house herself. Amity felt like a real living, breathing entity. She felt like another character in the story, and it was both creepy and impressive the way I could feel the house come to life off the pages.

The writing in Amity is perfect for a horror novel. It was jarring and disturbing and super creepy. More than a few times, the book actually gave me chills. Micol Ostow did a fantastic job writing horror. And I have read and loved multiple of her young adult romantic comedy books. Amity did not flow like a typical contemporary novel and normally all the changes in pacing and styles would leave me with my head spinning, but in this book it just added to the spooky and disturbing feel of the story. None of the characters were able to get their bearings in Amity and the writing only added to that. If you are a fan of horror, Amity will give you chills galore. I dare you not to get scared.

blue4

Be sure to check out the next stop on the Amity tour

Monday, August 18, 2014

Actin’ Up with Books

Guest post and giveaway


Giveaway

To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win a SIGNED copy of Amity

Rules: -open to US/CAN only -My contest policy applies -Must be 16+

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Have you entered these awesome giveaways?

Click on the banners to enter

 HiddenSinsBlitzBanner Torturedsoulstourbanner Capture Capture HandpickedBlitzBanner2 degiveaway Capture

About Micol Ostow

Micol Ostow is half Puerto Rican, half Jewish, half editor, half writer, half chocolate, half peanut butter. When she is under deadline, she is often half asleep. She believes that the whole is greater than the sum of the parts except in the case of Chubby Hubby ice cream. Micol is the author (or ghostwriter) of over 40 books for teens, including Egmont USA’s family and So Punk Rock (and Other Ways to Disappoint Your Mother). Amity is her first horror novel. She received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts and lives in New York City, where she practices liberal consumption of coffee, cheese, and chocolate.

Micol Ostow has written dozens of books for children, tweens, and teens, but Amity is her first foray into horror. I turns out, writing a ghost story is almost more terrifying than reading one. (In a good way.) Her novel family was called a “Favorite Book of 2011” by Liz Burns at School Library Journal, and her illustrated novel, So Punk Rock (and Other Ways to Disappoint Your Mother), was a
Sydney Taylor Notable Book for Teens. In her spare time, Ostow blogs with the National Book Award-winning literacy initiative readergirlz.com. She lives in Brooklyn, NY, with her husband, her (utterly fearless) daughter, and a finicky French bulldog named Bridget Jones.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

10 Responses to “{ARC Review+Giveaway} Amity by Micol Ostow @micolz @EgmontUSA”

  1. Stacy Renee

    I love dark thrillers like this and it’s almost the perfect time (October) to read a book like this! 🙂

  2. Christina R.

    LOVE creepy stories, especially when they’re about these really famous haunted places!

    It’s awesome you found it creepy at times and that even though you didn’t totally connect with Conner, you liked Gwen a bit more.

    Lovely review 🙂

    thank you 🙂

  3. Linda romer

    Goog morning Michelle, I like you love a good horror story and this sounds good. I can only read them in the morning or I will be up all night scared. No matter how many times I watch the movie Amityville Horror it stills scares me.

  4. Anita Yancey

    I love thriller, and this one sounds really spooky. Which means it is definitely my kind of book. Thanks for having the giveaway.

  5. kara

    Good horror books are sparse and a YA horror book period is rare. I’ll have to check this out.

  6. Lori Hopkins

    This is def going on my TBR list. My fave kind of book, and there aren’t that many out there being written anymore.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge