{Review} Blighted Heart by @JessacaWillis

April 3, 2021 New Adult, Reviews 0 ★★★★

{Review} Blighted Heart by @JessacaWillisBlighted Heart by Jessaca Willis
Pages: 373
on February 9, 2021
Series: Primordials of Shadowthorn #2
Genres: New Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Source: Kindle Unlimited
four-stars

While fleeing the Castle of Nigh and her own execution, Halira was bitten by a demon of the Shadowthorn.

Such a wound would kill any mere human. But Halira's not just human. And her newly-discovered druid heritage will protect her...for now.

It's up to Halira and the mysterious half-demon man she's stumbled upon to find the cure before the demon toxin runs its course and kills them both.

Blighted Heart is the second book in the Primordials of Shadowthorn trilogy, a gothic high fantasy series about the demon hunters of Arcathain and their mission to reclaim their lands from the Primordial Qaeus. With a strong female lead, epic world-building, Lovecraftian immortal creatures, and a budding enemies-to-lovers romance, this series is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Elise Kova, Jennifer L. Armentrout, and Cameo Renae. Join the Shadow Crusaders and plunge into this grim, ethereal world.

graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider
NA Review My Thoughts

**Note: This is the second book in a series that should be read in order. If you are new to the series, you can check out my review of Book 1 Shadow Crusade HERE**

Blighted Heart is the second book in the new adult Dark Gothic Fantasy Primordials of Shadowthorn series by Jessaca Willis. While, I enjoyed Shadow Crusade, I liked Blighted Heart even more! I was easily drawn in to Jessaca Willis’ fantastic writing, everything in this story flowed really well. It is a pretty dark book and there are some graphic battle scenes featuring some gruesome deaths, so be warned about that. If that is a trigger for you, then you might want to try a different book, but if you are not put off by that, I think The Primordials of Shadowthorn series is a fantastic read for fans of dark fantasies. I am already itching to read something else by this author.

Blighted Heart picks up right after the events at the end of Shadow Crusade. Where our main character, Halira has to try and find a solution for something that happened to her. View Spoiler » With Halira essentially cursed, she sets out on her own with a friend to go on a quest of her own to try and find a solution. She also has help from her aunt and uncle, but I really appreciated and enjoyed the quest plotline of Blighted Heart, especially now that we were much more familiar with the world. I thought the plot was a step up from the first book. It was fast paced and felt like a great cohesive novel. In my opinion, Blighted Heart is a better novel than Shadow Crusade, which is great because I really enjoyed Shadow Crusade.

Fans of the first book will love this second installment. I am already itching to get my hands on the next (and final I think) book in the Primordials of Shadowthorn series. Be warned, this series is graphic and dark but it is also awesome! I love the characters, but the star in this series is the world. I love how Jessaca Willis has created a vibrant and creepy landscape. The Shadowthorn is honestly terrifying and I can’t get enough of it.

blue4

Michelle @ Book Briefs

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.