Tag: sci fi

Jun 13
{Review+Giveaway} The Thirteenth Guardian by K.M. Lewis

{Review+Giveaway} The Thirteenth Guardian by K.M. Lewis

The Thirteenth Guardian is the first book in the young adult trilogy by the same name by author K.M. Lewis. The Thirteenth Guardian is like the DaVinci Code mashed with a re occurrence of the plagues of Egypt. It is a whirlwind adventure from start to finish. I really got swept up in this book, and though there was a bit much going on at times, it was a really well done novel, and it has left me excited to continue on in the trilogy. I really need to see what is going to happen next! Be warned though, this series is about the apocalypse. There are a series of natural disasters that threaten to destroy earth, so be forewarned about that going into the series. In The Thirteenth Guardian, we meet a group of six strangers that find themselves inexplicably bound together. The first of the strangers that we meet is Avery, but the book is told from all of their perspectives, switching off between chapters with each of… Read more »

Divider

Jun 07
{Review+Giveaway} LIFEL1K3 by Jay Kristoff @misterkristoff @KnopfBFYR

{Review+Giveaway} LIFEL1K3 by Jay Kristoff @misterkristoff @KnopfBFYR

Lifel1k3 is the first book in the young adult science fiction series, Lifelike, by author megastar Jay Kristoff. I loved Jay’s Illuminae series, and I have been dying to read his Nevernight Chronicles (Which I really need to get a move on. Come on Michelle!)  but when I saw he was releasing the Lifelike series, I knew I couldn’t miss it. Lifel1k3 has such a cool concept…robot, robots and more robots. The concept of artificial intelligence has always fascinated me. So when you take a book set in a post apocalyptic future where robots and AI are a huge part of the world, I am all in. Eve is our main character in Lifel1k3. Eve builds robots to fight. Things quickly get interesting in a robot fight that goes south really quickly. Eve is in danger of dying until she has some x-men like abilities that save her, and at the same time, put her in a very dangerous position. The world in Lifel1k3 is fierce and very violent and dangerous. All… Read more »

Divider

May 15
{Review+Giveaway} Genesis by @BrendanReichs #ProjectNemesis #GenesisBlogTour @PenguinTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Genesis by @BrendanReichs #ProjectNemesis #GenesisBlogTour @PenguinTeen

Please Note: Genesis is the second book in a series that needs to be read in order. If you are new to the Project Nemesis series, you can check out my review of the first book HERE Genesis is the second book in the young adult science fiction series, called Project Nemesis by author Brendan Reichs. I am so in love with this series! I loved the first book Nemesis, and I think I loved Genesis even more!It is a great series for fans of science fiction, dystopians and mysteries. This is a series that needs to be read in order, so if you have not read Nemesis yet, you will want to grab a copy of that and dive in immediately. But if you read Nemesis when it first released and you are worried that you won’t remember everything that happened, don’t worry! Brendan Reichs does a fantastic job of providing enough information to bring the reader up to speed without just regurgitating the information from Nemesis. It felt… Read more »

Divider

Mar 28
{Review+Giveaway} Obsidio by @AmieKaufman & Jay Kristoff @misterkristoff

{Review+Giveaway} Obsidio by @AmieKaufman & Jay Kristoff @misterkristoff

Obsidio is the final book in the young adult series, The Illuminae Files by author duo Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff. Let’s start out by saying I LOVED OBDISIO! It was a crazy, crazy ride and I cannot stop thinking about this book, about the characters and about this series. If you have read obsidio, you know what I mean. If you have not, what are you waiting for?? Because I know so many people dearly love this series, I am going to do something a little different. This review is not for the many, many fans of the series. No, this review is for the people who are reluctant to read the series because Science Fiction is not their thing, or because of the hype or because of any number of other reasons. I used to be one of you. But now that I have read the first two books twice and binge read the entire series for the Obsidio release, I have to convert you to become as… Read more »

Divider

Feb 15
{Review} Nemesis by @BrendanReichs #ProjectNemesis #GenesisBlogTour @PenguinTeen

{Review} Nemesis by @BrendanReichs #ProjectNemesis #GenesisBlogTour @PenguinTeen

WOW, just wow! Nemesis is the first book in the young adult science fiction series, called Project Nemesis by author Brendan Reichs. I cannot stop thinking about this book! I loved so much about this novel, and even as I am typing this , I am itching to ditch my computer and grab my copy of the sequel so I can lock myself in a room and read read read. Nemesis is great for fans of science fiction, dystopians and mysteries. Let me break down what I enjoyed about Nemesis for you. One I loved the msyterious vibe that Brendan Reichs created. This is a book that doesn’t give you a lot of answers off the bat, and it even leaves you with some unanswered questions. Which made me all the more excited to start book two, Genesis. There is a lot going on in this novel. And I loved that there were really two parallel plot lines featured, which kept me constantly wondering if or when they were going… Read more »

Divider

May 03
{Review+Giveaway} Illuminae by @AmieKaufman & Jay Kristoff @misterkristoff

{Review+Giveaway} Illuminae by @AmieKaufman & Jay Kristoff @misterkristoff

Illuminae is the first book in the young adult series, The Illuminae Files #1 by author duo Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff. I think I am one of the last people in the world to finally jump on board and read Illuminae. Now that the paperback version of the book is coming out, and book 3 in the series is coming out later this year, I knew it was finally time to read book one. I have heard nothing but amazing things about the book, and I have heard the series being called different enough times, that I had to see for myself. And now I can confidently say…I am a huge Illuminae fan! This book is so awesome. I know it has been said a lot, but the format of this series is like nothing else I have ever read. I absolutely loved it. It has to be super difficult to write and put together because I could tell how complicated and detailed the world is. I mean the… Read more »

Divider

Sep 12
{Review} Seneca Rebel by Rayya Deeb

{Review} Seneca Rebel by Rayya Deeb

Seneca Rebel  is the first book in the young adult science fiction/dystopian series, called The Seneca Society, by Rayya Deeb. This is the first book I have read by Rayya, and I was really impressed with her strong writing. There is solid world building and a creative plot in Seneca Rebel. Plus, I was immediately drawn in by the beautiful cover. I love how clean the background of it looks, and the color and patterns over the top made it seem perfect for a dystopian novel. I love it. This book was a good read for me, but I think for bigger fans of the dystopian genre, this book will be a much bigger hit. Seneca Rebel takes place in a futuristic world. The other cool thing about Seneca Rebel is that it mixed dystopian science fiction with one of my favorite story elements- a secret society! The main character, Doro Campbell is invited to join The Seneca Society because she is awesomely brainy. I enjoyed the secret society element… Read more »

Divider

Apr 20
{Review+Giveaway} Anomalies by @sadieturnerla & @colettefreedman

{Review+Giveaway} Anomalies by @sadieturnerla & @colettefreedman

Anomalies is the first book in the young adult dystopian/ Sci fi series by Sadie Turner & Colette Freedman. While it felt like a lot of other dystopians to me, I ended up enjoying Anomalies because it was a good story. I think it would be perfect for fans of Divergent and Matched. (other people have also been comparing it to Delirium, but I haven’t read that series yet- I know! Shame on me!- so I can’t speak to that.)I love the concept and cover of Anomalies. I think it is perfectly fitting for the story. Sadie Turner and Colette Freedman created a solid world that I want to travel back to for the next installment. I enjoyed this book a lot. Dystopians are such a hit or miss for me. The idea of them sounds awesome, and the summary of Anomalies sounds like such a freakin’ cool story, and it was, but my issue is not an issue with the writing or with this book in general, it is a bigger issue… Read more »

Divider

Apr 16
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Denton Little’s Deathdate by Lance Rubin @lancerubinparty

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Denton Little’s Deathdate by Lance Rubin @lancerubinparty

Denton Little’s Deathdate is a really funny, and strangely sweet read. I can honestly say that I have never read anything quite like it. It is not the most believable book ever, but you just have to embrace the concept and go with it. If you can do that, you will have a blast on Denton’s last 24 hours alive adventure. Denton Little’s Deathdate takes place in a world in the future that is very much like the world we know today. Technology and living hasn’t advanced too much, but there is one minor difference. In Denton’s world, as soon as you are born they can tell you the date that you will die. They can’t tell you how you will die, but they can predict 100% of the time, the day that you will die. And as you can imagine, this has caused some pretty strange customs to pop up. Reading about the customs surrounding your deathdate were one of my favorite parts about this book. For instance, how… Read more »

Divider

Feb 10
{ARC Review} Love Lattes and Mutants by @Sandra_Cox @KensingtonBooks

{ARC Review} Love Lattes and Mutants by @Sandra_Cox @KensingtonBooks

Love Latte and Mutants is the first book in the young adult science fiction Mutant Series. Piper’s mother was experimented on before she was born and injected with Dolphin DNA. After some time (we don’t really know too much of her mother’s backstory yet) she escaped and had Piper. Piper is interesting because while she is completely human she had dolphin characteristics, like a blowhole which allows her to stay under water for 30 minutes. Piper does a good job keeping a low profile until a boy comes along and screws it all up. Just kidding…kind of. But Tyler did force her into the spotlight a lot more. What I liked most about Piper was that she seemed to take on some siren-like qualities as well. Her voice was enchanting to males, so she had to hide that about her as well. Love Lattes and Mutants is a quick little read that I think sets up the series very nicely. I liked the book, but I feel like I have… Read more »

Divider