Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Divider

Feb 26
{Interview+Giveaway} The Similars by Rebecca Hanover

{Interview+Giveaway} The Similars by Rebecca Hanover

Rebecca Hanover discusses her Young Adult novel The Similars Please provide a capsule description of The Similars, and a brief explanation of your inspiration for the book. THE SIMILARS tells the story of Emma, who arrives at her prestigious boarding school freshly grieving the death of her best friend, Oliver, only to come face-to-face with his clone. Levi is Oliver’s exact DNA copy, one of six “Similars” joining the junior class right alongside their originals.  A few years ago, the idea of clones arriving at a high school came to me in a flash, and I knew right away it was a story I wanted to read. Since it didn’t exist, I resolved to write it myself!  Have you long aspired to write fiction for young adults? Why YA? I’ve wanted to write a YA novel for ages, ever since I waited in line till midnight at a Harry Potter book release to get my own pair of Potter glasses (I still have them). Though I’ve been a rabid children’s and YA… Read more »

Divider

Aug 13
{Excerpt+Giveaway} The Dark Beneath the Ice by Amelinda Bérubé

{Excerpt+Giveaway} The Dark Beneath the Ice by Amelinda Bérubé

  To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win 1 of 2 copies of The Dark Beneath the Ice (US & CAN only) Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Aug 08
{Mini Review+Giveaway} Someone I used to Know by Patty Blount

{Mini Review+Giveaway} Someone I used to Know by Patty Blount

Someone I used to Know by Patty Blount is a young adult contemporary novel that deals with a serious issue. Someone I used to Know looks at the aftermath of dealing with your life after a sexual assault. One of the things I admire most about author Patty Blount is that she is not afraid to deal with tough issues. Someone I used to Know is not a fun read by any stretch of the imagination, nor is it a light, breezy story. It is a heavy narrative, but it’s an important one. Someone I used to Know is a novel that will stick with me. It is a novel that I will remember, but be warned that it does deal with rape, so if that is something that is upsetting for you to read about, this is going to be a difficult novel for you. Our main character is Ashley. And honestly this novel was hard for me to get through, but I loved Ashley so much that I wanted to hear… Read more »

Divider

May 14
{Giveaway} Tell Me No Lies by @AV_Geiger

{Giveaway} Tell Me No Lies by @AV_Geiger

EXCLUSIVE E-BOOK SALE FANTASTIC NEWS BOOK NERDS!! We have an awesome E-Book Sale for A.V. Geiger’s FOLLOW ME BACK running from MAY 7th until 11:59 pm (PST) on May 18, 2018 JUST FOR $1.99! KINDLE | NOOK | iBOOKS | Praise for FOLLOW ME BACK “Debut author Geiger’s social-media-saturated thriller (which fittingly got its start on Wattpad) should transfix teens for whom online relationships (romantic and otherwise) are integral parts of daily life, and catfishing and hacking are genuine fears. Tweets, direct messages, and police interrogation transcripts are incorporated throughout, throwing the reliability of both narrators into question and hinting at the sinister thread underlying this boy-meets-girl story. ” ―Publishers Weekly “Pieces are revealed one at a time until they all come together at the end-right before everything falls apart before a final, dark twist. A page-turner for young adults invested in social media, fandoms, and mysteries.” ―School Library Journal “Told though alternating points of view, tweets, and police reports, this novel is perfect for fans of Sara Shepard, April Henry, or Kimberly Derting. In her debut novel, Geiger creates… Read more »

Divider

Sep 18
{Review} Mask of Shadows by @LinseyMiller @SourcebooksFire ‏

{Review} Mask of Shadows by @LinseyMiller @SourcebooksFire ‏

Mask of Shadows is the first book in an untitled series by debut author Linsey Miller. I have been loving fantasies lately, so when I saw this book, my interest was immediately piqued. I loved the idea behind the story. Basically, the queen has a different ring for every finger of her left hand- an opal, ruby, emerald. Each of the rings symbolize one of the Queen’s personal assassins. When the Queen’s Opal dies, there are auditions AKA a competition to fill the spot. Insert our main character Sal. The book was a little Three Dark Crowns and hunger games- esque because the competitors have to kill each other off to win the spot as the Queen’s Opal. There were some pretty graphic, and interesting, deaths in this novel. I also really enjoyed the twist of the competition- no one can be caught killing another competitor. If you are caught you are disqualified (and probably never to be heard from again, kind of disqualified.) I thought this rule made things extra interesting. Most… Read more »

Divider

Dec 30
{Top 10 of 2016} Most Anticipated Books of 2017!

{Top 10 of 2016} Most Anticipated Books of 2017!

This year the event is being hosted by  Jaime of Two Chicks on Books , Nancy of Tales of the Ravenous Reader,  Bridget of Dark Faerie Tales ,and Rachel of Fiktshun. Check out my other posts this week: Top 10 Covers of 2016 Top 10 New Adult Books Top 10 Book Boyfriends of 2016 Today’s prompt is Most Anticipated Reads of 2017 WHAT BOOKS ARE YOU MOST LOOKING FORWARD TO IN 2017? Let me know 🙂 To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win an ARC of The Diabolic (US only) Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law.a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Sep 15
{Review} Gone too Far by Natalie Richards @NatDRichards @SourcebooksFire

{Review} Gone too Far by Natalie Richards @NatDRichards @SourcebooksFire

Gone Too Far is a young adult standalone thriller/suspense mystery by Natalie Richards. I have not read any books by Natalie yet, but I have heard some really great things about her first book, Six Months Later. What I liked the most about Gone too Far was that it was a true high school mystery. Most of the book takes place actually inside the school, and the person solving the mystery is a high school senior. Gone Too Far is a good read. While I did figure some aspects of the plot out, others remained a mystery to me until they were revealed, which I enjoyed. I was a little undecided on the character of Piper. On one hand, I loved that she wants to be a photojournalist because I think it fit in perfectly with the kind of mystery going on in the story, and she does mature as a character throughout the book. But, on the other hand, she seemed  a little judge-y and a little immature at… Read more »

Divider

Jun 10
{Review+Quiz+Giveaway} Relentless @TeraLynnChilds & Tracey Deebs @HeroAgenda @SourcebooksFire

{Review+Quiz+Giveaway} Relentless @TeraLynnChilds & Tracey Deebs @HeroAgenda @SourcebooksFire

Relentless is the second book in the young adult Hero Agenda duology by Tera Lynn Childs and Tracey Deebs. I absolutely loved the first book in the series, Powerless. It got my super hero mojo going big time. I loved the world these two authors created with all of the villains, super villains, heroes, superheroes, and the ordinaries. Relentless picks up right where Powerless leaves off, and these are books that you must read in order. I remember saying in my review of book 1 that I held my breath for the last 10 pages. Well, that has nothing on the start of this book. I loved that we were immediately dropping into some serious action with the characters. It was great to go back into the book and see all of the familiar faces that I loved from the first book. Kenna is even more bad- a** than she was in the last book. I feel like Kenna really comes into her own in Relentless. She steps up big… Read more »

Divider

Nov 07
{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever by @JeffStrand @SourcebooksFire

{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever by @JeffStrand @SourcebooksFire

Jeff Strand’s Five Favorite Zombie Movies: My five favorite zombie movies are very similar to many other people’s five favorite zombie movies. I could’ve gone the condescending click-bait route and written about “The Five Best Zombie Movies You’ve Never Seen!” but, no, I’m going with my five real favorites…. #5: DAWN OF THE DEAD (2004 version). I was one of the many people bellowing, “You can’t remake DAWN OF THE DEAD! This is blasphemy! Blasphemy!!!” But somehow this remake to a sequel (but not a sequel to the remake) turned out to be awesome. Not quite as good as the original (SPOILER ALERT: That’s #3 on this list) but one of my all-time favorites.  #4: RE-ANIMATOR. I’ve now seen plenty of movies that are more over-the-top insane than RE-ANIMATOR, but this was the first movie where I simply couldn’t believe what I was watching. It was hard to believe that a movie so dark and gruesome could be so funny.  #3: DAWN OF THE DEAD (1978 version). Shameful confession: When… Read more »

Divider

Aug 06
{Review+Excerpt+Giveaway} Awake by Natasha Preston

{Review+Excerpt+Giveaway} Awake by Natasha Preston

Once everything was ready it was time to get dressed for the ceremony. I was taken back to the house, and I was instructed to have a bath and get ready in the dress set out on my bed. I did as I was told because there was little else I could do right now. After soaking in a bubble bath, using most of it up as my own little screw you, I got out, dried and went back to my room. Unsurprisingly the dress I was to wear was full-length and white. It was pretty and thankfully not a slim fit so I would be able to run properly in it. I held it up—this is what I’m supposed to die in. Not many people knew what their last outfit would be. I instantly hated it. I pulled it over my head. It fit me perfectly. It had long, loose fitting sleeves, a modest neckline, and waves of material on the skirt. I pulled it and was satisfied when… Read more »

Divider