Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Divider

May 14
{Giveaway} Tell Me No Lies by @AV_Geiger

{Giveaway} Tell Me No Lies by @AV_Geiger

EXCLUSIVE E-BOOK SALE FANTASTIC NEWS BOOK NERDS!! We have an awesome E-Book Sale for A.V. Geiger’s FOLLOW ME BACK running from MAY 7th until 11:59 pm (PST) on May 18, 2018 JUST FOR $1.99! KINDLE | NOOK | iBOOKS | Praise for FOLLOW ME BACK “Debut author Geiger’s social-media-saturated thriller (which fittingly got its start on Wattpad) should transfix teens for whom online relationships (romantic and otherwise) are integral parts of daily life, and catfishing and hacking are genuine fears. Tweets, direct messages, and police interrogation transcripts are incorporated throughout, throwing the reliability of both narrators into question and hinting at the sinister thread underlying this boy-meets-girl story. ” ―Publishers Weekly “Pieces are revealed one at a time until they all come together at the end-right before everything falls apart before a final, dark twist. A page-turner for young adults invested in social media, fandoms, and mysteries.” ―School Library Journal “Told though alternating points of view, tweets, and police reports, this novel is perfect for fans of Sara Shepard, April Henry, or Kimberly Derting. In her debut novel, Geiger creates… Read more »

Divider

Sep 18
{Review} Mask of Shadows by @LinseyMiller @SourcebooksFire ‏

{Review} Mask of Shadows by @LinseyMiller @SourcebooksFire ‏

Mask of Shadows is the first book in an untitled series by debut author Linsey Miller. I have been loving fantasies lately, so when I saw this book, my interest was immediately piqued. I loved the idea behind the story. Basically, the queen has a different ring for every finger of her left hand- an opal, ruby, emerald. Each of the rings symbolize one of the Queen’s personal assassins. When the Queen’s Opal dies, there are auditions AKA a competition to fill the spot. Insert our main character Sal. The book was a little Three Dark Crowns and hunger games- esque because the competitors have to kill each other off to win the spot as the Queen’s Opal. There were some pretty graphic, and interesting, deaths in this novel. I also really enjoyed the twist of the competition- no one can be caught killing another competitor. If you are caught you are disqualified (and probably never to be heard from again, kind of disqualified.) I thought this rule made things extra interesting. Most… Read more »

Divider

Dec 30
{Top 10 of 2016} Most Anticipated Books of 2017!

{Top 10 of 2016} Most Anticipated Books of 2017!

This year the event is being hosted by  Jaime of Two Chicks on Books , Nancy of Tales of the Ravenous Reader,  Bridget of Dark Faerie Tales ,and Rachel of Fiktshun. Check out my other posts this week: Top 10 Covers of 2016 Top 10 New Adult Books Top 10 Book Boyfriends of 2016 Today’s prompt is Most Anticipated Reads of 2017 WHAT BOOKS ARE YOU MOST LOOKING FORWARD TO IN 2017? Let me know 🙂 To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win an ARC of The Diabolic (US only) Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law.a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Sep 15
{Review} Gone too Far by Natalie Richards @NatDRichards @SourcebooksFire

{Review} Gone too Far by Natalie Richards @NatDRichards @SourcebooksFire

Gone Too Far is a young adult standalone thriller/suspense mystery by Natalie Richards. I have not read any books by Natalie yet, but I have heard some really great things about her first book, Six Months Later. What I liked the most about Gone too Far was that it was a true high school mystery. Most of the book takes place actually inside the school, and the person solving the mystery is a high school senior. Gone Too Far is a good read. While I did figure some aspects of the plot out, others remained a mystery to me until they were revealed, which I enjoyed. I was a little undecided on the character of Piper. On one hand, I loved that she wants to be a photojournalist because I think it fit in perfectly with the kind of mystery going on in the story, and she does mature as a character throughout the book. But, on the other hand, she seemed  a little judge-y and a little immature at… Read more »

Divider

Jun 10
{Review+Quiz+Giveaway} Relentless @TeraLynnChilds & Tracey Deebs @HeroAgenda @SourcebooksFire

{Review+Quiz+Giveaway} Relentless @TeraLynnChilds & Tracey Deebs @HeroAgenda @SourcebooksFire

Relentless is the second book in the young adult Hero Agenda duology by Tera Lynn Childs and Tracey Deebs. I absolutely loved the first book in the series, Powerless. It got my super hero mojo going big time. I loved the world these two authors created with all of the villains, super villains, heroes, superheroes, and the ordinaries. Relentless picks up right where Powerless leaves off, and these are books that you must read in order. I remember saying in my review of book 1 that I held my breath for the last 10 pages. Well, that has nothing on the start of this book. I loved that we were immediately dropping into some serious action with the characters. It was great to go back into the book and see all of the familiar faces that I loved from the first book. Kenna is even more bad- a** than she was in the last book. I feel like Kenna really comes into her own in Relentless. She steps up big… Read more »

Divider

Nov 07
{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever by @JeffStrand @SourcebooksFire

{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever by @JeffStrand @SourcebooksFire

Jeff Strand’s Five Favorite Zombie Movies: My five favorite zombie movies are very similar to many other people’s five favorite zombie movies. I could’ve gone the condescending click-bait route and written about “The Five Best Zombie Movies You’ve Never Seen!” but, no, I’m going with my five real favorites…. #5: DAWN OF THE DEAD (2004 version). I was one of the many people bellowing, “You can’t remake DAWN OF THE DEAD! This is blasphemy! Blasphemy!!!” But somehow this remake to a sequel (but not a sequel to the remake) turned out to be awesome. Not quite as good as the original (SPOILER ALERT: That’s #3 on this list) but one of my all-time favorites.  #4: RE-ANIMATOR. I’ve now seen plenty of movies that are more over-the-top insane than RE-ANIMATOR, but this was the first movie where I simply couldn’t believe what I was watching. It was hard to believe that a movie so dark and gruesome could be so funny.  #3: DAWN OF THE DEAD (1978 version). Shameful confession: When… Read more »

Divider

Aug 06
{Review+Excerpt+Giveaway} Awake by Natasha Preston

{Review+Excerpt+Giveaway} Awake by Natasha Preston

Once everything was ready it was time to get dressed for the ceremony. I was taken back to the house, and I was instructed to have a bath and get ready in the dress set out on my bed. I did as I was told because there was little else I could do right now. After soaking in a bubble bath, using most of it up as my own little screw you, I got out, dried and went back to my room. Unsurprisingly the dress I was to wear was full-length and white. It was pretty and thankfully not a slim fit so I would be able to run properly in it. I held it up—this is what I’m supposed to die in. Not many people knew what their last outfit would be. I instantly hated it. I pulled it over my head. It fit me perfectly. It had long, loose fitting sleeves, a modest neckline, and waves of material on the skirt. I pulled it and was satisfied when… Read more »

Divider

Jul 29
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Nothing Left to Burn by @PattyBlount @SourcebooksFire

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Nothing Left to Burn by @PattyBlount @SourcebooksFire

This August critically acclaimed author Patty Blount releases her latest smoldering YA, Nothing Left to Burn. To celebrate her new release, Patty has agreed to sit down with us for a quick Q&A! If we looked under your bed right now, what would we find? You’d find the box holding my wedding gown buried under a layer of dust. What? It’s extra protection. (LOL). You’d find the fire box we keep important papers in like birth certificates and our wills and my sons’ hospital bracelets from when they were born. Right from the first page, you can tell that Nothing Left to Burn is going to be an emotionally raw and powerful story. It is told in dual narrative between Amanda and Reece. Nothing Left to Burn really got to me. I loved that the book starts out featuring the male protagonist, Reece. Reece really touched me. I felt for him so badly. If anyone needs a hug, it is Reece. Luckily, I was also able to tell right away… Read more »

Divider

Jul 07
{Release Day Review+Giveaway} Jesse’s Girl by @MirandaKennealy @SourcebooksFire

{Release Day Review+Giveaway} Jesse’s Girl by @MirandaKennealy @SourcebooksFire

Jesse’s Girl is the 6th standalone book in the hundred oaks series. The hundred Oaks series are each young adult contemporary feel good romances. In Jesse’s Girl we meet Maya, who is the younger brother of Sam (from Catching Jordan.) Sam and Jordan show up throughout the book, which I am sure will be a fan favorite, but I haven’t read catching Jordan yet. Please don’t stone me. I have read Breathe, Annie, Breathe and I plan to read all of the rest of the books in the series. Someday. I liked Jesse’s Girl even more than I liked Breathe Annie Breathe. Miranda Kenneally does such a wonderful job with contemporary romances. Her books just make me feel good. Maya is a tough cookie, but also one of the sweetest people ever. She wants to be a musician, but she has a little issue with stage fright when she sings solo. I liked that she wasn’t this super talented, super amazing- no faults kind of girl. I really liked that… Read more »

Divider

May 29
{ARC Review} Powerless by @TeraLynnChilds & Tracey Deebs @HeroAgenda @SourcebooksFire

{ARC Review} Powerless by @TeraLynnChilds & Tracey Deebs @HeroAgenda @SourcebooksFire

Holy Cow, did I love Powerless. The book just kept getting better and better. I love me some super powers books and this world was just plain cool. There are villains, super villains, heroes and superheroes. And then there are the ordinaries. I don’t know the breakdown of how many villains there are versus heroes and versus ordinaries. That was my only sticking point with Powerless. It felt like we were just kind of dropped into this world without any real explanation. Kenna, the main character just starts talking about heroes and vilians and all these organizations like it is totally normal, without really telling how the world got to be this way. Scientists and experiments played a role in creating the first wave of powers, but you don’t learn too much more than that. You do learn some more as you go along. And honestly, I was so quickly swept up in the thrill of the storyline that I didn’t care too much about being dumped into this world…. Read more »

Divider