Publisher: HarperTeen

Divider

Jun 17
{Review+Giveaway} The Night We Said Yes by @LaurenGibaldi @HarperTeen

{Review+Giveaway} The Night We Said Yes by @LaurenGibaldi @HarperTeen

The Night We Said Yes is Author Lauren Gibaldi’s debut book. It is a really fun and cute story about a group of friends about to graduate high school. I love the layout and idea behind the story. The Night We Said Yes is told on two parallel timelines, featuring two different nights about a year apart from each other. Each night features the same group of friends, and each night is a night of saying yes. Meaning that whatever any one of the friends suggested doing, they did it. I love the idea of a night where you have to say yes to everything because you have no idea where it is going to lead to. Anything could happen. The Night We Said Yes is told in alternating chapters between the Now night and the Then night from a year prior. it was really cool reading back and forth between the two nights. I think I liked “then” night more, but I was more anxious to read the “now”… Read more »

Divider

Jun 04
{Review} The Fill-in Boyfriend by @KasieWest @HarperTeen

{Review} The Fill-in Boyfriend by @KasieWest @HarperTeen

The Fill-in Boyfriend is Kasie West’s latest young adult contemporary romance. I loved her last book, On the Fence, so I was super excited to read The Fill-in Boyfriend. And I thought it was really cute. It dealt with some deeper friendship and self identity issues that were unexpected for me. I really liked the growth that Gia went through. She was a real winner in my book. That paired with the cute romance, made the Fill-in Boyfriend a hit for me. I ran into a couple of bumps with her friends, but I think they were intentionally pretty awful. Gia is a popular girl in her senior year. She is going to UCLA in the fall with  scholarship and a best friend as her roommate. Life seems pretty sweet, right? Well the book opens with Gia getting dumped in the parking lot before prom. So maybe not so sweet. But luckily for Gia, she meets Hayden- her fill-in boyfriend. I thought it was super cute how he wouldn’t tell… Read more »

Divider

Sep 05
{ARC Review} Illusions of Fate by @KierstenWhite @harperteen

{ARC Review} Illusions of Fate by @KierstenWhite @harperteen

I loved this one so much! The magic and the world were all great, but what really made this book come to life for me was Kiersten White’s writing. I found her writing to be witty, engaging and utterly charming. I read this book with a smile on my face. Plus, I don’t think I have enjoyed a secondary character as much I did with Eleanor in a long time. Illusions of fate is set in an alternate past, where countries were colonizing. It had a historical feel with the vocabulary and the scenery, but it was also drenched in magic and secrecy. I ate it up! The book starts out with Jessamin writing a letter to her mother. I know this sounds silly, but the letter was the reason that I knew I was going to love this book right off the bat. It showed the voice and personality of Jessa so well. In between each line of the letter she writes the real or honest letter in her… Read more »

Divider

Sep 01
{ARC Review} The Jewel by Amy Ewing @amyewingbooks

{ARC Review} The Jewel by Amy Ewing @amyewingbooks

The Jewel is the first in the young adult Dystopian series called The Lone City. The set up is not a new one in the world of dystopian, but the story is still well done. I am interested in continuing this series. I like the set up of the surrogates and the augeries the most. I am very intrigued by the powers they possess, even if I still don’t know quite why they do have them and why other people in their world doesn’t. They are not your traditional “witches”, if you can even call them that. I have a lot of questions about the world still left unanswered, but I grew to really like the characters and premise of the story. Girls from the poorest circles are tested young, and all of the ones that show signs of having powers, called augeries, are sent away from their families to live in training centers to develop their powers. Once they are of age, they are sent to auctions where they… Read more »

Divider

Jul 06
{Review} On the Fence by @kasiewest @HarperTeen

{Review} On the Fence by @kasiewest @HarperTeen

This book just makes me happy. I loved the characters, I loved the romance, I loved the fence chats, and I loved the self discovery that was all packed into this little sunny looking book. This is a great fluffy read- perfect for summer. But don’t let that fool you, this book is more to it than cute boys and romance. Oh, it has that too and it that part is wonderful, but this book also has some great discovery in it for the main character, Charlie. Charlie grew up with all brothers. She is such a tomboy, and I loved every inch of her tall athletic self. She can play practically any sport, and she is not afraid to get in there and school the guys. On the Fence takes place the summer before her senior year in high school, and for the first part of the book Charlie spends all of her days playing sports with her brothers and their friends, including her neighbor Braden. Charlie, her 4… Read more »

Divider

May 20
{Excerpt+Giveaway} The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes

{Excerpt+Giveaway} The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes

We are so excited to be working with Paula Stokes and Harper Collins on the release day launch of Paula’s young adult contemporary romance!! This book is so much fun–and Paula has shared a really great excerpt from it! Check it out below!! This book looks so good 🙂 I can’t wait to read it! GOT HEART? The music pitches and swells, violin and guitars, drumbeats and thudding bass. As I sway back and forth in front of the stage, it feels like being in the eye of a tornado, where it’s calm, but everything is going crazy whirling around me. I can’t stop looking at Micah, at the way the lights reflect off his mohawk, at the way he’s completely lost in the storm of overlapping chords. I see every part of him, tiny pieces I never knew existed. The slight bend in his nose, the wedge-shaped scar on his right temple, the outline of his bicep hiding beneath the pyramid tattoo. His lips part, just barely, when he… Read more »

Divider

Sep 27
{Review} Rock and a Hard Place by @Angie_Stanton

{Review} Rock and a Hard Place by @Angie_Stanton

Rock and a Hard Place by Angie Stanton Paperback, 224 pages Published September 24th 2013 by HarperTeen Age Group: Young Adult Series: The Jamieson Brothers #1 Source: ARC from publisher Summary: Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Susane Colasanti, Angie Stanton’s swoon-worthy romance–about an ordinary girl and a young rock star–will keep readers on the edge of their seats . . . and leave them wanting more. In an instant, Libby’s life went from picture-perfect to a nightmare. After surviving a terrible car accident, Libby is abandoned by her father and left with her controlling aunt. A new town, a new school, no friends–Libby is utterly alone. But then she meets Peter. The lead singer in a rock band with his brothers, Peter hates that his parents overly manage his life. Constantly surrounded by family, Peter just wants to get away. And when he meets Libby, he’s finally found the one person who just wants to be with him, not the rock star. But while Peter battles… Read more »

Divider