Publisher: Delacorte Press

Divider

Sep 26
{Review+Giveaway} The Lantern’s Ember by Colleen Houck

{Review+Giveaway} The Lantern’s Ember by Colleen Houck

The Lantern’s Ember is a standalone young adult novel by Colleen Houck. I don’t normally mention a book’s cover, but I have to talk for a moment about just how stunning the cover of The Lantern’s Ember is. I think it is the perfect cover for this story, and it helped to set the mood of the story for me. I really, really love it. And speaking of love, I thought this novel was the perfect read to get you into the Halloween spirit. I think this is a great read for young adult readers (even some on the younger end that are ok with a romance) . The characters are age appropriate and the novel has a wonderful magical atmosphere that will draw you in. The Lantern’s Ember gave me HalloweenTown vibes. In a strange way, because the setting is not really like Halloween Town but the concept of journeying into another magical world with a guide of sorts. Plus, while the atmosphere was totally spooky and had a… Read more »

Divider

Feb 08
{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Beauty That Remains by Ashley Woodfolk @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Beauty That Remains by Ashley Woodfolk @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

The Beauty That Remains is the debut young adult novel by Ashley Woodfolk. The Beauty That Remains is powerful book featuring wonderfully diverse characters. It is a realistic fiction piece about how people deal with loss differently, and also about how this new era of social media can shape the grieving process. I really enjoyed this novel. I found it to be so multi faceted, and so interestingly put together. I think this is a great book to recommend to reads of realistic contemporary fiction. Ashley Woodfolk is a wonderful new voice in young adult literature. The Beauty That Remains is told in three different point of views, following our three main characters- Autumn, Shay, and Logan. Each of our main characters has lost someone close to them. Autumn lost her best friend, Shay lost her twin sister and Logan lost his ex-boyfriend. There were a few things that I really loved about this novel. First, I loved the diversity in the cast of characters, and I loved how each of their journeys… Read more »

Divider

Feb 05
{Review+Giveaway} S.T.A.G.S. by @MABennettAuthor @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

{Review+Giveaway} S.T.A.G.S. by @MABennettAuthor @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

S.T.A.G.S. is a young adult mystery thriller by author M.A. Bennett. In case you didn’t know, S.T.A.G.S. stands for St. Aidan the Great School, is a book that is touted to be awesome for fans of The Secret History and Pretty Little Liars. I am a big fan of both of those books, so that coupled with the boarding school setting, I was pretty pumped for S.T.A.G.S. And S.T.A.G.S. delivered on what it promised, a twisty thriller. And though S.T.A.G.S. is set at a boarding school, a bulk of the novel took place at a country manor where this “hunting” weekend is set to take place. I loved the premise of S.T.A.G.S. I think that was my favorite aspect of the story.  And the writing and storyline were both excellent. They kept my attention the entire time and I loved the eerie feeling of the story. But the characters didn’t always live up to the plot in my opinion. I liked Greer well enough, but I didn’t completely love her. And I not entirely sure why…. Read more »

Divider

Nov 01
{Release Day Review+Giveaway} #Otherworld by @jasonsegel & @bankstirregular @DelacortePress

{Release Day Review+Giveaway} #Otherworld by @jasonsegel & @bankstirregular @DelacortePress

Otherworld is the first book in the young adult science fiction series of the same name by author duo Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller. I know they have teamed up to write the nightmare! series, but this is the first book I have read from them. I love the concept of Otherworld because virtual reality technology is developing at an astounding rate, so it is the perfect time to visit a crazy virtual reality world and see what kind of implications that might have. And Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller took that concept and blew it out of the freakin’ water. I am chomping at the bit for the second book! Otherworld is hands down, one of the best novels I have read all year. I loved it. There are so many layers to Otherworld. First, there is the new Otherworld headset technology that was released to a couple thousand test users, which was awesome by itself. You basically got to experience a whole world where you could do anything… Read more »

Divider

Aug 22
{Excerpt+Giveaway} REUNITED by @ColleenHouck @DelacortePress ‏

{Excerpt+Giveaway} REUNITED by @ColleenHouck @DelacortePress ‏

    Praise for REAWAKENED Series     “[A] must-read for thrill-seekers and fans of alternate worlds.”—RT Book Reviews “Rick Riordan fans who are looking for another series will delight in this fantasy.”—SLJ “Littered with Egyptian mythology and snappy dialogue, this romantic adventure is a good choice for graduates of Rick Riordan or fans of Houck’s Tiger’s Curse series.”—Booklist “Fans of paranormal romance will love the Egyptian spin on this story of devotion and sacrifice, and Lily’s humor, combined with plentiful dangerous escapades, will keep readers engaged.”—VOYA “The author weaves her story out of Egyptian lore, cinematic magic, selfless love, and . . . is clever enough to remain surprising even to the last sentence.”—Kirkus Reviews “Houck’s moving depiction of the love between Lily and Amon is memorable.”—Publishers Weekly “Wonderfully written and…the heart-pounding adventures are topped only by the heart-melting romance.”—The Deseret News “A sparkling new novel with a fully imagined world and mythos, and crackling romance! Egyptian mythology has never been this riveting!”—Aprilynne Pike, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Wings series, on Reawakened, book one in… Read more »

Divider

Dec 13
{Review} Dead Girls Society by @MichelleKrys @RandomHouseKids

{Review} Dead Girls Society by @MichelleKrys @RandomHouseKids

Dead Girls Society is a young adult mystery/thriller from Michelle Krys. I cannot say enough good things about this book. It gave me all the feels, suspicions, and creeps. It is not often that a ookey spooky story with a secret society can also surprise me with its’ twists, turns and big surprises. I love it when I can’t figure out a whodunnit in a book! It doesn’t happen too often, but I am always super excited when it does happen. And it happened in Dead Girls Society, which in and of itself is enough to make me love it. Dead Girl Society follows a group of girls at a high school. Each of the girls gets a letter inviting them to play a game of dares. The prize promises to be something each of the girls desperately needs. Right away, I loved this take on a secret society. It wasn’t the traditional boarding school setting and it wasn’t the tradition hazing process. It was a single elimination challenge. every… Read more »

Divider

Feb 02
{Release Day Review} Burning Midnight by @WillMcIntoshSF #randomhousereads

{Release Day Review} Burning Midnight by @WillMcIntoshSF #randomhousereads

Burning Midnight is a standalone young adult science fiction fantasy by Will McIntosh. And guess what? It features a male protagonist. Do you even know how excited I was to see a character like Sully? I loved him. And I loved Burning Midnight. Everything about this book made me excited to read it, and once I started, even more excited to keep reading. I loved that the world is much the same as the world as we know it. Burning Midnight takes place in present day New York City, and all the regular things like facebook, ebay, and flea markets exist. The one big difference is that little colored marbles (called orbs) are scattered throughout the world. They just showed up one day and no one knows where they came from. People soon discovered that if you found a pair of the same color orbs and you “burned” them, meaning you held them up to your temples, that you would absorb some sort of talent from the orbs. Each color,… Read more »

Divider

Jan 10
{Review} Suspicion by Alexandra Monir @TimelessAlex @randomhousekids

{Review} Suspicion by Alexandra Monir @TimelessAlex @randomhousekids

Suspicion by Alexandra Monir is a young adult Mystery thriller with a gothic flair. I absolutely loved the cover, and the idea of an old english manor and spooky maze drew me in instantly. The book is divided into three parts, and I really liked that. Each one of the parts had a different feel too it and they were good divisors for the story. I read this book in 3 days, with 1 part a day. It did take a while to actually get into the maze, over 200 pages into the book before our main character ventures inside it in fact. I have seen a lot of mixed reviews on this book. And the main critique for the people that didn’t like it, was that the book felt forced or that it tried to do too much. While I can see where they might be coming from, and I agree with them to a lesser extent, I didn’t feel like it took away from the story that much…. Read more »

Divider

Divider