Genre: Dystopian

Divider

Aug 27
{Review+Giveaway} Mind Games by Shana Silver

{Review+Giveaway} Mind Games by Shana Silver

Mind Games is a dystopian sci-fi thriller by author Shana Silver. I don’t read a ton of science fiction and I haven’t read a good dystopian in a long while, so I was pretty excited to dive into Mind Games. While I did figure out some aspects of the mystery, I still really enjoyed this novel. It is the first time I have seen swoon reads go in this direction, and I have to say I am really excited to see them branch out from contemporary romances. (though you know I do love a good contemporary romance. But sometimes it is fun to mix things up). Mind Games is a fun ride of a story that fans of sci-fi, dystopians and mysteries and thrillers will all enjoy. In Mind Games we meet our main character, Arden. Arden and her friends attend a school geared towards science and technology (STEM school) and with the skills that Arden learned at school she becomes a pretty great hacker. But she is no ordinary… Read more »

Divider

Jun 29
{Bookish News} Unlock Goodies from Impostors by Scott Westerfeld

{Bookish News} Unlock Goodies from Impostors by Scott Westerfeld

Are you a fan of Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies series? Then get excited because Four new UGLIES novels are on the way, starting with IMPOSTORS in September 2018. ————————– But today I have some even more exciting news! I have the trailer of Impostors to share with you as well as a way for you to unlock some exclusive goodies from Impostors! Sounds great, right? You can unlock an exclusive excerpt from IMPOSTORS, the new book in Scott Westerfeld’s world of Uglies! For every 25 retweets, I Read YA will reveal a page of the book up to 25 pages. You have until 12pm ET on Monday, July 2nd! All you have to do is retweet this tweet! RETWEET TO UNLOCK: https://twitter.com/ireadya/status/1012682111734697984 To pre-order: IndieBound/Amazon/Books-A-Million/Apple/Google Play For more info, go here: https://scottwesterfeld.com/blog/2018… ————————————-

Divider

Mar 16
{Review+Giveaway} Pacifica by Kristen Simmons @kris10writes @TorTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Pacifica by Kristen Simmons @kris10writes @TorTeen

Pacifica is a future dystopian novel by Kristen Simmons. I am kind of picky when it comes to dystopian novels, because like a lot of people, I read a TON of them several years back, and they all started to feel similar and I got burnt out on the storyline. But Pacifica sounded too good to pass up, and I am so glad that I didn’t pass it up because I loved this book! I loved it! it made me want to go binge read all of Kristen’s other books. (I already own them all, but I haven’t read them! #bookbloggerproblems) Pacifica is set in our world in the future, when pollution and climate change has taken a very noticeable toll on the inhabitability of the earth. The waters are filled with waste and completely polluted, and people are trying to flee to this elusive uptopian island, that is supposedly untouched by the pollution of the main lands. It was scary how easy it was for me to envision this world. But… Read more »

Divider

Aug 18
{Exclusive Guest Post+Giveaway} The #KeepofAges by @CaraghMOBrien

{Exclusive Guest Post+Giveaway} The #KeepofAges by @CaraghMOBrien

Welcome to Day #3 of the Keep of Ages Blog Tour! To celebrate the release of The Keep of Ages (Vault of Dreamers #3) by Caragh M. O’brien (8/29/17), blogs across the web are featuring exclusive content from Caragh and 10 chances to win a complete set of The Vault of Dreamers Trilogy!   I am super excited to have Caragh here today to talk to us about the Cover Art for The Vault of Dreamers series. I am OBSESSED with these books and these covers. They are some of my favorite for any trilogy. I love how well they match together, and I am super excited to learn more about them. My review of the third book is coming soon, but spoiler alert…I LOVED IT!!! ******** On the Cover Art for The Vault of Dreamers Series Naturally, I would love to take some credit for the striking covers of the Vault of Dreamers series, but the work was done entirely by Elizabeth H. Clark, the Art Director at Macmillan Children’s. Beth… Read more »

Divider

Sep 12
{Review} Seneca Rebel by Rayya Deeb

{Review} Seneca Rebel by Rayya Deeb

Seneca Rebel  is the first book in the young adult science fiction/dystopian series, called The Seneca Society, by Rayya Deeb. This is the first book I have read by Rayya, and I was really impressed with her strong writing. There is solid world building and a creative plot in Seneca Rebel. Plus, I was immediately drawn in by the beautiful cover. I love how clean the background of it looks, and the color and patterns over the top made it seem perfect for a dystopian novel. I love it. This book was a good read for me, but I think for bigger fans of the dystopian genre, this book will be a much bigger hit. Seneca Rebel takes place in a futuristic world. The other cool thing about Seneca Rebel is that it mixed dystopian science fiction with one of my favorite story elements- a secret society! The main character, Doro Campbell is invited to join The Seneca Society because she is awesomely brainy. I enjoyed the secret society element… Read more »

Divider

Sep 03
{Character Profile+Giveaway} The Ones by Daniel Sweren-Becker @MacTeenBooks

{Character Profile+Giveaway} The Ones by Daniel Sweren-Becker @MacTeenBooks

Today I have a character profile for James Linvingston from The Ones by Daniel Sweren-Becker, and then I have a giveaway for a finished copy of the book! To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win a finished copy of the Ones (US only) Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Aug 26
{Review} Captive by @Aimee_Carter @HarlequinTEEN

{Review} Captive by @Aimee_Carter @HarlequinTEEN

Note: Captive is the Sequel to Pawn, which must be read first to fully understand and enjoy Captive. You can check out my review of Pawn HERE When I read Pawn a few years ago, I told you I was a little burnt out on dystopian. And that was at a time where Dystopian novels were at their peak. They seemed to be everywhere! And they all kind of started to look the same to me. And I got kind of bored of reading the same formula over and over again. But I really enjoyed Pawn. It didn’t seem to be just like all the other dystopians out there, and it was really well executed. I loved the world building that she had in Pawn. There are plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing and the world is awful and disgusting enough to have you completely invested in the series. But after I finished reading Pawn, there was such a long wait until Captive came out, and I… Read more »

Divider

Aug 09
{Discussion+Giveaway} #TheReader by @TraciChee @PenguinTeen

{Discussion+Giveaway} #TheReader by @TraciChee @PenguinTeen

Discussion: What Does Reading Mean to You? The Reader explores a world without reading. What would it mean to you to live in a world without books? Oh my gosh! A world without books sounds terrifying to me. Seriously, it sounds like the start of a horror novel (or film). Reading means everything to me. Reading is my career (there is so, so much reading in the legal profession), my hobby, my love and my joy. I would be lost without books. A world without books is a world that I want no part of. It would be my version of H-E-double hockey sticks. Books offer an escape for me. They can cheer me up when I am looking for a smile. Make me feel all kinds of warm fuzzies. Give me a good cry when I need one. And most importantly, they can transport me to a different world within their pages. I get to become best friends (or heated enemies) with the characters, and I get to explore… Read more »

Divider

Apr 20
{Review+Giveaway} Anomalies by @sadieturnerla & @colettefreedman

{Review+Giveaway} Anomalies by @sadieturnerla & @colettefreedman

Anomalies is the first book in the young adult dystopian/ Sci fi series by Sadie Turner & Colette Freedman. While it felt like a lot of other dystopians to me, I ended up enjoying Anomalies because it was a good story. I think it would be perfect for fans of Divergent and Matched. (other people have also been comparing it to Delirium, but I haven’t read that series yet- I know! Shame on me!- so I can’t speak to that.)I love the concept and cover of Anomalies. I think it is perfectly fitting for the story. Sadie Turner and Colette Freedman created a solid world that I want to travel back to for the next installment. I enjoyed this book a lot. Dystopians are such a hit or miss for me. The idea of them sounds awesome, and the summary of Anomalies sounds like such a freakin’ cool story, and it was, but my issue is not an issue with the writing or with this book in general, it is a bigger issue… Read more »

Divider

Mar 12
{Review+Giveaway} The #RuleofMirrors by @CaraghMOBrien

{Review+Giveaway} The #RuleofMirrors by @CaraghMOBrien

**I have tried really hard, but it is unavoidable. This review will have spoilers of book 1. Do not read unless you have read book 1 of this series** I LOVED The Vault of Dreamers (you can check out my review of book 1 HERE) when I read it last year, and I have been anxiously awaiting the release of book 2- The Rule of Mirrors. And you know how sometimes you love the first book in a series so much, and you are so excited for the second book that you start out with such high expectations, and sometimes the book falls a little flat? That is always the most disappointing thing for me, because I want to love it so bad! Well, that was not the case with Rule of Mirrors at all. I loved this book every bit as much as the first one, and I went into with a very high level of excitement and expectation. The first book left off at a pretty critical cliffhanger…. Read more »

Divider