Genre: Dating & Sex

Divider

Jun 15
{ARC Review} After Hours by Claire Kennedy @simonteen #pulseit

{ARC Review} After Hours by Claire Kennedy @simonteen #pulseit

After Hours is a salacious book that is as fun as it is crazy. And trust me, it is very crazy. It kind of reminded me of Gossip Girl mixed with The Bling Ring- that movie based on a true story of the teenage girls that broke into celebrity houses in California. And I don’t mean in the sense that After Hours was about rich kids on the upper east side or that they broke into celebrity houses, I just mean that the teens had the same totally insane jaded, I am going to do things that normal teenagers wouldn’t even dream of at my age. Or maybe more kids do these things than I thought. What do I know? (I just know, that I didn’t know anyone doing some of this stuff when I was Isa, Xavi, Peter, and Finn’s age.) After Hours takes place at a nice restuarant during summer. But afterhours in the restaurant is when things really heat up. The waiters, and boss, play this game called… Read more »

Divider

Sep 14
{Review+Giveaway} The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan @Kris10Callihan

{Review+Giveaway} The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan @Kris10Callihan

The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan was such a pleasant surprise for me. I got this book sent to me for review consideration, without anyone submitting a review request. Normally, I don’t do too many of those (except from major publishing houses). I like to vet all of my review books to try and be as sure as possible that I will enjoy the book. They normally go to the bottom of my TBR and end up getting buried. But this one caught my eye, and I put it in my normal review rotation. And boy am I glad did. The Hook Up was a great new adult contemporary romance. While the outcome was predictable, the road that this guy and gal took to get together was anything but. There were tons of bumps and roadblocks thrown at them, and not all of them predictable in the least. I found myself reading on just to see what was going to happen with them next. Drew is the quarter back for… Read more »

Divider

Aug 31
{Review+Giveaway} Throttle Me by Chelle Bliss @ChelleBliss1

{Review+Giveaway} Throttle Me by Chelle Bliss @ChelleBliss1

Throttle Me is the first book in the Men of Inked Series. I will also be reviewing the rest of the books in the coming weeks on my blog. Throttle Me is the first book in the Men of Inked Series. It has been classified by some people as new adult, but I think this is squarely in the adult contemporary romance category. It is the story of Suzy and City, or Joey as I prefer to think of him. Throttle Me is just as much a story about how Joey finds love, as it is a story about how Suzy finally lets go of herself and all of her preconceived notions of what the “right” guy will be like for her. City is the opposite of what she thought she would find in a guy, but I loved how persistent he was in showing her she was wrong about him. City looks every bit the role of the “bad boy”. He is tatted up, and has multiple piercings. Rides… Read more »

Divider

Aug 13
{Review} My Soon-To-Be Sex Life by @JudithTewes

{Review} My Soon-To-Be Sex Life by @JudithTewes

My Soon-To-Be Sex life was flippin’ hilarious! I was totally digging Judith’s writing style. It is not always easy to make writing funny look so natural. And that is how this book felt- naturally fun and funny. I would recommend this book to all lovers of young adult. I know I recently reviewed a book called Virgin and it too was focused on losing virginity, but this book was completely different. This one is appropriate for older teens, and the character is very age appropriate. There are also many, many other things going on in the story line than just her soon-to-be sex life. Charlie wants to be a screenwriter, so peppered throughout the book are outtakes from her past experiences with guys. It was beyond funny and adorable. I loved how Judith Tewes incorporated those into the story. But there is also so much heart in Charlie. And depth in this story. Through the story line with Charlie’s mom and especially with her grandfather. A few times the scenes… Read more »

Divider

Jul 24
{Review+Giveaway} The Best Laid Plans by Tamara Mataya @FeakySnucker

{Review+Giveaway} The Best Laid Plans by Tamara Mataya @FeakySnucker

The Best Laid Plans is one of those books where you start out liking it, and then you see something about one of the characters and you think “oh, I don’t know about that…” and it makes you nervous about how it will affect your view of the book, but then you keep reading and the book just keeps getting better and better and you are super excited that you finished it. The Best Laid Plans was so good overall. I ended up loving Malcolm and Jayne, and their story was satisfying and their character growth was so impressive. But at more than one point, I saw myself thinking that it was all going to blow up in their faces and I just didn’t know if I could watch it happen. Does that sound weird? Well, you are just going to have to read it to see what I mean. Jayne and Malcolm are so similar in so many ways. Their high school stories shaped so much of the people… Read more »

Divider

Jul 14
{Review+Giveaway} Stupid Girl by Cindy Miles @cindymilesbooks

{Review+Giveaway} Stupid Girl by Cindy Miles @cindymilesbooks

I loved Stupid Girl so much. This book made me feel all the feelings. I stayed up until 4 am reading Stupid Girl and I don’t regret one second of it. This book will make you smile, it will make you root for Olivia and Brax, it will make you want to hit Brax, it will make you cry. Stupid Girl is one of the best books that I have read in a while. It is told mainly from Olivia’s point of views, with just a couple of chapters scattered in there from Brax. I liked this technique because it made it mainly Olivia’s story, but I love Brax so much so I was longing from his point of view when his chapters were far and few in between. Mostly because he is just so mysterious, I had to know where he stood. The story starts a year in the past, with a traumatic event in Olivia’s life. Immediately after, we fast forward to present day, when Olivia is about… Read more »

Divider

Jun 27
{Review} The Accidental Socialite by Stephanie Wahlstrom

{Review} The Accidental Socialite by Stephanie Wahlstrom

The Accidental Socialite is one heck of a hilariously funny ride. You won’t believe all of the crazy things one girl manages to get herself into. Paige packs up and moves to London after she graduated from university. Armed with a degree, very little cash and a couple of suitcases she goes to make something of herself. And what she gets is one thing after another. She goes on an adventure all ride, but it not the one that she thought she would. She is a hoot, and The Accidental Socialite will have you laughing out loud more times than you can count. It was a lot like reality TV for me, you can’t turn away. There were a few parts of the book where I felt like the storyline was dragging, and not really progressing anywhere. That was a bit tiring, but I still felt this need to find out what was going to happen to Paige next. Paige is a Canadian, and she is so clueless about pretty… Read more »

Divider

Jun 08
{Review} One Lucky Night -Contemporary Romance Anthology

{Review} One Lucky Night -Contemporary Romance Anthology

I love when anthologies all revolve around interlocking characters or some central theme. For this contemporary romance anthology, all 5 of the stories take place in the same night at the same Irish Pub in Boston. There is this mysterious old man that shows up in each story and the characters interlock with each other in some way. One story is about the cook of the Irish Pub, one is about a waitress and a singer that they have performing regularly for them, two are about brothers from the family that own the pub, and two have regular customers in them. It was really nice to see bits and pieces from the other stories as you were reading each of the new ones. As I got to some of the later stories, I was looking out for the scenes where the earlier stories took place. It was fun. One lucky night is a great book for when you are looking for a quick and happy pick me up. I started… Read more »

Divider

May 29
{Review+Giveaway} Take Two by Laurelin Paige

{Review+Giveaway} Take Two by Laurelin Paige

Take Two is the story of Micah and Maddie. They randomly meet at a party when Maddie is graduating from film school and what a chance meeting it was! Let’s just say they get friendlier than I have ever gotten with someone I have just met. But then Maddie needs to take care of her drunk friend, Bree and they each go their separate ways. Fast forward 7 years and Micah is a big time movie hearttrob and Maddie is still trying to make it big as a director. I like the premise of the book, I loved Maddie and Micah (most of the time for Micah) and I can’t even tell you how much I loved the chemistry and passion between the two of them. The cover is not my favorite but I do really like the bar with the lettering of the title. It goes well with the acting theme of the book. Take Two is very character driven, which is what I prefer. Maddie is a great… Read more »

Divider

May 28
{Review} A Risk Worth Taking by Heather Hildenbrand

{Review} A Risk Worth Taking by Heather Hildenbrand

A Risk Worth Taking is perfect for fans of Abbi Glines. It reminded me of While it Lasts from her Sea Breeze series, and if you remember my review from that book you will know that Gage is pretty much my favorite guy ever. I am a HUGE fan of Heather’s Paranormal Romance- the Dirty Blood series. They are my favorite werewolf/shifter books of all time, so I knew I had to read her New Adult contemporary, A Risk Worth Taking. And boy oh boy was I glad that I did. I heart-ed the heck out of this book!Summer and Ford have awesome chemistry. They each have issues of their own that are holding them back from fully committing to each other. Summer’s arise more at the start of the book and then somewhere along the line it shifts and Ford’s becomes the one waging an inner struggle. Their story is told in dual narrative shifting between their Point of views. A personal favorite of mine for romances.  I don’t… Read more »

Divider