Tag: dystopian

Aug 31
{Review+Giveaway} THE BOOK OF M by @PengShepherd

{Review+Giveaway} THE BOOK OF M by @PengShepherd

  The Book of M is a dystopian whirlwind adventure by author Pen g Shepherd. The Book of M was a really unique story. I hate using the word “unique” but I truly feel that is the best way to describe this book. It was also completely engaging, and it kept my interest from the first page until the last. Set in a world where people start losing their shadows for some unknown reason. Once their shadow disappears their memories begin to leave them as well, which is completely terrifying.  (that aspect of the story kind of reminded me of the end of Avengers infinity war when If you like thriller mysteries, then you have to grab The Book of M, because this book will keep you guessing until the end. I think The Book of M would make a fantastic movie plot. I don’t want to get into too many of the plot specifics because this is a story that really builds on itself, and revealing any particular detail can… Read more »

Divider

Sep 12
{Review} Seneca Rebel by Rayya Deeb

{Review} Seneca Rebel by Rayya Deeb

Seneca Rebel  is the first book in the young adult science fiction/dystopian series, called The Seneca Society, by Rayya Deeb. This is the first book I have read by Rayya, and I was really impressed with her strong writing. There is solid world building and a creative plot in Seneca Rebel. Plus, I was immediately drawn in by the beautiful cover. I love how clean the background of it looks, and the color and patterns over the top made it seem perfect for a dystopian novel. I love it. This book was a good read for me, but I think for bigger fans of the dystopian genre, this book will be a much bigger hit. Seneca Rebel takes place in a futuristic world. The other cool thing about Seneca Rebel is that it mixed dystopian science fiction with one of my favorite story elements- a secret society! The main character, Doro Campbell is invited to join The Seneca Society because she is awesomely brainy. I enjoyed the secret society element… Read more »

Divider

Sep 03
{Character Profile+Giveaway} The Ones by Daniel Sweren-Becker @MacTeenBooks

{Character Profile+Giveaway} The Ones by Daniel Sweren-Becker @MacTeenBooks

Today I have a character profile for James Linvingston from The Ones by Daniel Sweren-Becker, and then I have a giveaway for a finished copy of the book! To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win a finished copy of the Ones (US only) Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Aug 26
{Review} Captive by @Aimee_Carter @HarlequinTEEN

{Review} Captive by @Aimee_Carter @HarlequinTEEN

Note: Captive is the Sequel to Pawn, which must be read first to fully understand and enjoy Captive. You can check out my review of Pawn HERE When I read Pawn a few years ago, I told you I was a little burnt out on dystopian. And that was at a time where Dystopian novels were at their peak. They seemed to be everywhere! And they all kind of started to look the same to me. And I got kind of bored of reading the same formula over and over again. But I really enjoyed Pawn. It didn’t seem to be just like all the other dystopians out there, and it was really well executed. I loved the world building that she had in Pawn. There are plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing and the world is awful and disgusting enough to have you completely invested in the series. But after I finished reading Pawn, there was such a long wait until Captive came out, and I… Read more »

Divider

Apr 20
{Review+Giveaway} Anomalies by @sadieturnerla & @colettefreedman

{Review+Giveaway} Anomalies by @sadieturnerla & @colettefreedman

Anomalies is the first book in the young adult dystopian/ Sci fi series by Sadie Turner & Colette Freedman. While it felt like a lot of other dystopians to me, I ended up enjoying Anomalies because it was a good story. I think it would be perfect for fans of Divergent and Matched. (other people have also been comparing it to Delirium, but I haven’t read that series yet- I know! Shame on me!- so I can’t speak to that.)I love the concept and cover of Anomalies. I think it is perfectly fitting for the story. Sadie Turner and Colette Freedman created a solid world that I want to travel back to for the next installment. I enjoyed this book a lot. Dystopians are such a hit or miss for me. The idea of them sounds awesome, and the summary of Anomalies sounds like such a freakin’ cool story, and it was, but my issue is not an issue with the writing or with this book in general, it is a bigger issue… Read more »

Divider

Feb 20
{Guest Post+Giveaway} The #RuleofMirrors by @CaraghMOBrien

{Guest Post+Giveaway} The #RuleofMirrors by @CaraghMOBrien

I LOVED The Vault of Dreamers (you can check out my review of book 1 HERE) when I read it last year, and I have been anxiously awaiting the release of book 2- The Rule of Mirrors. My review of book 2 is coming up soon, but today I have author Caragh O’Brien here for a guest post! ——————————– On Cliffhangers and Why We Love Them by Caragh M. O’Brien Our trusty character stumbles through the dark, stormy night, blinded by rain and struggling against the wind. Her cape whips about her but she presses on, desperate to escape the evil forces that chase behind her. All of the sudden, she loses her step and stumbles. She skids, flails, and barely catches herself on a ledge of rock. She’s clinging by her fingernails and scrambling for footing when a wild flash of lightning reveals a deep chasm beneath her. She screams in terror! She’s hanging on a cliff, suspended over a void of certain doom! At this point, the author… Read more »

Divider

Dec 02
{Review+Giveaway} The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey @RickYancey

{Review+Giveaway} The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey @RickYancey

How do you talk about a book that just shattered all of your expectations in the most unexpected ways? I feel like quoting big brother while reviewing The 5th Wave, saying “expect the unexpected”. This book felt totally new to me and, I think that was what I loved most about it. I decided to pick up this series because a lot of exciting things are happening surrounding it this year. The first book is being made into a movie, which releases in January and the final book, The Last Star, is coming out on May 24, 2016 so I thought now was the perfect time to finally read the trilogy. And I have to say, I can’t wait for the movie! The 5th Wave is the first book in a young adult dystopian trilogy by Rick Yancey. It tells the crazy story of 5 waves that hit the earth, each one more terrifying and different than the last. I’ll tell you snippets of each of the first four waves,… Read more »

Divider

May 07
{Review} Resignation by Amanda Thome @worldsaparttril

{Review} Resignation by Amanda Thome @worldsaparttril

Resignation is the second installment in the young adult dystopian series, called Worlds Apart. It has been compared to Divergent and The Hunger Games, and I think that while there may be some parallels, there was enough difference in the plot that the author made this book her own. The first book took a while a to build up on the world building, but by the end of the story I had a good picture of this unique world. As you will recall, the world is set up with an outer sector, which is the poorest, an inner sector, and central, which is like the capitol. So I was in a pretty good place to start reading the second book. The last book left off at a very action packed place, so I expected to be dropped right into the action in Resignation, but the author kind of eased us into it. This is a series that you must read in order, and I would suggest reading books 1 and… Read more »

Divider

Apr 04
{ARC Review} Awakening by Shannon Duffy @EntangledTeen @ShannonDuffyLit

{ARC Review} Awakening by Shannon Duffy @EntangledTeen @ShannonDuffyLit

I loved Awakening. It’s a young adult dystopian. I don’t read too many dystopians anymore, and I am pretty picky when it comes to choosing which ones to read. I heard that Darian was going to be a swoon worthy guy, and I liked the technology aspect of Awakening, so I decided to give it a try. And I am very glad that I did. This was a dystopian that worked really well for me. I loved the romance in it and I thought the world was very well done. The idea of the dreamscape seemed half invasive and scary but a pretty big part of me wanted to try it out, especially since you get to see who your mate was revealed in the dreams. I thought that was a really cool idea, and for the most part people seemed to love it and the relationships seemed genuine and good fits for so much of the society. And then there is the terrorscape, which seemed just as terrifying as… Read more »

Divider

Mar 16
{Interview+Quiz+Giveaway} Numbers Game by @RebeccaRode

{Interview+Quiz+Giveaway} Numbers Game by @RebeccaRode

Check out this cool Numbers Game Quiz Here: https://www.playbuzz.com/authorrebeccarode10/what-is-your-numbers-game-rating%EF%BB%BF Q: Will you tell us about Numbers Game? A: Absolutely! In the New Order Republic of America, 16-year-olds are given a Rating, a number that encompasses what they’re worth to society. It determines their career, living conditions, and potential partners. This is the story of Treena, who gets a different Rating than the one she earned. She decides to fight for what is rightfully hers, determined to get her boyfriend back in the process. Meanwhile, she meets Vance, a mysterious prisoner-turned-soldier who has his own agenda. When someone tries to kill Treena—twice—they uncover a dark conspiracy that risks much more than Treena’s Rating. Q: Great. You probably get this question a lot, but the concept is so unique that I have to ask—where did you get the idea for Numbers Game? A: I love this question! My husband sent me to the bank to finalize the loan on the truck he was buying. I looked at my credit score and thought… Read more »

Divider