Source: ecopy from Publisher

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

Nocturne is the first book in the fourth talisman series by Kat Ross. I really love Kat Ross’ books. There should be a big ole disclaimer on this review though. Although Nocturne is the first book in a series, it is really a follow up series to Kat Ross’ Fourth Element trilogy. Though you might be able to read this series without having read The Fourth Element trilogy, I am not sure that I would recommend it. There are some spoilers for events that happen in the previous series. I think these books are best read in order. Plus, The fourth Element series is a really awesome fantasy series that is perfect for fans of The City of Brass. And even better, the whole trilogy happens to be on sale right now for only 99 cents!  Nocturne follows Nazafareen after the events of Queen of Chaos leaves off. I can’t really get into much about those events without spoiling the previous trilogy, so let’s keep it vague. Nazafareen is now in the foreign… Read more »

Divider

Dec 04
{Re-Read Review+Kindle Fire Giveaway} The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Re-Read Review+Kindle Fire Giveaway} The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

To celebrate the release of the Fourth Element trilogy boxed set, Kat Ross has stopped by Book Briefs with an awesome giveaway and sale! Right now, you can get the entire trilogy for only 99 cents! I am celebrating with a re-read of the first book, so I can jump in and read books two and three shortly thereafter. Re-Read note: I liked this book even more the second time. I am glad that I took the time to read the first book again, because it helped get me familiar with the characters and the world. Even though, I knew what the surprises and plot twists would be, I still really enjoyed the story. Even more than the first time, which is a sign of excellent things to come in the series. Nazafareen feels like an old friend by now, and I can’t wait to jump into the second book. Here are my original thoughts on The Midnight Sea.  The Midnight Sea is the first in the young adult fantasy… Read more »

Divider

Apr 17
{Review+Giveaway} Royce Rolls by Margaret Stohl @MStohl @DisneyHyperion ‏

{Review+Giveaway} Royce Rolls by Margaret Stohl @MStohl @DisneyHyperion ‏

Royce Rolls is a young adult humorous contemporary by Margaret Stohl. I loved this book. I found it to be hilarious. It is no secret that I am a HUGE reality tv show junkie. I watch all of it…the good, the bad and the plain old trashy. I love it. And I loved Royce Rolls because it took all of the aspects of reality tv…from the filming and production, to the impact that being a reality tv “star” has on your life, to all of the absurd moments. It all worked for me. This book is pure guilty pleasure fun. Now, I will admit that if you find the whole idea of reality tv awful, and you can’t stand to even think about it…this is probably not going to be the book for you. You might find it superficial and gratuitous, and unnecessarily dramatic…which it is. But to be fair, those are some of the things I love most about reality tv. I found Royce Rolls to be a great… Read more »

Divider

Apr 04
{Review} So Twisted by Melissa Marino @MelissaWrites2 @ForeverRomance

{Review} So Twisted by Melissa Marino @MelissaWrites2 @ForeverRomance

So Twisted is the first book in the bad behavior series by author Melissa Marino. The Bad Behavior series is a series of standalone contemporary romances that straddle the line between new adult and adult. I would still put them in the new adult category because the main character for So Twisted was in her twenties. But I can easily see this appealing to fans of both new adult and adult contemporary romances. So Twisted is a feel good romance and is a very quick read. It had its’ fair share of funny moments too. (And some moments that made me beyond embarrassed.) Overall, I really enjoyed this one, and I can’t wait to read books 2 and 3 of the series, both of which are already out. Binge readathon, anyone?? So Twisted is told in dual narrative between the two main characters, Callie and Aaron. Aaron is a single dad and Callie is the new live in nanny. While the overall story line is rather predictable (we all know… Read more »

Divider

Dec 22
{Excerpt+Mini Review+Giveaway} WRECKING BALL by P. Dangelico

{Excerpt+Mini Review+Giveaway} WRECKING BALL by P. Dangelico

Today is the release day of WRECKING BALL by P. Dangelico! Check out this fantastic new romance, and grab it before the price goes up!! check out the exclusive excerpt, read my review and be sure to enter the giveaway at the bottom of the post! WRECKING BALL by P. Dangelico Adult contemporary romance Published January 19th 2017 About Wrecking Ball: Cam DeSantis’ life is a hot, steaming pile. How else would you describe losing your husband, your job, and your money all at once? Desperate times call for desperate measures, so when salvation comes in the form of one intolerable a-hole, who just happens to be the starting quarterback for the vaunted NY Titans, she has no choice but to accept his offer as a live-in nanny slash teacher for his eight year old nephew. Now all she has to do is find a safe place in her mind to hide whenever she feels the need to throat punch him into tomorrow…which is often.   Calvin Shaw has zero… Read more »

Divider

Oct 16
{Review} RENEGADE DRAGON by Lolita Lopez

{Review} RENEGADE DRAGON by Lolita Lopez

Renegade Dragon is the fourth book in the Dragon Heat series by Lolita Lopez. The Dragon Heat series is an adult paranormal romance series. This was the first book I have read from this series, and I think that might have been a mistake. I wasn’t lost of anything, and I do believe that each of the books can be read as a standalone, however; I think I would have enjoyed the story more if I was not new to the world. I liked the idea of Nike protecting a special apple tree, but again I am not sure if this is a new addition to the series or if this tree and the apples played a role in previous stories. It seemed to be very very important but I couldn’t tell what the background was. I really liked Niko, even though he was a little overbearing at time. Act first explain later, which would have really gotten on my nerves. Nike and Eris are sucked into a very quickly… Read more »

Divider

Oct 10
{Review} Legendary by L.H. Nicole @LHNicoleauthor @OmnificPub

{Review} Legendary by L.H. Nicole @LHNicoleauthor @OmnificPub

Legendary is the first book in the young adult fantasy, the Legendary Saga by author L.H. Nicole. The Legendary Saga is a tale about King Aurther. I love Arthurian stories, so I knew this one would be right up my alley. I think this series will be perfect for fans of the tv show Merlin. That was the kind of King Arthur tale I was getting while reading Legendary. Legendary is a quest story. It starts out in the time of King Arthur and we watch the faerie queen put a spell on him to put him to sleep until the destined one can come and awaken him. Then we flash forward a couple hundred years when the destined one stumbles her way into Avalon. Then it becomes her quest to get Arthur’s helpers to get Arther. I love a quest story. For a while I felt like this was just going to be a solo mission, with  Aliana venturing out on her own the whole time. But she is… Read more »

Divider

Sep 15
{Review} Gone too Far by Natalie Richards @NatDRichards @SourcebooksFire

{Review} Gone too Far by Natalie Richards @NatDRichards @SourcebooksFire

Gone Too Far is a young adult standalone thriller/suspense mystery by Natalie Richards. I have not read any books by Natalie yet, but I have heard some really great things about her first book, Six Months Later. What I liked the most about Gone too Far was that it was a true high school mystery. Most of the book takes place actually inside the school, and the person solving the mystery is a high school senior. Gone Too Far is a good read. While I did figure some aspects of the plot out, others remained a mystery to me until they were revealed, which I enjoyed. I was a little undecided on the character of Piper. On one hand, I loved that she wants to be a photojournalist because I think it fit in perfectly with the kind of mystery going on in the story, and she does mature as a character throughout the book. But, on the other hand, she seemed  a little judge-y and a little immature at… Read more »

Divider

Sep 12
{Review} Seneca Rebel by Rayya Deeb

{Review} Seneca Rebel by Rayya Deeb

Seneca Rebel  is the first book in the young adult science fiction/dystopian series, called The Seneca Society, by Rayya Deeb. This is the first book I have read by Rayya, and I was really impressed with her strong writing. There is solid world building and a creative plot in Seneca Rebel. Plus, I was immediately drawn in by the beautiful cover. I love how clean the background of it looks, and the color and patterns over the top made it seem perfect for a dystopian novel. I love it. This book was a good read for me, but I think for bigger fans of the dystopian genre, this book will be a much bigger hit. Seneca Rebel takes place in a futuristic world. The other cool thing about Seneca Rebel is that it mixed dystopian science fiction with one of my favorite story elements- a secret society! The main character, Doro Campbell is invited to join The Seneca Society because she is awesomely brainy. I enjoyed the secret society element… Read more »

Divider

Aug 26
{Review} Captive by @Aimee_Carter @HarlequinTEEN

{Review} Captive by @Aimee_Carter @HarlequinTEEN

Note: Captive is the Sequel to Pawn, which must be read first to fully understand and enjoy Captive. You can check out my review of Pawn HERE When I read Pawn a few years ago, I told you I was a little burnt out on dystopian. And that was at a time where Dystopian novels were at their peak. They seemed to be everywhere! And they all kind of started to look the same to me. And I got kind of bored of reading the same formula over and over again. But I really enjoyed Pawn. It didn’t seem to be just like all the other dystopians out there, and it was really well executed. I loved the world building that she had in Pawn. There are plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing and the world is awful and disgusting enough to have you completely invested in the series. But after I finished reading Pawn, there was such a long wait until Captive came out, and I… Read more »

Divider