{Book Review} Touching Evil by Amber Garr

November 21, 2012 Reviews 2

Welcome to my stop on the Touching Evil blog tour. 
Touching Evil is an adult urban fantasy but there was nothing in the book that would make it inappropriate for readers of Mature YA and New Adult. 
326 pages
Published: November 5, 2012 
Age Group: Adult Urban Fantasy
Series: Leila Marx #1
Buy this Book: Amazon
Summary: 

Leila Marx is trying to put her life back together after her fiancé is murdered. Her book illustrating career has limited her social contact and nightmares have trapped her in the past. When a police acquaintance enlists her help with a difficult case, Leila is surprisingly thankful to have a purpose. Not only will this help to keep her mind focused, but she will be able to use her talents as a touch clairvoyant that are frequently dismissed by skeptics. Leila and Detective Garrick Pearson delve into the mystery behind a series of missing teenage girls and mummified corpses while fighting their own growing attraction to each other.
 Conner Hoffman is an intriguing lawyer and striking half-demon who enters Leila’s life unexpectedly. Although her visions are terrifying, she is fascinated by his charm and his legacy. When it becomes evident that the murders are linked to a paranormal event, Conner introduces Leila to a world unbeknownst to ordinary society. She suddenly finds herself immersed in supernatural politics, sorcery, and danger as she becomes the killer’s next target. Staying alive will mean relying on friends, accepting the unbelievable, and trusting in her heart again.

A murder mystery, a cambion and a gang of other paranormals. Sign me up. RIGHT AWAY! I loved the mixture of creatures present in Touching Evil. It was such a cool little group, I wanted to join in. I don’t know what I liked more- getting to know the different characters in the scooby gang or trying to figure out the mystery. Either way, I am totally hooked on Touching Evil and I think Leila Marx may be my favorite new Urban Fantasy. 
Leila is such an easy character to fall in love with. She has such a tough past, but she doesn’t complain, she doesn’t get all poor me over and over again. She has her sad moments (because HELLO she is human after all) but she has such admirable strength. I do wish I saw a little bit more development between her and Conner, but that is just me being curious about his cambion side. It seems like we saw the anger aspect to being half demon. Conner seemed to almost relish in torture and crime, but we didn’t see too much of the more seductive, or should I say fun aspects of his cambion nature. I hope that is explored more in the next book. But I do know that what I saw of him I really liked. I just wish I got a little more insight from him. I feel like we got to know Garrick a little more, but maybe that is because he is an easier person to explain. 
The rest of the gang of characters were cool, but they played a more secondary role so they didn’t have nearly as much dialogue. They were still pretty well fleshed out though, which made them nice additions to the story. My favorite is King. I love the little protective streak he had towards Leila. It was too cute. 
I really like the cover of the book and I think it fits the story so well. There is this darkness surrounding Leila a lot of the time. I really want her to be happy because she seems to be the center of a lot of very intense situations. I just want her to be able to smile once in a while. He sense of touch was delved into multiple times in the story but I want to explore Leila’s reactions to it and see more of what she goes through in the next book. I am totally fascinated by everything in Touching Evil and I want more.
4/5 gavels

About the Author:
Amber Garr spends her days conducting scientific experiments and wondering if her next door neighbor is secretly a vampire.  Born in Pennsylvania, she lives in Florida with her husband and their furry kids.  Her childhood imaginary friend was a witch, Halloween is sacred, and she is certain that she has a supernatural sense of smell.  She writes both adult and young adult urban fantasies and when not obsessing over the unknown, she can be found dancing, reading, or enjoying a good movie.

If you enjoyed this post, please Subscribe to Book Briefs in a reader

Michelle @ Book Briefs

2 Responses to “{Book Review} Touching Evil by Amber Garr”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.