Tag: ya

Mar 28
{Review+Giveaway} Obsidio by @AmieKaufman & Jay Kristoff @misterkristoff

{Review+Giveaway} Obsidio by @AmieKaufman & Jay Kristoff @misterkristoff

Obsidio is the final book in the young adult series, The Illuminae Files by author duo Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff. Let’s start out by saying I LOVED OBDISIO! It was a crazy, crazy ride and I cannot stop thinking about this book, about the characters and about this series. If you have read obsidio, you know what I mean. If you have not, what are you waiting for?? Because I know so many people dearly love this series, I am going to do something a little different. This review is not for the many, many fans of the series. No, this review is for the people who are reluctant to read the series because Science Fiction is not their thing, or because of the hype or because of any number of other reasons. I used to be one of you. But now that I have read the first two books twice and binge read the entire series for the Obsidio release, I have to convert you to become as… Read more »

Divider

Mar 14
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Lost Crow Conspiracy by @RosalynEves @KnopfBFYR ‏@TheNovl

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Lost Crow Conspiracy by @RosalynEves @KnopfBFYR ‏@TheNovl

Note: this is the second book in a series that must be read in order. Though I will keep spoilers to a minimum there may be spoilers for the first book in the series.  If you are new to the series, you can check out my review of book one- Blood Rose Rebellion, HERE Lost Crow Conspiracy is the second book in the young adult fantasy series, called Blood Rose Rebellion. It is also author Rosalyn Eves debut series which really impressed me. The first book, Blood Rose Rebellion was an excellent read for me, and I can’t wait to journey back into this crazy world. The first book ended on a great note, with Anna breaking the binding with her breaking magic and releasing magic to the masses. Initially it seems like a fantastic idea, but this is only the start of the second book, where we get to delve deeply into the class struggles and political drama that have really heightened in the world that Rosalyn Eves has… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

Nocturne is the first book in the fourth talisman series by Kat Ross. I really love Kat Ross’ books. There should be a big ole disclaimer on this review though. Although Nocturne is the first book in a series, it is really a follow up series to Kat Ross’ Fourth Element trilogy. Though you might be able to read this series without having read The Fourth Element trilogy, I am not sure that I would recommend it. There are some spoilers for events that happen in the previous series. I think these books are best read in order. Plus, The fourth Element series is a really awesome fantasy series that is perfect for fans of The City of Brass. And even better, the whole trilogy happens to be on sale right now for only 99 cents!  Nocturne follows Nazafareen after the events of Queen of Chaos leaves off. I can’t really get into much about those events without spoiling the previous trilogy, so let’s keep it vague. Nazafareen is now in the foreign… Read more »

Divider

Feb 01
{Guest Post+Giveaway} War World by Rod C. Spence

{Guest Post+Giveaway} War World by Rod C. Spence

Today I am really excited to have Rod C. Spence, the author of War World (which comes out on Feb 5th) He is here to share 10 things we didn’t know about him, and he has an awesome giveaway down below so be sure to enter that!  10 things you didn’t know about author Rod C. Spence I had four wisdom teeth removed when I was high school junior and I looked like a green chipmunk with lockjaw. I spent two weeks recovering and it was during this period I read The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings – what I else was I going to do? It gave me a love for fantasy. I just recently devoured Ready Player One for the second time on audiobook. Most of the plotting of the novel was like a journey down memory lane for me! Zork, Planetfall and other text-based games were all we had back in the 80’s and players like me dreamed of the future and the lifelike games that… Read more »

Divider

Jan 18
{Review} The Valiant by Lesley Livingston @LesLivingston @PenguinTeen

{Review} The Valiant by Lesley Livingston @LesLivingston @PenguinTeen

The Valiant is a young adult novel about a female gladiator. I was pretty much in from the very moment I saw the cover. And then I read the summary and I was really in! And then I saw the piles and piles of hype this book was getting and I was in even more. Sometimes hype makes me nervous, but I was already so convinced that I would love The Valiant that this hype just ratcheted my excitement up more. And guys, this is no ordinary hype. I am pretty sure The Valiant was the book I saw popping up on almost everyone’s top 10 books of 2017.  And I am beyond happy to report that The Valiant lived up to my very, very high expectations and even exceeded them! In The Valiant we meet Fallon, who has a vendetta against Julius Caeser for killing her sister. But before she can carry any of her plans out, she is captured and sold as a slave. She is sold to an elite training… Read more »

Divider

Jan 17
{Re-Review+Excerpt+Giveaway} Slumber by Christy Sloat

{Re-Review+Excerpt+Giveaway} Slumber by Christy Sloat

I read Slumber when it was previously released but it has since gotten a new cover, and I believe the book has been reworked a bit! Today I am sharing the new cover of Slumber, which I absolutely love! It is a big upgrade in my opinion, as well as my thoughts on the book, an excerpt and a giveaway for a new finished copy of Slumber! Slumber is the first book in the young adult Slumber Duology by Christy Sloat. I liked Slumber, but in the end it was just an ok read for me. Slumber is a fairy tale re-telling and I loved the twist that author Christy Sloat took on the tale. It is the story of sleeping beauty but it takes place in Spindle Ridge Asylum for the Criminally Insane, where they have convinced the princess that she murdered her boyfriend. Interesting starting point, right? I thought so too, and the idea behind the story I still think is great. I think it would be better suited for younger,… Read more »

Divider

Jan 16
{Review+Giveaway} Gathering Darkness by @MorganRhodesYA @PenguinTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Gathering Darkness by @MorganRhodesYA @PenguinTeen

Gathering Darkness is the third book in the Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes. The Falling Kingdoms series has been a beloved fantasy series for years now, and with the sixth book coming out this year now is the perfect time to get caught up. I read the first book, Falling Kingdoms years ago when it first came out, but then I never continued on with the series. I own the first five books and I have been meaning to continue on for years, but I never did. Now that the sixth book is out, I have decided that a binge read was in order. So I re-read book one and then continued on to book two, three and I am currently reading book four. This is a series that must be read in order, which means that it is almost impossible to discuss plot points in Gathering Darkness without getting involved in tons of spoilers, so I will keep this review to some of the general things I am… Read more »

Divider

Jan 04
{Review+Giveaway} Mad Magic by Nicole Conway @ANConway @Month9Books

{Review+Giveaway} Mad Magic by Nicole Conway @ANConway @Month9Books

Mad Magic is the first book in the Mad Magic saga by author Nicole Conway. Nicole Conway is a new to me author, but after devouring Mad Magic in one night, I can’t wait for more from her. Mad Magic and I got off to a bit of a slow start, but once I fell into the world we became kind of obsessed with each other. I really loved this book, and I am so beyond excited that there will be more in this saga. Mad Magic is the story of Josie. Josie’s parents passed away earlier in her life and she was kind of taken in by a mysterious benefactor. I say kind of because she doesn’t seem to actually see very much of Ben, but he does pay her bills. She lives on her own. But Josie is plagued by invisible demons. I have to be honest. I was a little bored by the start of the story. It felt kind of formulaic; like a story I had… Read more »

Divider

Dec 19
{ARC Review+Giveaway} By a Charm and a Curse by @JaimeQuestell @EntangledTeen

{ARC Review+Giveaway} By a Charm and a Curse by @JaimeQuestell @EntangledTeen

By A Charm and a Curse is a standalone young adult fantasy by debut author Jaime Questell. I love a book in a carnival setting, and one featuring magic even more, so I knew By a Charm and a Curse would be right up my alley. And it was. I really enjoyed this book. The name of the book says it all. There is a charm and there is a curse and they are tied closely together. I really loved the plot of this book. I might have even enjoyed the story more than the characters, but I did also enjoy the whole cast of carnies. By A Charm and a Curse follows our main character Em, or Emmaline as she visits a traveling carnival with her friend. By A Charm and a Curse is told from multiple perspectives, and as we shift through some of the characters point of view we get to know a couple of the carnival performers and we learn about the charm. I’m going to tell you… Read more »

Divider