Tag: urban fantasy

Jan 23
{Guest Post} Angelfire by Hanna Peach

{Guest Post} Angelfire by Hanna Peach

Today I have a guest post for you from the Urban Fantasy book, Angelfire. Angelfire is the first book in the Dark Angel series. Angelfire by Hanna Peach Series: Dark Angel #1 Published: November 22, 2012 Format: E-book Genre: Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Blurb: An army of angels walk among us. They have kept us safe and ignorant, so far.Earthbound for centuries and ruled by the Elders, they have established hidden cities, a society and The Code: obey your Elders, kill all demons, eliminate Rogue-angels, protect the mortals, remain hidden. Their warriors are the ungifted earthborn angels armed with blades and the ‘borrowed magics’ of distilled angel-blood tattoos.Alyxandria is a young warrior with a fondness for customized knives and illegal night-races. If only she could overcome the taint of her parents who abandoned her to become Rogues.When Alyx saves Israel, a gifted mortal with a past, she is forbidden to see him again. But she can’t help herself, drawn to him through their Guardian-bond, an ancient and long-forgotten bond; if he dies, she… Read more »

Divider

Jan 10
{Book Review} Ward Against Death by Melanie Card

{Book Review} Ward Against Death by Melanie Card

Ward Against Death by Melanie Card ebook, 306 pages Published August 2nd 2011 by Entangled Publishing Age Group: NA Urban Fantasy Source: ecopy from publisher Series: Chronicles of a Reluctant Necromancer #1 Summary:  Twenty-year-old Ward de’Ath expected this to be a simple job—bring a nobleman’s daughter back from the dead for fifteen minutes, let her family say good-bye, and launch his fledgling career as a necromancer. Goddess knows he can’t be a surgeon—the Quayestri already branded him a criminal for trying—so bringing people back from the dead it is.But when Ward wakes the beautiful Celia Carlyle, he gets more than he bargained for. Insistent that she’s been murdered, Celia begs Ward to keep her alive and help her find justice. By the time she drags him out her bedroom window and into the sewers, Ward can’t bring himself to break his damned physician’s Oath and desert her.However, nothing is as it seems—including Celia. One second, she’s treating Ward like sewage, the next she’s kissing him. And for a nobleman’s daughter, she… Read more »

Divider

Dec 17
{Excerpt+G!veaway} Dark Seraphine by KaSonndra Leigh

{Excerpt+G!veaway} Dark Seraphine by KaSonndra Leigh

Welcome to my tour stop for Dark Seraphine 🙂  I love When Copper Suns Fall by her and I am super excited to read Dark Seraphine. My review is coming up next week.  Dark Seraphine  by: KaSonndra Leigh Ya Urban Fantasy Paperback, 230 pages Published October 21st 2012 by Createspace “Mom always says the angels walk among us. She forgot to tell me that sometimes they’re not all fluffy and nice.”Seventeen-year-old Caleb Wood has seen people he calls the walkers since he was a baby. It didn’t take long for him to realize something…no one can see these strangers but him. They never stuck around or tried to touch him. And they never said a word. That was until one day on the first day of class in his senior year when an incredibly gorgeous girl strolls into his life…and things are never the same again.Soon Caleb realizes he has stepped into the middle of a growing conflict between two celestial races. And his ability to see the invisible ones, the… Read more »

Divider

Nov 21
{Book Review} Touching Evil by Amber Garr

{Book Review} Touching Evil by Amber Garr

Welcome to my stop on the Touching Evil blog tour.  Touching Evil is an adult urban fantasy but there was nothing in the book that would make it inappropriate for readers of Mature YA and New Adult.  Touching Evil by Amber Garr 326 pages Published: November 5, 2012  Age Group: Adult Urban Fantasy Series: Leila Marx #1 Buy this Book: Amazon Summary:  Leila Marx is trying to put her life back together after her fiancé is murdered. Her book illustrating career has limited her social contact and nightmares have trapped her in the past. When a police acquaintance enlists her help with a difficult case, Leila is surprisingly thankful to have a purpose. Not only will this help to keep her mind focused, but she will be able to use her talents as a touch clairvoyant that are frequently dismissed by skeptics. Leila and Detective Garrick Pearson delve into the mystery behind a series of missing teenage girls and mummified corpses while fighting their own growing attraction to each other.  Conner… Read more »

Divider

Nov 11
{Blog Tour+G!veaway} A Trace of Moonlight by Allison Pang

{Blog Tour+G!veaway} A Trace of Moonlight by Allison Pang

Welcome to my stop on the A Trace of Moonlight blog tour.  I love this series so much! Check out my reviews of the first two books in the series (links below) and my review of A Trace of Moonlight is coming right up.  Books in the Abby Sinclair series:  1. A Brush of Darkness 2. A Silver of Shadow 3. A Trace of Moonlight A Trace of Moonlight Book Three Abby  Sinclair series Allison Pang Genre: Adult Urban Fantasy Publisher: Pocket Books Date of Publication: October 30, 2012 Number of pages: 400 Book Description: Drinking from the waters of lethe and offering herself up as Faerie’s sacrificial Tithe …these just might be the least of Abby Sinclair’s problems.Abby’s pact with a demon—whether or not she remembers making it—is binding, so she’d better count herself lucky that (in the words of a daemon who knows better) there’s nearly always a loophole. But her friends’ reckless attempts to free her, well intentioned though they may be, set off a disastrous chain… Read more »

Divider

Oct 27
{Review} Beautifully Broken by Sherry Soule

{Review} Beautifully Broken by Sherry Soule

Beautifully Broken by Sherry Soule 344 pages Published August 30th 2011 by Moonlight Publishing Age Group: YA Source: Author Series: Beautifully Broken #1 Buy this Book:Amazon Summary:  Thirteenth daughter. Heritage witch. Demon slayer. They say every town has its secrets, but that doesn’t even begin to describe Whispering Pines. The townsfolk are a superstitious lot and the mystical disappearance of a local teen has everyone murmuring about a centuries old witch’s curse…Sixteen-year-old Shiloh Ravenwolf is a heritage witch from the Broussard family, a family both destined and cursed. After she takes a summer job at Ravenhurst Manor, she discovers a ghost with an agenda. That’s where she meets the new town hottie, Trent Donovan. But Trent may be the next victim on the supernatural hit list, and Shiloh is the only person with the power to save him. Complicated much?After receiving cryptic messages from a creepy wraith, and then frightening threats from a demon, Shiloh finally begins to understand the mysterious significance of the strange mark branded on her wrist. Now Shiloh… Read more »

Divider

Oct 21
{Review+G!veaway} The Lost Immortals by KaSonndra Leigh

{Review+G!veaway} The Lost Immortals by KaSonndra Leigh

The Lost Immortals: When Copper Suns Fall by KaSonndra Leigh 370 pages Published September 11, 2012 Source: Blog Tour Age Group: YA Challenge: None Series: When Copper Suns Fall #1 Buy this Book:Amazon Summary(from Goodreads) It has been fifty-five years since the angels of the Apocalyptic War attempted to wipe out humanity. Now a new nation has been built where alchemy is forbidden, and angels fear for their lives as they hide among the mortals.The city’s leaders share one view on the ancestors of angels: shoot first, no questions.When her twin brother falls into a strange coma, sixteen-year-old Chela Prizeon vows to discover her role among these exiles, the royal angels known as the Lost Immortals.Chela’s only hope lies with the mysterious, but infuriating leader of a rebel group. But can she trust this boy, someone who can control her dreams and her heart.Escape into a world filled with celestial creatures, fascinating villainy, high-stake choices, and forbidden romance. Wow! This was such a great book! It took me a while to figure… Read more »

Divider

Apr 15
{Book Review} Dark Heirloom by J.D. Brown

{Book Review} Dark Heirloom by J.D. Brown

Dark Heirloom by J.D. Brown Pages: 256 Publication Date: March 2012 by Muse It Up Publishing Age Group: Adult/ Urban Fantasy Source: Blog Tour Series: Ema Marx #1 Challenge(s): Ebook challenge, 150+ reading challenge, ABC challenge Buy this Book: Amazon Summary(from Goodreads): You’re a vampire” is so not what Ema Marx wants to hear when she wakes from a two-day coma in a cryptic yet exquisite castle in northern Finland. Unfortunately, it explains a lot. Like why she’s able to see in the dark and walk through solid objects. What she doesn’t understand is why the other vampires expect her to have all the answers. It’s their fault she turned into one of them…right?Jalmari’s hatred for his old-man intensifies when he’s ordered to bring that troublesome girl to their castle. He has a clan to run; there’s no time for babysitting newborn vampires no matter how they were converted to their culture. But when a two-thousand-year-old premonition threatens to take the crown and his life, Jalmari sees no other choice than to… Read more »

Divider

Jan 02
{Excerpt} The Apocalypse Gene by Suki Michelle and Carlyle Clark

{Excerpt} The Apocalypse Gene by Suki Michelle and Carlyle Clark

Global pandemic is raging. Olivya Wright-Ono’s once loving home has been converted to a hospice for the dying. Her ability to see auras forces her to witness, with agonizing detail, the vibrant colors of life consumed by malignancy.The beautiful and troubled, Mikah, is an elite Empath in the ancient Kindred clan, led by the brooding, ever-morphing, monster named Prime. Mikah has learned a terrible truth . . . the plague is linked to Kindred origins. When Olivya sees evidence of disease creeping into her mother’s aura, she has no one to turn to but Mikah. Can he unearth the Kindred secrets and find a cure? Can she trust this boy whose power allows him to manipulate her very emotions?With her mother’s life, and that of the world, in the balance, Olivya and Mikah embark on a quest to stop the Pandemic, only to discover it is far, far more than a mere disease . . . Website:  http://www.TheApocalypseGene.com Blog:  http://www.TheApocalypseGene.com/cy-chi Facebook FanPage:  http://www.facebook.com/TheApocalypseGene Goodreads l Amazon About the Authors: Suki Michelle is a life-long… Read more »

Divider