Tag: fantasy

Mar 19
{Early Release Spotlight+Interview} From Unseen Fire by Cass Morris @CassRMorris @dawbooks

{Early Release Spotlight+Interview} From Unseen Fire by Cass Morris @CassRMorris @dawbooks

I am super excited to have Cass Morris here today! Cass’ upcoming book, From Unseen Fire comes out in April 2018 from Daw Books and it looks awesome!  1.Who are your biggest writing influences? I used to say that I wanted to be Neil Gaiman when I grew up, and that’s still rather true. His writings, and Terry Pratchett’s, have affected a lot of how I think about story and mythos. My ideas on crafting magic have roots in everything from Harry Potter to tabletop role-playing games. Years of studying Shakespeare has put a lot of rhetoric in my head, so that’s been a large influence as well. I’ve also read a lot of romance novels and a lot of historical fiction, and I think those bleed into my style, too. 2..When did you know you wanted to be a writer? I’ve been a natural storyteller and a lover of books for as long as I’ve known what words were, but I can remember, clearly, the first moment I knew that… Read more »

Divider

Mar 14
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Lost Crow Conspiracy by @RosalynEves @KnopfBFYR ‏@TheNovl

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Lost Crow Conspiracy by @RosalynEves @KnopfBFYR ‏@TheNovl

Note: this is the second book in a series that must be read in order. Though I will keep spoilers to a minimum there may be spoilers for the first book in the series.  If you are new to the series, you can check out my review of book one- Blood Rose Rebellion, HERE Lost Crow Conspiracy is the second book in the young adult fantasy series, called Blood Rose Rebellion. It is also author Rosalyn Eves debut series which really impressed me. The first book, Blood Rose Rebellion was an excellent read for me, and I can’t wait to journey back into this crazy world. The first book ended on a great note, with Anna breaking the binding with her breaking magic and releasing magic to the masses. Initially it seems like a fantastic idea, but this is only the start of the second book, where we get to delve deeply into the class struggles and political drama that have really heightened in the world that Rosalyn Eves has… Read more »

Divider

Feb 19
{Review+Giveaway} Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce

{Review+Giveaway} Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce

Tempests and Slaughter  is the first book in The Numair Chronicles by Tamora Pierce. Tempests and Slaughter is my first experience with a Tamora Pierce novel, but it will not be my last by a long shot. Before I get to my review, I wanted to first point out how absolutely beautiful the collectors edition is! I love all of the detail that went into the creation of this book- from the cover, to the poster to the beautiful map of the Tortall world. I really, really loved this book. The back describes it as the story of how Numair came to Tortall, but being new to the world it was just as really epic new fantasy. Tempests and Slaughter is the story of three student mages- Arram, Varice and Ozorne. And…wait for it…they go to mage school!! Yes, you know this is right up my alley. The characters really shine in this story. The world is fascinating as well. I can’t wait to see the development as the problems progress and… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

Nocturne is the first book in the fourth talisman series by Kat Ross. I really love Kat Ross’ books. There should be a big ole disclaimer on this review though. Although Nocturne is the first book in a series, it is really a follow up series to Kat Ross’ Fourth Element trilogy. Though you might be able to read this series without having read The Fourth Element trilogy, I am not sure that I would recommend it. There are some spoilers for events that happen in the previous series. I think these books are best read in order. Plus, The fourth Element series is a really awesome fantasy series that is perfect for fans of The City of Brass. And even better, the whole trilogy happens to be on sale right now for only 99 cents!  Nocturne follows Nazafareen after the events of Queen of Chaos leaves off. I can’t really get into much about those events without spoiling the previous trilogy, so let’s keep it vague. Nazafareen is now in the foreign… Read more »

Divider

Jan 30
{2018 Fantasies+Giveaway} Featuring The #CruelPrince by @HollyBlack @TheNovl

{2018 Fantasies+Giveaway} Featuring The #CruelPrince by @HollyBlack @TheNovl

2018 is the year of epic YA fantasies! I have been so into fantasy. IN 2017 it was my favorite genre by far, and I am still really in the mood for all things fantasy. The Cruel Prince by Holly Black is one of my most anticipated fantasy releases of the year, and I cannot wait to read it! NOVL sent me a copy to check out, and is partnering with me for a giveaway! Today I am going to share with you my MOST ANTICIPATED FANTASIES OF 2018, starting with The Cruel Prince! And then be sure to enter the awesome giveaway down below. (Big thanks to the Novl for sponsoring this giveaway!) Most Anticipated YA Fantasy Books of 2018   Here are some other 2018 releases I am really anticipating Click on the covers for more information               Here are some 2018 releases I have already read (and really enjoyed)       Let me know what fantasy books you are most looking forward to this year!! Visit theNOVL.com Follow Holly Black… Read more »

Divider

Jan 22
{ARC Review} Ink, Iron, and Glass by Gwendolyn Clare @gwendoclare @FierceReads @ImprintReads

{ARC Review} Ink, Iron, and Glass by Gwendolyn Clare @gwendoclare @FierceReads @ImprintReads

Ink, Iron, and Glass is the first book in a new duology by the same name from debut novelist Gwendolyn Clare. Ink, Iron, and Glass is a steampunk fantasy duology about a world where a type of science called scriptology exists. Scriptology is a science magic hybrid where the “scientist” can actually create a new world by scripting or writing it into existence. This concept gripped me right from the start. How awesome and complex it would be. And I was immediately intrigued to see how Gwendolyn Clare would handle such a big idea. And I have to say, she handled it really well. I loved that she didn’t water the idea of writing a world into existence. She embraced how complicated and complex it would be. You have to make it livable world. If you create a world that does not support air, then everyone in that world would die. Same with gravity, warmth, food. Creating a world was not just about writing flowery descriptions of the rolling hills and… Read more »

Divider

Jan 18
{Review} The Valiant by Lesley Livingston @LesLivingston @PenguinTeen

{Review} The Valiant by Lesley Livingston @LesLivingston @PenguinTeen

The Valiant is a young adult novel about a female gladiator. I was pretty much in from the very moment I saw the cover. And then I read the summary and I was really in! And then I saw the piles and piles of hype this book was getting and I was in even more. Sometimes hype makes me nervous, but I was already so convinced that I would love The Valiant that this hype just ratcheted my excitement up more. And guys, this is no ordinary hype. I am pretty sure The Valiant was the book I saw popping up on almost everyone’s top 10 books of 2017.  And I am beyond happy to report that The Valiant lived up to my very, very high expectations and even exceeded them! In The Valiant we meet Fallon, who has a vendetta against Julius Caeser for killing her sister. But before she can carry any of her plans out, she is captured and sold as a slave. She is sold to an elite training… Read more »

Divider

Jan 17
{Re-Review+Excerpt+Giveaway} Slumber by Christy Sloat

{Re-Review+Excerpt+Giveaway} Slumber by Christy Sloat

I read Slumber when it was previously released but it has since gotten a new cover, and I believe the book has been reworked a bit! Today I am sharing the new cover of Slumber, which I absolutely love! It is a big upgrade in my opinion, as well as my thoughts on the book, an excerpt and a giveaway for a new finished copy of Slumber! Slumber is the first book in the young adult Slumber Duology by Christy Sloat. I liked Slumber, but in the end it was just an ok read for me. Slumber is a fairy tale re-telling and I loved the twist that author Christy Sloat took on the tale. It is the story of sleeping beauty but it takes place in Spindle Ridge Asylum for the Criminally Insane, where they have convinced the princess that she murdered her boyfriend. Interesting starting point, right? I thought so too, and the idea behind the story I still think is great. I think it would be better suited for younger,… Read more »

Divider

Jan 16
{Review+Giveaway} Gathering Darkness by @MorganRhodesYA @PenguinTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Gathering Darkness by @MorganRhodesYA @PenguinTeen

Gathering Darkness is the third book in the Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes. The Falling Kingdoms series has been a beloved fantasy series for years now, and with the sixth book coming out this year now is the perfect time to get caught up. I read the first book, Falling Kingdoms years ago when it first came out, but then I never continued on with the series. I own the first five books and I have been meaning to continue on for years, but I never did. Now that the sixth book is out, I have decided that a binge read was in order. So I re-read book one and then continued on to book two, three and I am currently reading book four. This is a series that must be read in order, which means that it is almost impossible to discuss plot points in Gathering Darkness without getting involved in tons of spoilers, so I will keep this review to some of the general things I am… Read more »

Divider

Jan 10
{Review+Giveaway} Death Island by @kelseyketch

{Review+Giveaway} Death Island by @kelseyketch

Death Island is a new adult fantasy by author Kelsey Ketch. Death Island is a pirate adventure that is filled with intrigue and mythology. I enjoyed this novel overall. It was a lot of fun. I love a quest style adventure. I love pirates and I love mythology, so those elements of the story were right up my alley. I believe Death Island is slated to be a standalone, but the ending did leave open the possibility for some more exploration in this world that Kelsey Ketch has created. There were a lot of things I really enjoyed about Death Island and a few things that held me back from totally falling in love with the story, but let’s start with all the elements that I really enjoyed. First, I loved the main character, Meriden. She is spunky and fiery and a great adventure heroine. She was always up for whatever was thrown her way, which was evidenced by the fact that right in her first chapter she went from waking… Read more »

Divider