Tag: ARC review

Aug 28
{ARC Review} Trial By Fire by Josephine Angelini @josieangelini

{ARC Review} Trial By Fire by Josephine Angelini @josieangelini

Trial by Fire is a book filled with so many awesome elements. Not only are the characters fantastic, but the plot is original and the concept is thought provoking and utterly cool! It reminded me on an episode of the Big Bang theory where Sheldon is talking about an infinite number of universes and an Infinite number of different Sheldons. That is the world you get introduced to in Trial by Fire. Lily Proctor is in our world, and then she isn’t. She is taken to a different world where a bunch of people are familiar to her, but everything else is so very different. Magic exists and witches rule. But that is only the beginning. Josephine Angelini does an incredible job of blending science with magic. These are witches, or crucibles as they are called, like I have never seen them before. I love that their magic stems from converting elements and substances that they take in from their surroundings. The book starts out in our world, but Lily… Read more »

Divider

Jul 22
{ARC Review} Meeting His Match by Katee Robert @katee_robert @entangledpub

{ARC Review} Meeting His Match by Katee Robert @katee_robert @entangledpub

Meeting his Match is a standalone title, as well as the first book in the Match Me series. It is from Entangled’s Lovestruck line and I think I have found one of my new favorite imprints from Entangled. These books are perfect for when I am in a romantic kind of mood. Ok, let me set the stage for you. Reagan sends her successful professional Matchmaker of a best friend down to help out her brother in law find his soul mate. Caine is a complete workaholic, and hasn’t really made time for anything else in so many years. I really liked the premise of the story, it was simple, but it worked oh so well. Addison is a force of nature. She just sweeps into Caine’s life and kind of starts mixing everything up. I loved it. It was exactly what he needed. She really was like a breath of fresh air in his life. I  was immediately drawn to the fire that they each brought out in the… Read more »

Divider

Jul 15
{ARC Review} Just Like the Movies by Kelly Fiore @kellyannfiore

{ARC Review} Just Like the Movies by Kelly Fiore @kellyannfiore

I am a huge fan of romantic comedies, so as soon as I saw Just like the Movies I knew that I needed to read this book. Just Like the Movies follows two high school seniors- Marijke and Lily. Complete opposites in terms of high school cliques, but they both love romcom movies and they hatch a plan to use them to get what they each want. What a cute concept, right? Marijke wants her boyfriend to drop the “L” bomb on her and Lily wants her crush to notice her. What I liked the most about Just Like the Movies surprisingly was not the romance, but rather the friendship that formed between Marijke and Lily. The guys in this story, but high school aged and adult, are much like guys in real life- not perfect! They each had their butthead moments, that is for sure. Another cool thing that Kelly Fiore did was give us a glimpse into different kinds of relationships. There is the single settling dater, the… Read more »

Divider

May 03
{ARC Review} The Chapel Wars by Lindsey Leavitt

{ARC Review} The Chapel Wars by Lindsey Leavitt

I expected this book to be a fun cute read. And it was, but it was also more than that. This really was a coming of age story for Holly. She is a true numbers girl as Dax called her. She is outwardly emotionless- analytical, logical and a “fixer”. The Chapel Wars is about Holly finding out what she wants, who she is and about finding her emotions really. She is only 17 but she takes on so much responsibility that it is really easy to overlook her young age. I enjoyed Holly immensely. I adored her analogies and see how she explained things. Lindsey Leavitt did such a great job with the writing of this book. It felt very conversational and welcoming. Holly seemed like a friend of mine, and her story felt like we were catching up over coffee. Just like her grandfather said, you can’t help but like Holly. She is like a breath of fresh air, swooping into every room. She has so much energy, she is… Read more »

Divider

Mar 26
{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Romeo Club by @RebekahLPurdy @swoonromance

{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Romeo Club by @RebekahLPurdy @swoonromance

Welcome to my stop on the The Romeo Club blog tour Be sure to follow the rest of the stops on the tour The Romeo Club by Rebekah L Purdy Expected Publication Date: April 8, 2014 Age Group: YA CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE Source: eARC from Publisher Summary: THE ROMEO CLUB is Hitch meets The Secret of My Success. What happens when you agree to help your brother “de-nerdify” so he can catch the attention of the popular Chloe Anders, and to everyone’s surprise, he actually lands her? And what if his equally geeky friends come running with girl wish lists of their own, offering money for your services? Well, if you’re sixteen-year-old, Delyla Denson, then you start The Romeo Club. A secret club where she’ll teach these guys how talk, act, and be cool around girls. It’s a win-win situation. She’ll get enough money for the awesome prom dress she’s had her eye on, and the guys, well, they’ll get dates and maybe learn how to do something other than beat… Read more »

Divider

Mar 17
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Third Degree by Julie Cross

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Third Degree by Julie Cross

Welcome to my stop on the Third Degree blog tour Be sure to check out the rest of the tour THIRD DEGREE by Julie Cross Age Group: A New Adult Contemporary Romance Expected Release is March 25, 2014 Published by Flirt (Imprint of Random House) Source: ecopy from Author Summary: Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy. I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the… Read more »

Divider

Nov 25
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Fireblood by Trisha Wolfe

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Fireblood by Trisha Wolfe

Be sure to check out the rest of the tour Welcome to my stop on the Fireblood blog tour Fireblood by Trisha Wolfe  Expected Published: December 17, 2013 by Spencer Hill Press Age Group: YA Utopian Source: eARC from publisher Summary: To save a kingdom, Zara must choose between a prince who could be the answer and a rising rebellion that threatens to take control. When Zara Dane is chosen to marry Prince Sebastian Hart, son of the man who ordered her father’s capture, Zara knows she must fight to save everything she loves from ruin. Being betrothed to the prince means a life trapped behind the towering stone walls of the Camelot-forged realm. Under the watchful eye of the prince’s first knight, Sir Devlan Capra, changing her future becomes difficult. When an unlikely rebel reveals the truth about the deadly secrets that fuel King Hart’s twisted world, Zara’s path to rescue her father becomes clouded by deception. The Rebels clear her path by forcing Zara’s hand with an ultimatum:… Read more »

Divider

Sep 20
{ARC Review} Ultraviolet Catastrophe by Jamie Grey

{ARC Review} Ultraviolet Catastrophe by Jamie Grey

Title: Ultraviolet Catastrophe by Jaime Grey Length: 350 pages Expected Publication: September 24, 2013 Age Group: YA Source: eARC from Author Summary: Quantum Electrodynamics. String Theory. Schrödinger’s cat. For sixteen-year-old Lexie Kepler, they’re just confusing terms in her science textbooks, until she finds out that her parents have been drugging her to suppress her outrageous IQ. Now Branston Academy, a school run by the world’s most powerful scientists, has tracked her down and is dying for her to attend – as a research subject. She takes refuge at Quantum Technologies, a secret scientific community where her father works as a top-notch scientist, and begins her new life as girl genius at Quantum High. But the assignments at her new school make the Manhattan Project look like preschool – and Lexie barely survived freshman algebra. Her first big assignment – creating an Einstein-Rosen bridge – is also her first chance to prove she can hold her own with the rest of QT’s prodigies. But while working with the infuriatingly hot Asher… Read more »

Divider

Sep 06
{ARC Review+Giveaway} 3:59 by Gretchen McNeil

{ARC Review+Giveaway} 3:59 by Gretchen McNeil

Welcome to my stop on the Official 3:59 blog tour Be sure to check out the rest of the tour. 3:59 by Gretchen McNeil Expected Release date: September 17, 2013 by Balzer & Bray Age Group: Young Adult Hardcover: 368 pages Source: ARC from publisher Summary from Goodreads: Josie Byrne’s life is spiraling out of control. Her parents are divorcing, her boyfriend Nick has grown distant, and her physics teacher has it in for her. When she’s betrayed by the two people she trusts most, Josie thinks things can’t get worse. Until she starts having dreams about a girl named Jo. Every night at the same time—3:59 a.m. Jo’s life is everything Josie wants: she’s popular, her parents are happily married, and Nick adores her. It all seems real, but they’re just dreams, right? Josie thinks so, until she wakes one night to a shadowy image of herself in the bedroom mirror – Jo.  Josie and Jo realize that they are doppelgängers living in parallel universes that overlap every twelve… Read more »

Divider

May 18
{ARC Review} The Siren’s Secret by Heather Ostler

{ARC Review} The Siren’s Secret by Heather Ostler

Welcome to my stop on the The Siren’s Secret blog tourI loved the first book in the series, The Shapeshifter’s Secret. You can check out my review of book 1 HERE The Siren’s Secret by Heather Ostler Expected publication: June 11th 2013 by Cedar Fort Age Group:YA Source: eARC from publisher Series: The Shapeshifter’s Secret #2 Summary: Julia’s life has gone from complicated to nearly impossible! When Julia loses her shapeshifting powers and her appearance changes in alarming ways, she flees to Sirenity, where she learns an incredible secret about her mother. In this thrilling sequel, Julia must take greater risks and make bigger sacrifices as she discovers who she really is and what she can really become. I fell in love with The Shapeshifter’s Secret as soon as I started reading it, so I jumped at the chance to read the second book in the series. I have been waiting for The Siren’s Secret for a very long time. I couldn’t wait to get back to Heather’s magical world… Read more »

Divider