Tag: adult

Nov 28
{G!veaway} Lawyers, Lovers & Lies by Linda Pohl

{G!veaway} Lawyers, Lovers & Lies by Linda Pohl

Welcome to my stop on the Lawyers, Lovers & Lies blog Tour!  Check out the rest of the stops HERE Lawyers, Lovers, & Lies by Linda Pohl 247 pages Published August 8th 2012 Age Group: Adult Buy this Book: Amazon Kindle Summary:  Charlene Williams, a recent law school graduate, thinks her prayers have been answered when she is offered a position at one of New York City’s most prestigious law firms. But her dreams are quickly shattered when she finds out that Alex Andrews, the firm’s senior criminal lawyer, wants far more from her than her legal expertise.A gorgeous, powerful, manipulative man, Alexander is used to getting whatever he wants. Targeted as his next conquest, his words and actions make it quite clear that if Charlene doesn’t start playing by his rules, she’ll be lucky to be licking stamps in some lowly legal aid office.With no witnesses to substantiate Alex’s escalating abuse, it’s his word against hers. Consumed with fear and the possibility of losing her job, Charlene is faced with… Read more »

Divider

Nov 21
{Book Review} Touching Evil by Amber Garr

{Book Review} Touching Evil by Amber Garr

Welcome to my stop on the Touching Evil blog tour.  Touching Evil is an adult urban fantasy but there was nothing in the book that would make it inappropriate for readers of Mature YA and New Adult.  Touching Evil by Amber Garr 326 pages Published: November 5, 2012  Age Group: Adult Urban Fantasy Series: Leila Marx #1 Buy this Book: Amazon Summary:  Leila Marx is trying to put her life back together after her fiancé is murdered. Her book illustrating career has limited her social contact and nightmares have trapped her in the past. When a police acquaintance enlists her help with a difficult case, Leila is surprisingly thankful to have a purpose. Not only will this help to keep her mind focused, but she will be able to use her talents as a touch clairvoyant that are frequently dismissed by skeptics. Leila and Detective Garrick Pearson delve into the mystery behind a series of missing teenage girls and mummified corpses while fighting their own growing attraction to each other.  Conner… Read more »

Divider

Nov 14
{Review+G!veaway} Once Upon A Second Chance by Marian Vere

{Review+G!veaway} Once Upon A Second Chance by Marian Vere

Welcome to my stop on the Once Upon A Second Chance blog tour. Check out the rest of the stops on the tour HERE Once Upon A Second Chance by Marian Vere 210 pages Published November 6th 2012 by Omnific Publishing Age Group: Adult Source: eARC from publisher Series: Standalone Buy this Book:Amazon Summary:  Julia’s life seemed to be falling perfectly into place. She had burgeoning jobprospects in the finance industry, an exciting life in New York City, and a wonderful fiancé,Nick Kerkley, who she was totally in love with. Nick however, while being completelydevoted to Julia, did not have the career potential or financial stability to be worthy ofsomeone like her — or at least that’s what she came to convince herself. Hesitantly, Juliaended the relationship, forcing herself to believe it would all be for the best. Little did sheknow, that one decision would lead both their lives to spiral away from each other, only to converge again.What happens to your fairytale when you let someone else wave the… Read more »

Divider

Nov 11
{Blog Tour+G!veaway} A Trace of Moonlight by Allison Pang

{Blog Tour+G!veaway} A Trace of Moonlight by Allison Pang

Welcome to my stop on the A Trace of Moonlight blog tour.  I love this series so much! Check out my reviews of the first two books in the series (links below) and my review of A Trace of Moonlight is coming right up.  Books in the Abby Sinclair series:  1. A Brush of Darkness 2. A Silver of Shadow 3. A Trace of Moonlight A Trace of Moonlight Book Three Abby  Sinclair series Allison Pang Genre: Adult Urban Fantasy Publisher: Pocket Books Date of Publication: October 30, 2012 Number of pages: 400 Book Description: Drinking from the waters of lethe and offering herself up as Faerie’s sacrificial Tithe …these just might be the least of Abby Sinclair’s problems.Abby’s pact with a demon—whether or not she remembers making it—is binding, so she’d better count herself lucky that (in the words of a daemon who knows better) there’s nearly always a loophole. But her friends’ reckless attempts to free her, well intentioned though they may be, set off a disastrous chain… Read more »

Divider

Oct 29
{ARC Review} Resisting Velocity by Trinity and Xoe

{ARC Review} Resisting Velocity by Trinity and Xoe

Happy Release Day to Resisting Velocity by Trinity Evans and Xoe Xanders!  Resisting Velocity by Trinity Evans and Xoe Xanders 185 pages Published: October 29, 2012 Age Group: Adult Series: High Velocity #1 Source: eARC from Author Buy this Book: Amazon Summary:  As frontman of up-and-coming rock band, High Velocity, werewolf Zane Alexander has everything a man could want: Fame, fortune, friendship, and a pack to call home. Well, almost everything. Despite being able to take his pick of pretty much any woman, he wants the one girl he can’t have—the one girl who’s eluded his every advance.Charlie Banks has always had a thing for Zane, but being the band’s head of security, she knows firsthand just the sort of guy he is. She’s determined not to become just another notch on his bedpost, but if doesn’t stop the want for a mate curling in her gut. It’ll happen, someday—it just won’t be Zane. She’s decided that it’s time to leave High Velocity, to find a nice little home and settle… Read more »

Divider

Oct 20
{Review+G!veaway} Just This Once by Rosalind James

{Review+G!veaway} Just This Once by Rosalind James

Welcome to my stop on the Just This Once, an adult contemporary romance, blog tour.  Check out my review of the book and a really cool giveaway 🙂  Thank you so much for the birthday wishes everyone! I went out to dinner with some friends and we had a great time. It was very nice.  Just This Once by Rosalind James 284 Pages Published: August 30, 2012  Age Group: Adult  Source: Author Buy this Book: AmazonSummary:  Everyone needs to be rescued sometimes.  Everyone but Hannah Montgomery, that is. She just needs a vacation. Three weeks in New Zealand to sort out her life, figure out what she wants, seems just right. Oh, and to relax. She should definitely put that on the agenda. She certainly isn’t looking for a fling with a professional rugby player, no matter how attractive he is. Hannah doesn’t do casual. But maybe just this once. . . Drew Callahan is happy to help Hannah find all the fun she’s been missing. But as much as he’s… Read more »

Divider

Oct 18
{Book Review} Of Blood and Bone by Courtney Cole

{Book Review} Of Blood and Bone by Courtney Cole

Of Blood and Bone by Courtney Cole226 PagesPublished: September 30, 2012 by Lakehouse PressAge Group: AdultSeries: The Minaldi Legacy #1Source: eARC from publisherBuy this Book: Amazon Summary: As a little boy, Luca Minaldi was told he was a monster.As an adult, he knows it is true.He lives in Malta, a fairytale-like place filled with sunshine and sea, beauty and secrets. And Luca’s darkest of secrets is the best kept of them all.Eva Talbot arrives in Malta for the summer to finish up her doctoral dissertation. When she meets Luca, a mysterious and handsome shipping tycoon, there is an instant attraction, a disturbing and beautiful energy that she has never felt before. But she senses the darkness that lives within him. Eva is hired to care for his mother, who suffers from dementia, but it is Luca who Eva will eventually risk everything to save. Her life becomes a swirling chaos of darkness and romance, of secrets and mystery. And the question that emerges will become the most important answer of all.Can… Read more »

Divider

Oct 14
{Excerpt=g!veaway} Bone Wire by Michael Shean

{Excerpt=g!veaway} Bone Wire by Michael Shean

Title: Bone Wires Author: Michael Shean Genre: Dark, Mystery, Science Fiction, Publisher: Curiosity Quills/Whampa, LLC Paperback/Ebook Pages: 380 (paperback) Purchase: Amazon (Kindle) | Amazon (Print) | B&N (Nook & Print) | Books-A-Million| Book Description:   In the wasteland of commercial culture that is future America, police are operated not by government but by private companies. In Seattle, that role is filled by Civil Protection, and Daniel Gray is a detective in Homicide Solutions. What used to be considered an important – even glamorous – department for public police is very different for the corporate species, and Gray finds himself stuck in a dead end job. That is, until the Spine Thief arrives. When a serial killer begins harvesting the spinal tissue of corporate employees all over the city, Detective Gray finds himself plunged into the first truly major case of his career. Caught in a dangerous mix of murder, betrayal and conflicting corporate interest, Gray will find himself not only matching wits with a diabolical murderer but grapple with his… Read more »

Divider

Sep 30
{Guest Post+G!veaway} Of Blood and Bone by Courtney Cole

{Guest Post+G!veaway} Of Blood and Bone by Courtney Cole

Today I have a guest post and giveaway for Courtney Cole’s new adult book, Of Blood and Bone. I am on the blog tour with Kismet for this book and I am about 60% done with it, and I am loving it so far!————————————- Title:   Of Blood and Bone Genre and Age Group: Adult Contemporary/Dark Romance Author: Courtney Cole Release date: September 16 Author Website / Buy the book on AMAZON Book Description: Love is dangerous…“I’m a monster, Eva. There is no saving a monster. But I love that you want to try.”My heart constricts at the expression on his face. He has no hope for himself, so I have to hope for him.“You’re not a monster,” I argue softly. “You’re a man, Luca. A man like any other, you’re made of blood and bone.”As a little boy, Luca Minaldi was told he was a monster. As an adult, he knows it is true. He lives in Malta, a fairytale-like place filled with sunshine and sea, beauty and secrets. And Luca’s darkest of… Read more »

Divider

Sep 20
{Guest Post+G!veaway} Goddess on the Run by Marne Ann Kirk

{Guest Post+G!veaway} Goddess on the Run by Marne Ann Kirk

So by now, you guys all know how much I love mythology, so when I got to pick the guest post topic for author of Goddess on the Run, Marne Ann Kirk- I knew I wanted it to be mythology related. I think her guest blog is fascinating! Let me know what you think in the comments below 🙂  Goddesses In Mythology First, thank you so much for having me on your blog today. Second, thanks for suggesting such a fantastic topic to blog about. Goddesses. Wow, right? I mean talk about the ultimate embodiment of feminine power. Gaia, Hera, Aphrodite, Artemis—are a few of the more well known Greek goddesses. But there were others, too, in almost every culture: Hindu: Durga-the mother of the universe, supreme being Buddha: Tara-a Bodhisattva of compassion and action Aztec: Tlalteuctli-The Earth Goddess Egypt: Mut-Devine Mother, Queen of all Gods Norse: Freya-Goddess of Love, Beauty, Destiny, Battle, and Magic Hawaii: Uli-Mother of Creation And, of course, in Celtic mythology, Danu-Earth Mother Goddess… The interesting thing, to… Read more »

Divider