Tag: 4/5 gavels

Jun 13
{Review+Giveaway} Up to You by @Daisy_Prescott

{Review+Giveaway} Up to You by @Daisy_Prescott

Up to You  is the fourth book in the new adult contemporary romance, Love with Altitude series by Daisy Prescott. Each of the books in the series can be read as standalone contemporary romances. I read, and really enjoyed the third book in the Love with Altitude series, Wild For You. I also really enjoyed Daisy’s Wingman series, so I knew that I was going to enjoy Up to You. Daisy is a feel good contemporary author that never fails to put me in a better mood. and Up to You did not disappoint. I will be the first to admit that I am a sucker for anything involving a wedding at the moment. I mean, I always have loved a good fake relationship/need a date to a wedding book, but now that I am actually planning my wedding, I am extra excited about wedding storylines. (go figure!) Up to You is the story of Mae, Landon and Aiden. Yes, there is a love triangle going on in this novel,… Read more »

Divider

Jun 07
{Review+Giveaway} LIFEL1K3 by Jay Kristoff @misterkristoff @KnopfBFYR

{Review+Giveaway} LIFEL1K3 by Jay Kristoff @misterkristoff @KnopfBFYR

Lifel1k3 is the first book in the young adult science fiction series, Lifelike, by author megastar Jay Kristoff. I loved Jay’s Illuminae series, and I have been dying to read his Nevernight Chronicles (Which I really need to get a move on. Come on Michelle!)  but when I saw he was releasing the Lifelike series, I knew I couldn’t miss it. Lifel1k3 has such a cool concept…robot, robots and more robots. The concept of artificial intelligence has always fascinated me. So when you take a book set in a post apocalyptic future where robots and AI are a huge part of the world, I am all in. Eve is our main character in Lifel1k3. Eve builds robots to fight. Things quickly get interesting in a robot fight that goes south really quickly. Eve is in danger of dying until she has some x-men like abilities that save her, and at the same time, put her in a very dangerous position. The world in Lifel1k3 is fierce and very violent and dangerous. All… Read more »

Divider

Jun 04
{Review+Giveaway} Just One of the Royals by Leah and Kate Rooper

{Review+Giveaway} Just One of the Royals by Leah and Kate Rooper

Just one of the Royals is the second book in the Chicago Falcons series by Leah and Kate Rooper. I loved the first book in the series, Just one of the Boys, so much that I actually re-read it before picking up this book. So I had a pretty good feeling I was going to enjoy Just one of the Royals. Leah and Kate Rooper make a great writing duo. I can’t wait to see what the next book is going to bring for us. The Chicago Falcons series is a young adult sports romance series, where each book follows a different hockey player and tells his story. In just one of the Royals we follow Daniel and Madison. Daniel and Madison are best friends, but one of them is hiding a pretty big secret- that he is actually a prince! I know the set up is a bit different, but this book gave me all kinds of great Princess Diaries vibes. I loved it. I also really liked the… Read more »

Divider

May 23
{Review} Always Never Yours by Austin Siegemund-Broka and Emily Wibberley

{Review} Always Never Yours by Austin Siegemund-Broka and Emily Wibberley

Always Never Yours is a young adult contemporary romance by Austin Siegemund-Broka and Emily Wibberley. This novel is cute and adorable for so many reasons. There is no denying that this is a feel good read from start to finish. I love a “best friends falling in love”, love story. But I also love that Always Never Yours was written by real life high school sweethearts. In my head, they were telling their own story (To be clear, Austin and Emily have never said this was a fictionalized version of their story. I’m just imagining that it was because I want to.) Always Never Yours is an adorable romance, peppered with some drama to balance everything out. All in all, this was a satisfying novel that I really enjoyed. The other reason, I really enjoyed Always Never Yours is because the premise of the book reminded me of the YA version of Dane Cook’s movie, Good Luck Chuck (I know, I am dating myself with this one!)  In the movie,… Read more »

Divider

May 15
{Review+Giveaway} Genesis by @BrendanReichs #ProjectNemesis #GenesisBlogTour @PenguinTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Genesis by @BrendanReichs #ProjectNemesis #GenesisBlogTour @PenguinTeen

Please Note: Genesis is the second book in a series that needs to be read in order. If you are new to the Project Nemesis series, you can check out my review of the first book HERE Genesis is the second book in the young adult science fiction series, called Project Nemesis by author Brendan Reichs. I am so in love with this series! I loved the first book Nemesis, and I think I loved Genesis even more!It is a great series for fans of science fiction, dystopians and mysteries. This is a series that needs to be read in order, so if you have not read Nemesis yet, you will want to grab a copy of that and dive in immediately. But if you read Nemesis when it first released and you are worried that you won’t remember everything that happened, don’t worry! Brendan Reichs does a fantastic job of providing enough information to bring the reader up to speed without just regurgitating the information from Nemesis. It felt… Read more »

Divider

Mar 14
{ARC Review+Giveaway} Lost Crow Conspiracy by @RosalynEves @KnopfBFYR ‏@TheNovl

{ARC Review+Giveaway} Lost Crow Conspiracy by @RosalynEves @KnopfBFYR ‏@TheNovl

Note: this is the second book in a series that must be read in order. Though I will keep spoilers to a minimum there may be spoilers for the first book in the series.  If you are new to the series, you can check out my review of book one- Blood Rose Rebellion, HERE Lost Crow Conspiracy is the second book in the young adult fantasy series, called Blood Rose Rebellion. It is also author Rosalyn Eves debut series which really impressed me. The first book, Blood Rose Rebellion was an excellent read for me, and I can’t wait to journey back into this crazy world. The first book ended on a great note, with Anna breaking the binding with her breaking magic and releasing magic to the masses. Initially it seems like a fantastic idea, but this is only the start of the second book, where we get to delve deeply into the class struggles and political drama that have really heightened in the world that Rosalyn Eves has… Read more »

Divider

Feb 19
{Review+Giveaway} Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce

{Review+Giveaway} Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce

Tempests and Slaughter  is the first book in The Numair Chronicles by Tamora Pierce. Tempests and Slaughter is my first experience with a Tamora Pierce novel, but it will not be my last by a long shot. Before I get to my review, I wanted to first point out how absolutely beautiful the collectors edition is! I love all of the detail that went into the creation of this book- from the cover, to the poster to the beautiful map of the Tortall world. I really, really loved this book. The back describes it as the story of how Numair came to Tortall, but being new to the world it was just as really epic new fantasy. Tempests and Slaughter is the story of three student mages- Arram, Varice and Ozorne. And…wait for it…they go to mage school!! Yes, you know this is right up my alley. The characters really shine in this story. The world is fascinating as well. I can’t wait to see the development as the problems progress and… Read more »

Divider

Feb 15
{Review} Nemesis by @BrendanReichs #ProjectNemesis #GenesisBlogTour @PenguinTeen

{Review} Nemesis by @BrendanReichs #ProjectNemesis #GenesisBlogTour @PenguinTeen

WOW, just wow! Nemesis is the first book in the young adult science fiction series, called Project Nemesis by author Brendan Reichs. I cannot stop thinking about this book! I loved so much about this novel, and even as I am typing this , I am itching to ditch my computer and grab my copy of the sequel so I can lock myself in a room and read read read. Nemesis is great for fans of science fiction, dystopians and mysteries. Let me break down what I enjoyed about Nemesis for you. One I loved the msyterious vibe that Brendan Reichs created. This is a book that doesn’t give you a lot of answers off the bat, and it even leaves you with some unanswered questions. Which made me all the more excited to start book two, Genesis. There is a lot going on in this novel. And I loved that there were really two parallel plot lines featured, which kept me constantly wondering if or when they were going… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

Nocturne is the first book in the fourth talisman series by Kat Ross. I really love Kat Ross’ books. There should be a big ole disclaimer on this review though. Although Nocturne is the first book in a series, it is really a follow up series to Kat Ross’ Fourth Element trilogy. Though you might be able to read this series without having read The Fourth Element trilogy, I am not sure that I would recommend it. There are some spoilers for events that happen in the previous series. I think these books are best read in order. Plus, The fourth Element series is a really awesome fantasy series that is perfect for fans of The City of Brass. And even better, the whole trilogy happens to be on sale right now for only 99 cents!  Nocturne follows Nazafareen after the events of Queen of Chaos leaves off. I can’t really get into much about those events without spoiling the previous trilogy, so let’s keep it vague. Nazafareen is now in the foreign… Read more »

Divider

Jan 31
{Review+Giveaway} Batman: Nightwalker by @Marie_Lu @RandomHouse

{Review+Giveaway} Batman: Nightwalker by @Marie_Lu @RandomHouse

Batman is the second book in the DC Icons series. Each of the books in the DC Icons series is written by a different author, and it features the origin story of some of the biggest superheroes (and villains) in the DC universe. I am such a huge fan of all things DC and Marvel and I love origin stories, so this series was made for me. I still need to read the first book, Wonder Woman. Now that I have read and enjoyed Batman so much, I know that Wonder Woman will be coming up on my TBR pile shortly. Batman was everything I wanted it to be. It was fun and it was really cool to see a younger, and super nice Bruce Wayne. I have a bit of a confession to make. Batman is my first Marie Lu book. Yes, I know! Please don’t throw tomatoes or rocks. I have a bunch of her books, but I haven’t read any of them. But fear not! That will… Read more »

Divider