Tag: 4/5 gavels

Feb 19
{Review+Giveaway} Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce

{Review+Giveaway} Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce

Tempests and Slaughter  is the first book in The Numair Chronicles by Tamora Pierce. Tempests and Slaughter is my first experience with a Tamora Pierce novel, but it will not be my last by a long shot. Before I get to my review, I wanted to first point out how absolutely beautiful the collectors edition is! I love all of the detail that went into the creation of this book- from the cover, to the poster to the beautiful map of the Tortall world. I really, really loved this book. The back describes it as the story of how Numair came to Tortall, but being new to the world it was just as really epic new fantasy. Tempests and Slaughter is the story of three student mages- Arram, Varice and Ozorne. And…wait for it…they go to mage school!! Yes, you know this is right up my alley. The characters really shine in this story. The world is fascinating as well. I can’t wait to see the development as the problems progress and… Read more »

Divider

Feb 15
{Review} Nemesis by @BrendanReichs #ProjectNemesis #GenesisBlogTour @PenguinTeen

{Review} Nemesis by @BrendanReichs #ProjectNemesis #GenesisBlogTour @PenguinTeen

WOW, just wow! Nemesis is the first book in the young adult science fiction series, called Project Nemesis by author Brendan Reichs. I cannot stop thinking about this book! I loved so much about this novel, and even as I am typing this , I am itching to ditch my computer and grab my copy of the sequel so I can lock myself in a room and read read read. Nemesis is great for fans of science fiction, dystopians and mysteries. Let me break down what I enjoyed about Nemesis for you. One I loved the msyterious vibe that Brendan Reichs created. This is a book that doesn’t give you a lot of answers off the bat, and it even leaves you with some unanswered questions. Which made me all the more excited to start book two, Genesis. There is a lot going on in this novel. And I loved that there were really two parallel plot lines featured, which kept me constantly wondering if or when they were going… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

Nocturne is the first book in the fourth talisman series by Kat Ross. I really love Kat Ross’ books. There should be a big ole disclaimer on this review though. Although Nocturne is the first book in a series, it is really a follow up series to Kat Ross’ Fourth Element trilogy. Though you might be able to read this series without having read The Fourth Element trilogy, I am not sure that I would recommend it. There are some spoilers for events that happen in the previous series. I think these books are best read in order. Plus, The fourth Element series is a really awesome fantasy series that is perfect for fans of The City of Brass. And even better, the whole trilogy happens to be on sale right now for only 99 cents!  Nocturne follows Nazafareen after the events of Queen of Chaos leaves off. I can’t really get into much about those events without spoiling the previous trilogy, so let’s keep it vague. Nazafareen is now in the foreign… Read more »

Divider

Jan 31
{Review+Giveaway} Batman: Nightwalker by @Marie_Lu @RandomHouse

{Review+Giveaway} Batman: Nightwalker by @Marie_Lu @RandomHouse

Batman is the second book in the DC Icons series. Each of the books in the DC Icons series is written by a different author, and it features the origin story of some of the biggest superheroes (and villains) in the DC universe. I am such a huge fan of all things DC and Marvel and I love origin stories, so this series was made for me. I still need to read the first book, Wonder Woman. Now that I have read and enjoyed Batman so much, I know that Wonder Woman will be coming up on my TBR pile shortly. Batman was everything I wanted it to be. It was fun and it was really cool to see a younger, and super nice Bruce Wayne. I have a bit of a confession to make. Batman is my first Marie Lu book. Yes, I know! Please don’t throw tomatoes or rocks. I have a bunch of her books, but I haven’t read any of them. But fear not! That will… Read more »

Divider

Jan 30
{Release Day Review} Awkward. by @LilyKate_author

{Release Day Review} Awkward. by @LilyKate_author

Awkward is a standalone romance by author Lily Kate. I have read one of Lily Kate’s other books, and I really enjoyed it, so when I saw this best friends romance about an awkward doctor, I knew I had to read it. Awkward is kind of my thing. Plus, I really do enjoy best friends romances. Awkward was a really fun read. Great for fans of funny slow burn romances with lots of mishaps and plenty of heart. Awkward is the story of Dr. Jack Darcy and his best friend Allie. I loved watching Allie and jack together. Allie is trying to help Jack become less awkward around new women, so he can find his match. But of course both Jack and Allie have feelings for each other and they haven’t acted on them because they are oblivious to the other one. If I am honest with myself, this is my least favorite set up for a best friends romance trope, because most of the time it is so obvious…. Read more »

Divider

Jan 23
{Review+Giveaway} Rise by Sierra Cross

{Review+Giveaway} Rise by Sierra Cross

Rise is the first book in the new adult Coven of Fire series by author Sierra Cross. It has been some time since I have read an urban fantasy and even longer since I have read an urban fantasy featuring witches, so I was really pumped to read Rise. I love new adult books that are in the fantasy and paranormal genres because there don’t seem to be too many of them. Rise did not disappoint. I enjoyed this read from start to finish. There were a few slow sections of the book, but overall, I flew through this novel and I am anxiously awaiting the second book, which is already out. In fact, the first four books were all released in 2017, which is crazy! You go Sierra Cross! Book 5 is due to come out this year. Rise follows our main characters, Alix, Callie, Matt, with some great secondary characters as well. I really enjoyed how many people were showcased in such a short book. I think that… Read more »

Divider

Jan 22
{ARC Review} Ink, Iron, and Glass by Gwendolyn Clare @gwendoclare @FierceReads @ImprintReads

{ARC Review} Ink, Iron, and Glass by Gwendolyn Clare @gwendoclare @FierceReads @ImprintReads

Ink, Iron, and Glass is the first book in a new duology by the same name from debut novelist Gwendolyn Clare. Ink, Iron, and Glass is a steampunk fantasy duology about a world where a type of science called scriptology exists. Scriptology is a science magic hybrid where the “scientist” can actually create a new world by scripting or writing it into existence. This concept gripped me right from the start. How awesome and complex it would be. And I was immediately intrigued to see how Gwendolyn Clare would handle such a big idea. And I have to say, she handled it really well. I loved that she didn’t water the idea of writing a world into existence. She embraced how complicated and complex it would be. You have to make it livable world. If you create a world that does not support air, then everyone in that world would die. Same with gravity, warmth, food. Creating a world was not just about writing flowery descriptions of the rolling hills and… Read more »

Divider

Jan 08
{Review+Giveaway} Between the Blade and the Heart by @Amanda_Hocking @wednesdayBooks

{Review+Giveaway} Between the Blade and the Heart by @Amanda_Hocking @wednesdayBooks

Between the Blade and the Heart is the first book in a new young adult norse mythology duology by Amanda Hocking. It is called the Valkyrie duology and the second part is due out in April of this year, which is super nice because you don’t have to wait very long in between the two books. This is perfect for me because I am already itching to find out what is going to happen next. Between the Blade and the Heart was a great read. It is the kind of book that kept getting better and better. It took me about 50 pages or so to get into the story, but after that point I was totally hooked. Between the Blade and the Heart follows our main character, Malin, who is a Valkyrie in training. But right as she nears the end of her training, she finds out a secret that kind of shakes everything she believes in. This secret sets her off on a quest with the help of her ex,… Read more »

Divider

Jan 04
{Review+Giveaway} Mad Magic by Nicole Conway @ANConway @Month9Books

{Review+Giveaway} Mad Magic by Nicole Conway @ANConway @Month9Books

Mad Magic is the first book in the Mad Magic saga by author Nicole Conway. Nicole Conway is a new to me author, but after devouring Mad Magic in one night, I can’t wait for more from her. Mad Magic and I got off to a bit of a slow start, but once I fell into the world we became kind of obsessed with each other. I really loved this book, and I am so beyond excited that there will be more in this saga. Mad Magic is the story of Josie. Josie’s parents passed away earlier in her life and she was kind of taken in by a mysterious benefactor. I say kind of because she doesn’t seem to actually see very much of Ben, but he does pay her bills. She lives on her own. But Josie is plagued by invisible demons. I have to be honest. I was a little bored by the start of the story. It felt kind of formulaic; like a story I had… Read more »

Divider

Dec 15
{Review+Giveaway} Grudging by Michelle Hauck @Michelle4Laughs @HarperVoyagerUS

{Review+Giveaway} Grudging by Michelle Hauck @Michelle4Laughs @HarperVoyagerUS

Today the Steadfast blog tour takes a stop at Book Briefs. Steadfast is the third book in the birth of saints trilogy. Because I am new to the trilogy, I decided to start at the beginning, which I thought would be a good place to start. And it was a really good idea, because author Michelle Hauck has created a very rich and detailed world, and now that all of the books in the trilogy are out, this series is the perfect binge read when you are looking for some adventure steeped in magic and witchcraft. Grudging felt like magic meets the crusades. It was really interesting and unlike anything I have read lately. I’m not sure how I missed this book when it came out in 2015, but boy am I glad I found it now. Grudging is the first book in the birth of saints trilogy. This is a trilogy that must be read in order. Grudging follows seventeen year old Ramiro and Claire. The atmosphere that Grudging… Read more »

Divider